DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made that the instant application is a 371 of PCT/CN2023/131266 filed on 11/13/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 9, 11-12, 15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angioni (US 20200259110 A1 - hereinafter Angioni) in view of Mei (US 20240237379 A1 – hereinafter Mei)
Regarding Claim 1, Angioni teaches a light emitting device (see the entire document; Figs. 10-12E; specifically, [0076]-[0083], and as cited below), comprising:
a first electrode (604 – Fig. 10 – [0076]);
a second electrode (606); and
a first functional layer (1207 – [0081] – Fig. 12D), a first quantum dots layer of a first color (608), and a second functional layer (610) between the first electrode (604) and the second electrode (606);
wherein one or more first quantum dots of the first quantum dots layer of the first color ([0083] UV light 1102 is applied though a mask 1104 that provides a shape/pattern through which the desired area of the mixture 607 is exposed) is at least partially embedded in the first functional layer (1207); and
a first functional material in the first functional layer is at least partially cross- linked ([0083] – “where the mixture includes photo initiator, the photo initiator may assist in initializing the cross-linking of the cations. The cross-linking of the cations results in dispersion of the quantum dots throughout the formed crosslinked matrix”).
But Angioni as applied above does not expressly disclose a first auxiliary quantum dots layer.
However, in a related art, Mei teaches a first quantum dot film (231 – Fig. 2 – [0065]) and a second quantum dot film 232 (equivalent to a first auxiliary quantum dots layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the forming of a first auxiliary quantum dot layer (second quantum dot film) as taught by Mei into Angioni.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to integrate Mei structure into Angioni structure in the manner set forth above for, at least, for the obvious benefit of improve brightness and current density.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Angioni and Mei teaches the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the first auxiliary quantum dots layer is in contact with the first functional layer and in contact with the second functional layer; and the first auxiliary quantum dots layer is in contact with the first quantum dots layer of the first color (The modified embodiment of Angioni and Mei teaches the claimed limitations).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Angioni and Mei teaches the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the first auxiliary quantum dots layer is on a side of the first quantum dots layer away from the first functional layer (The modified embodiment of Angioni and Mei teaches the claimed limitations).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Angioni and Mei teaches the light emitting device of claim 6, wherein the second functional layer is on a side of the first auxiliary quantum dots layer away from the first quantum dots layer (The modified embodiment of Angioni and Mei teaches the claimed limitations).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Angioni and Mei teaches the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the first quantum dots layer is on a side of the first auxiliary quantum dots layer and the second functional layer away from the first electrode; the first auxiliary quantum dots layer is on a side of the first quantum dots layer away from the first functional layer; the second functional layer is on a side of the first auxiliary quantum dots layer and the first quantum dots layer away from the first functional layer; and the first auxiliary quantum dots layer are in contact with the second functional layer (The modified embodiment of Angioni and Mei teaches the claimed limitations).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Angioni and Mei teaches the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein an orthographic projection of the first auxiliary quantum dots layer on a base substrate substantially covers an orthographic projection of the first quantum dots layer on the base substrate (The modified embodiment of Angioni and Mei teaches the claimed limitations).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Angioni and Mei teaches the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein an orthographic projection of the first auxiliary quantum dots layer on a base substrate is substantially non-overlapping with an orthographic projection of the first quantum dots layer on the base substrate (The modified embodiment of Angioni and Mei teaches the claimed limitations).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Angioni and Mei teaches the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein quantum dots materials in the first quantum dots layer of the first color and the first auxiliary quantum dots layer are quantum dots materials of the same color (This is well-known in the art to make quantum dot layer to be made to be the same color).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Angioni and Mei teaches a display apparatus, comprising a display panel; wherein the display panel comprises the light emitting device of claim 1 (Angioni - [0001]), and one or more transistors configured to control light emission of the light emitting device (Angioni – [0060]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 8, 10, 13-14, 16-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is the Examiner’s Reasons for Allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose and would not have rendered obvious:
Regarding claim 3: The light emitting device of claim 1, wherein, with respect to the first quantum dots layer of the first color and the first functional layer, a majority of a first quantum dots material is distributed in the first quantum dots layer of the first color, and a minority of the first quantum dots material is distributed in the first functional layer; and with respect to the first quantum dots layer of the first color and the first functional layer, a majority of the first functional material is distributed in the first functional layer, and a minority of the first functional material is distributed in the first quantum dots layer of the first color.
Claim 4-5 depend from claim 3.
Regarding claim 8: The light emitting device of claim 6, further comprising a third functional layer on a side of the first functional layer away from the first quantum dots layer and the first auxiliary quantum dots layer; wherein the first functional layer is in contact with the third functional layer.
Regarding claim 10: The light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the first quantum dots layer has a non-uniform thickness; and a combination of the first quantum dots layer and the first auxiliary quantum dots layer has a non-uniform thickness.
Regarding claim 13: The light emitting device of claim 1, wherein quantum dots materials in the first quantum dots layer of the first color comprise a first ligand; quantum dots materials in the first auxiliary quantum dots layer include a first auxiliary ligand; ligands in the first quantum dots layer of the first color have a same polarity; ligands in the first auxiliary quantum dots layer have a same polarity; and the first ligand and the first auxiliary ligand have different polarities.
Claim 14 depends from claim 13.
Regarding claim 16: The light emitting device of claim 1, comprising a first subpixel of the first color, a second subpixel of a second color, and a third subpixel of a third color; wherein the first subpixel of the first color comprises the first quantum dots layer and the first auxiliary quantum dots layer; the second subpixel of the second color comprises a second quantum dots layer and a second auxiliary quantum dots layer; the third subpixel of the third color comprises a third quantum dots layer and a third auxiliary quantum dots layer; quantum dots materials in the first quantum dots layer of the first color comprise a ligand having a fluorinated group; quantum dots materials in the second quantum dots layer of the second color comprise a ligand having a fluorinated group; quantum dots materials in the third quantum dots layer of the third color comprise a ligand having a fluorinated group; and a number of fluorine atoms in the ligands of the third quantum dots layer of the third color is greater than a number of fluorine atoms in the ligands of the first quantum dots layer of the first color, and is greater than a number of fluorine atoms in the ligands of the second quantum dots layer of the second color.
Regarding claim 17: The light emitting device of claim 1, comprising a first subpixel of the first color, a second subpixel of a second color, and a third subpixel of a third color; wherein the first subpixel of the first color comprises the first quantum dots layer and the first auxiliary quantum dots layer; the second subpixel of the second color comprises a second quantum dots layer and a second auxiliary quantum dots layer; the third subpixel of the third color comprises a third quantum dots layer and a third auxiliary quantum dots layer; quantum dots materials in the first auxiliary quantum dots layer comprise a ligand having a fluorinated group and/or a cyanide group; quantum dots materials in the second auxiliary quantum dots layer comprise a ligand having a fluorinated group and/or a cyanide group; quantum dots materials in the third auxiliary quantum dots layer comprise a ligand having a fluorinated group and/or a cyanide group; and a thickness of the third auxiliary quantum dots layer is greater than a thickness of the first auxiliary quantum dots layer, and is greater than a thickness of the second auxiliary quantum dots layer.
Regarding claim 18: The light emitting device of claim 1, comprising a first subpixel of the first color, a second subpixel of a second color, and a third subpixel of a third color; wherein the first subpixel of the first color comprises the first quantum dots layer and the first auxiliary quantum dots layer; the second subpixel of the second color comprises a second quantum dots layer and a second auxiliary quantum dots layer; the third subpixel of the third color comprises a third quantum dots layer and a third auxiliary quantum dots layer; quantum dots materials in the first auxiliary quantum dots layer comprise a ligand having a fluorinated group and/or a cyanide group; quantum dots materials in the second auxiliary quantum dots layer comprise a ligand having a fluorinated group and/or a cyanide group; quantum dots materials in the third auxiliary quantum dots layer comprise a ligand having a fluorinated group and/or a cyanide group; and a number of the fluorinated group and/or a cyanide group in the third auxiliary quantum dots layer is greater than a number of the fluorinated group and/or a cyanide group in the first auxiliary quantum dots layer, and is greater than a number of the fluorinated group and/or a cyanide group in the second auxiliary quantum dots layer of.
Regarding claim 19: The light emitting device of claim 1, comprising a first subpixel of the first color, a second subpixel of a second color, and a third subpixel of a third color; wherein the first subpixel of the first color comprises the first quantum dots layer and the first auxiliary quantum dots layer; the second subpixel of the second color comprises a second quantum dots layer and a second auxiliary quantum dots layer; the third subpixel of the third color comprises a third quantum dots layer and a third auxiliary quantum dots layer; and a thickness of the first auxiliary quantum dots layer is greater than a thickness of the second auxiliary quantum dots layer; and the thickness of the second auxiliary quantum dots layer is greater than a thickness of the third auxiliary quantum dots layer.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD A RAHMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898