Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NAGARAJA et al. (Patent No: US 2019/0386756 A1), hereinafter, NAGARAJA.
Regarding Claim 1, NAGARAJA teaches,
Apparatus comprising: one or more processors, and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform: -Fig. 4 (430, 442); Paragraph [0013] ([0013] recites, “The apparatus generally includes at least one processor and a memory coupled to the at least one processor. The at least one processor is generally configured to determine a first beam configuration for measuring RSs transmitted from the apparatus.”)
reporting, for each of plural times, a respective beam setting adopted by a base station at the respective time. -Paragraph [0097, 0100-0102] ([0097] recites, “At 904, the BS signals the beam configuration to at least one UE. In some aspects, the beam configuration may be signaled via at least one of layer 1 (L1), layer 2 (L2), or radio resource control (RRC) signaling.” [0100-0102] recites, “In some aspects, the beam configuration may include an indication of at least one type of beam used to transmit the RSs. Additionally, the beam configuration may include an indication of whether the beam shape is static or changes over time. For example, the beam configuration may include an indication of a set of time periods during which the type of beam used to transmit the RSs is static and/or a set of time periods during which the type of beam used to transmit the RSs varies. In some cases, the beam configuration may include the start and end times for each time period (e.g., during which the beam shape is static or varies)…. Additionally, in some cases, the beam configuration may indicate via a list of beam identifiers (beam-ids), system frame number and/or system frame index, the beams that are static over time and the beams that vary over time. For example, in one aspect, the beam configuration may include a first set of beam-ids that are associated with types of beams that are static over one or more time periods, and a second set of beam-ids that are associated with types of beams that vary over one or more time periods.”)
Regarding Claim 2, NAGARAJA teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
NAGARAJA further teaches,
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: each of the times belongs to a respective time window; for each of the time windows, the base station adopted the respective beam setting at all of the times belonging to the respective time window; -Paragraph [0101] ([0101] recites, “In some cases, the beam configuration may include the start and end times for each time period (e.g., during which the beam shape is static or varies). For example, the start and end times can be indicated via at least one of system frame number (SFN), slot/mini-slot/symbol index, etc.” As explained above the time window (start and end time) of the beam setting is included in the beam configuration)
and the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to perform the reporting such that, for each of the time windows, the respective beam setting and an indication of the respective time window are reported. -Paragraph [0100, 0102] ([0100] recites, “…the beam configuration may include an indication of whether the beam shape is static or changes over time. For example, the beam configuration may include an indication of a set of time periods during which the type of beam used to transmit the RSs is static and/or a set of time periods during which the type of beam used to transmit the RSs varies.” As explained above, beam configuration reports beam ids, time window (start and end time) during which the configuration remains valid)
Regarding Claim 3, NAGARAJA teaches the limitations of Claim 2.
NAGARAJA further teaches,
The apparatus according to claim 2, wherein, for each of the time windows, the respective indication comprises at least two of:
a beginning of the respective time window;
a duration of the respective time window; and
an end of the respective time window. -Paragraph [0101] ([0101] recites, “In some cases, the beam configuration may include the start and end times for each time period (e.g., during which the beam shape is static or varies). “)
Regarding Claim 4, NAGARAJA teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
NAGARAJA further teaches,
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to perform: reporting an identifier of the base station related, for each of the plural times, to the respective reported beam setting. -Paragraph [0106] ([0106] recites, “In some aspects, the BS (e.g., serving BS) may determine a beam configuration for measuring RSs transmitted from at least one neighboring BS, and signal the beam configuration….. the serving BS may provide configuration for beams (e.g., duration/beam-ids that are static/changing) that are transmitted from neighbor BSs.” It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that base station identifier is the first thing reported in SIB1 and beam configurations corresponding to a BS for the time duration (time window) is reported.)
Claims 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Youtz et al. (Patent No: US 2020/0274609 A1), hereinafter, Youtz.
Regarding Claim 6, Youtz teaches,
Apparatus comprising: one or more processors, and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform: receiving, for each of plural times, a respective first indication indicating that a first base station adopted a respective beam setting at the respective time; -Fig. 4, 5; Paragraph [0052-0053, 0059-0060] ([0052-0053] recites, “ FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating exemplary functional components of repeater device 210. The components of repeater device 210 may be implemented, for example, via processor 320 executing instructions from memory 330….Beam scanning module 410 may scan for available antenna beams generated by 5G base station 160 using information stored in beamforming DB 420. Beamforming DB 420 may store a set of settings for antenna array 230 that enables beam scanning module 410 to tune antenna array 230 through a range of available tunings. For example, beam scanning module 410 may instruct antenna array controller 430 to select a particular antenna setting for antenna array 230.” As explained above beam setting (information) is obtained (received) from the beam database for each beam of base station for particular time duration. Fig. 5 shows structure of beam record in beam DB)
storing, in a database, for each of the plural times, the respective beam setting adopted, according to the respective first indication, by the first base station at the respective time along with the respective time; -Paragraph [0058] ([0058] recites, “FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating exemplary information stored in beam DB 440 according to an implementation described herein. As shown in FIG. 5, beam DB 440 may include one or more beam records 500. Each beam record 500 may store information relating to a particular beam identified by beam scanning module 410. Beam record 500 may include a beam identifier (ID) field 510, an antenna settings field 520, a connection field 530, and one or more time period records 540.”)
monitoring whether a request for the beam setting adopted by the first base station in a time period is received; retrieving, from the database, the one or more beam settings adopted, according to the database, by the first base station in the time period if the request is received; -Paragraph [0059-0060] ([0059] recites, “Beam ID field 510 may store an ID assigned by beam scanning module 410 to a particular antenna beam generated by 5G base station 160 and identified by beam scanning module 410. Antenna settings field 520 may store information identifying antenna settings for antenna array 230 associated with the particular antenna beam. Connection field 530 may store information identifying whether FWA device 120 was able to connect to 5G base station 160 via the particular antenna beam. Thus, connection field 530 may include information identifying whether the particular antenna beam is associated with the provider that manages FWA device 120.”[0060] recites, “Each time period record 540 may store information associated with the particular beam during a particular time period. Each time period record 540 may include a time period field 542, a repeater KPI field 544, a rank field 546, and a FWA device field 548. Time period field 542 may identify a particular time period, such as, for example, a most recent time period, a time of day, a day of week, a time of year, and/or another type of time period.”)
reporting the retrieved one or more beam settings adopted, according to the database, by the first base station in the time period in a response to the request. -Paragraph [0083] ([0083] recites, “repeater device 125 may select the second top ranked antenna beam (block 850) and transmit signals from the selected beam to FWA device 120 via 5G antenna 240 (signal 852).”)
Regarding Claim 7, Youtz teaches the limitations of Claim 6.
Youtz further teaches,
The apparatus according to claim 6, wherein: the receiving comprises receiving a respective indication of one or more time windows, wherein, for each of the time windows, according to the respective indication, the respective beam setting is adopted by the first base station at all times of the respective time window; the storing comprises storing, for each of the time windows, the indication of the respective time window along with the respective beam setting adopted, according to the respective indication, by the first base station at all times of the respective time window; -Fig. 5; Paragraph [0058] ([0058] recites, “FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating exemplary information stored in beam DB 440 according to an implementation described herein. As shown in FIG. 5, beam DB 440 may include one or more beam records 500. Each beam record 500 may store information relating to a particular beam identified by beam scanning module 410. Beam record 500 may include a beam identifier (ID) field 510, an antenna settings field 520, a connection field 530, and one or more time period records 540.” As shown in Fig. 5, within each beam record of beam database is the time period record which identifies start time, end time or time duration for that particular setting of base station.)
Claim 8 is essentially same as Claim 7 above and only specifying the parameters in time period field of the beam record. It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the field that time period (time window) field as shown in Fig. 5 can be start time, end time, duration or any combination. Claim 8 is rejected under the same rational as claim 7.
Regarding Claim 9, Youtz teaches the limitations of Claim 6.
Youtz further teaches,
The apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to perform: checking whether, according to the database, the first base station adopted more than one beam settings in the time period; and
indicating, for each of the beam settings adopted by the first base station in the time period, a respective portion of the time period if, according to the database, the first base station adopted more than one beam settings in the time period, wherein, according to the database, the base station adopted the respective beam setting for the respective portion of the time period. -Fig. 5, Paragraph [0058]( Fig. 5 shows the structure of beam record in a beam DB. The settings (520) are defined for particular beam by BEAM ID (510) for time period (542). It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that even if the base station adopted more than one beam settings represented by the beam record in the beam DB, the setting applies for the time period defined in the time period field)
Claim 10 is essentially same as Claim 9 and determines whether time windows overlap. The processor can easily distinguish if two settings overlap by the time period field within the beam records of the beam DB as shown in Fig. 5. The applicant’s attention is directed towards claim 9 above which is rejected. Claim 10 is rejected under same rational.
Regarding Claim 11, Youtz teaches the limitations of Claim 6.
Youtz further teaches,
The apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to perform: receiving an identifier of the first base station, wherein: the storing comprises, for each of the times, storing the identifier in the database related to the respective beam setting; and the reporting comprises reporting the identifier related to each of the retrieved one or more beam settings. -Fig. 5; Paragraph [0020]; ([0020] recites, “Thus, the repeater device may be configured to establish a communication channel with a FWA device associated with a provider, scan for 5G NR antenna beams from a base station associated with the provider, identify a set of candidate 5G NR antenna beams, and rank the set of candidate 5G NR antenna beams based on one or more KPIs. The repeater device may scan for the 5G NR antenna beams by, for example, tuning a beamforming antenna through a series of beamforming tunings.” Fig. 5 shows storing of beam settings of different beam in beam records of beam DB. It is easily understandable that in order to scan beams from a base station the base station ID must be provided. The base station ID is provided in the configuration.)
Regarding Claim 12, Youtz teaches the limitations of Claim 6.
Youtz further teaches,
The apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to perform: determining, for each of the plural times, a respective globally unique identifier identifying the combination of the respective beam setting and the first base station; wherein the storing comprises storing, in the database, for each of the plural times, the respective globally unique identifier and the respective time. -Fig. 5 (Fig. 5 shows representative beam record in beam DB. It can be easily conceived that base station ID with BEAM ID combination create a globally unique identifier. The unique identifier, together with beam setting and time duration (period) can be stored as beam record in beam database.)
Regarding Claim 13, Youtz teaches the limitations of Claim 6.
Youtz further teaches,
The apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to perform: receiving, for each time of at least a subset of the plural times, a respective second indication indicating that a second base station different from the first base station adopted a respective beam setting at the respective time; storing, in the database, for each of the times of the subset, the respective beam setting adopted, according to the respective second indication, by the second base station at the respective time along with the respective time and an identifier of the second base station; storing, in the database, for each of the plural times, an identifier of the first base station along with the respective beam setting adopted, according to the respective first indication, by the first base station at the respective time and the respective time; -Paragraph [0013] (Claim 13 is essentially same as Claim 6 with extension to multi-cell scenario when communicating with a second base station. [0013] recites, “an FWA device may connect a customer to a network through one or more base stations via wireless over the air (OTA) signals.” The procedures and operations are the same as in Claim 6 for the second base station, storing in the database beam setting and time duration. The applicant’s attention is directed towards claim 6. Claim 13 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 6)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAGARAJA
in view of GENG et al. (Patent No: US2020/0120602 A1), hereinafter, GENG.
Regarding Claim 5, NAGARAJA teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
NAGARAJA further teaches,
The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein at least one of: the reporting is based on an actual beam setting of the base station; the reporting is based on base station internal commands related to the beam setting; -Paragraph [0099-0100] ([0099-0100] recites, “…receives, from a BS (e.g., a NB), a beam configuration for measuring RSs from the BS….. In some aspects, the beam configuration may include an indication of at least one type of beam used to transmit the RSs. Additionally, the beam configuration may include an indication of whether the beam shape is static or changes over time.”)
Although implicit, NAGARAJA does not explicitly mention,
and the reporting is based on commands related to the beam setting from a network management entity to the base station.
However, in an analogous invention, GENG teaches,
and the reporting is based on commands related to the beam setting from a network management entity to the base station. -Paragraph [0127-0128] ([0127-0128] recites, “Before the network device sends the measurement configuration information to the terminal, the network device or the network management device may first determine specific terminals that perform signal measurement. In other words, the network device or the network management device may first determine specific measurement terminals. Specifically, the network device or the network management device may sequentially select a subsequently accessed terminal as a measurement terminal from the beginning of a session until a quantity of selected measurement terminals reaches a specified specification.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “REFERENCE SIGNAL MEASUREMENT FILTERING IN MULTI-BEAM OPERATION” proposed by NAGARAJA to include the concept of “the reporting is based on commands related to the beam setting from a network management entity to the base station” of GENG . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service transmission reliability, usually, a high-frequency system configures a plurality of beams in a cell, and performs beam sweeping to ensure coverage [0004].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are allowable.
Conclusion
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475