DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/12/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “( HOMO1 - HOMO2 < LUMO2 - LUMO1 )” and “ in the first-quantum-dot assembly, a ratio of the first quantum dots being in contact with the electron transport layer is 10% or less” must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 12, 14, 23, 29, 30, 32, 34, 35, 37, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Cheng et al. ( CN 107603339 A; hereinafter Cheng )
Regarding claim 1, Cheng teaches a light-emitting element comprising: a first electrode ( Fig. 1 cathode 11 ) and a second electrode ( Fig. 1 anode 15 ); and a quantum dot layer ( Fig. 1 light emitting layer 13 ) disposed between the first electrode ( Fig. 1 #11 ) and the second electrode ( Fig. 1 #15 ), and including first quantum dots ( Fig. 1 #131 ), wherein the quantum dot layer ( Fig. 1 #13 ) includes a space absent from the first quantum dots penetrating the quantum dot layer in a thickness direction of the quantum dot layer ( [0035] After the ink dries, the light-emitting layer 13 is composed of quantum dots 131 and charge-blocking nanoparticles 132 filling the gaps between the quantum dots 131 ), and the space contains second quantum dots ( Fig. 1 charge-blocking nanoparticles 132 ) having a smaller particle diameter than the first quantum dots ( [0014] Preferably, the particle size of the charge-blocking nanoparticles is smaller than the particle size of the quantum dots ).
Regarding claim 3, Cheng teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 1 ( as discussed above ), wherein the space contains a second-quantum-dot assembly including the second quantum dots ( [0020] The quantum dot ink prepared by this invention is uniformly dispersed and can meet the requirements of different printing methods; by adding charge-blocking nanoparticles to the quantum dot ink, the gaps between the quantum dots in the light-emitting layer are filled with charge-blocking nanoparticles, which can reduce the leakage current of the light-emitting layer and increase energy efficiency ).
Regarding claim 12, Cheng teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 1 ( as discussed above), wherein each of the first quantum dots ( Fig. 1 #131 ) has a core-shell structure or a shell-less structure ( [0033] In this invention, composite quantum dots include, but are not limited to, at least one of core-shell structure quantum dots and gradient structure quantum dots ), each of the second quantum dots ( Fig. 1 #132 ) has a core-shell structure or a shell-less structure ( as discussed above ), and a diameter of a core of the second quantum dot is smaller than a diameter of a core of the first quantum dot ( [0040] This embodiment provides a quantum dot ink, wherein the quantum dots are CdSe/ZnS quantum dots with a particle size of about 10 nm, the solvent is composed of n-octane and 2-methyl-2,4-pentanediol, and the charge-blocking nanoparticles are zirconium oxide nanoparticles with a particle size of about 8 nm ), wherein HOMO1 - HOMO2 < LUMO2 - LUMO1 is satisfied, where HOMO1 ( is an energy level of a highest occupied molecular orbital of the core of the first quantum dot, HOMO2 is an energy level of a highest occupied molecular orbital of the core of the second quantum dot ( [0026] Compared to quantum dots, the charge-blocking nanoparticles in this invention have larger absolute values of HOMO energy levels and larger band gaps. When the charge-blocking nanoparticles are dispersed between the gaps of quantum dots, charges are more easily injected into the quantum dots, thereby reducing the probability of current directly penetrating the light-emitting layer), LUMO1 is an energy level of a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital of the core of the first quantum dot, and LUMO2 is an energy level of a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital of the core of the second quantum dot ( see the bandgap statement above).
Regarding claim 14, Cheng teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 1 ( as discussed above), wherein the second quantum dots ( Fig. 1 #132 ) do not emit light at a wavelength of 400 nm or greater ( [0040] the charge-blocking nanoparticles are zirconium oxide nanoparticles with a particle size of about 8 nm; zirconium oxide has a wavelength typically ranging from 220 nm to 250 nm ).
Regarding claim 23, Cheng teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 1 ( as discussed above), wherein LUMO2 > LUMO1 is satisfied ( [0026] Compared to quantum dots, the charge-blocking nanoparticles in this invention have larger absolute values of HOMO energy levels and larger band gaps. When the charge-blocking nanoparticles are dispersed between the gaps of quantum dots, charges are more easily injected into the quantum dots, thereby reducing the probability of current directly penetrating the light-emitting layer ), where LUMO1 is an energy level of a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital of each of the first quantum dots ( as discussed above ), and LUMO2 is an energy level of a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital of each of the second quantum dots ( as discussed above).
Regarding claim 29, Cheng teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 1 ( as discussed above ), wherein the first quantum dots and the second quantum dots contain an identical core substance ( [0045] The specific composition of the quantum dot ink in this embodiment is as follows, by weight percentage: 2.00% CdSe/ZnS quantum dots, 0.20% silicon nitride nanoparticles, 10.00% n-octane, 80.00% n-dodecanol, and 7.80% n-decyl alcohol ).
Regarding claim 30, Cheng teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 1 ( as discussed above ), wherein each of the second quantum dots has a core-shell structure, wherein each of the first quantum dots has a core-shell structure ( [0033] composite quantum dots include, but are not limited to, at least one of core-shell structure quantum dots and gradient structure quantum dots. In one specific implementation, the quantum dots include InP/ZnS, InZnP/ZnS, CdSe/ZnS, CdS/ZnS, CdZnS/ZnS, CaTiO<sub>3</sub>/ZnS, or CuInS<sub>2</sub> ), and the first quantum dots and the second quantum dots contain an identical shell substance ( as discussed above).
Regarding claim 32, Cheng teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 1( as discussed above), wherein the particle diameter of the second quantum dots is one-fourth or less of the particle diameter of the first quantum dots ( [0044] This embodiment provides a quantum dot ink, wherein the quantum dots are CdSe/ZnS quantum dots with a particle size of about 15 nm, the solvent is composed of n-octane, n-dodecyl alcohol and n-decanol, and the charge blocking nanoparticles are silicon nitride nanoparticles with a particle size of about 8 nm ).
Regarding claim 34, Cheng teaches the light-emitting element according to claim 1 ( as discussed above), wherein the quantum dot layer has, in a cross-sectional view in the thickness direction, a first region in which an entire cross-section of each of a plurality of quantum dots is observed, and a second region in which an entire cross-section of each of a plurality of quantum dots is observed ( as shown in Fig. 1 ), and at least one of P1 - P2 > 1.0 x(al + a2) and r1 - r2 > 1.0 x(al + a2) holds true, where for a particle diameter distribution of the plurality of quantum dots observed in the first region, r1 is an average particle diameter, P1 is a particle diameter at which the plurality of quantum dots peak in number, and al is a standard deviation, and where for a particle diameter distribution of the plurality of quantum dots observed in the second region, r2 is an average particle diameter, P2 is a particle diameter at which the plurality of quantum dots peak in number, and a2 is a standard deviation ( as shown in Fig. 1 ).
Regarding claim 35, Cheng teaches a method for manufacturing a light-emitting element ( Fig. 1 ), comprising: a first step of forming a first electrode ( [0049] PSS material is spin-coated onto the ITO anode layer ); a second step of forming a quantum dot layer including first quantum dots ( [0049] a quantum dot luminescent layer is formed ); and a third step of forming a second electrode ( [0049] an Al cathode electrode layer is deposited by vapor deposition ), wherein the second step includes providing second quantum dots having a smaller particle diameter than the first quantum dots into a space absent from the first quantum dots penetrating the quantum dot layer in a thickness direction of the quantum dot layer ( [0049] quantum dot ink from Example 1 is inkjet-printed onto the hole transport layer, which serves as the carrier, and after drying, a quantum dot luminescent layer is formed ), wherein the second step includes performing a step of applying a solution containing the first quantum dots and a first solvent, followed by a step of applying a solution containing the second quantum dots and a second solvent ( [0040] This embodiment provides a quantum dot ink, wherein the quantum dots are CdSe/ZnS quantum dots with a particle size of about 10 nm, the solvent is composed of n-octane and 2-methyl-2,4-pentanediol, and the charge-blocking nanoparticles are zirconium oxide nanoparticles with a particle size of about 8 nm ).
Regarding claim 37, Cheng teaches the method for manufacturing the light-emitting element according to claim 35 ( as discussed above), wherein one of the first and second solvents is a non-polar solvent, and the other is a polar solvent ( [0032] Specifically, the solvent may include at least one of the following: ethers with 4-15 carbon atoms, alcohols with 2-13 carbon atoms, ketones with 4-15 carbon atoms, alkanes with 6-12 carbon atoms, and aromatic hydrocarbons with 6-12 carbon atoms ).
Regarding claim 40, Cheng teaches a display device comprising the light-emitting element according to claim 1 ( as shown in Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 9 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al.; CN 107603339 A; 01/2018 in view of Segler, Jr. et al.; US 12,153,746 B1; 03/2022
Claim 5: Cheng discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 3 ( as discussed above).
Cheng discloses the second electrode ( Fig. 1 #15 ) is located higher than the first electrode ( Fig. 1 #11 ).
Cheng does not appear to disclose the quantum dot layer includes a first-quantum-dot assembly including the first quantum dots, and a third-quantum-dot assembly including third quantum dots having a smaller particle diameter than the first quantum dots, and the third-quantum-dot assembly is disposed between the first-quantum-dot assembly and the second electrode.
However, Segler, Jr. teaches the quantum dot layer includes a first-quantum-dot assembly ( Fig. 11 #110R ) including the first quantum dots ( Fig. 11 #112R ), and a third-quantum-dot assembly including third quantum dots ( Fig 11 #112B ) having a smaller particle diameter than the first quantum dots ( Fig. 11 #112R ), and the third-quantum-dot assembly ( Fig. 11 #110B ) is disposed between the first-quantum-dot assembly ( Fig. 11 #110R ) and the second electrode ( Fig. 7 #42 as shown in the stack up of Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Segler, Jr. with Cheng to implement the quantum dot layer includes a first-quantum-dot assembly including the first quantum dots, and a third-quantum-dot assembly including third quantum dots having a smaller particle diameter than the first quantum dots, and the third-quantum-dot assembly is disposed between the first-quantum-dot assembly and the second electrode because this approach enables combining multiple emission wavelengths in one device.
Claim 6: Cheng and Segler, Jr. disclose the light-emitting element according to claim 5 ( as discussed above).
Cheng does not appear to disclose the third quantum dots have a configuration identical to a configuration of the second quantum dots and have a larger band gap than the first quantum dots.
However, Segler, Jr. the third quantum dots ( Fig. 11 #112B ) have a configuration identical to a configuration of the second quantum dots ( Fig. 11 #112G ) and have a larger band gap than the first quantum dots ( as shown in Fig. 11 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Segler, Jr. with Cheng to implement the third quantum dots have a configuration identical to a configuration of the second quantum dots and have a larger band gap than the first quantum dots because these properties shift energy levels to produce distinct emissions.
Claim 7: Cheng and Segler, Jr. disclose the light-emitting element according to claim 6 ( as discussed above).
Cheng does not appear to disclose the third-quantum-dot assembly has a multilayer structure in which the third quantum dots are included in individual layers.
However, Segler, Jr. teaches the third-quantum-dot assembly ( Fig. 11 #110B ) has a multilayer structure in which the third quantum dots are included in individual layers ( as shown in Fig. 11 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Segler, Jr. with Cheng to implement the third-quantum-dot assembly has a multilayer structure in which the third quantum dots are included in individual layers because this approach provides for long term device stability and exciton confinement.
Claim 9: Cheng and Segler, Jr. disclose the light-emitting element according to claim 6 ( as discussed above).
Cheng does not appear to disclose the first-quantum-dot assembly is covered with the second-quantum-dot assembly and the third-quantum-dot assembly.
However, Segler, Jr. teaches the first-quantum-dot assembly ( Fig. 11 #110R ) is covered with the second-quantum-dot assembly ( Fig. 11 #110G ) and the third-quantum-dot assembly ( Fig. 11 #110B ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Segler, Jr. with Cheng to implement the first-quantum-dot assembly is covered with the second-quantum-dot assembly and the third-quantum-dot assembly because this approach is often used to achieve red, green, and blue emissions in a full color display.
Claim 24: Cheng discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 1 ( as discussed above), comprising: a first carrier transport layer ( Fig. 1 hole functional layer ) disposed between the first electrode ( Fig. 1 #15 ) and the quantum dot layer ( Fig. 1 #13 ); and a second carrier transport layer ( Fig. 1 14electron functional layer 12) disposed between the quantum dot layer ( Fig. 1 #13 ) and the second electrode ( Fig. 1 #11 ), wherein the second electrode is located higher than the first electrode ( Fig. 1 can be rotates so that the second electrode is located higher than the first electrode ), the first carrier transport layer is a hole transport layer ( as shown in Fig. 1 ), and the second carrier transport layer is an electron transport layer ( as shown in Fig. 1 ); and in the first-quantum-dot assembly, a ratio of the first quantum dots being in contact with the electron transport layer is 10% or less ( [0045] The specific composition of the quantum dot ink in this embodiment is as follows, by weight percentage: 2.00% CdSe/ZnS quantum dots, 0.20% silicon nitride nanoparticles, 10.00% n-octane, 80.00% n-dodecanol, and 7.80% n-decyl alcohol ).
Cheng does not appear to disclose the quantum dot layer has a first-quantum-dot assembly including the first quantum dots, and a third-quantum-dot assembly including third quantum dots having a smaller particle diameter than the first quantum dots, the third-quantum-dot assembly is disposed between the first-quantum-dot assembly and the electron transport layer
However, Segler, Jr. teaches the quantum dot layer includes a first-quantum-dot assembly ( Fig. 11 #110R ) including the first quantum dots ( Fig. 11 #112R ), and a third-quantum-dot assembly including third quantum dots ( Fig 11 #112B ) having a smaller particle diameter than the first quantum dots ( Fig. 11 #112R ), the third-quantum-dot assembly ( Fig. 11 #110B ) is disposed between the first-quantum-dot assembly ( Fig. 11 #110R ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Segler, Jr. with Cheng to implement the quantum dot layer has a first-quantum-dot assembly including the first quantum dots, and a third-quantum-dot assembly including third quantum dots having a smaller particle diameter than the first quantum dots, the third-quantum-dot assembly is disposed between the first-quantum-dot assembly and the electron transport layer because this approach helps to balance charge injection and reduce exciton quenching.
Claim 10 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al.; CN 107603339 A; 01/2018 in view of Cho et al.; US 2023/0028578 A1; 01/2022
Claim 10: Cheng and Segler, Jr. disclose the light-emitting element according to claim 6 ( as discussed above).
Neither Cheng nor Segler, Jr. appear to disclose a thickness of the third-quantum-dot assembly is smaller than a thickness of the first-quantum-dot assembly.
However, Cho teaches a thickness of the third-quantum-dot assembly is smaller than a thickness of the first-quantum-dot assembly ( [0116] The distribution diagram of FIG. 17 shows the external quantum efficiency according to the thicknesses of the ETL and the HTL while fixing thicknesses of the first quantum dot layer 150p, the second quantum dot layer 150n, and the third quantum dot layer 150i to 140 nm, 140 nm, and 50 nm ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Cho with Cheng and Segler, Jr. to implement a thickness of the third-quantum-dot assembly is smaller than a thickness of the first-quantum-dot assembly because the particles are smaller.
Claim 28 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al.; CN 107603339 A; 01/2018 in view of Segler, Jr. et al.; US 12,153,746 B1; 03/2022 and further in view of He et al.; US 2020/0313037 A1; 10/2019
Claim 28: Cheng discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 1 ( as discussed above), comprising: a first carrier transport layer ( Fig. 1 hole functional layer ) disposed between the first electrode ( Fig. 1 #15 ) and the quantum dot layer ( Fig. 1 #13 ); and a second carrier transport layer ( Fig. 1: electron functional layer 12) disposed between the quantum dot layer ( Fig. 1 #13 ) and the second electrode ( Fig. 1 #11 ), wherein the second electrode is located higher than the first electrode ( Fig. 1 can be rotated so that the second electrode is located higher than the first electrode ), the first carrier transport layer is a hole transport layer ( as shown in Fig. 1 ), and the second carrier transport layer is an electron transport layer ( as shown in Fig. 1 ).
Cheng does not appear to disclose the quantum dot layer has a first-quantum-dot assembly including the first quantum dots, and a third-quantum-dot assembly including third quantum dots having a smaller particle diameter than the first quantum dots, the third-quantum-dot assembly is disposed between the first-quantum-dot assembly and the electron transport layer, and in the first-quantum-dot assembly, a ratio of the first quantum dots being in contact with the third-quantum-dot assembly is larger than a ratio of the first quantum dots being in contact with the electron transport layer.
Segler, Jr. discloses the quantum dot layer has a first-quantum-dot assembly ( Fig. 11 #110R ) including the first quantum dots ( Fig. 11 #112R ), and a third-quantum-dot assembly including third quantum dots ( Fig 11 #112B ) having a smaller particle diameter than the first quantum dots ( Fig. 11 #112R ).
Segler, Jr. does not appear to disclose the third-quantum-dot assembly is disposed between the first-quantum-dot assembly and the electron transport layer, and in the first-quantum-dot assembly, a ratio of the first quantum dots being in contact with the third-quantum-dot assembly is larger than a ratio of the first quantum dots being in contact with the electron transport layer.
However, He teaches the third-quantum-dot assembly ( Fig. 8 third quantum dot layer pattern 207 )is disposed between the first-quantum-dot assembly ( Fig. 8 first quantum dot layer pattern 205 ) and the electron transport layer ( Fig. 8 electron transport layer 208 ), and in the first-quantum-dot assembly, a ratio of the first quantum dots being in contact with the third-quantum-dot assembly is larger than a ratio of the first quantum dots being in contact with the electron transport layer ( [0046] For example, for a cadmium selenide (CdSe) quantum dot, in a case that a size of the CdSe quantum dot is reduced from 10 nm to 2 nm, the color of light emitted by the CdSe quantum dot changes from red to blue. In a case that the size of the CdSe quantum dot is larger than or equal to 2 nm and less than 5 nm, the CdSe quantum dot emits blue light; in a case that the size of the CdSe quantum dot is larger than or equal to 5 nm and less than 8 nm, the CdSe quantum dot emits green light; and in a case that the size of the CdSe quantum dot is larger than or equal to 8 nm and less than 10 nm, the CdSe quantum dot emits red light; inherently the different sized quantum dots of each layer will be more dense and have more contact between layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of He with Cheng and Segler, Jr. to implement the quantum dot layer has a first-quantum-dot assembly including the first quantum dots, and a third-quantum-dot assembly including third quantum dots having a smaller particle diameter than the first quantum dots, the third-quantum-dot assembly is disposed between the first-quantum-dot assembly and the electron transport layer, and in the first-quantum-dot assembly, a ratio of the first quantum dots being in contact with the third-quantum-dot assembly is larger than a ratio of the first quantum dots being in contact with the electron transport layer because this is due to quantum coherence, wave function resonance, and structural symmetry.
Claim 33 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al.; CN 107603339 A; 01/2018 in view of Masaya; JP 2009-087756 A; 09/2007
Claim 33: Cheng discloses the light-emitting element according to claim 1 ( as discussed above).
Cheng does not appear to disclose each of the first and second quantum dots has a surface provided with ligands composed of an identical substance.
However, Masaya teaches each of the first and second quantum dots has a surface provided with ligands composed of an identical substance ( [0041] Examples of the metal complex-based material include an aluminum quinolinol complex, a benzoquinolinol beryllium complex, a benzoxazole zinc complex, a benzothiazole zinc complex, an azomethyl zinc complex, a porphyrin zinc complex, a europium complex, and a metal complex having a metal such as Al, Zn, or Be or a rare earth metal such as Tb, Eu, or Dy at the center and having an oxadiazole, thiadiazole, phenylpyridine, phenylbenzimidazole, or quinoline structure as a ligand ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Masaya with Cheng to implement each of the first and second quantum dots has a surface provided with ligands composed of an identical substance because this approach ensures uniform surface chemistry and colloidal stability.
Conclusion
/K.N.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ALI NARAGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817