DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 11-22, 24-26, and 28-33 are pending in this application.
Claims 1-10, 23, and 27 are cancelled.
Claims 11, 18, 20-21, and 24 are amended.
Claims 11-22, 24-26, and 28-33 are presented for examination.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments, filed 18 September 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 18-22 under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) second paragraph have been fully considered. The rejection for claims 18-22 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 13-15, 24, 26, 28, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanter et al. (US Publication 2015/0284984 A1) in view of Ette (US Publication 2021/0046900 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kanter teaches a method for opening a door of a motor vehicle, the method comprising: scanning for a user terminal configured to open the door of the motor vehicle (Kanter: Para. 12; identifying the authorization unit may be carried out in that a signal exchange takes place, e.g., by radio, between the authorization unit and the vehicle as soon as the authorization unit is within a predetermined perimeter around the vehicle) ………….. a trajectory of the user terminal when a distance between the user terminal and the motor vehicle is less than a minimum distance (Kanter: Para. 13; movement trajectory may be understood to mean a space curve along which the authorization unit is moving toward the vehicle) comparing the determined trajectory with at least one predefined trajectory of the user terminal (Kanter: Para. 12, 14; select an approach profile which is assigned to the movement trajectory from multiple approach profiles which are assigned to different doors of the vehicle in order to ascertain the relevant door; authorization unit); and opening the door of the motor vehicle when the determined trajectory matches a trajectory of the at least one predefined trajectory (Kanter: Para. 12; approach, or one or multiple characteristic features of the approach; authorization unit; evaluation may take place, for example, using stored reference approaches; open the relevant door and expose the opening to the vehicle interior).
Kanter doesn’t explicitly teach determining, based on wireless communication between the motor vehicle and the user terminal.
However Ette, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining, based on wireless communication between the motor vehicle and the user terminal (Ette: Para. 24, Abstract; a location of an intelligent key, a time of initiation of a function of the transportation vehicle to be triggered by the key and/or a movement profile of the key is/are captured as profile information; authentication element within a proximity area around the transportation vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic door opener (Kanter: Para. 12) with the movement profile of the key (Ette: Para. 24) with a reasonable expectation of success because a person carrying a key in their pocket allows for the movement profile of the key to predict the intention of the user and unlock the proper door (Ette: Para. 17, 24-25).
Regarding claim 13, Kanter doesn’t explicitly teach the scanning for the user terminal is carried out using a Bluetooth transmitter, wherein the scanning determines whether the distance between the user terminal and the motor vehicle is less than the minimum distance, and further comprising: activating an ultra-wideband transmitter when the scanning determines that the distance is less than the minimum distance, wherein the trajectory of the user terminal is determined by means of the ultra-wideband transmitter,
However Ette, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the scanning for the user terminal is carried out using a Bluetooth transmitter, wherein the scanning determines whether the distance between the user terminal and the motor vehicle is less than the minimum distance (Ette: Para. 18, 36; authentication element and the communication module are designed for communication with ultra-wideband signals (UWB signals), and the propagation time measurement is performed with UWB signals; due to the temporal definition of the pulses, their propagation time and therefore the transmitter distance can be precisely determined; BLUETOOTH® and also UWB are used for the radio transmission), and further comprising: activating an ultra-wideband transmitter when the scanning determines that the distance is less than the minimum distance, wherein the trajectory of the user terminal is determined by means of the ultra-wideband transmitter (Ette: Para. 36; authentication element and the communication module are designed for communication with ultra-wideband signals (UWB signals), and the propagation time measurement is performed with UWB signals; UWB transceivers that are used can also be effectively employed for distance measurements).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic door opener (Kanter: Para. 12) with the movement profile of the key (Ette: Para. 24) with a reasonable expectation of success because a person carrying a key in their pocket allows for the movement profile of the key to predict the intention of the user and unlock the proper door (Ette: Para. 17, 24-25).
Regarding claim 14, Kanter teaches the method as claimed in claim 11, further comprising: obtaining information about an obstacle in a surrounding area of the door (Kanter: Para. 36, 17; camera system for detecting when driver approaches vehicle; surround-view sensor; checking a swing range that the swing range is free of obstacles); and identifying at least one acceptable trajectory as the at least one predefined trajectory depending on the information obtained about the obstacle in the surrounding area (Kanter: Para. 14, 17; select an approach profile which is assigned to the movement trajectory from multiple approach profiles; checking a swing range that the swing range is free of obstacles).
Regarding claim 15, Kanter teaches the method as claimed in claim 11, further comprising: storing a plurality of determined trajectories (Kanter: Para. 14; storage of multiple movement trajectories in different approach profiles); and adjusting the at least one predefined trajectory using the plurality of determined trajectories (Kanter: Para. 14; approach profile assigned to a door of the vehicle may include, for example, multiple movement trajectories deviating from each other up to a certain degree).
Regarding claim 24, Kanter teaches a motor vehicle configured for communication with a user terminal associated with the motor vehicle, the motor vehicle comprising: one or more interfaces configured to scan for the user terminal (Kanter: Para. 12, 22; interfaces to be separate integrated circuits; identifying the authorization unit may be carried out in that a signal exchange takes place, e.g., by radio, between the authorization unit and the vehicle as soon as the authorization unit is within a predetermined perimeter around the vehicle); and a controller in communication with the one or more interfaces (Kanter: Para. 22; interfaces may be software modules which are present on a microcontroller), the controller configured to: obtain information about an obstacle in a surrounding area of a door of the motor vehicle (Kanter: Para. 36, 17; camera system for detecting when driver approaches vehicle; surround-view sensor; checking a swing range that the swing range is free of obstacles); determine at least one predefined acceptable trajectory depending on the obstacle in the surrounding area (Kanter: Para. 14, 17; select an approach profile which is assigned to the movement trajectory from multiple approach profiles; checking a swing range that the swing range is free of obstacles); ………….. a trajectory of the user terminal when a distance between the user terminal and the motor vehicle is less than a minimum distance (Kanter: Para. 13; movement trajectory may be understood to mean a space curve along which the authorization unit is moving toward the vehicle); compare the determined trajectory of the user terminal with the at least one predefined acceptable trajectory (Kanter: Para. 12, 14; select an approach profile which is assigned to the movement trajectory from multiple approach profiles which are assigned to different doors of the vehicle in order to ascertain the relevant door); and open the door of the motor vehicle when the determined trajectory of the user terminal matches a trajectory of the at least one predefined acceptable trajectory (Kanter: Para. 12; approach, or one or multiple characteristic features of the approach; evaluation may take place, for example, using stored reference approaches; open the relevant door and expose the opening to the vehicle interior).
Kanter doesn’t explicitly teach determine, based on wireless communication between the controller and the user terminal.
However Ette, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determine, based on wireless communication between the controller and the user terminal (Ette: Para. 24, Abstract; a location of an intelligent key, a time of initiation of a function of the transportation vehicle to be triggered by the key and/or a movement profile of the key is/are captured as profile information; authentication element within a proximity area around the transportation vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic door opener (Kanter: Para. 12) with the movement profile of the key (Ette: Para. 24) with a reasonable expectation of success because a person carrying a key in their pocket allows for the movement profile of the key to predict the intention of the user and unlock the proper door (Ette: Para. 17, 24-25).
Regarding claim 26, Kanter doesn’t explicitly teach the scanning for the user terminal is carried out using a Bluetooth transmitter, the controller further configured to: activate an ultra-wideband transmitter when the distance is less than the minimum distance, wherein the trajectory of the user terminal is determined by means of the ultra-wideband transmitter.
However Ette, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the scanning for the user terminal is carried out using a Bluetooth transmitter (Ette: Para. 36; authentication element and the communication module are designed for communication with ultra-wideband signals (UWB signals), and the propagation time measurement is performed with UWB signals; UWB transceivers that are used can also be effectively employed for distance measurements), the controller further configured to: activate an ultra-wideband transmitter when the distance is less than the minimum distance, wherein the trajectory of the user terminal is determined by means of the ultra-wideband transmitter (Ette: Para. 18, 36; authentication element and the communication module are designed for communication with ultra-wideband signals (UWB signals), and the propagation time measurement is performed with UWB signals; due to the temporal definition of the pulses, their propagation time and therefore the transmitter distance can be precisely determined; BLUETOOTH® and also UWB are used for the radio transmission).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic door opener (Kanter: Para. 12) with the movement profile of the key (Ette: Para. 24) with a reasonable expectation of success because a person carrying a key in their pocket allows for the movement profile of the key to predict the intention of the user and unlock the proper door (Ette: Para. 17, 24-25).
Regarding claim 28, Kanter teaches the motor vehicle of claim 24, the controller further configured to: store a plurality of determined trajectories (Kanter: Para. 14; storage of multiple movement trajectories in different approach profiles); and adjust the at least one predefined trajectory using the plurality of determined trajectories (Kanter: Para. 14; approach profile assigned to a door of the vehicle may include, for example, multiple movement trajectories deviating from each other up to a certain degree).
Regarding claim 31, Kanter teaches the method of claim 14 wherein the minimum distance is dependent on a position of the obstacle in the surrounding area (Kanter: Para. 17; checking a swing range that the swing range is free of obstacles).
Regarding claim 32, Kanter teaches the method of claim 14 further comprising determining an extent to which the door of the motor vehicle is opened depending on the obstacle in the surrounding area (Kanter: Para. 18; opening of the relevant door may be stopped in the step of activating if it was established in the step of checking a swing range that a moving obstacle has entered the swing range of the relevant door).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanter et al. (US Publication 2015/0284984 A1) in view of Ette (US Publication 2021/0046900 A1), Mionike et al. (US Publication 2020/0217123 A1), and in further view of Cruz et al. (US Publication 2021/0214991 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Kanter teaches the method as claimed in claim 11, wherein the door is one of the plurality of doors of the motor vehicle, the method further comprising: determining a part of the determined trajectory of the user terminal; comparing the determined part of the determined trajectory of the user terminal with the at least one predefined trajectory (Kanter: Para. 12, 14;authorization unit; select an approach profile which is assigned to the movement trajectory from multiple approach profiles which are assigned to different doors of the vehicle in order to ascertain the relevant door).
Kanter and Ette don’t explicitly teach wherein the at least one predefined trajectory includes a first angle of approach to the door of the motor vehicle indicative of desire to open said one of the plurality of doors of the motor vehicle, and a second angle of approach to the door of the motor vehicle is indicative of a desire to open none of the plurality of doors of the motor vehicle.
However Mionike, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the at least one predefined trajectory includes a first angle of approach to the door of the motor vehicle indicative of desire to open said one of the plurality of doors of the motor vehicle (Mionike: Para. 10, 31, 35; a predetermined direction from a surface of the door on at least one side of the door; direction normal to the center of the surface of the door(s)” refers to a direction of a normal line that passes through the center of an opening that appears when the door(s) opens), and a second angle of approach to the door of the motor vehicle is indicative of a desire to open none of the plurality of doors of the motor vehicle.
Mionike teaches sensing a person who is about to pass through the door. The successful open door trajectory is in the direction normal to the door. Mionike teaches direction normal as a line that passes through the center surface of the door (Mionike: Para. 10, 31, 35). Since a successful open angle is a trajectory with an angle that goes through the center of the door, a failing open angle is an angle based on the person's trajectory that doesn't pass through the center of the door.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic door opener (Kanter: Para. 12) with the movement profile of the key (Ette: Para. 24) and the normal direction of the person’s trajectory (Mionike: Para. 35) with a reasonable expectation of success because signaling to the person’s mobile data terminal before a camera can view the person allows for more time to trace the person’s direction and successfully open the door when the direction is normal to the center of the door (Mionike: Para. 11, 31, 35).
Kanter, Ette, and Mionike don’t explicitly teach outputting information to a user of the user terminal that the user is on an approach trajectory that leads to opening the door of the motor vehicle.
However Cruz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches outputting information to a user of the user terminal that the user is on an approach trajectory that leads to opening the door of the motor vehicle (Cruz: Para. 40, 42; once the user is at least recognized to be within zone, an acknowledgement cue will be provided).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic door opener (Kanter: Para. 12) with the movement profile of the key (Ette: Para. 24) and the normal direction of the person’s trajectory (Mionike: Para. 35) and the acknowledgment cue (Cruz: Para. 40, 42) with a reasonable expectation of success because self-opening doors can be difficult for the operator to use so determining the operator’s intent to operate a door allows the vehicle to automatically open the correct door (Cruz: Para. 1-2).
Claims 16, 29, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanter et al. (US Publication 2015/0284984 A1) in view of Ette (US Publication 2021/0046900 A1) and in further view of Rodrigues et al. (US Publication 2021/0214991 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Kanter and Ette don’t explicitly teach wherein adjusting the at least one predefined trajectory is carried out by an artificial intelligence.
However Rodrigues, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein adjusting the at least one predefined trajectory is carried out by an artificial intelligence (Rodrigues: Para. 77, 99; artificial or computational intelligence algorithms; based on the door closing path and the location of the person).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic door opener (Kanter: Para. 12) with the movement profile of the key (Ette: Para. 24) and the artificial intelligence (Rodrigues: Para. 77, 99) with a reasonable expectation of success because object identification using artificial intelligence can better detect and predict the relationship between the person and the vehicle’s door (Rodrigues: Para. 77, 99).
Regarding claim 29, Kanter and Ette don’t explicitly teach wherein adjusting the at least one predefined trajectory is carried out by an artificial intelligence.
However Rodrigues, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein adjusting the at least one predefined trajectory is carried out by an artificial intelligence (Rodrigues: Para. 77, 99; artificial or computational intelligence algorithms; based on the door closing path and the location of the person).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic door opener (Kanter: Para. 12) with the movement profile of the key (Ette: Para. 24) and the artificial intelligence (Rodrigues: Para. 77, 99) with a reasonable expectation of success because object identification using artificial intelligence can better detect and predict the relationship between the person and the vehicle’s door (Rodrigues: Para. 77, 99).
Regarding claim 33, Kanter and Ette don’t explicitly teach wherein the obstacle is one or more of a garage, a tree and a puddle.
However Rodrigues, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the obstacle is one or more of a garage, a tree and a puddle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic door opener (Kanter: Para. 12) with the movement profile of the key (Ette: Para. 24) and the artificial intelligence (Rodrigues: Para. 77, 99) with a reasonable expectation of success because object identification using artificial intelligence can better detect and predict the relationship between the person and the vehicle’s door (Rodrigues: Para. 77, 99).
Claims 17-22, 25, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanter et al. (US Publication 2015/0284984 A1) in view of Ette (US Publication 2021/0046900 A1) and in further view of Cruz et al. (US Publication 2021/0214991 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Kanter and Ette don’t explicitly teach closing the door of the motor vehicle when, after opening the door of the motor vehicle, a maximum distance between the user terminal and the motor vehicle is exceeded the determined trajectory of the user terminal corresponds to another predefined trajectory other than the at least one predefined trajectory.
However Cruz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches closing the door of the motor vehicle when, after opening the door of the motor vehicle, a maximum distance between the user terminal and the motor vehicle is exceeded the determined trajectory of the user terminal corresponds to another predefined trajectory other than the at least one predefined trajectory (Cruz: Para. 6; after the user returns to the zone, receiving a signal to close the vehicle door; for a second time, recognizing the user no longer remains within the zone; and causing the vehicle door to close after recognizing the user no longer remains within the zone for the second time).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic door opener (Kanter: Para. 12) ) with the movement profile of the key (Ette: Para. 24) and the acknowledgment cue (Cruz: Para. 40, 42) with a reasonable expectation of success because self-opening doors can be difficult for the operator to use so determining the operator’s intent to operate a door allows the vehicle to automatically open the correct door (Cruz: Para. 1-2).
Regarding claim 18, Kanter teaches a non-transient computer-readable medium for opening a door of a motor vehicle, wherein the computer-readable medium comprises instructions which, when executed on a controller, causes the controller to: scan for a user terminal configured to open a door of the motor vehicle (Kanter: Para. 12; identifying the authorization unit may be carried out in that a signal exchange takes place, e.g., by radio, between the authorization unit and the vehicle as soon as the authorization unit is within a predetermined perimeter around the vehicle); …………. a trajectory of the user terminal when a distance between the user terminal and the motor vehicle is less than a minimum distance (Kanter: Para. 13; movement trajectory may be understood to mean a space curve along which the authorization unit is moving toward the vehicle); compare the determined trajectory of the user terminal with at least one predefined trajectory (Kanter: Para. 12, 14; select an approach profile which is assigned to the movement trajectory from multiple approach profiles which are assigned to different doors of the vehicle in order to ascertain the relevant door); open the door of the motor vehicle when the determined trajectory matches a trajectory of the at least one predefined trajectory (Kanter: Para. 12; approach, or one or multiple characteristic features of the approach. Such an evaluation may take place, for example, using stored reference approaches; open the relevant door and expose the opening to the vehicle interior); determine a further trajectory of the user terminal (Kanter: Para. 12, 14; evaluating the approach, the progression of the approach, or one or multiple characteristic features of the approach).
Kanter doesn’t explicitly teach determine, based on wireless communication between the controller and the user terminal.
However Ette, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determine, based on wireless communication between the controller and the user terminal (Ette: Para. 24, Abstract; a location of an intelligent key, a time of initiation of a function of the transportation vehicle to be triggered by the key and/or a movement profile of the key is/are captured as profile information; authentication element within a proximity area around the transportation vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic door opener (Kanter: Para. 12) with the movement profile of the key (Ette: Para. 24) with a reasonable expectation of success because a person carrying a key in their pocket allows for the movement profile of the key to predict the intention of the user and unlock the proper door (Ette: Para. 17, 24-25).
Kanter and Ette don’t explicitly teach close the door of the motor vehicle when, after opening the door of the motor vehicle, the determined further trajectory of the user terminal corresponds to another predefined trajectory other than the at least one predefined trajectory.
However Cruz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches close the door of the motor vehicle when, after opening the door of the motor vehicle, the determined further trajectory of the user terminal corresponds to another predefined trajectory other than the at least one predefined trajectory determining an intent of the user based on the movement of the user within the zone; and based on the intent of the user, causing the vehicle door to open; causing the vehicle door to close after recognizing the user no longer remains within the zone.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic door opener (Kanter: Para. 12) ) with the movement profile of the key (Ette: Para. 24) and the acknowledgment cue (Cruz: Para. 40, 42) with a reasonable expectation of success because self-opening doors can be difficult for the operator to use so determining the operator’s intent to operate a door allows the vehicle to automatically open the correct door (Cruz: Para. 1-2).
Regarding claim 19, Kanter teaches the non-transient computer-readable medium as claimed in claim 18, wherein the computer-readable medium further comprises instructions which, when executed on a controller, causes the controller to: determine a part of the determined trajectory of the user terminal; compare the determined part of the determined trajectory of the user terminal with the at least one predefined trajectory (Kanter: Para. 14; select an approach profile which is assigned to the movement trajectory from multiple approach profiles which are assigned to different doors of the vehicle in order to ascertain the relevant door).
Kanter and Ette don’t explicitly teach output information to a user of the user terminal that the user is on an approach trajectory that leads to opening the door of the motor vehicle.
However Cruz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches output information to a user of the user terminal that the user is on an approach trajectory that leads to opening the door of the motor vehicle (Cruz: Para. 40, 42; once the user is at least recognized to be within zone, an acknowledgement cue will be provided).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic door opener (Kanter: Para. 12) ) with the movement profile of the key (Ette: Para. 24) and the acknowledgment cue (Cruz: Para. 40, 42) with a reasonable expectation of success because self-opening doors can be difficult for the operator to use so determining the operator’s intent to operate a door allows the vehicle to automatically open the correct door (Cruz: Para. 1-2).
Regarding claim 20, Kanter teaches the non-transient computer-readable medium as claim 18, wherein: ….. , wherein the computer-readable medium further comprises instructions which when executed on the controller, causes the controller to.
Kanter doesn’t explicitly teach the scanning for the user terminal is carried out using a Bluetooth transmitter ………. activate an ultra-wideband transmitter when the distance is less than the minimum distance, wherein the trajectory is determined by means of the ultra-wideband transmitter and includes an angle of approach to the door of the motor vehicle.
However Ette, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the scanning for the user terminal is carried out using a Bluetooth transmitter (Ette: Para. 18, 36; authentication element and the communication module are designed for communication with ultra-wideband signals (UWB signals), and the propagation time measurement is performed with UWB signals; due to the temporal definition of the pulses, their propagation time and therefore the transmitter distance can be precisely determined; BLUETOOTH® and also UWB are used for the radio transmission) ………. activate an ultra-wideband transmitter when the distance is less than the minimum distance, wherein the trajectory is determined by means of the ultra-wideband transmitter and includes an angle of approach to the door of the motor vehicle (Ette: Para. 18, 36; authentication element and the communication module are designed for communication with ultra-wideband signals (UWB signals), and the propagation time measurement is performed with UWB signals; due to the temporal definition of the pulses, their propagation time and therefore the transmitter distance can be precisely determined; BLUETOOTH® and also UWB are used for the radio transmission).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic door opener (Kanter: Para. 12) with the movement profile of the key (Ette: Para. 24) with a reasonable expectation of success because a person carrying a key in their pocket allows for the movement profile of the key to predict the intention of the user and unlock the proper door (Ette: Para. 17, 24-25).
Regarding claim 21, Kanter teaches the non-transient computer readable medium as claimed in claim 18, wherein the computer-readable medium further comprises instructions which, when executed on the controller, causes the controller to: obtain information about a surrounding area of the door (Kanter: Para. 36, 17; camera system for detecting when driver approaches vehicle; surround-view sensor; checking a swing range that the swing range is free of obstacles); and identify at least one acceptable trajectory as the at least one predefined trajectory depending on the information obtained about the surrounding area (Kanter: Para. 14, 17; select an approach profile which is assigned to the movement trajectory from multiple approach profiles; checking a swing range that the swing range is free of obstacles).
Regarding claim 22, Kanter teaches the non-transient computer-readable medium as claimed in claim 18, wherein the computer-readable medium further comprises instructions which, when executed on the controller, causes the controller to: store a plurality of determined trajectories (Kanter: Para. 14; storage of multiple movement trajectories in different approach profiles); and adjust the at least one predefined trajectory using the plurality of determined trajectories (Kanter: Para. 14; approach profile assigned to a door of the vehicle may include, for example, multiple movement trajectories deviating from each other up to a certain degree).
Regarding claim 25, Kanter teaches the motor vehicle of claim 24, wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a part of the determined trajectory of the user terminal; compare the determined part of the trajectory of the user terminal with the at least one predefined acceptable trajectory (Kanter: Para. 14; select an approach profile which is assigned to the movement trajectory from multiple approach profiles which are assigned to different doors of the vehicle in order to ascertain the relevant door).
Kanter and Ette don’t explicitly teach output information to a user of the user terminal that the user is on an approach trajectory that leads to opening the door of the motor vehicle.
However Cruz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches output information to a user of the user terminal that the user is on an approach trajectory that leads to opening the door of the motor vehicle (Cruz: Para. 40, 42; once the user is at least recognized to be within zone, an acknowledgement cue will be provided).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic door opener (Kanter: Para. 12) ) with the movement profile of the key (Ette: Para. 24) and the acknowledgment cue (Cruz: Para. 40, 42) with a reasonable expectation of success because self-opening doors can be difficult for the operator to use so determining the operator’s intent to operate a door allows the vehicle to automatically open the correct door (Cruz: Para. 1-2).
Regarding claim 30, Kanter and Ette don’t explicitly teach close the door of the motor vehicle when, after opening the door of the motor vehicle, a maximum distance between the user terminal and the motor vehicle is exceeded or the determined trajectory of the user terminal corresponds to another predefined trajectory other than the at least one predefined acceptable trajectory.
However Cruz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches close the door of the motor vehicle when, after opening the door of the motor vehicle, a maximum distance between the user terminal and the motor vehicle is exceeded or the determined trajectory of the user terminal corresponds to another predefined trajectory other than the at least one predefined acceptable trajectory (Cruz: Para. 6; after the user returns to the zone, receiving a signal to close the vehicle door; for a second time, recognizing the user no longer remains within the zone; and causing the vehicle door to close after recognizing the user no longer remains within the zone for the second time).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the automatic door opener (Kanter: Para. 12) with the acknowledgment cue (Cruz: Para. 40, 42) with a reasonable expectation of success because self-opening doors can be difficult for the operator to use so determining the operator’s intent to operate a door allows the vehicle to automatically open the correct door (Cruz: Para. 1-2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed on 18 September 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 11, 14-15, 24, 28, and 31-32 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and claims 12-13, 16-22, 25-26, 29-30, and 33 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
The applicant’s attorney argues that claim 11’s “determining, based on wireless communication between the motor vehicle and the user terminal” is not taught by Kanter.
In response to the applicant’s argument above is moot because it doesn’t apply to the reference in this rejection.
The applicant next argues that claim 18’s “closing the door of the motor vehicle when, after opening the door of the motor vehicle, the determined further trajectory of the user terminal corresponds to another predefined trajectory other than the at least one predefined trajectory” is not taught by the prior arts.
In response to the argument above, Kanter teaches a detected directional progression to determine the relevant door by evaluating the approach. Kanter has a series of saved reference approaches in order to help determine the door of interest. The system determines the door of interest based on matching the detected directional approach with a saved reference approach and opens the relevant door (Kanter: Para. 12, 14). Based on a trajectory, the relevant door has been opened.
Cruz teaches recognizing the movement of the user within the zone, determining an intent based on the movement within the zone, and opening the door (Cruz: Para. 3). Cruz teaches recognizing that the user no longer remains within the zone and causing the vehicle’s door to close after recognizing the user no longer remains within the zone (Cruz: Para. 4). Cruz’s user intent that opens the vehicle’s door is a successful trajectory. When the user leaves the zone after the movement into the zone with an intent that causes the door to open, the leaving trajectory would not be a successful trajectory. When the user leaves the zone, the vehicle’s door is closed. Figure 1 of Cruz teaches a key and a cellphone which is a passive physical or virtual vehicle key (Cruz: Para. 21). Cruz teaches a user will approach vehicle and PEPS module will identify them via a connection that is created with their keyfob or mobile computing device (Cruz: Para. 39). Cruz teaches a user terminal being carried by the user during the recognizing and monitoring processes.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to see that the saved reference trajectories for a given door would end in the same zone, the entry area of that door into the vehicle. If the person leaves the zone around the open relevant vehicle door, then Cruz’s system would declare that person as no longer in the zone. The system would then close that door.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to monitor the motion of the user and key towards the vehicle. It is reasonable to have saved reference trajectories or zones for each vehicle door or the trunk. It would be obvious to close an open door when the monitored trajectory or zone no longer matches the door that was opened.
The applicant next argues that dependent claims 12-17, 19-22, 25-26, and 28-33 should be allowable at least based on their dependencies.
In response to the argument above, independent claims 11, 18, and 24 are rejected. Therefore all dependent claims are rejected at least based on their dependencies.
The applicant next argues that claims 16’s and 29’s “is carried out by an artificial intelligence”
The applicant next argues that claim 13’s “predetermined proximity or range” is not taught by Cruz.
The applicant’s argument above is moot because it doesn’t apply to the reference in this rejection.
The applicant next argues that claims 16 and 29’s“is carried out by an artificial intelligence” is not taught by Rodrigues.
In response to the argument above, Rodrigues teaches a system with suitable techniques such as computer vision, image processing, artificial intelligence, computational intelligences, or machine learning (Rodrigues: Para. 77). Rodrigues teaches a comparison of the path for a door closing versus the location of the person. Based on the changing information of the door’s current or suspected future location and the person’s current or suspected future location the processor determines one of a various types of actions. This includes a greeting welcoming a car owner back to the car or the warning to indicate to the person that the door may be opened by an occupant inside the vehicle (Rodrigues: para. 99). Rodrigues teaches a smart vehicle system where information about the vehicle and person are used to control the system through a customized response based on that individual situation. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use artificial intelligence and machine learning capabilities to improve the smart vehicle responses based on data collected to customize the responses based on normal computer vision identified occupants.
The applicant next argues that claim 33’s “the obstacle is one or more of a garage, a tree and a puddle” is not taught by Rodrigues.
In response to the argument above, Rodriges teaches determining an object is located in the path of the door and gives the example of a tree (Rodrigues: Para. 23, 36).
The applicant’s arguments have failed to point out the distinguishing characteristics of the amended claim language over the prior art. For the above reasons, Kanter’s automatic door opener and Ette’s monitored path of the key reads on applicant’s method and system for opening a door of a motor vehicle. The rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
/L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ADAM D TISSOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663