DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to amendments and remarks filed on 04/08/2026. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-9, 11, 14 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 3, 4, 8, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., (US 2017/0134638A1) in view of Masanori (JP 2003114308 A, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al., disclose a sensor module comprising:
a lens unit (110, Fig.1); a base portion (140) on which a sensor (130) for receiving light from the lens unit (110) is installed (see Fig.1); a mount portion (120) installed on the base portion (140); an attachment portion (150) that aligns the mount portion (120) with the lens unit (110)(see Fig.1 and [0017], “the lens barrel 110 may be fastened to the adapter tube 150 in a tunable arrangement with respect to each other to enable the vertical position of the lens barrel 110 within the adapter tube 150 to be vertically adjusted”); and
a first sliding portion (159, Fig.1) that causes the mount portion to slidably support the attachment portion (150)(see Fig.1, [0019], “threads 159 forming a spiral extending from its outer surface…cause the vertical positions of the adapter tube 150 and lens mount 120 are tunable”, [0022], “threads 159…to cause the lens barrel 110 and the lens mount 120 to move in the same direction along the optical axis 170”; indicating the slidably support because the threaded interface guides and supports translation along the optical axis 170 during tuning) and
a second sliding portion (156) that causes the attachment portion to slidably support the lens unit (110)(see Fig.1, [0017], “The adapter tube 150 includes threads 156 that form a spiral indentation on its inner surface…to mate with each other such that the lens barrel 110 may be fastened to the adapter tube 150 in a tunable arrangement with respect to each other to enable the vertical position of the lens barrel 110 within the adapter tube 150 to be vertically adjusted”), wherein the first sliding portion (159) is provided to one axial end of the attachment portion (150)([0020], “the threads 159 are on the lower subsection of the adapter tube 150”), and the second sliding portion (156) is provided to an opposite axial end of the attachment portion opposite to the one axial end (Fig.1, [0018], “the threads 156 are on the upper subsection of the adapter tube 150”),
wherein the first sliding portion (159) is provided to an outer circumferential surface of the attachment potion (150, [0019], “The threads 159 … to indicate that they are on the outer surface of the adapter tube 150) to cause the mount portion (120) to support the attachment portion (150)([0019], “The threads 159 are configured to mate with reciprocal threads 123 formed by an indentation on an inner surface of a tube portion 122 of the lens mount 120 so that the vertical positions of the adapter tube 150 and lens mount 120 are tunable with respect to each other”), and the second sliding portion (156) is provided to an inner circumferential surface of the attachment potion (150, see [0017], “The adapter tube 150 includes threads 156 that form a spiral indentation on its inner surface”) to cause the attachment portion (150) to support the lens unit (110, see Fig.1 and [0017]).
Wang et al., do not disclose the attachment portion includes a filter portion integrally including an optical filter in a diaphragm portion that reduces an amount of light received from the lens unit as claimed. Masanori disclose (Fig.7) an attachment portion (110A) includes a filter portion (130) integrally including an optical filter (130) in a diaphragm portion (140, [0024], “ the imaging element, the optical filter element, and the optical diaphragm are fixed together with an adhesive”, and [0015], “An optical diaphragm 140 is provided on one side of the optical filter element 130”) that reduces an amount of light received from the lens unit (122)( Fig.7, showing the optical diaphragm 140 and the optical filter element 130 together as a unit, and [0015], “An optical diaphragm 140 is provided on one side of the optical filter element 130…in the outer peripheral portion that is a portion that does not affect the imaging light”, the light from the center of the lens is allowed through, which is reduction of light).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang et al., to incorporating the integrated filter arrangement, as taught by Masanori, to improve optical imaging performance by minimize the physical size and reducing mechanical complexity (Masanori, [0004]).
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al., disclose (Fig.1) a manufacturing method for a sensor module, the manufacturing method comprising:
forming a mount portion (120) for mounting a lens unit (110) on a base portion (140) on which a sensor (130) for receiving light ([0016], “ rays of lights to pass through to the image sensor assembly 130”) from the lens unit (110) is installed (see Fig.1);
forming an attachment portion (150) for supporting the lens unit (110) on the mount portion (120)(see Fig.1 and [0016]); and
forming a first sliding portion (159) that causes the mount portion to slidably support the attachment portion (150)( see Fig.1, [0019], “threads 159 forming a spiral extending from its outer surface. The threads 159 are illustrated with dotted lines to indicate that they are on the outer surface of the adapter tube 150… the vertical positions of the adapter tube 150 and lens mount 120 are tunable”, [0022], “threads 159…to cause the lens barrel 110 and the lens mount 120 to move in the same direction along the optical axis 170”; indicating the slidably support because the threaded interface guides and supports translation along the optical axis 170 during tuning) and
a second sliding portion (156) that causes the attachment portion to slidably support the lens unit (110)(see Fig.1, [0017], “The adapter tube 150 includes threads 156 that form a spiral indentation on its inner surface…to mate with each other such that the lens barrel 110 may be fastened to the adapter tube 150 in a tunable arrangement with respect to each other to enable the vertical position of the lens barrel 110 within the adapter tube 150 to be vertically adjusted”); wherein the first sliding portion (159) is provided to one axial end of the attachment portion(150)([0020], “the threads 159 are on the lower subsection of the adapter tube 150”)
, and the second sliding portion (156) is provided to an opposite axial end of the attachment portion opposite to the one axial end (Fig.1, Fig.1, [0018], “the threads 156 are on the upper subsection of the adapter tube 150”), wherein
the first sliding portion is provided to an outer circumferential surface of the attachment potion (150, [0019], “The threads 159 … to indicate that they are on the outer surface of the adapter tube 150) to cause the mount portion to support the attachment portion (150)([0019], “The threads 159 are configured to mate with reciprocal threads 123 formed by an indentation on an inner surface of a tube portion 122 of the lens mount 120 so that the vertical positions of the adapter tube 150 and lens mount 120 are tunable with respect to each other”), and the second sliding portion (156) is provided to an inner circumferential surface of the attachment potion to cause the attachment portion to support the lens unit (150, [0017], “The adapter tube 150 includes threads 156 that form a spiral indentation on its inner surface”) to cause the attachment portion (150) to support the lens unit (110, see Fig.1 and [0017]).
Wang et al., do not disclose installing an optical filter that allows light from the lens unit to pass through the optical filter in the attachment portion, wherein the attachment portion includes a filter portion integrally including the optical filter in a diaphragm portion that reduces an amount of light received from the lens unit as claimed. Masanori discloses installing an optical filter (130) that allows light from the lens unit to pass through the optical filter in an attachment portion (110A)(see Fig.7), wherein the attachment portion (110A) includes a filter portion (130) integrally including the optical filter (130) in a diaphragm portion (140) that reduces an amount of light received from the lens unit ( Fig.7, showing the optical diaphragm 140 and the optical filter element 130 together as a unit, and [0015], “An optical diaphragm 140 is provided on one side of the optical filter element 130…in the outer peripheral portion that is a portion that does not affect the imaging light”, the light from the center of the lens is allowed through, which is reduction of light).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang et al., to incorporating the integrated filter arrangement, as taught by Masanori, to improve optical imaging performance by minimize the physical size and reducing mechanical complexity (Masanori, [0004]).
Regarding claims 3, 4, 9, 14, Wang et al., in view of Masanori, as discussed in claims 1 and 8, Wang et al., do not disclose the attachment portion including the diaphragm portion as claimed. Masanori discloses (Fig.7) the attachment portion (110A) including the diaphragm portion (140). Masanori also discloses the optical filter (130) that allows light from the lens unit (122) to pass through the optical filter (130)(see Fig.7, the optical filter is placed along the optical axis between the lens 122 and the sensor 220, the light is from the lens unit to the sensor passing through the filter). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang et al., to incorporating the integrated filter arrangement, as taught by Masanori, to improve optical imaging performance by minimize the physical size and reducing mechanical complexity (Masanori, [0004]).
4. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., in view of Masanori, and further in view of LV (US 2008/0284897 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al., in view of Masanori, as discussed in claim 1, do not disclose the mount portion being provided with a dustproof filter that protects the sensor from dust as claimed. LV discloses a mount portion (13, Fig.1) being provided with a dustproof filter (40) that protects the sensor from dust (paragraph [0018], “The filter 40 is applied to prevent dust from migrating from the circuit board 30 along the inner surface of the holder 13 to eventually come to rest on the image sensor 20”, “The filter 40 traps any dust that would otherwise have bounced off the inner surface to land on the image sensor 2”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang et al., in view of Masanori, by utilizing the teaching of LV, to better prevent foreign matter or dust from entering the sensor side.
5. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., in view of Masanori, and further in view of Honda et al., (US 2003/0071342 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al., in view of Masanori, as discussed in claim 3, do not disclose an opening diameter of the diaphragm portion is larger than an image circle diameter of the lens unit, or substantially the same diameter or the same diameter as the image circle diameter as claimed. Honda et al., disclose an opening diameter of the diaphragm portion (5A. Fig.5) being larger than an image circle diameter of the lens unit, or substantially the same diameter or the same diameter as the image circle diameter (paragraph [0131], “a light incident on the lens 3 for photographing is focused by the lens 3 for photographing and is incident on the light-receiving surface 10Aa of the solid-state image sensing chip 10A through the aperture 5 a and the IR filter 5”, and Fig.5 showing opening diameter is match or larger the image circle diameter of the lens unit). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang et al., in view of Masanori, by utilizing the teaching of Honda et al., to avoid degradation such as reduced imaging performance.
6. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., in view of Masanori, in view of Lee et al., (US 2021/0181349 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al., in view of Masanori, as discussed in claim 1, do not disclose at least reflected light being received from a subject, and distance information is acquired using the reflected light as claimed. Lee et al., disclose at least reflected light being received from a subject (paragraph [0059], “The light receiver 120 may be a component for acquiring reflected light reflected from the object”), and distance information is acquired using the reflected light (paragraph [0065], “the object distance acquisition module 174 may acquire distance information on an object included in the depth image”, “acquire a depth value of a pixel corresponding to the detected object as a distance to the object”). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang et al., in view of Masanori, by utilizing the teaching of Lee et al., so that the system can be applied to a wide range of product and use cases, including direct measurement of a subject distance.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.T.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/THANH LUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878