DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: detection unit and calculation unit in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: the claim does nt disclose how “a calculation unit” is structural connected to “a detection unit” nor “a battery”. Since claims 2-14 depend from claim 1, they also are rejected for the above reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 8-9 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohkawa et al (Us Pub 2018/0050681) in view of Edamoto (JP 5307269 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Ohwata et al disclose [see Figs. 2 & 7] a battery management device (battery system 100) for managing a state of a battery (battery 110), the battery management device (100) comprising: a detection unit (voltage detection unit 140) configured to acquire a detection value of a voltage output from the battery (110); and a calculation unit (battery pack control unit 150) [see Fig. 7 where calculation units are located] configured to [see Note below] estimate the state of the battery (110), wherein the calculation unit (150) specifies a first period from a completion time point at which charging of the battery (110) is completed or from a start time point after the completion time point and before an inflection point of a curve of a change with time in the voltage to a first time point at which a first time has elapsed [see Fig. 5 and paragraphs [0050] & [0052] for details], the calculation unit (150) specifies a second period from the completion time point at which discharging of the battery (110) is completed or from a start time point after the completion time point and before the inflection point of the curve of the change with time to a second time point at which a second time has elapsed [see Fig. 5 and paragraphs [0050] & [0052] for details], the calculation unit (150) acquires at least one of a difference between a first change amount of the voltage in the first period and a second change amount of the voltage in the second period, and a ratio between the first change amount and the second change amount [see Fig. 5 and paragraphs [0050] & [0052] for details]. However, the prior art does not disclose the calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery as claimed. Edamoto disclose [see all Figs. above] a battery management device for managing a state of a battery (battery 1), the battery management device comprising: a detection unit (voltage detector 2) and a calculation unit (calculation unit 6 with unit 15), wherein the calculation unit (6 with 15) evaluates soundness of the battery (1) based on at least one of the difference and the ratio, and outputs the result [see translation pg. 5 and Fig 3 above]. Further, Edamoto teaches that the addition of calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery is advantageous because it would help provides an assembled battery cell state estimation device capable of more easily estimating a charging rate of each cell constituting an assembled battery . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Ohwata et al by adding calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery as taught by Edamoro in order to provides an assembled battery cell state estimation device capable of more easily estimating a charging rate of each cell constituting an assembled battery during test of the battery.
[Note: Claim limitations that employ phrases of the type “configured to” are typical of claim limitations, which may not distinguish over the prior art. It has been held that the recitation that an element is “configured to” performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. See also MPEP 2111.04]
Regarding claim 3, Ohwata et al disclose wherein when the second change amount is equal to or larger than the first change amount [see paragraph [0071] for details]. However, the prior art does not disclose the calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery as claimed. Edamoto disclose [see all Figs. above] a battery management device for managing a state of a battery (battery 1), the battery management device comprising: a detection unit (voltage detector 2) and a calculation unit (calculation unit 6 with unit 15), wherein the calculation unit (6 with 15) evaluates soundness of the battery (1) based on at least one of the difference and the ratio, and outputs the result [see translation pg. 5 and Fig 3 above]. Further, Edamoto teaches that the addition of calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery is advantageous because it would help provides an assembled battery cell state estimation device capable of more easily estimating a charging rate of each cell constituting an assembled battery. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Ohwata et al by adding calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery as taught by Edamoro in order to provides an assembled battery cell state estimation device capable of more easily estimating a charging rate of each cell constituting an assembled battery during test of the battery.
Regarding claim 5, Ohwata et al disclose wherein the calculation unit (150) evaluates the at least one of the difference and the ratio is equal to or larger than a second threshold, as a failure occurring or a period until a failure occurs being less than a threshold. However, the prior art does not disclose the calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery as claimed. Edamoto disclose [see all Figs. above] a battery management device for managing a state of a battery (battery 1), the battery management device comprising: a detection unit (voltage detector 2) and a calculation unit (calculation unit 6 with unit 15), wherein the calculation unit (6 with 15) evaluates soundness of the battery (1) based on at least one of the difference and the ratio, and outputs the result [see translation pg. 5 and Fig 3 above]. Further, Edamoto teaches that the addition of calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery is advantageous because it would help provides an assembled battery cell state estimation device capable of more easily estimating a charging rate of each cell constituting an assembled battery . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Ohwata et al by adding calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery as taught by Edamoro in order to provides an assembled battery cell state estimation device capable of more easily estimating a charging rate of each cell constituting an assembled battery during test of the battery.
Regarding claim 6, Ohwata et al disclose wherein the calculation unit (150) sets, for each type of the battery (110), a linear function approximating a relationship between the first change amount and the second change amount, and the calculation unit evaluates the soundness of the battery by comparing at least one of the difference and the ratio with the linear function. However, the prior art does not disclose the calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery as claimed. Edamoto disclose [see all Figs. above] a battery management device for managing a state of a battery (battery 1), the battery management device comprising: a detection unit (voltage detector 2) and a calculation unit (calculation unit 6 with unit 15), wherein the calculation unit (6 with 15) evaluates soundness of the battery (1) based on at least one of the difference and the ratio, and outputs the result [see translation pg. 5 and Fig 3 above]. Further, Edamoto teaches that the addition of calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery is advantageous because it would help provides an assembled battery cell state estimation device capable of more easily estimating a charging rate of each cell constituting an assembled battery . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Ohwata et al by adding calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery as taught by Edamoro in order to provides an assembled battery cell state estimation device capable of more easily estimating a charging rate of each cell constituting an assembled battery during test of the battery.
Regarding claim 8, Ohwata et al disclose wherein the calculation unit (150) estimates a period required by predicting at least one of the difference and the ratio at a future time point based on a result of at least one of acceleration test data, operation result data in a market, and AI-based training data. However, the prior art does not disclose the calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery as claimed. Edamoto disclose [see all Figs. above] a battery management device for managing a state of a battery (battery 1), the battery management device comprising: a detection unit (voltage detector 2) and a calculation unit (calculation unit 6 with unit 15), wherein the calculation unit (6 with 15) evaluates soundness of the battery (1) based on at least one of the difference and the ratio, and outputs the result [see translation pg. 5 and Fig 3 above]. Further, Edamoto teaches that the addition of calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery is advantageous because it would help provides an assembled battery cell state estimation device capable of more easily estimating a charging rate of each cell constituting an assembled battery . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Ohwata et al by adding calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery as taught by Edamoro in order to provides an assembled battery cell state estimation device capable of more easily estimating a charging rate of each cell constituting an assembled battery during test of the battery.
Regarding claim 9, Ohwata et al disclose [see Figs. 2 & 7] a battery management device (battery system 100) for managing a state of a battery (battery 110), the battery management device (100) comprising: a detection unit (voltage detection unit 140) and a calculation unit (battery pack control unit 150) [see Fig. 7 where calculation units are located]. However, the prior art does not disclose a user interface as claimed. Edamoto disclose [see all Figs above] a user interface (microcomputer 5) configured to present a processing result from the calculation unit (6 with 15), wherein the user interface (5) presents at least one of a change with time in the difference or the ratio during an operation period of the battery (1), the first change amount, the second change amount, and a result obtained by the calculation unit (6 with 15) estimating the state of the battery (1). Further, Edamoto teaches that the addition of user interface is advantageous because it would help provides an assembled battery cell state estimation device capable of more easily estimating a charging rate of each cell constituting an assembled battery. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Ohwata et al by adding user interface as taught by Edamoro in order to
Regarding claims 11-12, Ohwata et al disclose wherein the calculation unit (150) acquires a correspondence relationship between the first change amount and the second change amount used to determine whether the battery (110) is sound when the battery (110) is in a first temperature [see paragraphs [0043]-[0045] for details], the calculation unit (150) acquires the first change amount and the second change amount when the battery (110) is in a second temperature [see paragraphs [0043]-[0045] for details], and calculates a first post-conversion change amount and a second post-conversion change amount by converting values of the first change amount and the second change amount into corresponding values in the first temperature [see paragraphs [0043]-[0045] for details]. and the calculation unit evaluates the soundness of the battery using the first post- conversion change amount, the second post-conversion change amount, and the correspondence relationship when the battery is in the second temperature. However, the prior art does not disclose the calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery as claimed. Edamoto disclose [see all Figs. above] a battery management device for managing a state of a battery (battery 1), the battery management device comprising: a detection unit (voltage detector 2) and a calculation unit (calculation unit 6 with unit 15), wherein the calculation unit (6 with 15) evaluates soundness of the battery (1) based on at least one of the difference and the ratio, and outputs the result [see translation pg. 5 and Fig 3 above]. Further, Edamoto teaches that the addition of calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery is advantageous because it would help provides an assembled battery cell state estimation device capable of more easily estimating a charging rate of each cell constituting an assembled battery . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Ohwata et al by adding calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery as taught by Edamoro in order to provides an assembled battery cell state estimation device capable of more easily estimating a charging rate of each cell constituting an assembled battery during test of the battery.
Regarding claims 13, Ohwata et al disclose wherein a plurality of the batteries (110 with 112a and 112b) are connected in series or in parallel to constitute a battery group (110), the calculation unit (150) monitors the battery group (110) by acquiring an output voltage of each of the batteries (110 with 112a & 112b), an output current of each of the batteries, a temperature of each of the batteries [see paragraphs [0043]-[0045] for details], an operating time or an operating period of each of the batteries, and a history of these, and the calculation unit (150) predicts a future failure of the battery group by comparing a result obtained by monitoring the battery group (110) with a result of at least one of acceleration test data, operation result data in a market, and Al-based training data.
Regarding claims 14, Ohwata et al disclose wherein the calculation unit (150) acquires an output voltage of the battery (110) via a charging port of an electrical device (battery control device 120) in which the battery (110) is mounted, and the calculation unit (150) acquires the first change amount and the second change amount using the output voltage acquired via the charging port.
Regarding claim 15, Ohwata et al disclose [see Figs. 2 & 7] a storage medium that stores a battery management program (battery system 100) to execute a step of acquiring a detection value [via voltage detection unit 140] of a voltage output from the battery (110); and a step of estimating [via battery pack control unit 150] the state of the battery (110), wherein in the estimating step, specifies a first period from a completion time point at which charging of the battery (110) is completed or from a start time point after the completion time point and before an inflection point of a curve of a change with time in the voltage to a first time point at which a first time has elapsed [see Fig. 5 and paragraphs [0050] & [0052] for details], the calculation unit (150) specifies a second period from the completion time point at which discharging of the battery (110) is completed or from a start time point after the completion time point and before the inflection point of the curve of the change with time to a second time point at which a second time has elapsed [see Fig. 5 and paragraphs [0050] & [0052] for details], the calculation unit (150) acquires at least one of a difference between a first change amount of the voltage in the first period and a second change amount of the voltage in the second period, and a ratio between the first change amount and the second change amount [see Fig. 5 and paragraphs [0050] & [0052] for details]. However, the prior art does not disclose a computer nor evaluating soundness of the battery as claimed. Edamoto disclose [see all Figs. above] a battery management device for managing a state of a battery (battery 1), the battery management device comprising: a detection unit (voltage detector 2), a calculation unit (calculation unit 6 with unit 15) and a computer (microcomputer 5), wherein the calculation unit (6 with 15) evaluates soundness of the battery (1) based on at least one of the difference and the ratio, and outputs the result [see translation pg. 5 and Fig 3 above]. Further, Edamoto teaches that the addition of a computer using a calculation unit to evaluate soundness of the battery is advantageous because it would help provides an assembled battery cell state estimation device capable of more easily estimating a charging rate of each cell constituting an assembled battery. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Ohwata et al by adding calculation unit evaluates soundness of the battery as taught by Edamoro in order to provides an assembled battery cell state estimation device capable of more easily estimating a charging rate of each cell constituting an assembled battery during test of the battery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for details.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim2, 4, 7 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 2, the primary reason for the allowance of the claims is due to the calculation unit evaluates a degree of progress of aged deterioration of the battery according to a distance from an origin of a plot when the first change amount and the second change amount are plotted on a two-dimensional coordinate axis. Since claim 4 depends form claim 2, it also has an allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 7, the primary reason for the allowance of the claims is due to wherein the calculation unit sets at least one of a slope and an intercept of the linear function for each of the type of the battery, a characteristic of the battery, an attribute of the battery, or a combination of one or more of these, the calculation unit sets at least one of the slope and the intercept for a first battery such that a range in which the battery is evaluated to be sound is a first normal range and a range in which the battery is evaluated to be deteriorated or failed is a first abnormal range, the calculation unit sets at least one of the slope and the intercept for a second battery with a reference for being regarded as deteriorated is stricter than that of the first battery, such that a range in which the battery is evaluated to be deteriorated or failed is a second abnormal range narrower than the first abnormal range, and the calculation unit sets at least one of the slope and the intercept for a third battery with a reference for being regarded as sound is gentler than that of the first battery, such that a range in which the battery is evaluated as sound is a second normal range wider than the first normal range.
Regarding claim 10, the primary reason for the allowance of the claims is due to wherein the calculation unit acquires a correspondence relationship between the first change amount and the second change amount used to determine whether the battery is sound when the battery is in a first state of charge, the calculation unit acquires the first change amount and the second change amount when the battery is in a second state of charge, and calculates a first post-conversion change amount and a second post-conversion change amount by converting values of the first change amount and the second change amount into corresponding values in the first state of charge, and the calculation unit evaluates the soundness of the battery using the first post- conversion change amount, the second post-conversion change amount, and the correspondence relationship when the battery is in the second state of charge.
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858