Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and dependent claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Applicant claims the property of “fabric breakdown thread tenacity”. It is not clear if this is a fabric tenacity or it is the thread tenacity. For purposes of examination, the property is equated with the thread tenacity and not an overall fabric tenacity or strength.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deguchi (JP 2005139575) in view of Fukunishi et al (WO 2005010256 cited as US20060183390).
Deguchi is directed to a woven fabric for bedding that is lighter and thinner than conventional ones. Deguchi teaches the woven fabric has a cover factor of 1500-2000 (page 2, last paragraph) which overlaps the claimed range. Deguchi teaches the multifilament 15 to 35 dtex (page 2) and the single yarn fineness is small and 0.5 to 1.5 dtex (page 4, 1st para). Deguchi teaches the yarns can be made from nylon 6, 66, 610, 612 or polyamide (page 3).
Deguchi differs and does not measure the fabric breakdown thread tenacity of 4.5 cN/dtex or more. It is reasonable to presume that the property is inherent to Deguchi as Deguchi teaches the same materials and structure as claimed. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention the examiner has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112- 2112.02
Evidence that the breakdown tenacity is greater than 4.5 cN/dtex is found in Fukunishi. Fukunishi is directed to a woven fabric with a tear strength in the warp direction and in the weft direction made from polyamide. Fukunishi teaches the cover factor is 1600-2000, the multifilament is less than 30 dtex and the single yarn fineness is less that 1.2 dtex. Fukunishi teaches the fiber breaks at 4.5 cN/dtex or more [0021].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to produce a nylon woven with a breaking tenacity of 4.5 cN/dtex motivated to produce a fabric with high strength.
As to claim 2, Deguchi teaches the tear strength is 6N to 15N (page 2). Deguchi is not specific with regard to both warp and weft directions. Fukunishi teaches the tear strength in the warp cutting direction is 10 to 50 N and the weft direction [0013].
As to claim 3, Deguchi teaches the air permeability is 0.3 to 1.5 cc (page 4). Deguchi does not measure the air permeability after laundry. It is reasonable to presume that the property is inherent to Deguchi as Deguchi teaches the same materials and structure as claimed. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention the examiner has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112- 2112.02
As to claim 4, Deguchi teaches the bending rigidity is 0.0001 to 0.0010 gf which is less than 0.008 gf*cm/cm or less (page 4).
As to claim 5, Deguchi does not teach a garment. Deguchi teaches bedding. Fukunishi teaches the woven fabric is used for garments such as downwear for the lightness and tear strength.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to produce a garment from the woven fabric motivated to produce a garment with light weight and high tear strength.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A STEELE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789