Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-13, 15, 17, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banijamali, US 9839159 in view of Arrington et al, US 20210202348.
Regarding claim 1, Banijamali discloses : A method of thermally coupling components in an integrated circuit (IC) assembly, the method comprising: providing a thermal interface pad between two components in an IC assembly(Fig. 1 , #106 between #102 and #104), the thermal interface pad having a star shape with a plurality of points(Fig. 2a and 2b, star patterns [Col. 3 line 60-70 and Col. 4 line 1-5]), and applying pressure to at least one of the two components of the IC assembly so as to thermally couple the two components by way of the thermal interface pad(Fig. 3b, #302 pressed on between #102 and #104 [Col. 5 line 6-18]), wherein the applying pressure expands the thermal interface pad and changes a shape of the thermal interface pad from the star shape to another shape(Fig. 3a shows a thermal interface pad before pressing and Fig. 3b shows a thermal interface pad after pressing [Col. 4 line 52-70]).
Banijamali does not disclose : connectors are positioned around at least one of the two components; and wherein the thermal interface pad is positioned outside of a keep out area around the connectors after the applying pressure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Arrington teaches : connectors are positioned around at least one of the two components(Fig. 5d, #306 in outside of area #540 in #310); and wherein the thermal interface pad is positioned outside of a keep out area around the connectors after the applying pressure(#650 may be contained within an outer perimeter defined by #540 [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Arrington to Banijamali to lower the risk of bleed out failures due to excess thermal interface material to increase yield(Arrington [0042]).
Regarding claim 2, Banijamali as modified by Arrington discloses : The method of Claim 1.
Banijamali teaches : wherein the star shape is a four-pointed star shape(Star shape may be modified to have any technically feasible number of spokes [Col. 3 line 60-70, Col. 4 line 1-5]).
Regarding claim 3, Banijamali as modified by Arrington discloses : The method of Claim 1.
Arrington teaches : wherein the shape of the thermal interface pad is rectangular after the applying pressure(Fig. 5d, frame to prevent bleed-out #540 is rectangular).
Regarding claim 4, Banijamali as modified by Arrington discloses : The method of Claim 1.
Banijamali teaches : wherein the two components comprise an integrated circuit chip and a cooling solution(Fig. 1 , #102 and #104 may be a computer die and a heat sink [Col. 3 line 16-34]).
Regarding claim 5, Banijamali as modified by Arrington discloses : The method of Claim 4.
Arrington teaches : wherein the thermal interface pad is outside of a keep out area around connectors after the applying pressure, and the connectors are positioned around surround the integrated circuit chip(Fig. 3, #306 may be in a keep out zone defined by #540 of fig. 5d).
Regarding claim 8, Banijamali as modified by Arrington discloses : The method of Claim 4.
Arrington teaches : further comprising compressing a plurality of additional star shaped thermal interface pads positioned between respective additional integrated circuit chips and the cooling solution(Multiple IC chips with thermal interface material in #1504 [0054]).
Regarding claim 9, Banijamali discloses : A method of thermally coupling components in an integrated circuit (IC) assembly, the method comprising: providing a thermal interface pad between two components in an IC assembly(Fig. 1, #106 between #102 and #104); and applying pressure to at least one of the two components of the IC assembly so as to thermally couple the two components by way of the thermal interface pad(Thermal interface elements pressed together to cover more area [Abstract]).
Banijamali does not disclose : wherein the applying pressure expands the thermal interface pad and changes a shape of the thermal interface pad from a first shape to a rectangular shape(, and wherein the thermal interface pad is spaced apart from [[a]] connector interfaces for connecting to one of the two components after the applying pressure, and wherein the connector interfaces surround the one of the two components.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Arrington teaches : wherein the applying pressure expands the thermal interface pad and changes a shape of the thermal interface pad from a first shape to a rectangular shape(Fig. 6, #650 applied to #305 as a first shape. When compressed by force, Fig. 5c, #540 shapes #650 into the rectangular shape of #540 to prevent bleed-out [0021]), and wherein the thermal interface pad is spaced apart from [[a]] connector interfaces for connecting to one of the two components after the applying pressure(#540 prevents #650 from spilling onto #306), and wherein the connector interfaces surround the one of the two components(#306 on an outer perimeter of #540).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Arrington to Banijamali to lower the risk of bleed out failures due to excess thermal interface material to increase yield(Arrington [0042]).
Regarding claim 10, Banijamali as modified by Arrington discloses : The method of Claim 9.
Banijamali teaches : wherein the first shape is a star shape(thermal interface material is a star shape[Col. 3 line 60-70 and Col. 4 line 1-5]).
Regarding claim 11, Banijamali as modified by Arrington discloses : The method of Claim 9.
Banijamali teaches : wherein the first shape is a four point star shape(Star shape may be modified to have any technically feasible number of spokes [Col. 3 line 60-70, Col. 4 line 1-5]).
Regarding claim 12, Banijamali as modified by Arrington discloses : The method of Claim 9.
Banijamali teaches : wherein the first shape is symmetric(Fig 2a, star shape is symmetric to #206).
Regarding claim 13, Banijamali as modified by Arrington discloses : The method of Claim 9.
Arrington teaches : wherein the rectangular shape of the thermal interface pad is outside of keep out areas around the connector interfaces areas after the applying pressure(Fig. 5c, keep out area defined by #540), and the connector areas are positioned around the one of the two components(#306 outside of #540).
Regarding claim 15, Banijamali as modified by Arrington discloses : The method of Claim 13.
Banijamali teaches : wherein the two components comprise an integrated circuit chip and a cooling solution(Fig. 1 , #102 and #104 may be a computer die and a heat sink [Col. 3 line 16-34]).
Regarding claim 17, Banijamali discloses : An electronic assembly made by a process, the process comprising: providing a thermal interface pad between an integrated circuit chip and a cooling solution(Fig. 1, #106 between #102 and #104 where #102 and #104 may be computer die and heat sink [Col. 3 line 16-34]), the thermal interface pad having a star shape with a plurality of points(Fig. 2a, #202 in a star shape [Col. 3 line 60-70]); and applying pressure so as to thermally couple the integrated circuit chip to the cooling solution by way of the thermal interface pad(thermal interface material pressed to cover more area [Abstract]), Banijamali does not disclose : wherein the applying pressure expands the thermal interface pad and changes the shape of the thermal interface pad from the star shape to a rectangular shape, and wherein the rectangular shape of the thermal interface pad is positioned outside of keep out regions surrounding the integrated circuit chip.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Arrington teaches : wherein the applying pressure expands the thermal interface pad and changes the shape of the thermal interface pad from the star shape to a rectangular shape(Fig. 5c, shape of thermal interface determined by #540 to keep thermal interface within #540 [Abstract]), and wherein the rectangular shape of the thermal interface pad is positioned outside of keep out regions surrounding the integrated circuit chip(#540 creates a perimeter outside of #305).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Arrington to Banijamali to lower the risk of bleed out failures due to excess thermal interface material to increase yield(Arrington [0042]).
Regarding claim 18, Banijamali as modified by Arrington discloses : The electronic assembly of Claim 17.
Arrington teaches : further comprising connector interfaces around the integrated circuit chip, wherein the keep out regions are around the connector interfaces(#540 prevents thermal interfaces to contact #310 which may include interconnects [0024]).
Regarding claim 20, Banijamali as modified by Arrington discloses : The electronic assembly of Claim 17.
Arrington teaches : wherein the cooling solution comprises a cold plate(thermal solution may be a cold plate [0046]).
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banijamali, US 9839159 in view of Arrington et al, US 20210202348 in further view of Stevenson et al, US 20140176172.
Regarding claim 6, Banijamali as modified by Arrington discloses : The method of Claim 5.
Banijamali as modified by Arrington does not disclose : wherein the connectors comprise pogo pins.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Stevenson teaches : wherein the connectors comprise pogo pins(Fig. 3, #316 on outer perimeter of #314 may be pogo pins [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Stevenson to Banijamali and Arrington to include pogo pins in an integrated circuit (Stevenson [0048]).
Regarding claim 14, Banijamali as modified by Arrington discloses : The method of Claim 13.
Banijamali as modified by Arrington does not disclose : wherein [[the]] each of the connector areas interfaces include a plurality of pogo pins.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Stevenson teaches : wherein [[the]] each of the connector areas interfaces include a plurality of pogo pins(Fig. 3, #316 on outer perimeter of #314 may be pogo pins [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Stevenson to Banijamali and Arrington to include pogo pins in an integrated circuit (Stevenson [0048]).
Claim(s) 7, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banijamali, US 9839159 in view of Arrington et al, US 20210202348 in further view of Sover et al, US 20220201889.
Regarding claim 7, Banijamali as modified by Arrington discloses : The method of Claim 4.
Banijamali as modified by Arrington does not disclose : wherein the integrated circuit chip is a voltage regulating module.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sover teaches : wherein the integrated circuit chip is a voltage regulating module(Integrated circuit may be a voltage regulator [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Sover to Banijamali and Arrington to have an integrated circuit be a voltage regulating module.
Regarding claim 16, Banijamali as modified by Arrington discloses : The method of Claim 15.
Banijamali as modified by Arrington does not disclose : wherein the integrated circuit chip is a voltage regulating module.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sover teaches : wherein the integrated circuit chip is a voltage regulating module(Integrated circuit may be a voltage regulator [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Sover to Banijamali and Arrington to have an integrated circuit be a voltage regulating module.
Regarding claim 19, Banijamali as modified by Arrington discloses : The electronic assembly of Claim 17.
Banijamali as modified by Arrington does not disclose : wherein the integrated circuit chip comprises a voltage regulating module.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sover teachers : wherein the integrated circuit chip comprises a voltage regulating module(Integrated circuit may be a voltage regulator [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teachings of Sover to Banijamali and Arrington to have an integrated circuit be a voltage regulating module.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : US 20200294880 – Thermal interface material for integrated circuits
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897