Detailed Action
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 10-18 are withdrawn. Claims 1-9 and 19-20 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS’s) submitted on 7/18/2024, 7/23/2024, and 8/31/2026 were considered by the Examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-9 and 19-20) in the reply filed on 8/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the stream comprising a racemic mixture of L-lactide and D-lactide" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner recommends changing dependency of claim 7 from claim 1 to claim 2. Examiner is examining claim 7 as though it depends from claim 2 in the interest of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Benson et al. (WO2010105143-disclosed on 7/18/2024 IDS).
Regarding instant claims 1 and 8, Benson et al. teach a process for producing a polymerizable lactide stream which includes (see claim 1):
forming a low molecular weight poly(lactic acid) [embraces “lactic acid oligomers”] (may be done batch-wise, see p. 26, line 4), which is then depolymerized;
the formation of a crude lactide that includes meso-lactide, S,S-lactide [L-lactide] and R,R lactide [D-lactide];
separating meso-lactide from the crude lactide such that a meso-lactide-enriched stream is formed in which the mole fraction of meso-lactide is at least 0.8 [embraces at least 50 wt. % meso] and a purified S,S- and R,R-lactide stream is formed;
recycling the meso-lactide stream and converting it to a mixture of S,S-, meso- and R,R-lactide [embraces instant product stream].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson et al. (WO2010105143-disclosed on 7/18/2024 IDS),
**The 102 rejection supra over Benson et al. (WO2010105143) over claims 1 and 8 are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding instant claim 5, Benson et al. additionally teach the inclusion of lactic acid oligomers having a degree of polymerization of up to about 6 (see p. 14, lines 6-7). Benson et al. fails to disclose polymerization determined by titration however one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at this method of determination as routine experimentation. Additionally, “up to about 6” overlaps with the instant degree of polymerization of from 2 to 80. “In the case where the claimed ranges ’overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding instant claim 6, Benson et al. teach the following in claim 15, wherein the mole fractions of S,S lactide plus R,R lactide overlap with the instant percentages of 40 to 90% by weight (i.e. mole fraction of S,S lactide may be 0.50 when R,R lactide is 0.05, which corresponds to 55%) :
“In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 7, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson et al. (WO2010105143-disclosed on 7/18/2024 IDS), and further in view of Benson et al. (US20140031566-disclosed on 7/23/2024 IDS).
**The 102 rejection supra over Benson et al. (WO2010105143) over claims 1 and 8 are incorporated herein by reference.
Benson et al. (WO2010105143) fail to disclose a process further comprising separating the product stream in one or more steps to form a stream comprising a racemic mixture of L-lactide and D-lactide and a second stream comprising meso-lactide.
Benson et al. (US20140031566) teach a process for recovering lactic acid from a starting lactide composition (see claim 1), which includes a melt crystallization step (see claim 19). The process further comprises separating racemized lactide mixture (with S,S, R,R, and meso-lactide) to obtain a product enriched in S,S-lactide and R,R-lactide, which has minimal impurities (see claims 16-18). Benson et al. (US20140031566) additionally teach that it is usually necessary to separate meso-lactide from the rest of the lactide stream to control polymerization, crystallization, and impurities (see para. [0010-0011]). Also, “The separated meso-lactide stream contains lactic acid equivalents, which are valuable if they can be recovered” (see para. [0012]).
Regarding instant claims 2-3 and 19, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to arrive at two streams by (melt) crystallization, one with a racemic mixture of L-lactide and D-lactide and a second stream comprising meso-lactide prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. While the prior art does not specifically teach a racemic mixture, it teaches a product stream enriched in S,S-lactide and R,R-lactide, which has minimal impurities. “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. See MPEP 2144.05(IIA). The difference between a racemic mixture vs. a stream enriched with both enantiomers is a result of routine experimentation to one of skill in the art. Regarding instant claim 4, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to recycle the meso-lactide stream to the step of separating the crude lactide stream with a reasonable expectation of success. The prior art described the value of the meso-lactide stream in the explanation supra. Regarding instant claim 7, the prior art teaches minimal impurities where a skilled artisan would expect that low concentrations of instantly claimed free acid with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson et al. (WO2010105143-disclosed on 7/18/2024 IDS), in view of Hagen et al. (WO2010020370).
**The 102 rejection supra over Benson et al. (WO2010105143) over claims 1 and 8 are incorporated herein by reference.
Benson et al. (WO2010105143) do not disclose the storage of meso-lactide in an inert atmosphere (N2) at a temperature from 50 to 80C for a predetermined amount of time.
Hagan et al. disclose a process for storage of compounds in the liquid state with the following structure:
(which embraces the instant meso-lactide) in an inert environment, such as nitrogen, at a temperature of 40 to 150 C (see claims 1-5). These storage conditions are used to avoid degradation reactions (see English translation, p. 1).
Regarding instant claims 9 and 20, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to store the meso-lactide in an inert atmosphere, such as N2, for a predetermined amount of time at 50 to 80C. “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. See MPEP 2144.05(IIA). A skilled artisan would have been motivated to store meso-lactide in such conditions to avoid degradation and the formation of unwanted impurities. Additionally, regarding the “30 minutes to 12 hours” of instant claim 20, this is not a required limitation because of the linker “or” within the claim.
Conclusion
/MEGHAN C HEASLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/KAMAL A SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626