DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yuan et al US 20230422185 (hereinafter Yuan).
Regarding claim 21, Yuan discloses a method, comprising:
obtaining, by a user device (UE, see figs. 1 and 3, [0058]), beam information via measurement (determining MPE event, see [0048], [0076], [0079], [0090]-[0091]); and
sending, by a user device, a power headroom report (see [0073]-[0075], [0079]-[0083], [0094]), to a network node (base station, see figs. 1, 3, and 9, [0058], [0071], [0097]), wherein the power headroom report comprises a bitmap indicating whether beam information for a plurality of serving cells is present (see [0073]-[0075], [0079]-[0083], [0094]).
Regarding claim 27, Yuan discloses an apparatus (base station, see fig. 3, [0058]) comprising:
at least one processor (see fig. 3, [0058]); and
at least one memory including computer program code (see fig. 3, [0065]);
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive a power headroom report (see [0073]-[0075], [0079]-[0083], [0094]) from a user device (UE, see figs. 1 and 3, [0058]), wherein the power headroom report comprises a bitmap indicating whether beam information for a plurality of serving cells is present (see [0073]-[0075], [0079]-[0083], [0094]); and
obtain beam information for the plurality of serving cells based on the power headroom report (see [0073]-[0075], [0079]-[0083], [0094]).
Regarding claim 33, Yuan discloses an apparatus (UE, see figs. 1 and 3, [0058]), comprising:
at least one processor (see fig. 3, [0060]); and
at least one memory including computer program code (see fig. 3, [0061]); the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
obtain beam information via measurement (determining MPE event, see [0048], [0076], [0079], [0090]-[0091]); and
send a power headroom report (see [0073]-[0075], [0079]-[0083], [0094]) to a network node (base station, see figs. 1, 3, and 9, [0058], [0071], [0097]), wherein the power headroom report comprises a bitmap indicating whether beam information for a plurality of serving cells is present (see [0073]-[0075], [0079]-[0083], [0094]).
Regarding claims 22, 28, and 34 as applied to claims 21, 27, and 33, Yuan further discloses when a bit in the bitmap indicates that beam information is present for a first serving cell of the plurality of serving cells (see figs. 4, 6, and 7, [0081]-[0083]), the power headroom report further comprises first beam information of the first serving cell, wherein the first beam information comprises an extension bit indicating whether second beam information is present for the serving cell (see [0082]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 23, 29, and 35 as applied to claims 21, 27, and 33, Yuan further discloses when a bit in the bitmap indicates that beam information is present for a first serving cell of the plurality of serving cells (see figs. 4, 6, and 7, [0081]-[0083]), the beam information of the first serving cell further comprises a bit indicating whether and/or how much power management maximum power reduction is required by the user device when using a beam of the first serving cell (see P-MPR, [0072]).
Regarding claims 24, 30, and 36 as applied to claims 21, 27, and 33, Yuan further discloses receiving, by the user device and from the network node, a configuration of the beam information reporting, wherein the configuration comprises a maximum number of beams to be reported (configuring UE, see [0048]-[0049]).
Regarding claims 25, 31, and 37 as applied to claims 21, 27, and 33, Yuan further discloses wherein sending the power headroom report to the network device comprises:
triggering, by the user device, the sending of the power headroom report when:
maximum permission exposure for a beam is lower than a threshold amount or better than maximum permission exposure for a serving beam, and/or
quality of a beam is higher than threshold quality or better than quality of the serving beam (see [0068], [0085, [0094], [0096]).
Regarding claims 26, 32, and 38 as applied to claims 21, 27, and 33, Yuan further discloses using, by the user device, a logical channel identity for sending the power headroom report when beam information is present for at least one of the plurality of serving cells (see [0058], [0062], [0065], [0110]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al US 20210144654 discloses a method by a base station for receiving power headroom reporting from a user equipment (UE) in a Multi-Radio Access Technology (RAT)-Dual Connectivity (MR-DC) scenario, the method comprising: receiving a DC Power Headroom Report (PHR) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) from the UE, the DC PHR MAC CE having a fixed number of octets with cell index fields for indicating whether a power headroom (PH) for a serving cell with a corresponding cell index is reported.
Iwai et al US 20200245264 discloses calculating one or more power headrooms, each of which being calculated for each beam; and transmitting the one or more power headrooms for a number of beams, the number being determined in accordance with a type of power headroom, or a trigger condition serving as a trigger for power headroom reporting.
Cheng et al US 20200084735 discloses new radio (NR) power headroom report (PHR) design for millimeter save deployment.
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648