Double Patenting
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,641,827. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because The subject matter of instant claim 19 is found within the limitations of claims 1 (main portion of the claim, support=substrate), 3 (rectangle projection limitation), and 7 (distance limitation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (US PGPub 2009/0197382).
Claim 11: Anderson teaches [0023-0024] (Fig. 1) an integrated circuit (IC) device, comprising: a substrate; and a first angled structure (100) and a second angled structure over the substrate, wherein: each of the first angled structure and the second angled structure includes a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and a longitudinal axis extending between the first end and the second end, the longitudinal axis of each of the first angled structure and the second angled structure is at an angle between 10 degrees and 80 degrees with respect to an edge of the substrate, and the longitudinal axis of the first angled structure and the longitudinal axis of the second angled structure is a shared longitudinal axis.
Claim 12: Anderson teaches [0023-0024] (Fig. 1) the first end of the first angled structure is opposite the second end of the second angled structure, and each of a projection of the first end of the first angled structure onto a plane parallel to the substrate and a projection of the second end of the second angled structure onto the plane is a straight line.
Claim 13: Anderson teaches [0023-0024] (Fig. 1) the straight line of the projection of the first end of the first angled structure onto the plane is parallel to the straight line of the projection of the second end of the second angled structure onto the plane.
Claim 14: Anderson teaches [0023-0024] (Fig. 1) at least one of the straight line of the projection of the first end of the first angled structure onto the plane and the straight line of the projection of the second end of the second angled structure onto the plane is at an angle between 10 degrees and 80 degrees with respect to the edge of the substrate.
Claim 17: Anderson teaches [0023-0024] (Fig. 1) the first angled structure and the second angled structure are fins or nanoribbons of one or more semiconductor materials.
Claim 18: Anderson teaches [0023-0024] (Fig. 1) a transistor over the substrate, wherein: the transistor includes a source region, a drain region, and a channel region between the source region and the drain region, a line between the source region and the drain region of the transistor is the shared longitudinal axis, and the channel region of the transistor includes a semiconductor material of the first angled structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 1-10 are allowed. The prior art of record does not teach the subject matter of claim 1, specifically the combination of the vias and the angled structures.
Claims 15-16, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SARAH K SALERNO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814