DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AHN et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0271693) in view of TAKENA (US PGPUB 2012/0042516).
Regarding claim 1, AHN et al. teaches a composite probe, comprising: a probe body (20) housed in a guide unit (10) of a probe card (1) including a first guide plate (120) and a second guide plate (110) arranged apart from each other (as shown in fig. 1), and supported by a first guide hole (122) of the first guide plate (120) and a second guide hole (112) of the second guide plate (110); wherein the probe body (20) includes a first rod (section of 20 located in 122) having a substantially straight shape and supported by the first guide hole (122) (as shown in fig. 1), a second rod (section of 20 located in 112) having a substantially straight shape and supported by the second guide hole (112) (as shown in fig. 1), and a curved portion (section of 20 located between the guide plates) disposed between the first guide plate (120) and the second guide plate (112) (as shown in fig. 1), and connecting the first rod and the second rod.
ANH et al. fails to specifically teach a leader rod, one end of which is connected to the probe body, having a substantially straight shape, inserted through the first guide hole ahead of the probe body, further passing through the second guide hole, and detachable from the probe body after passing through the second guide hole; wherein the leader rod is connected to a tip of the second rod coaxially with the second rod, and a total length of the leader rod and the second rod is greater than a distance between non-facing surfaces of the first guide plate and the second guide plate. TAKENA teaches a leader rod (46), one end of which is connected to the probe body (26), having a substantially straight shape (as shown in fig. 5), inserted through the first guide hole (68) ahead of the probe body, further passing through the second guide hole (34), and detachable from the probe body (26) after passing through the second guide hole (34) (as shown in fig. 5-6 and disclosed in 0073); wherein the leader rod (46) is connected to a tip of the second rod (42) coaxially with the second rod, and a total length of the leader rod (46) and the second rod (42) is greater than a distance between non-facing surfaces of the first guide plate (50) and the second guide plate (24) (as shown in fig. 5, the total length (down vertical direction) of 46 and 42 is greater than a distance (horizontal width of guide holes 68 and 34) between non-facing surfaces of 68 and 34).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the leader rod, one end of which is connected to the probe body, having a substantially straight shape, inserted through the first guide hole ahead of the probe body, further passing through the second guide hole, and detachable from the probe body after passing through the second guide hole; wherein the leader rod is connected to a tip of the second rod coaxially with the second rod, and a total length of the leader rod and the second rod is greater than a distance between non-facing surfaces of the first guide plate and the second guide plate as taught by TAKENA with the invention of ANH et al. in order to reduce the overall installation time.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of ANH et al. and TAKENA teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, TAKENA teaches wherein a length (down vertical direction) of the leader rod (46) is greater than the distance (horizontal width of guide holes 68 and 34) between the non-facing surfaces (guide holes surfaces) of the first guide plate (50) and the second guide plate (24).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the length of the leader rod is greater than the distance between the non-facing surfaces of the first guide plate and the second guide plate as taught by TAKENA with the invention of ANH et al. in order to have easy access to the leader rod and detach it.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 13 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, the prior art fails to specifically teach a method for attaching a probe to a guide unit of a probe card including a first guide plate and a second guide plate arranged apart from each other, comprising: inserting a leader rod through a first guide hole of the first guide plate ahead of probe body by using a composite probe constituted by the probe body and the leader rod, further inserting the leader rod, inserted through the first guide hole, through the second guide hole of the second guide plate, before the curved portion is inserted through the first guide hole; and detaching the leader rod from the probe body while the probe body is supported by the first guide hole and the second guide hole, in combination with all the limitations of the claim.
Claim 13 depending from claim 11 is allowed for the same reasons in conjunction to the limitations of the dependency.
Claims 5-8, and 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERTO VELEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858