Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marui et al. (Hereinafter Marui, US 2021/0367070).
In regards to independent claim 1, Marui teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
an SJ layer extending in a first direction in a plane and configured by alternately arraying a plurality of semiconductor regions of a first conductivity type and a plurality of semiconductor regions of a second conductivity type in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Marui, [0044], SJ Structure, Fig. 1-4);
a first drain layer of the first conductivity type electrically connected to the SJ layer on one end side in the first direction (Marui, 50, Fig. 1-4);
a channel layer of the second conductivity type provided on the SJ layer on the other end side in the first direction (Marui, 30, Fig. 1-4);
a first source layer of the first conductivity type provided on the channel layer (Marui, 40, Fig. 1-4); and
a first gate electrode provided on a side of the channel layer and the first source layer in the first direction with a first insulating layer interposed therebetween (Marui, 60, 65, Fig. 1-4).
In regards to dependent claim 2, Marui teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first insulating layer is provided on the SJ layer with the first gate electrode embedded therein (Marui, 60, 65, Fig. 1-4).
In regards to dependent claim 10, Marui teaches wherein a depletion layer is formed in the semiconductor region of the first conductivity type of the SJ layer (Marui, [0024], Fig. 1-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marui in view of Sato et al. (hereinafter Sato, US 2016/0079416).
In regards to dependent claim 3, Marui teaches all limitations from claim 1. Marui fails to teach wherein the first gate electrode is provided between the channel layer and the first source. Sato teaches wherein the first gate electrode is provided between the channel layer and the first source layer, and the first drain layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Marui and Sato before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the super junction transistor taught by Marui to include gate electrode between the source and drain of Sato in order to obtain a super junction transistor with a gate electrode between the source and drain. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces the one resistance.
Claim(s) 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marui in view of Kitigawa et al. (hereinafter Kitigawa, US 2003/0183858).
In regards to dependent claim 11, Marui teaches all limitations from claim 1. Marui fails to teach wherein the SJ layer is provided on an interlayer insulating layer including an insulating material. Kitigawa teaches wherein the SJ layer is provided on an interlayer insulating layer including an insulating material (Kitigawa, 3, 12, and 13 Fig. 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Marui and Kitigawa before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the super junction transistor taught by Marui to include the insulating layer of Kitigawa in order to obtain a super junction transistor deposited on an insulating layer. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces leakage current from the transistor.
In regards to dependent claim 12, Marui teaches all limitations from claim 1. Marui fails to teach the interlayer insulating layer is laminated with a semiconductor substrate, and the SJ layer is provided on a laminated substrate including the interlayer insulating layer and the semiconductor substrate. Kitigawa teaches wherein the interlayer insulating layer is laminated with a semiconductor substrate, and the SJ layer is provided on a laminated substrate including the interlayer insulating layer and the semiconductor substrate (Kitigawa, 3, 12, and 13 Fig. 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Marui and Kitigawa before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the super junction transistor taught by Marui to include the insulating layer of Kitigawa in order to obtain a super junction transistor deposited on an insulating layer. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces leakage current from the transistor.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marui in view of Kitigawa and Yokoyama (US 2012/0248544)
In regards to dependent claim 13, Marui in view of Kitigawa teach all limitations from claim 12. Marui fails to teach wherein the laminated substrate is provided with a pixel including a logic circuit or a photodiode. Yokoyama teaches wherein the laminated substrate is provided with a pixel including a logic circuit or a photodiode (Yokoyama, [0702]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Marui Kitigawa and Yokoyama before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the super junction transistor taught by Marui to include the pixel circuit of Yokoyama in order to obtain a super junction transistor used within a pixel circuit. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it enables the pixel to be smaller thereby enabling a higher resolution screen.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM C TRAPANESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812