DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 15, and 17-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olga Burchak et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2021/0066710, here after Burchak-2), further in view of Yuan Yao et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2007/0166899, here after Yao).
Claims 1-2, and 19 are rejected. Burchak-2 teaches a method for the preparation of composite material comprising at least silicon nanowires and catalyst (copper), comprising at least the following stages:
(A) introducing into a chamber of a reactor, in an absence of any medium or
solvent, a solid/solid mixture of at least a catalyst(copper) in powder form, a growth support in powder form (silicon particles) [abstract, 0108],
a mass ratio copper halide/growth support ranging from 0.02 to 0.5(converting molar ratio we will have mass ratio of 0.0226) [0113],
(B) growing silicon nanowires in the chamber of the reactor, from at least one
precursor compound of the silicon nanowires selected from a silane compound or a mixture of silane compounds [abstract, 0053], and
(C) recovering the product[abstract]. Burchak-2 teaches the catalyst is copper particles but does not teach the catalyst is CuCl2. Yao teaches a method of
depositing silicon nanowires on a substrate with CVD, where a copper catalyst is
applied by applying CuCl2 in form of solid powder to substrate(silicon) [0028, 0024].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
invention was made to have a method of Burchak-2 where the catalyst (CuCl2) is introduced to the powder substrate, because it is suitable way to apply CuCl2 on a substrate for growing SiNW's. Burchak-2 teaches the catalyst is at least partially bonded to the surface of at least one silicon particle [0115] which is in fact defines mixing (to bring into close association, Merriam-Webster dictionary), and Yao also teaches bring into close association (mixing the coper halide and the growth support, silicon) in the chamber of reactor [0026].
Claim 3 is rejected. Burchak-2 teaches introducing, into the chamber of the reactor, at least one precursor compound of the silicon nanowires chosen from a silane compound or a mixture of silane compounds,
decreasing the dioxygen content in the chamber of the reactor,
applying a thermal treatment at a temperature ranging from 350°C to 550°C [0157, 0178, 0034-0035].
Claim 4 is rejected as Burchak-2 teaches the preparation of the composite material is implemented in a fixed-bed reactor [fig. 4].
Claim 15 is rejected as Burchak-2 teaches the growth support is silicon nanoparticles or silicon microparticles [0259].
Claim 17 is rejected as Yao teaches the copper halide (cupric chloride) is used
(as raw material) [0028].
Claim 18 is rejected as Yao teaches the copper halide (cupric chloride) is in
powder form [0028].
Claim 20 is rejected as Burchak-2 [0028], and Yao [0029] both teach the precursor compound of the silicon nanowires is silane (SiH4).
Claim 21 is rejected as Burchak-2 teaches the thermal treatment is performed at a temperature ranging from 350 °C to 550 °C [0035].
Claim 22 is rejected. Burchak-2 teaches the thermal treatment is applied from 1 minute to 5 hours [0183].
Claim 23 is rejected. Burchak-2 is a post-treatment step in order to transform (also) organics resulting from the precursor compound of the silicon nanowires into carbon materials [0211].
Claim 24 is rejected. further comprising an additional step of washing the composite material obtained at the end of step (C) [0036].
Claim 25 is rejected. Burchak-2 teaches introduction, into the reactor, of at least one doping material [0144].
Claim 26 is rejected. Burchak-2 and Yao teach the limitation of claim 1, and Burchak-2 teaches a method of making an electrode including a current collector, covering at least one surface of the current collector with a composition comprising said silicon-copper composite material as an electrode active material [0055, 0236].
Claim 27 is rejected. Burchak-2 and Yao teach limitation of claim 26 and teaches a method of making an energy storage device including a cathode, an anode, and a separator disposed between the cathode and the anode, to make at least one of the electrodes [0324-0325].
Claims 5-6, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olga Burchak et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2021/0066710, here after Burchak-2), Yuan Yao et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2007/0166899, here after Yao), further in view of Olga Burchak et al (WO 2021/018598 here after Burchak).
Claims 5-6 are rejected. Burchak-2 teaches the growth support is silicon
nanoparticles, and not carbonaceous polymer fibers. Burchart teaches a method of making composite material comprising silicon nanowires and catalyst(copper) to be used in making electrode for batteries in a reactor [fig. 1], where support for growing silicon nanowires is are polymer precursor such as carbonaceous polymer fibers [page 10 lines 22-28]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Burchak-2 where the support is polymeric fiber material, because it is suitable support to grow silicon nanowire on it.
Claim 14 is rejected as Burchak teaches the carbon-based material (fiber) has mean particle size of 0.01-100 um [see fig. 2, and 3A].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argument regarding Cao does not teach new limitations of amended claim 1 is not persuasive as Burchak-2 teaches the new limitation of amended claim 1 (see claim rejection above), Burchak-2 teaches combining silicon nanoparticles and catalyst and bring them in close contact which means mixing and it happens in the reactor( see claim rejection above. Furthermore, Cao is not a part of current claim rejection. furthermore Yao catalyst of CuCl2 leads copper catalyst as it decomposes to copper and Burchak and Burchak-2 both teach catalyst as copper.
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718