DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11-16, 19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20250016693 A1) in view of Henttonen et al. (US 20260143435 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a network node (Fig. 5, gNB) configured to communicate (Figs. 3-4) with a wireless, WD (Fig. 5, UE), the network node comprising: a radio interface (Fig. 5) configured to receive from the WD a power headroom report, PHR, medium access control, MAC, control element, CE (Fig. 4), containing power headroom information for at least one serving cell (Fig. 2 and tables 1-3), and for each of the at least one serving cell, the MACE CE comprising: a first power management maximum power reduction, P-MPR, indicator indicating one of a presence and an absence of a first maximum permissible exposure, MPE value in a first bit field in the MAC CE (Pars. 96-99, P.sub.i field is set to 0 (absence) “or” P.sub.i field is set to 1 (presence)); a second P-MPR indicator indicating one of a presence and an absence of a second MPE value in a second bit field in the MAC CE (Pars. 96-99, P.sub.i field is set to 0 (absence) “or” P.sub.i field is set to 1 (presence)); a first beam indicator indicating one of a presence and an absence of information about a first candidate beam associated to a first measured P-MPR value in the MAC CE (Pars. 83-86, each beam/pair P-MPR and SSBRI or CRI, an MPE field (MPE or R field) with two bits indicating whether the measured is less than P-MPR_00 (absent) or above P-MPR_00 (presence)); a second beam indicator indicating one of a presence and an absence of information about a second candidate beam associated to a first measured P-MPR value in the MAC CE (Pars. 83-86, each beam/pair P-MPR and SSBRI or CRI, an MPE field (MPE or R field) with two bits indicating whether the measured is less than P-MPR_00 (absent) or above P-MPR_00 (presence)); (Pars. 85-87, the estimated P-MPR value that is less than 3 dBm (threshold) cannot be indicated by any of P-MPR_00, P-MPR_01, P-MPR_02 and P-MPR_03 in the above Table 4); and processing circuitry is communication with the radio interface (Fig. 5) and Pars. 96-99, P.sub.i field is set to 1 (presence))
Liu does not expressly disclose a size of the MAC CE being based at least in part on the one of the presence and absence of information about the first and second candidate beams in the MACE CE; and the processing circuitry is configured to determine or to perform based on the information received from the PHR MAC CE. However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence Henttonen. Henttonen teaches a length or size of the PHR MAC CE is based on the presence of the field of P-bit (Fig. 2 and Pars. 60-62, 65); and the network node is configured to perform/determine the power management based on the information received from the PHR MAC CE (Fig. 5 and Pars. 124-126).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught by Henttonen into Liu to adjust power.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Liu further teaches the network node of claim 1, wherein the information about the first or second beam includes a corresponding synchronization signal block resource indicator, SSBRI, or a channel state information reference signal resource indicator, CRI, reported in the MAC CE (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Liu further teaches the network node of claim 1, wherein information about at least one of the first and second candidate beam is contained in an octet of the MCE CE (Fig. 2, each beam (SSBRI/CRI) and Pars. 5, 72); and at least one the first and second beam indicator indicates one of a presence and absence of the octet in the MAC CE (Fig. 2 and Pars. 96-99, P.sub.i field is set to 0 (absence) “or” P.sub.i field is set to 1 (presence)).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Liu further teaches the network node of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second beam indicators is carried by one bit in the MAC CE, and wherein corresponding candidate beam information is present when the bit is set to one, and is absent when the bit is set to zero (Fig. 2 and Pars. 96-99, P.sub.i field is set to 0 (absence) “or” P.sub.i field is set to 1 (presence)).
Regarding claim 7, method of claim 7 is performed by the apparatus of claim 1. They recite similar limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, method of claim 9 is performed by the apparatus of claim 3. They recite similar limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, method of claim 11 is performed by the apparatus of claim 5. They recite similar limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 12, method of claim 12 is performed by the apparatus of claim 6. They recite similar limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 13, apparatus of claim 13 is performed by the apparatus of claim 1. They recite similar limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, apparatus of claim 14 is performed by the apparatus of claim 3. They recite similar limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, apparatus of claim 15 is performed by the apparatus of claim 5. They recite similar limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, apparatus of claim 15 is performed by the apparatus of claim 6. They recite similar limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 19, method of claim 19 is performed by the apparatus of claim 1. They recite similar limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, method of claim 20 is performed by the apparatus of claim 3. They recite similar limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 21, method of claim 21 is performed by the apparatus of claim 5. They recite similar limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 22, method s of claim 22 is performed by the apparatus of claim 6. They recite similar limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Matsumura et al. US 20240040520 A1 [0096] When the beam specific MPE P-MPR report is triggered for the serving cell, only one piece of beam/panel information may be reported, or the MPE report for a plurality of (a part of) beams/panels may be performed based on a condition determined in a specification. In this case, the size of the MAC CE is variable. [0097] The beam ID/panel ID/size of the MAC CE may be added to the MAC CE. As a field for the beam ID/panel ID/size of the MAC CE, at least one of the P field and the R field or at least one value indicated by at least one of the P field and the R field may be reused, or a new field may be added. With the beam IDs/panel IDs being included, even when a plurality of (a part of) beams/panels are reported, the beams/panels can be identified. With the size of the MAC CE being included, even when the size of the MAC CE is variable, the size can be identified. Note that, in aspect 3-2, only the beams/panels to which power back-off is applied are reported on the MAC CE,
[[Condition 1]]
[0098] When P-MPR for a beam applied and measured for satisfying the MPE requirements is equal to or larger than new-mpe-Threshold of a corresponding beam, the MPE report of only the beam may be transmitted
[[Condition 2]]
[0099] Together with one or a plurality of beams corresponding to P-MPR of equal to or larger than new-mpe-Threshold, the UE may report at least one MPE safe beam (if any). The MPE safe beam is, for example, one or a plurality of beams corresponding to P-MPR of less than new-mpe-Threshold.
Hakola et al. (US 20230143727 A1)
Jang et al. US 11212756 B2
/Cindy Trandai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648
7/15/2026