DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 -3, 5, 7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ida (JP 2015086373) in view of Pankoke (EP 3725519) and further in view of Li (CN 112501943).
With regard to claim 1, Ida discloses a method for producing a decorative paper [Para. 0004], comprising:
applying a primer to a paper web [Para.0004], and then
printing a decoration on the paper web [Para.0004]
Ida does not disclose the paper web that has a grammage of at least 45 g/m² and at most 65 g/m², wherein the primer is applied to the paper web in an application quantity of at least 4 g/m² and at most 6 g/m², and the decoration on the paper web is printed using a digital printing facility, wherein a decoration on the paper web using a digital printing facility, wherein the printing is performed with at most 7.5 g/m² of printing ink.
However, Pankoke teaches a paper web having a grammage of at least 45 g/m² [Para. 0078] and printing a decoration on the paper web using a digital printing facility, wherein the printing is performed with an ink quantity of preferably 2.5 – 6 g/m² [Para. 0078]
In addition, Li teaches a primer applied to a paper web in an application quantity of 3-8 g/m² [Para. 0025]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce a decorative paper utilizing a paper web with a grammage of at least 45 g/m² and at most 65 g/m², having a primer amount applied in the range of 4-6 g/m² and a printing with an ink amount at most 7.5 g/m² using a digital printing facility for the purpose of improving ink adhesion and printing effect.
With regard to claim 2, Ida’s modified method discloses all the limitations of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the digital printing facility has a print width of at least 2050mm and/or a web speed of at least 135m/min and/or at least two print head rows with a resolution of at least 1200dpi X 1200dpi at a web speed of 135m/min and/or a resolution of at least 1200dpi X 600dpi at a web speed of 270m/min for each color used.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a digital printing facility has a print width of at least 2050mm and/or a web speed of at least 135m/min and/or at least two print head rows with a resolution of at least 1200dpi X 1200dpi at a web speed of 135m/min and/or a resolution of at least 1200dpi X 600dpi at a web speed of 270m/min for each color used since it is known and or routine measure in the art, which measures are known from the routine digital printing systems used to produce a decorative paper as stated in the present description. [Specification page 1, Para. 3]
With regard to claim 3, Ida’s modified method discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose wherein the digital printing facility has an automatic roller bearer and/or automatic paper threading and/or an error monitoring system and/or a color monitoring system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a digital printing facility having an automatic roller bearer and/or automatic paper threading and/or an error monitoring system and/or a color monitoring system since it is known and or routine measure in the art which measures are known from the routine digital printing systems used to produce a decorative paper as stated in the present description [Specification Page 3, Paras. 1 and 2]
With regard to claim 5, Ida’s modified method discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Li also discloses wherein the primer is an active primer [primer contains components which react with a part of the ink; Para. 17, 25 and 40].
With regard to claim 7, Ida’s modified method discloses all the limitations of claim1 and Li also discloses wherein the primer is applied by the digital printing facility or in the digital printing facility [examples 1-4].
With regard to claim 9, Ida’s modified method discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Pankoke also discloses wherein the digital printing facility is operated in a room with a room temperature of at least 22°C and at most 24°C, preferably 23°C [Para. 30], and/or with a relative humidity of at least 53% and at most 57%, preferably 55% [Para. 30].
With regard to claim 10, Ida’s modified method discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose the decorative paper is printed in a single pass procedure.
However Pankoke teaches a decorative image is printed directly onto the plate in a single pass using a so-called single-pass printer [Para. 0082].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to print the decorative paper in a single pass procedure as taught by Pankoke for the purpose of achieving high-volume printing tasks, high-quality images and printing on various substrates.
Claim(s) 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Ida (JP 2015086373) in view of Pankoke (EP 3725519) and in view of Li (CN112501943) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schulz (US 2003/0039810).
With regard to claim 4, Ida’s modified method discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose wherein the paper web has a titanium dioxide content of less than 40% and more than 20%.
However, Schulz teaches a base paper with a titanium dioxide content from 20-40% [Para. 0017].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a base paper wherein the titanium dioxide content is from 20-40% for the purpose of achieving a high opacity.
With regard to claim 14, Ida’s modified method discloses all the limitations of claim 4 but does not disclose wherein the titanium dioxide content is from 28-32%.
However, Schulz teaches a base paper with a titanium dioxide content from 28-32% [Para. 0017].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a base paper wherein the titanium dioxide content is from 28-32% for the purpose of achieving a high opacity.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Ida (JP 2015086373) in view of Pankoke (EP 3725519) and in view of Li (CN 112501943) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Clement (US 2020/0108651).
With regard to claim 6, Ida’s modified method discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose wherein the primer is applied by a pressure chamber doctor blade and a ceramic roller with an indirect application rubber roller.
However, Clement teaches resin is provided using one or more squeeing rollers and or doctor blades [Para. 0075].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a pressure chamber doctor blade and a ceramic roller with an indirect application rubber roller for applying primer as taught by Clement for the purpose of setting the amount of primer added to the paper layer.
Claim(s) 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Ida (JP 2015086373) in view of Pankoke (EP 3725519) and in view of Li (CN 112501943) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dicke (EP 3865309).
With regard to claim 8, Ida’s modified method discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose wherein the printing ink comprises a solvent content of at least 27% and at most 37%, and/or a water content of at least 55% and at most 65%, and/or a pigment content of 1%.
However, Dicke teaches a printing ink comprising a solvent content of less than 43% [Par. 0036] and a water content of 55% [Para. 0035].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a printing ink comprising a solvent content and water content as taught by Dicke for the purpose of the producing decorative prints on different substrate material with the same quality.
With regard to claim 11, Ida’s modified method discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose wherein the digital printing facility comprises a plurality of print heads , and wherein at least some of the print heads, have an ink circulation system.
However, Dicke teaches digital printing utilizes inkjet printing [Para. 0004].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to utilize a plurality of print heads where at least some or preferably all have a circulation system since it is known in the art that inkjet printers comprise a plurality of print heads and at least some of the printheads have an ink circulation system.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Ida (JP 2015086373) in view of Pankoke (EP 3725519) and in view of Li (CN 112501943) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bouwens (US 2020/0236249).
With regard to claim 12, Ida’s modified method discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose wherein the digital printing facility comprises a plurality of print heads, and wherein a print intensity of individual print heads of the plurality of print heads and/or a print intensity of groups of print heads of the plurality of print heads is adjustable.
However, Bouwens teaches digital printing utilizes inkjet printing [Para.0004] and the spreading of intensities over the plurality of printhead units is adjustable [intensity is a percentage between 1 and 99; See Abstract & Para.0031]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a plurality of print heads since it is known in the art that inkjet printers comprise a plurality of print heads and that print intensities of printheads are adjustable since it is known in the art that a print intensity of an individual printhead or groups of printheads depend on the dot size/application quantity which allows adjustment the amount of ink.
With regard to claim 13, Ida’s modified method discloses all the limitations of claim 12, but does not specifically disclose wherein a group of print heads of the groups of print heads contains 5 to 10 print heads
However, Bouwens discloses multiple printhead units [Abstract]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a group of printheads containing 5-10 heads for the purpose of improving print quality and producing larger volumes of prints.
Conclusion
/TRACEY M MCMILLION/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853