DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed on 02/02/2026. Claims 1-4 and 6-18 are currently pending with claims 1, 4, 6-15 being amended, claim 5 being cancelled, and claims 16-18 being newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 02/02/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 8 and 15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 8 and 15 has been withdrawn.
Regarding the rejection of independent claim 1, which has been amended to incorporate the subject matter of claim 5, 7, and 12. Upon further consideration and searching. A rejection has been made in light of Micro:bit et al. (Commenting your code in MakeCode) which teaches functionality allowing the user to include comments which may be attached at differing levels of the program steps such as at a single block or for an entire loop and further allows users to selectively hide and display each comment. This would suggest the ability to adjust visibility of different elements based on a setting input of a user. Making obvious the subject matter of claim 1 as well as claims 7 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 10, 12-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US 20230236804 A1), hereinafter Jin in view of Micro:bit et al. (Commenting your code in MakeCode), hereinafter Micro:bit.
Regarding claim 1, Jin teaches:
Claim 1. (Currently Amended) A teaching device of an industrial machine comprising
a processor configured to:
(Paragraph 0017, "As another example, some embodiments include an apparatus (10) for automatic programming, comprising: a user interaction module (201), configured to receive a user's request on creating a first global parameter of a specific type by detecting the user's dragging a control corresponding to the specific type from a first user interface (701) and dropping the control on a second user interface (702); a displaying module (202), configured to display a first popup window (804) for editing the first global parameter on the second user interface (702); a processing module (203), configured to receive the user's editing operations on the first global parameter in the first popup window (804); and create the first global parameter according to the user's editing operations on the first global parameter; and the displaying module (202), further configured to display a new added first card (802) of the first global parameter in a list (802′) of global parameters on a third user interface (703).")
(Paragraphs 0074-0075, "A Function library 801 can be displayed on the first user interface 701. There can be multiple groups of functions in the
Function library 801, such as “Action”, “Logic Tools”, “Math Tools”, “Parameter” and “Skills”. when the control “parameter” is selected, types of global parameters will be displayed on the first user interface 701. Types of global parameters include but not limited to: “Motion path”, “Position coordinate”, “I/O channel” and “Value” (details of the types are shown in FIG. 4). There are can be controls in the Function library 801 for global parameters, corresponding respectively to the above four types. When any of the four controls is dragged to a second user interface 702, a global parameter of the corresponding type can be created and edited on the second user interface 702. When the editing is done and the global parameter is saved, a new card 802 of the global parameter will be displayed in a list 802′ on the third user interface 703.")
; (Paragraph 0022, "In some embodiments, the user interaction module (201), further configured to receive the user's modification request on a fifth global parameter by detecting the user's clicking on a first button on a card (802) of the fifth global parameter; the displaying module (202), further configured to display a third popup window (804) for editing the fifth global parameter on the second user interface (702); the user interaction module (202), further configured to receive the user's editing operations on the fifth global parameter in the third popup window (804); the processing module (203), further configured to update all FBs referring to the fifth global parameter when detecting the user's clicking on a second button in the third popup window (804); and the user interaction module (201), further configured to close the third popup window (804) and display the updating status of all FBs referring to the fifth global parameter." This demonstrates that the display of the details of a function may be opened and closed thereby displaying the parameters and non-display of the parameters.) and
…
Jin does not specifically discuss hiding portions of information from view. However, Micro:bit, in the same field of endeavor of program generation, teaches:
… receive a setting input for setting, for each command, whether to display the annotation on the display screen, wherein
the processor is further configured to switch between display and non-display of an annotation set for each command according to the setting input set for each command. (Please see transcript timestamp 1:09-1:28 which demonstrates the ability to hide and display comments according to user input.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the interface and methods as taught by Jin with the ability to generate a graphical program representation displaying the comments based on user input as taught by Micro:bit. This would provide a clean interface which displays only desired information without requiring everything be displayed ensuring a cleaner display which effectively communicates the information while hiding information which the user does not want to be displayed.
Regarding claim 2, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Jin further teaches:
Claim 2. (Original) The teaching device according to claim 1, wherein the command is described by an icon representing a function constituting the program. (Paragraph 0075, "Function library 801, such as “Action”, “Logic Tools”, “Math Tools”, “Parameter” and “Skills”. when the control “parameter” is selected, types of global parameters will be displayed on the first user interface 701. Types of global parameters include but not limited to: “Motion path”, “Position coordinate”, “I/O channel” and “Value” (details of the types are shown in FIG. 4). There are can be controls in the Function library 801 for global parameters, corresponding respectively to the above four types. When any of the four controls is dragged to a second user interface 702, a global parameter of the corresponding type can be created and edited on the second user interface 702. When the editing is done and the global parameter is saved, a new card 802 of the global parameter will be displayed in a list 802′ on the third user interface 703." Please also see Figure three which demonstrates a plurality of control icons with textual descriptions which have been added to the program from the function library.)
Regarding claim 3, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Jin further teaches:
Claim 3. (Original) The teaching device according to claim 1, wherein the command is described as a command sentence on a text basis. (Paragraph 0075, "Function library 801, such as “Action”, “Logic Tools”, “Math Tools”, “Parameter” and “Skills”. when the control “parameter” is selected, types of global parameters will be displayed on the first user interface 701. Types of global parameters include but not limited to: “Motion path”, “Position coordinate”, “I/O channel” and “Value” (details of the types are shown in FIG. 4). There are can be controls in the Function library 801 for global parameters, corresponding respectively to the above four types. When any of the four controls is dragged to a second user interface 702, a global parameter of the corresponding type can be created and edited on the second user interface 702. When the editing is done and the global parameter is saved, a new card 802 of the global parameter will be displayed in a list 802′ on the third user interface 703." Please also see Figure three which demonstrates a plurality of control icons with textual descriptions which have been added to the program from the function library.)
Regarding claim 4, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Jin further teaches:
Claim 4. (Currently Amended) The teaching device according to claim 1, wherein
the processor is further configured to:
and
switch between display and non-display of the annotation on the display screen according to the received user operation. (Paragraph 0022, "In some embodiments, the user interaction module (201), further configured to receive the user's modification request on a fifth global parameter by detecting the user's clicking on a first button on a card (802) of the fifth global parameter; the displaying module (202), further configured to display a third popup window (804) for editing the fifth global parameter on the second user interface (702); the user interaction module (202), further configured to receive the user's editing operations on the fifth global parameter in the third popup window (804); the processing module (203), further configured to update all FBs referring to the fifth global parameter when detecting the user's clicking on a second button in the third popup window (804); and the user interaction module (201), further configured to close the third popup window (804) and display the updating status of all FBs referring to the fifth global parameter.")
Regarding claim 10, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Jin further teaches:
Claim 10. (Currently Amended) The teaching device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to switch between display and non-display of the annotation on the display screen according to whether the command is in a selected state. (Paragraph 0022, "In some embodiments, the user interaction module (201), further configured to receive the user's modification request on a fifth global parameter by detecting the user's clicking on a first button on a card (802) of the fifth global parameter; the displaying module (202), further configured to display a third popup window (804) for editing the fifth global parameter on the second user interface (702); the user interaction module (202), further configured to receive the user's editing operations on the fifth global parameter in the third popup window (804); the processing module (203), further configured to update all FBs referring to the fifth global parameter when detecting the user's clicking on a second button in the third popup window (804); and the user interaction module (201), further configured to close the third popup window (804) and display the updating status of all FBs referring to the fifth global parameter." This demonstrates that when an action is selected, further details are shown.)
Regarding claim 12, Jin further teaches;:
Claim 12. (Currently Amended)
A teaching device of an industrial machine comprising a processor configured to;
generate a program creation screen for creating a program of the industrial machine; (Paragraph 0017, "As another example, some embodiments include an apparatus (10) for automatic programming, comprising: a user interaction module (201), configured to receive a user's request on creating a first global parameter of a specific type by detecting the user's dragging a control corresponding to the specific type from a first user interface (701) and dropping the control on a second user interface (702); a displaying module (202), configured to display a first popup window (804) for editing the first global parameter on the second user interface (702); a processing module (203), configured to receive the user's editing operations on the first global parameter in the first popup window (804); and create the first global parameter according to the user's editing operations on the first global parameter; and the displaying module (202), further configured to display a new added first card (802) of the first global parameter in a list (802′) of global parameters on a third user interface (703).")
receive setting of an annotation related to a command constituting the program; (Paragraphs 0074-0075, "A Function library 801 can be displayed on the first user interface 701. There can be multiple groups of functions in the
Function library 801, such as “Action”, “Logic Tools”, “Math Tools”, “Parameter” and “Skills”. when the control “parameter” is selected, types of global parameters will be displayed on the first user interface 701. Types of global parameters include but not limited to: “Motion path”, “Position coordinate”, “I/O channel” and “Value” (details of the types are shown in FIG. 4). There are can be controls in the Function library 801 for global parameters, corresponding respectively to the above four types. When any of the four controls is dragged to a second user interface 702, a global parameter of the corresponding type can be created and edited on the second user interface 702. When the editing is done and the global parameter is saved, a new card 802 of the global parameter will be displayed in a list 802′ on the third user interface 703.") and
switch between display and non-display of the set annotation on a display screen, (Paragraph 0022, "In some embodiments, the user interaction module (201), further configured to receive the user's modification request on a fifth global parameter by detecting the user's clicking on a first button on a card (802) of the fifth global parameter; the displaying module (202), further configured to display a third popup window (804) for editing the fifth global parameter on the second user interface (702); the user interaction module (202), further configured to receive the user's editing operations on the fifth global parameter in the third popup window (804); the processing module (203), further configured to update all FBs referring to the fifth global parameter when detecting the user's clicking on a second button in the third popup window (804); and the user interaction module (201), further configured to close the third popup window (804) and display the updating status of all FBs referring to the fifth global parameter." This demonstrates that the display of the details of a function may be opened and closed thereby displaying the parameters and non-display of the parameters.) wherein
the command is described by an icon representing a function constituting the program, (Paragraph 0075, "Function library 801, such as “Action”, “Logic Tools”, “Math Tools”, “Parameter” and “Skills”. when the control “parameter” is selected, types of global parameters will be displayed on the first user interface 701. Types of global parameters include but not limited to: “Motion path”, “Position coordinate”, “I/O channel” and “Value” (details of the types are shown in FIG. 4). There are can be controls in the Function library 801 for global parameters, corresponding respectively to the above four types. When any of the four controls is dragged to a second user interface 702, a global parameter of the corresponding type can be created and edited on the second user interface 702. When the editing is done and the global parameter is saved, a new card 802 of the global parameter will be displayed in a list 802′ on the third user interface 703." Please also see Figure three which demonstrates a plurality of control icons with textual descriptions which have been added to the program from the function library.) and
the processor further configured to:
…
Jin does not specifically discuss icons and annotations being shaped to represent the start and terminal position to which they apply or hiding portions of information from view based on user input. However, Micro:bit, in the same field of endeavor of program generation, teaches:
… program;
a selected icon is a predetermined icon having a shape that clearly and graphically expresses a start end position and a terminal end position of a range to which an annotation applies in the program, or an icon located in the range between the start end position and the terminal end position of the predetermined icon, and
display annotations set for the predetermined icon and the icon located in the range between the start end position and the terminal end position when it is determined (Please see 0:58-1:20 which demonstrates attaching a comment to a line level. As well as 4:00-4:06 which demonstrates the ability to associate a comment with the loop which applies to the entirety of the block of code rather than a single line. Please see transcript timestamp 1:09-1:28 which demonstrates the ability to hide and display comments according to user input.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the interface and methods as taught by Jin with the ability to generate a graphical program representation displaying the comments attached to a variety of different pieces of the program based on user input as taught by Micro:bit. This would provide a clean interface which displays only desired information without requiring everything be displayed ensuring a cleaner display which effectively communicates the information while hiding information which the user does not want to be displayed.
Regarding claim 13, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Jin further teaches:
Claim 13. (Currently Amended) The teaching device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to display the annotation (Paragraph 0022, "In some embodiments, the user interaction module (201), further configured to receive the user's modification request on a fifth global parameter by detecting the user's clicking on a first button on a card (802) of the fifth global parameter; the displaying module (202), further configured to display a third popup window (804) for editing the fifth global parameter on the second user interface (702); the user interaction module (202), further configured to receive the user's editing operations on the fifth global parameter in the third popup window (804); the processing module (203), further configured to update all FBs referring to the fifth global parameter when detecting the user's clicking on a second button in the third popup window (804); and the user interaction module (201), further configured to close the third popup window (804) and display the updating status of all FBs referring to the fifth global parameter." This demonstrates that the display of the details of a function may be opened and closed thereby displaying the parameters and non-display of the parameters.) in a predetermined region for displaying the program in the program creation screen. (Paragraph 0076, "With such a design, users can easily and clearly get to know what types of global parameters can be used and what global parameters have already been added. With the separate area of editing data items of a global parameter, users can focus on details of global parameter. Such separate user interfaces design can also make adding, editing and viewing use of global parameters become more easily.")
Regarding claim 14, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Jin further teaches:
Claim 14. (Currently Amended) The teaching device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured todisplay the annotation (Paragraph 0022, "In some embodiments, the user interaction module (201), further configured to receive the user's modification request on a fifth global parameter by detecting the user's clicking on a first button on a card (802) of the fifth global parameter; the displaying module (202), further configured to display a third popup window (804) for editing the fifth global parameter on the second user interface (702); the user interaction module (202), further configured to receive the user's editing operations on the fifth global parameter in the third popup window (804); the processing module (203), further configured to update all FBs referring to the fifth global parameter when detecting the user's clicking on a second button in the third popup window (804); and the user interaction module (201), further configured to close the third popup window (804) and display the updating status of all FBs referring to the fifth global parameter." This demonstrates that the display of the details of a function may be opened and closed thereby displaying the parameters and non-display of the parameters.) in a predetermined display region of which a position is fixed on the display screen. (Paragraph 0076, "With such a design, users can easily and clearly get to know what types of global parameters can be used and what global parameters have already been added. With the separate area of editing data items of a global parameter, users can focus on details of global parameter. Such separate user interfaces design can also make adding, editing and viewing use of global parameters become more easily.")
Regarding claim 16, where all the limitations of claim 2 are discussed above, Jin does not specifically discuss there being a visual icon indicating the presecence of a comment attached to a command. However, Micro:bit, in the same field of endeavor of program generation, teaches:
Claim 16. (New) The teaching device according to claim 2, wherein
the processor is further configured to add, to each command, an icon indicating whether or not an annotation is set. Please see(0:50 where no comment icon is present as the comment has not been applied and 1:13 which demonstrates the icon which is present after the comment has been applied. Screenshots of both moments have been included below for convenience.)
Claim(s) 6-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin in view of Micro:bit and in further view of Matsuo et al. (US 20080009973 A1), hereinafter Matsuo.
Regarding claim 6, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Jin further teaches:
Claim 6. (Currently Amended) The teaching device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to switch between display and non-display of the annotation on the display screen (Paragraph 0022, "In some embodiments, the user interaction module (201), further configured to receive the user's modification request on a fifth global parameter by detecting the user's clicking on a first button on a card (802) of the fifth global parameter; the displaying module (202), further configured to display a third popup window (804) for editing the fifth global parameter on the second user interface (702); the user interaction module (202), further configured to receive the user's editing operations on the fifth global parameter in the third popup window (804); the processing module (203), further configured to update all FBs referring to the fifth global parameter when detecting the user's clicking on a second button in the third popup window (804); and the user interaction module (201), further configured to close the third popup window (804) and display the updating status of all FBs referring to the fifth global parameter." This demonstrates that the display of the details of a function may be opened and closed thereby displaying the parameters and non-display of the parameters.) …
Jin does not specifically teach monitoring and displaying based on the execution state of the program. However, Matsuo, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… according to an execution state of the program. (Paragraph 0090, "Further, in play back time, such that the operator is easy to optically recognize the display, when the display screen 12 is a monochromatic display, only a portion of being executed at inside of the program region 40 is invertedly displayed, when the display screen 12 corresponds to multicolor display, only a portion of being executed at inside of the program region 40 is changed in color thereof, thereby, a currently executing portion in the program is displayed.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system and methods as taught by Jin with the ability to monitor the program state and display information accordingly as taught by Matsuo. This would allow a user to easily monitor the situation and make adjustments as needed without needing to manually determine which action is currently being executed.
Regarding claim 7, Jin further teaches:
Claim 7. (Currently Amended) A teaching device of an industrial machine comprising:
a processor configured to:
generate a program creation screen for creating a program of the industrial machine;
receive setting of an annotation related to a command constituting the program; and
switch between display and non-display of the annotation on the display screen … and
display the annotation … and (Paragraph 0022, "In some embodiments, the user interaction module (201), further configured to receive the user's modification request on a fifth global parameter by detecting the user's clicking on a first button on a card (802) of the fifth global parameter; the displaying module (202), further configured to display a third popup window (804) for editing the fifth global parameter on the second user interface (702); the user interaction module (202), further configured to receive the user's editing operations on the fifth global parameter in the third popup window (804); the processing module (203), further configured to update all FBs referring to the fifth global parameter when detecting the user's clicking on a second button in the third popup window (804); and the user interaction module (201), further configured to close the third popup window (804) and display the updating status of all FBs referring to the fifth global parameter." This demonstrates that the display of the details of a function may be opened and closed thereby displaying the parameters and non-display of the parameters.)
Jin does not specifically teach monitoring and displaying based on the execution state of the program. However, Matsuo, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… according to an execution state of the program, … during non-execution of the program, … during execution of the program. (Paragraph 0090, "Further, in play back time, such that the operator is easy to optically recognize the display, when the display screen 12 is a monochromatic display, only a portion of being executed at inside of the program region 40 is invertedly displayed, when the display screen 12 corresponds to multicolor display, only a portion of being executed at inside of the program region 40 is changed in color thereof, thereby, a currently executing portion in the program is displayed.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system and methods as taught by Jin with the ability to monitor the program state and display information accordingly as taught by Matsuo. This would allow a user to easily monitor the situation and make adjustments as needed without needing to manually determine which action is currently being executed.
Regarding claim 9, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Jin further teaches:
Claim 9. (Currently Amended) The teaching device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:(Paragraph 0022, "In some embodiments, the user interaction module (201), further configured to receive the user's modification request on a fifth global parameter by detecting the user's clicking on a first button on a card (802) of the fifth global parameter; the displaying module (202), further configured to display a third popup window (804) for editing the fifth global parameter on the second user interface (702); the user interaction module (202), further configured to receive the user's editing operations on the fifth global parameter in the third popup window (804); the processing module (203), further configured to update all FBs referring to the fifth global parameter when detecting the user's clicking on a second button in the third popup window (804); and the user interaction module (201), further configured to close the third popup window (804) and display the updating status of all FBs referring to the fifth global parameter." This demonstrates that the display of the details of a function may be opened and closed thereby displaying the parameters and non-display of the parameters.) and …
Jin does not specifically teach monitoring and displaying information based on the execution state of the program. However, Matsuo, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… display an annotation set for a command determined to be currently executed(Paragraph 0090, "Further, in play back time, such that the operator is easy to optically recognize the display, when the display screen 12 is a monochromatic display, only a portion of being executed at inside of the program region 40 is invertedly displayed, when the display screen 12 corresponds to multicolor display, only a portion of being executed at inside of the program region 40 is changed in color thereof, thereby, a currently executing portion in the program is displayed.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system and methods as taught by Jin with the ability to monitor the program state and display information accordingly as taught by Matsuo. This would allow a user to easily monitor the situation and make adjustments as needed without needing to manually determine which action is currently being executed.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin in view Micro:bit and in further view of Ozaki et al. (US 20240300103 A1), hereinafter Ozaki.
Regarding claim 11, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Jin further teaches:
Claim 11. (Currently Amended) The teaching device according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to display, on the program creation screen, (Paragraph 0017, "As another example, some embodiments include an apparatus (10) for automatic programming, comprising: a user interaction module (201), configured to receive a user's request on creating a first global parameter of a specific type by detecting the user's dragging a control corresponding to the specific type from a first user interface (701) and dropping the control on a second user interface (702); a displaying module (202), configured to display a first popup window (804) for editing the first global parameter on the second user interface (702); a processing module (203), configured to receive the user's editing operations on the first global parameter in the first popup window (804); and create the first global parameter according to the user's editing operations on the first global parameter; and the displaying module (202), further configured to display a new added first card (802) of the first global parameter in a list (802′) of global parameters on a third user interface (703).") …
Jin does not specifically teach visually demonstrating the start and end of a function in the programming interface. However, Ozaki, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… an image that clearly and graphically expresses a start end position and a terminal end position of a range to which the annotation applies in the program. (Paragraph 0036, "The icon 120 is an icon indicating a linear motion command that causes the tool 202 to move linearly. The icon 121 is an icon indicating a read out command that instructs reading of information required to start the robot program from a registry. The icon 122 is an icon indicating a command that instructs palletizing to stack workpieces on a pallet, or depalletizing to remove the workpieces from the pallet (will be referred to as a “palletizing command”). The icon 123 is an icon indicating a FOR command. The icon 124 is an icon indicating an IF command. The icon 125 is an icon indicating an ELSE command. The icon 126 is an icon indicating an open-hand command that instructs a gripping hand used as the tool 202 to open. The icon 127 is an icon indicating a close-hand command that instructs the gripping hand used as the tool 202 to close.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system and methods as taught by Jin with the ability to demonstrate the start and end of a function visually as taught by Ozaki. Providing a user with a visual representation of the amount of time a certain action will be engaged during a program would allow the user to easily formulate an accurate program with less effort and fewer errors in programming.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8 and 15 are allowed.
The closest prior arts, Jin et al. (US 20230236804 A1), Matsuo et al. (US 20080009973 A1), and Ozaki et al. (US 20240300103 A1) fail to teach, suggest or disclose individually or in combination to render obvious the limitations in combination of Claim 8. Claim 8 discloses receiving a setting input for each command defining whether or not annotation may be displayed during execution of the command. This, in conjunction with the rest of the limitations of claim 8 is not taught or suggested by the prior art. Therefore, Claim 8 is considered novel and non-obvious and is therefore allowed.
The closest prior arts, Jin et al. (US 20230236804 A1), Matsuo et al. (US 20080009973 A1), and Ozaki et al. (US 20240300103 A1) fail to teach, suggest or disclose individually or in combination to render obvious the limitations in combination of Claim 15. Claim 15 discloses displaying the entire program by closing a blank row where annotation is not displayed. This, in conjunction with the rest of the limitations of claim 15 is not taught or suggested by the prior art. Therefore, Claim 15 is considered novel and non-obvious and is therefore allowed.
Conclusion
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the referencesapplied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations arerepresentative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mizuno et al. (US 20160314108 A1)
Petruk et al. (US 20020196283 A1)
/H.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657