DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-5, 10 and 13 in the reply filed on 5/1/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-9, 11, 12, 14 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/1/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “Drive unit configured to drive the impeller” in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Applicant’s specification in par. [0021] states “The drive unit may be a non-contact electromagnetic drive unit configured to rotatably drive the impeller relative to the housing. The drive unit may establish an attractive force on the impeller. Therefore, the impeller may comprise magnets which interact with the drive unit in that a rotating magnetic field is established within the drive unit for driving the impeller.” Par. [0060] states “The drive unit 26 comprises a stator 66 and an insulation assembly 68. The drive unit 22 is configured to establish a rotating magnetic field which interacts with the magnets 52 of the impeller 20 to cause the impeller 20 to rotate about the axis of rotation X.” For the purposes of examination, the “drive unit” will be interpreted as an electromagnetic unit that provides a rotating magnetic field (and equivalents thereof)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Burgreen et al. (US Patent 6,093,001).
Regarding Claim 1, Burgreen discloses a blood pump 120 having a pump housing 122; an impeller 130 disposed in the pump housing; an electromagnetic drive unit 161 that produces a rotating magnetic field to drive the impeller 130; and a bearing arrangement 180, 184 having a pivot bearing, namely in the form of a “pivot-type ball-and-cup bearing” (Fig. 2a; col. 3, lines 19-27; col. 3, line 62-col. 4, line 24).
In regards to Claims 2 and 10, Burgreen discloses “a pivot-type ball-and-cup bearing” which encompasses a first bearing member 153, 155 (such as a ball) that has a first abutment portion (an outer periphery of the ball) that fits within and at least partially contacts a concave surface of element 146, 148 respectively, to allow the ball to pivot relative to the socket (concave portion), see Fig. 2a ad col. 3, line19-col. 4 line 24.
With regard to Claim 3, Burgreen discloses and edge or portion of ball 153, 155 fits within a cap 146, 148 that has a larger radius than the accommodated portion of th ball (it fits within the cap and thus must be slightly smaller radius than the cap), see Fig. 2a.
In regards to Claims 4 and 5, Burgreen discloses support elements 152, 154 that also abut balls 153, 155 and are affixed thereto wherein the radius of the support elements 152, 154 are larger than the radius of the ball since the ball fits within the radius of the support elements (Fig. 2a; col. 3, lines 15-37).
In regard to Claim 13, Applicant does not define any particular connection type to the impeller and housing or any specific means of connection to the impeller or housing. Burgereen discloses the ball-and-cup bearings are attached to impeller 130 directly (see “inner” edges of elements 153, 155 in Fig. 2a) and are also indirectly connected to housing 122 via their connection to stator members 126 and 128 via intervening portions 146, 148 (see Fig. 2a, col. 3, lines 3-14).
Claims 1-5, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Akdis (PGPUB 2011/0238172).
Regarding Claims 1-5 and 10, Akdis discloses a blood pump having a pump housing 400; an impeller 411 disposed in the pump housing; a magnetic drive unit 406-410 that produces a rotating magnetic field to drive the impeller 412; and a bearing arrangement having a ball 414 (with a first abutment edge) socketed within a spherical cap 405 (having a receiving abutment edge) having a support base/frame, see Fig. 15; par. [0233, 0234, 0236, 0238].
In regards to Claim 13, Akdis discloses first pivot bearing member 414 is attached to the impeller 411 and a second pivot bearing member (spherical cap portion 405) is directly connected to pump housing 400 (Fig. 15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Siess et al., US Patent 10,842,921.
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796