DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7, 9-12, 14-15, 17, 19-23, 25 are pending and have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made the instant application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/115412.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) NOVELTY; PRIOR ART.—A person shall be entitled to a patent unless—
(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention;
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1, 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Longji et al. (CN 108735905 A – hereinafter Longji).
Regarding Claim 1, Longji teaches a light-emitting device (see the entire document; Fig. 2; specifically, ([0051] - [0052]), and as cited below), comprising:
a first electrode (7 – Fig. 2 – [0051]), an electron transport adjustment layer (6), a quantum dot light- emitting layer (4) and a second electrode (1) that are arranged in sequence (as shown in Fig. 2), wherein
the electron transport adjustment layer (6) is configured to adjust a number of electrons transported from the first electrode to the quantum dot light-emitting layer ([0052] states Al2O3 layer 6 causes the increase of the electron potential barrier injected from cathode 7 and regulates the carrier balance of the quantum dot light-emitting layer 4).
Regarding claim 19, Longji further teaches:
a hole transport layer (3 – Fig. 2 - [0051]), located between the second electrode (1) and the quantum dot light-emitting layer (4); and
a hole injection layer (2), located between the second electrode (1) and the hole transport layer (3).
Regarding Claim 20, Longji teaches a method of manufacturing light-emitting device (see the entire document; Fig. 2; specifically, ([0051] - [0052]), and as cited below), comprising:
forming an electron transport adjustment layer (6 – Fig. 2 – [0051]) on a side (bottom side) of a first electrode (7),
forming a quantum dot light-emitting layer (4) on a side (bottom side) of the electron transport adjustment layer (6) away from the first electrode (7), and
forming a second electrode (1) on a side (bottom side) of the quantum dot light-emitting layer (4) away from the electron transport adjustment layer (6);
or
forming the quantum dot light-emitting layer on a side of the second electrode,
forming the electron transport adjustment layer on a side of the quantum dot light- emitting layer away from the second electrode, and forming the first electrode on a side of the electron transport adjustment layer away from the quantum dot light-emitting layer: wherein
the electron transport adjustment layer is configured to adjust a number of electrons transported from the first electrode to the quantum dot light-emitting layer.
Regarding Claim 21, Longji teaches the method according to claim 20, wherein forming the electron transport adjustment layer on the side of the first electrode includes: forming an electron adjustment layer by evaporation; and forming an electron transport layer on a side of the electron adjustment layer away from the first electrode (spin coating followed by heating – [0028]);
Or
forming the electron transport layer on the side of the quantum dot light-emitting layer away from the second electrode, and
forming the electron adjustment layer on a side of the electron transport layer away from the quantum dot light-emitting layer by evaporation.
Regarding Claim 22, Longji teaches the method according to claim 20, wherein forming the electron transport adjustment layer (6) on the side (bottom) of the first electrode (7) includes: forming the electron transport adjustment layer on the side of the first electrode by a solution process ([0028]);
Or
forming the electron transport adjustment layer on the side of the quantum dot light- emitting layer away from the second electrode by a solution process, Page 7 In Reply to USPTO Correspondence of N/A Attorney Docket No. 10406-2401729 wherein the electron transport adjustment layer includes a dopant material and a host material, and the dopant material is configured to adjust the number of electrons transported from the first electrode to the quantum dot light-emitting layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 23, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Longji in view of Lee et al. (US 20240099066 A1 - hereinafter Lee).
Regarding Claim 23, Longji teaches claim 1 from which claim 23 depends including a light emitting device. But Longji does not expressly disclose a display panel, comprising: a backplane; and a plurality of light-emitting devices each according to claim 1, the plurality of light-emitting devices disposed on a side of the backplane.
However, it is well-known in the art to have a display panel including a drive backplane and a plurality of light-emitting devices disposed on the drive backplane as is also taught by Lee (Lee – [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the forming of a display panel having a backplane and a plurality of light-emitting devices disposed on the backplane as taught by Lee into Longji.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to integrate Lee structure into Longji structure in the manner set forth above for, at least, for the obvious benefit of have fabricating a functional display panel with a plurality of light emitting devices as well known.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Longji and Lee teaches a display apparatus, comprising the display panel according to claim 23 (Lee – [0048]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9-12, 14-15, 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is the Examiner’s Reasons for Allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose and would not have rendered obvious:
Regarding claim 2: The light-emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the electron transport adjustment layer includes: an electron transport layer located between the first electrode and the quantum dot light-emitting layer; and an electron adjustment layer located between the electron transport layer and the first electrode, wherein a work function of the electron adjustment layer is greater than a work function of the electron transport layer, and the work function of the electron adjustment layer is greater than a work function of the first electrode; and the electron adjustment layer is configured to reduce the number of electrons transported from the first electrode to the quantum dot light-emitting layer.
Claims 3-7, 9-10 depend from claim 2.
Regarding claim 11: The light-emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the electron transport layer includes: an electron transport layer located between the first electrode and the quantum dot light-emitting layer; and an electron adjustment layer located between the electron transport layer and the first electrode, wherein a work function of the electron adjustment layer is less than a work function of the electron transport layer, and the work function of the electron adjustment layer is less than a work function of the first electrode; and the electron adjustment layer is configured to increase the number of electrons transported from the first electrode to the quantum dot light-emitting layer.
Claim 12 depends from claim 11.
Regarding claim 14: The light-emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the electron transport adjustment layer includes a dopant material and a host material; and the dopant material is configured to adjust the number of electrons transported from the first electrode to the quantum dot light-emitting layer.
Claims 15, 17 depend from claim 14.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD A RAHMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898