DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KAUFMANN et al. (WO 2012016914A2), hereinafter Kaufmann.
With respect to claim 1, Kaufmann discloses an assembly (See [1] in figure 1 of Kaufmann) for determining an electrical angle (See paragraph [0050] of Kaufmann) of a rotor in an electrical machine the assembly (See paragraph [0011] of Kaufmann) comprising: an encoder assembly (See paragraph [0043] of Kaufmann) configured to be mounted on a stator of the electrical machine (See paragraph [0058] of Kaufmann), the encoder assembly having an encoder wheel (See the encoder ring shown in figure 2 of Kaufmann) configured to contact a surface of the rotor to obtain relative rotor rotation information based on rotation of the encoder wheel (See paragraph [0058] of Kaufmann): an electrical angle observer configured to provide an absolute electrical angle (See paragraph [0050] of Kaufmann) and a processing device coupled to communicate with the encoder assembly and the electrical angle observer and configured to determine the electrical angle of the rotor based on the relative rotor rotation information and the absolute electrical angle (See paragraphs [0044] and [0045] of Kaufmann).
With respect to claim 2, Kaufmann discloses the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the processing device is configured to utilize the absolute electrical angle as an initial value in a determination of the electrical angle of the rotor (See paragraph [0050] in view of paragraph [0044] of Kaufmann).
With respect to claim 12, Kaufmann discloses a method of determining an electrical angle (See paragraph [0050] of Kaufmann) of a rotor (See paragraph [0011] of Kaufmann) in an electrical machine (See [1] in figure 1 of Kaufmann), the method comprising: arranging an encoder having an encoder wheel (See paragraph [0043] of Kaufmann) such that the encoder wheel contacts a surface of the rotor to obtain relative rotor rotation information based on rotation of the encoder wheel (See paragraph [0058] of Kaufmann); providing an absolute electrical angle by an electrical angle observer (See paragraph [0050] of Kaufmann); and determining the electrical angle of the rotor based on the relative rotor rotation information and the absolute electrical angle (See paragraphs [0044] and [0045] of Kaufmann).
With respect to claim 13, Kaufmann discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the absolute electrical angle is utilized as an initial value in a determination of the electrical angle of the rotor (See paragraph [0050] in view of paragraph [0044] of Kaufmann).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaufmann as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Isobe et al. (US PUB 2009/0058400), hereinafter Isobe.
With respect to claim 4, Kaufmann discloses the assembly according to 1, but fails to disclose wherein the processing device is further configured to determine the electrical angle of the rotor based on a gear ratio between the encoder wheel and the surface of the rotor. However, Isobe does disclose wherein the processing device is further configured to determine the electrical angle of the rotor based on a gear ratio between the encoder wheel and the surface of the rotor (See paragraph [0050] of Isobe). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device disclosed by Kaufmann to include the feature disclosed by Isobe because doing so enhances the detection accuracy.
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Kaufmann and Isobe discloses the assembly according to claim 4, wherein the processing device is configured to utilize a predetermined fixed gear ratio (See paragraph [0050] of Isobe).
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Kaufmann and Isobe discloses the assembly according to claim 4, wherein the processing device is configured to determine and utilize a dynamically corrected gear ratio (See paragraph [0050] of Isobe).
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Kaufmann and Isobe discloses the assembly according to claim 6, wherein the processing device is configured to determine a gear ratio correction factor based on the relative rotor rotation information and the absolute electrical angle (See paragraph [0102] of Isobe in view of paragraph [0103] of Isobe).
With respect to claim 14, Kaufmann discloses the method according to claim 12, but fails to disclose wherein the determining the electrical angle of the rotor is based on a gear ratio between the encoder wheel and the surface of the rotor. However, Isobe does disclose wherein the determining the electrical angle of the rotor is based on a gear ratio between the encoder wheel and the surface of the rotor (See paragraph [0050] of Isobe). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method disclosed by Kaufmann to include the method step disclosed by Isobe because doing so enhances the detection accuracy.
With respect to claim 15, the combination of Kaufmann and Isobe discloses the method according to claim 14, further comprising determining a gear ratio correction factor based on the relative rotor rotation information and the absolute electrical angle (See paragraph [0102] of Isobe in view of paragraph [0103] of Isobe).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 3, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements comprises an HFI observer.
With respect to claim 8, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements wherein the processing device is configured to determine the gear ratio correction factor by performing a closed-loop control algorithm that receives a difference between the electrical angle of the rotor and the absolute electrical angle.
With respect to claim 9, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements wherein the processing device is configured to determine the gear ratio correction factor by performing a closed-loop control algorithm that receives a difference between an integrated first rotor speed signal and an integrated second rotor speed signal, wherein the first rotor speed signal is calculated based on the electrical angle of the rotor, and wherein the second rotor speed signal is calculated based on the absolute electrical angle.
With respect to claim 10, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements wherein the processing device is configured to determine the dynamically corrected gear ratio based on a predetermined fixed gear ratio and the gear ratio correction factor.
With respect to claim 11, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the combination of structural elements comprising a wind turbine controller and an assembly according to claim 1, a stator; a rotor arranged to rotate around the stator; wherein the encoder assembly is mounted on the stator, wherein the encoder wheel contacts a surface of the rotor, and wherein the wind turbine controller is configured to perform rotor position control utilizing the electrical angle as a control signal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PAT 10,224,842 discloses a control device and brushless motor.
US PAT 9,719,771 discloses a rotation angle sensor for absolute rotation angle determination
even upon multiple revolutions.
/TEMILADE S RHODES-VIVOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858