Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted up to this point have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1: “a particle lands at a bonding interface resulting in an exclusion zone that is at least two times smaller than a bonding of two bonding surfaces with no nanostructures”
Claim 6: “wherein said nanostructures are absent wherever one or more island structures are to be found.”
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
4004 has been used to refer to two different features (see Fig. 40B and Fig. 40C)
[0332] needs revision on numbering of “good dies” (4026 versus 4206)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: the applicant recites “the particle lands” and believes that the recitation should be “a .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the applicant recites “at least two times smaller than a bonding of two bonding surfaces with no nanostructures” but the “bonding” parameter is never identified and quantifiable to a person having ordinary skill in the art (is it a dimension or an area, etc.).
Regarding Claim 2, the applicant recites “to less than one of 50%, 25%, 10%, 5%, 2% and 1% of an area of said first or second bonding surface” but those surfaces are never identified and quantifiable to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 7, the applicant recites “delaminating a bond between said first bonding surface and said second bonding surface” but a bond was already referred to in claim 1 in this location and it is unclear if that is the same bond or a different one. For the sake of compact prosecution, the examiner presumes this is the bond recited in claim 1 between the first bonding surface and the second bonding surface.
Claims 3-10 are indefiniteness due to inheriting all of the claim 1 limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chaji (US # 20190148321).
Regarding Claim 1, Chaji teaches a method for enhancing a yield of a bonding process (see [0060-61]), the method comprising:
performing an etch ([0061, 83, 99, 101]) on one or more of a first bonding surface (feature 104 on feature 106; [0083]) and a second bonding surface (pads on feature 108b) to create nanostructures (nanotextures on 120; [0083] describes structures) in said one or more of said first bonding surface and said second bonding surface; and
bonding said first bonding surface with said second bonding surface ([0084; see also Fig. 1B]), wherein a particle lands at a bonding interface resulting in an exclusion zone that is at least two times smaller than a bonding of two bonding surfaces with no nanostructures (this is not explicit, but particles are inevitably a natural impurity in such a manufacturing process; also this is treated as a statement of the result of the first two positively recited steps (etching surfaces and bonding surfaces)).
Regarding Claim 3, Chaji teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein said bonding comprises one of the following: fusion bonding, hybrid bonding, direct bonding, anodic bonding, covalent bonding and adhesive bonding (liquid curing agent 1512 is an adhseive; see [0136]).
Regarding Claim 9, Chaji teaches a method as recited in claim 1 further comprising: performing in-liquid alignment during said bonding (liquid curing agent 1512; see [0136]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaji (US # 20190148321).
Regarding Claim 2, Chaji teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein presence of said nanostructures reduces an area of contact during said bonding to less than one of 50%, 25%, 10%, 5%, 2% and 1%o of an area of said first or second bonding surface (nanostructure diameter, length, and concentration/pitch in a pad area are all engineered to maximize bonding ([0068-39, 73, 75, 84, 99]).
Claims 4, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaji (US # 20190148321) in view of Gao (US # 20200075520).
Regarding Claim 4, although Chaji discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method as recited in claim 1, wherein said bonding is utilized for face to face bonding or face to back bonding.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Gao is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches both orientations: including face-to-face bonding (surface 1100 and 1102, see Fig. 11 and [0068]; see also Fig. 8 and corresponding text).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the bonding method of Chaji with the orientations suggested by Gao would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Gao would be to employ a method as recited in claim 1, wherein said bonding is utilized for face to face bonding or face to back bonding. The rationale for this obvious modification is that providing front- and back-surface bonding provides multilayer die stack options, which yields better device density.
Regarding Claim 5, although Chaji discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method as recited in claim 1, wherein said bonding is utilized for creation of one or more of the following: 2.5D devices, 3D devices, High Bandwidth Memory (HIBM), logic over SRAM, SRAM over logic, DRAM over logic, logic over DRAM, logic over memory, memory over logic, logic over imager array and imager array over logic.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Gao teaches the methods for creation of one or more of the following: 2.5D devices, 3D devices, High Bandwidth Memory (HIBM), logic over SRAM, SRAM over logic, DRAM over logic, logic over DRAM, logic over memory, memory over logic, logic over imager array and imager array over logic (see Fig. 6 and [0066]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the bonding method of Chaji with the HBM suggested by Gao would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Gao would be to employ a method as recited in claim 1, wherein said bonding is utilized for creation of one or more of the following: 2.5D devices, 3D devices, High Bandwidth Memory (HIBM), logic over SRAM, SRAM over logic, DRAM over logic, logic over DRAM, logic over memory, memory over logic, logic over imager array and imager array over logic. The rationale for this obvious modification is that providing High Bandwidth Memory (HIBM) provides high performance functions, such as low latency and low power consumption, making it ideal for high-performance computing, AI, and GPU applications.
Regarding Claim 6, although Chaji discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method as recited in claim 1, wherein said nanostructures are absent wherever one or more island structures are to be found.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Gao teaches surface texturing in selecting regions and not other regions, including forming nanopores and the surface of recesses 506 and 508 (Figs. 5; and corresponding text starting at [0048]) and those same nanopores absent from other portions (active area 504).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the bonding method of Chaji with the variety of nanopore and non-nanopore features suggested by Gao would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Gao would be to employ a method as recited in claim 1, wherein said nanostructures are absent wherever one or more island structures are to be found. The rationale for this obvious modification is that providing non-nanopore bonding provides areas for direct metal-to-metal contact, which is relied upon for vertical conduction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, and 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 7, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including the method as recited in claim 1 further comprising: delaminating a bond between said first bonding surface and said second bonding surface, wherein hydrofluoric acid or vapor hydrofluoric acid is used to delaminate said bond between said first bonding surface and said second bonding surface.
Regarding Claim 8, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including the method as recited in claim 1, wherein said first and second bonding surfaces are delaminated using a mechanical pulling approach.
Regarding Claim 10, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including the method as recited in claim 1, wherein said nanostructures are kinked to enhance their ability to reduce particle-induced exclusion zones at said bonding interface.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899