DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claim 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1; the phrase(s) "substantially" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the measurable standard for substantially means in the claim.
For examining purposes Examiner asserts that “substantially” means that some parts of the enclosure are sealed and some parts are not sealed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 48-53, 57-61, 64-67, 95 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. US2021/0307214.
Per claim 48 Zhang et al. teaches an electronic display (see fig.4-5) comprising: a housing (21); a display panel (22; [0051]) within the housing and having a display surface that is visible through the housing (26, see fig.4-5; [0053]); and a heat exchanger (23) within the housing (see fig.5; [0053]), adjacent to the display panel ([0053]); wherein: the display panel is in a first substantially sealed enclosure (21; [0051]) through which internal air is circulated (see fig.5), in use, to cool the display panel ([0051]); the heat exchanger comprises a plurality of tubes (231, see fig.6-9) in a second substantially sealed enclosure (see fig.5, “Examiner notes that the enclosure is substantially sealed”); the second enclosure is located within the first enclosure (see fig.4-5); at least one first fan (24; [0064]) is arranged to circulate the internal air through the plurality of tubes to cool the internal air (see fig.5), the internal air flowing in a first direction; at least one second fan (25) is arranged to pass external air around the plurality of tubes to cool them ([0066]), the external air flowing in a second direction; the second direction is substantially opposite (see fig.5) to or the same as the first direction; a space is provided between the plurality of tubes and a rear of the display panel or an associated backlight or a plate in thermal contact with the display panel (see fig.5; [0053]) or associated backlight; and in use, external air flowing in said second direction around the plurality of tubes flows through said space (see fig.4-5), over the rear of the display panel (see fig.4-5) or associated backlight or plate in thermal contact with the display panel or associated backlight.
Per claim 49 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 48, wherein the tubes of the heat exchanger are substantially parallel to one another (see fig.6-9).
Per claim 50 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 48, wherein the tubes of the heat exchanger are substantially upright (see fig.5 & 9).
Per claim 51 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 48, wherein the heat exchanger extends from or adjacent one edge of the display panel to another edge of the display panel (see fig.4-5 & 9; [0061]).
Per claim 52 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 48, wherein the tubes of the heat exchanger (see fig.6-9) are interconnected by thermally conductive connecting elements (234, see fig.10-11 & 13; [0054], “The heat exchange plate is made of a conductive aluminum material therefore the parts of the heat exchange plate which is the latching portion is also a conductive aluminum material”).
Per claim 53 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 52, wherein thermally conductive elements extend from outermost tubes to edges of the heat exchanger (see fig.10-11 & 13).
Per claim 57 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 48, wherein the heat exchanger (23) comprises a heat exchange unit (23a), a width of which is between 80% and 100% of an overall width of the display panel ([0061]).
Per claim 58 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 48, wherein the heat exchanger (23) comprises a heat exchange unit (23a, see fig.9), a height of which is between 80% and 100% of an overall height of the display panel (see fig.5; [0061]).
Per claim 59 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 48, wherein the heat exchanger (23) comprises a heat exchange unit (23a), a two- dimensional area of which as seen in front elevation is between 65% and 100% of a two-dimensional area of the display panel as seen in front elevation (see fig.4-5).
Per claim 60 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 48, further comprising a heater arranged to heat the internal air and/or external air within the electronic display ([0002], “the display and its electronic components are heaters”).
Per claim 61 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 60, wherein said heater ([0002], “the display and its electronic components are heaters”) is disposed within a part of the housing (see fig.4-5).
Per claim 64 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 48, comprising two of said display panels (22) arranged back-to-back (see fig.4-5).
Per claim 65 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 48, wherein the external air is introduced into a top region of the heat exchanger and internal air is introduced into a bottom region of the heat exchanger (see fig.5).
Per claim 66 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 48 wherein, in use, internal air flows over a front of the display panel (see fig.5).
Per claim 67 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 48, being a large-scale electronic display ([0052], “Examiner asserts that an outdoor display is a large-scale electronic display”).
Per claim 95 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 48, wherein said second direction of airflow is substantially opposite to said first direction of airflow (see fig.5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 54-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. US2021/0307214 in view of Whitehead et al. US2020/0128701.
Per claim 54 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 48,
Zhang et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first enclosure includes a part of the housing in which electronic control components are located and, in use, internal air passes over the electronic control components.
Whitehead et al. however discloses wherein the first enclosure (126, see fig.2A) includes a part of the housing in which electronic control components (134) are located and, in use, internal air passes over the electronic control components (see fig.2A-2B; [0105], [0107]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have an electronic control component as taught by Whitehead et al. in the electronic display of Zhang et al., because it enables automatic control of the fan based on the cooling requirements of the electronic display, thus ensuring that electronic display is not overheated.
Per claim 55 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 48,
Zhang et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the second enclosure includes a part of the housing in which electronic control components are located and, in use, external air passes over the electronic control components and then back into the second enclosure and/or out to external surroundings.
Whitehead et al. however discloses wherein the second enclosure (120, see fig.2A) includes a part of the housing in which electronic control components (124) are located (see fig.2B) and, in use, external air passes over the electronic control components and then back into the second enclosure and/or out to external surroundings ([0105], [0107]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have an electronic control component as taught by Whitehead et al. in the electronic display of Zhang et al., because it enables automatic control of the fan based on the cooling requirements of the electronic display, thus ensuring that electronic display is not overheated.
Per claim 56 Zhang et al. in view of Whitehead et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 55, wherein said part (212) of the housing is a substantially upright part (see fig.5).
Claim(s) 62-63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. US2021/0307214 in view of Dunn US2011/0085301.
Per claim 62 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 48,
Zhang et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the display panel has an associated backlight that is disposed within the first enclosure.
Dunn however discloses wherein the display panel has an associated backlight (140) that is disposed within the first enclosure ([0017]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a display panel with an associated backlight because it enables illumination of the image to enables viewing of images on the display.
Per claim 63 Zhang et al. in view of Dunn teaches the electronic display of claim 62, wherein there is no air flow path between the display panel (85) and its associated backlight (140, see fig.2C).
Claim(s) 68-70, 74, 80-82 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. US2021/0307214 in view of Bowers et al. US2017/0111520.
Per claim 68 Zhang et al. teaches the electronic display of claim 48,
Zhang et al. does not explicitly teach further comprising an electronics control assembly (ECA) that is arranged to control and manage the electronic display; wherein: the ECA has its own ECA housing that is separate from the housing in which the display panel is located; the ECA housing is provided with its ECA own cooling system that is separate from the housing in which the display panel is located; and electrical connections are provided between the housing and ECA housing.
Bowers however discloses an electronics control assembly (ECA) (941) that is arranged to control and manage the electronic display ([0107], [0141]-[0142], see fig.9C); wherein: the ECA has its own ECA housing (840 and/or 865) that is separate from the housing (870, see fig.10A) in which the display panel is located (see fig.8 & 9C); the ECA housing is provided with its ECA own cooling system that is separate from the housing in which the display panel is located ([0167]); and electrical connections are provided between the housing and ECA housing (see fig.9A-9C & 13).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have an ECA as taught by Bowers et al. in the electronic display of Zhang et al., because the ECA which controls the display can be easily replaced without affecting the display.
Per claim 69 Zhang et al. in view of Bowers teaches the electronic display of claim 68, wherein the ECA housing has a first compartment (840 and/or 941, see fig.17A) in which components (120) of the ECA are mounted, the first compartment being substantially sealed (see fig.17A; [0141], [0173]).
Per claim 70 Zhang et al. in view of Bowers teaches the electronic display of claim 69, wherein a fan is provided inside said first compartment and is arranged to circulate air within said first compartment ([0167]).
Per claim 74 Zhang et al. in view of Bowers teaches the electronic display of claim 68, wherein the ECA housing (840 & 865) has a second compartment (865) in which cooling components are mounted ([0100]), the second compartment being open to external air ([0100], see fig.10A).
Per claim 80 Zhang et al. in view of Bowers teaches the electronic display of claim 74, wherein the second compartment (865) has a removable cover (967, see fig.9C).
Per claim 81 Zhang et al. in view of Bowers teaches the electronic display of claim 68, wherein the ECA housing is mounted adjacent to the housing (see fig.8-10C).
Per claim 82 Zhang et al. in view of Bowers teaches the electronic display of claim 68, wherein the ECA housing (840) is mounted at a distance from the housing (870, see fig.8, 9C & 10A).
Allowable Subject matter
5. Claims 71-73,75-79,83-94 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 71, includes allowable subject matter because the electronic display of claim 69, wherein at least one ECA component that generates a larger amount of heat than other ECA components is secured to a wall of the first compartment.
Claims 72-73 depends on claim 71, therefore allowable for the same reason.
Claim 75, includes allowable subject matter because the electronic display of claim 74, wherein at least one ECA component that generates a larger amount of heat than other ECA components is secured to a wall of the first compartment, which wall of the first compartment is secured to or forms a common wall with the second compartment.
Claim 76, includes allowable subject matter because the electronic display of claim 74, wherein: said cooling components comprise a channel heatsink and a fan; the channel heatsink being secured to a wall of the second compartment that is secured to or forms a common wall with the first compartment; and the fan being provided in the second compartment to draw external air into the second compartment and cause the external air to flow through channels of the channel heatsink and out of the second compartment into the external air around the second compartment.
Claims 77-79 depends on claim 76, therefore allowable for the same reason.
Claim 83, includes allowable subject matter because the electronic display of claim 48, comprising: an inlet to allow external air into the heat exchanger; an outlet to allow external air out of the heat exchanger; a closable vent at said inlet or outlet; a temperature sensor; and a controller arranged to control opening and closing of said closable vent in response to an output of said temperature sensor.
Claims 84-87 & 93 depends on claim 83, therefore allowable for the same reason.
Claim 88, includes allowable subject matter because the electronic display of claim 68, comprising: an inlet to allow external air into the heat exchanger; an outlet to allow external air out of the heat exchanger; a closable vent at said inlet or outlet; a temperature sensor; and a controller arranged to control opening and closing of said closable vent in response to an output of said temperature sensor.
Claims 89-92 & 94 depends on claim 88, therefore allowable for the same reason.
Email Communication
6. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ahn et al. US2021/0341783 discloses a liquid crystal display panel for displaying an image; a backlight unit for irradiating light toward a rear surface of the liquid crystal display panel; a cover bottom formed therein with a space in which the liquid crystal display panel and the backlight unit are installed.
Nakamichi et al. US2011/0085302 discloses a display apparatus comprising: a display panel; a circuit unit which controls the display panel; a first chamber which accommodates the display panel; a second chamber which arranged behind the first chamber, the second chamber accommodates the circuit unit; a cooling device which cools the display panel.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior are included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841