DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed on 7/22/2024.
Claims 51-70 have been examined and are pending with this action.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/22/2024 and these drawings are accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath/Declaration filed on 7/22/2024 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 58-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Wu (WO 2021163089 A1 ).
As per claim 58, Wu discloses an apparatus, comprising: one or more processors, and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Wu: [0051]: “The base station 104 includes processing hardware 130, which can include one or more general-purpose processors (e.g., central processing units (CPUs) and a computer- readable memory storing machine-readable instructions executable on the one or more general-purpose processor.”),, cause the apparatus to: transmit, by a source network node to a device, a configuration of a channel bandwidth and a first bandwidth part for the device to communicate data with the source network node with a protocol stack, and a configuration of a second bandwidth part for the device to communicate data with a target network node with the same protocol stack, wherein the first and second bandwidth parts are not overlapping, and wherein the first and second bandwidth parts are contained within the channel bandwidth (Wu: [0057]: “non-DAPS handover" page 12, [57]; "The target pair of BWPs includes a target UL BWP and a target DL BWP, and does not overlap with the source pair of BWPs. In turn, the S-BS 104 transmits 618 the handover command message to the UE 102, As a result, the target pair of BWPs in cell 126B becomes available for the UE 102 when communicating with the T-BS 106B during and after a successful DAPS handover, while the source pair of BWPs in cell 124 still remains available for the UE 102 when communicating with the S-BS 104. In this way, the RAN (e.g., S-BS 104, T-BS 106B) ensures that intra frequency DAPS handover proceeds across non-overlapping BWPs”), and (Wu: [0085-0086]: “The DAPS handover configuration enables the UE 102 to continue communicating with the S-BS 104 while simultaneously communicating with the T-BS 106B." page 47/48, [186]; figure 1A; 618 in figure 6: According to 618 in figure 6, the handover command message is sent from the source BS to the UE and comprises the target pair of BWPs”).
As per claim 59, Wu discloses the apparatus according to claim 58, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to the target network node (Wu: [0186]: “After gaining access to a channel, the UE 102 transmits 624 a handover complete message to the T-BS 106B via the target pair of BWPs during or after successfully completing the random access procedure.”):
an indication of the first bandwidth part (Wu: [0196]: “a DAPS handover configuration or an indication for the DAPS handover configuration in a field or an IE, in Fig. 7 the base station 104 simply generates 714 the handover command message configuring a target pair of BWPs in T-PCell 124.”):
, and
a request to configure, for the device, data communication with the source network node and the target network node with different bandwidth parts (Wu: [0196]: “whereas in Fig. 6 the S-BS 104 sends a 612 a Handover Request message to the T-BS 106B for the T-BS 106B to generate 614 a handover command message to configure a target pair of BWPs in the cell 126B, and a DAPS handover configuration .”).
As per claim 60, Wu discloses the apparatus according to claim 58, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to: transmit the indication of the first bandwidth part (Wu: [0472]: “transmitting, by the processing hardware and to the source DU, an indication that the source DU is to continue communicating with the UE during the DAPS procedure; in response to determining that the UE has begun communicating with the target DU, transmitting a release indication to the target D .”) and the request to configure data communication with the source network node and the target network node with different bandwidth parts (Wu: [0196]: “whereas in Fig. 6 the S-BS 104 sends a 612 a Handover Request message to the T-BS 106B for the T-BS 106B to generate 614 a handover command message to configure a target pair of BWPs in the cell 126B, and a DAPS handover configuration .”)., in response to receiving an indication of a capability of the device to communicate data with the source network node and the target network node with different bandwidth parts (Wu: [0192]: “the DAPS handover capability indicates that the UE 102 is capable of intra-frequency DAPS handover. In one implementation, the DAPS handover capability indicates that the UE 102 supports intra- frequency DAPS handover with a pair of target BWPs (i.e., a target DL BWP and a target UL BWP) in a target cell that does not overlap with a pair of source BWPs (i.e., a source DL BWP and a source UL BWP) in a source cell.”).
As per claim 61, Wu discloses the apparatus according to claim 58, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to: receive the configuration of the second bandwidth part from the target network node (Wu: [0185]: “the S-BS 104 sends 612 a Handover Request message to the T-BS 106B, similar to event 312B. In response to the Handover Request message, the T-BS 106B generates 614 a handover command message to configure a target pair of BWPs in the cell 126B,.”).
As per claim 62, Wu discloses the apparatus according to claim 58, wherein the configuration of the first bandwidth part and/or the configuration of the second bandwidth part is transmitted in a radio resource control reconfiguration message (Wu: [0193]: “the S-BS 104 can generate an RRC message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message) including the handover command message, and transmit the RRC message to the UE 102. The S-BS 104 can include the handover command message in a DAPS handover related field/IE.”).
As per claim 63, Wu discloses the apparatus according to claim 58, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to the device, a request to release the source network node, in response to receiving, from the device, an indication of successful establishment of communication by the device with the target network node at the second bandwidth part (Wu: [0061 & 0415]: “the base station 104 until the UE 102 either successfully completes the random access procedure with the base station 106B or receives the indication from the base station 106B to release the MCG link with the base station 104. & Fig. 26 is a flow diagram depicting an example method 2600 in a RAN for configuring a DAPS procedure at a UE communicating with the RAN using a first uplink bandwidth part (BWP) and a first downlink BWP of a source cell.”).
As per claim 64, Wu discloses the apparatus according to claim 58, wherein the first bandwidth part is adjacent to the second bandwidth part (Wu: [0037-0038]: “Figs. 19A and 19B are flow diagrams depicting example methods for preparing a UE to perform DAPS PSCell change, from a first pair of BWPs of a first cell to a second pair of BWPs of a second cell.”).
As per claim 65, Wu discloses the apparatus according to claim 58, wherein the source network node and the target network node are associated with same cell identifier (Wu: [0037-0038]: “Figs. 19A and 19B are flow diagrams depicting example methods for preparing a UE to perform DAPS PSCell change, from a first pair of BWPs of a first cell to a second pair of BWPs of a second cell.”).
As per claim 66, Wu discloses the apparatus according to claim 58, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the device, a medium access control control element command configured to actuate a handover of the device from the source network node to the target network node, wherein the first bandwidth part is configured for communication of data between the device and the source network node at least during the handover, and wherein the second bandwidth part is configured for communication of data between the device and the target network node at least during the handover (Wu: [0057]: “non-DAPS handover" page 12, [57]; "The target pair of BWPs includes a target UL BWP and a target DL BWP, and does not overlap with the source pair of BWPs. In turn, the S-BS 104 transmits 618 the handover command message to the UE 102, As a result, the target pair of BWPs in cell 126B becomes available for the UE 102 when communicating with the T-BS 106B during and after a successful DAPS handover, while the source pair of BWPs in cell 124 still remains available for the UE 102 when communicating with the S-BS 104. In this way, the RAN (e.g., S-BS 104, T-BS 106B) ensures that intra frequency DAPS handover proceeds across non-overlapping BWPs”), and (Wu: [0085-0086]: “The DAPS handover configuration enables the UE 102 to continue communicating with the S-BS 104 while simultaneously communicating with the T-BS 106B." page 47/48, [186]; figure 1A; 618 in figure 6: According to 618 in figure 6, the handover command message is sent from the source BS to the UE and comprises the target pair of BWPs”),
As per claim 67, Wu discloses the apparatus according to claim 58, wherein the source network node and the target network node are associated with the same access network node or different access network nodes in a disaggregated network architecture (Wu: [0104] “the T-BS 106B can configure SCell(s) of the T-BS 106B in the multiple configuration parameters in the handover command message to configure radio resources for the UE 102 to communicate with the T-BS 106B via the SCell(s). In one such implementation, the T-BS 106B can include one or more SCell configurations configuring the SCell(s) and their states in the handover command message, and the UE 102 can determine the states of the SCell(s) according to the one or more SCell configurations.”).
As per claim 68, Wu discloses an apparatus, comprising: one or more processors, and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to:
receive, by a target network node from a source network node (Wu: [0187-0188]: “ In response to identifying the UE 102 during the random access procedure or receiving 624 the handover complete message, the T-BS 106B sends 628 a Handover Success message to the S-BS 104. After receiving the Handover Success message, the S-BS 104 stops 630 communicating with the UE 102.”), :
an indication of a channel bandwidth and a first bandwidth part configured for communication of data between a device and the source network node (Wu: [0185 -0186 & 0190] “In response to the
Handover Request message, the T-BS 106B generates 614 a handover command message to configure a target pair of BWPs in the cell 126B & the cell 126B by using the DAPS handover configuration in or otherwise indicated in the handover command message & S-BS configuration in the Handover Request message
”)., and
a request to configure, for the device, data communication with the source network node and the target network node with different bandwidth parts (Wu: [0196]: “whereas in Fig. 6 the S-BS 104 sends a 612 a Handover Request message to the T-BS 106B for the T-BS 106B to generate 614 a handover command message to configure a target pair of BWPs in the cell 126B, and a DAPS handover configuration .”).,;
assign a second bandwidth part for communication of data between the device bandwidth (Wu: [0214: “The UE identifier or random access preamble can be assigned by the T-DU 174B, in some implementations ..”) and the target network node wherein the first and second bandwidth parts are not overlapping (Wu: [0057]: “non-DAPS handover" page 12, [57]; " the target pair of BWPs in cell 126B becomes available for the UE 102 when communicating with the T-BS 106B during and after a successful DAPS handover, while the source pair of BWPs in cell 124 still remains available for the UE 102 when communicating with the S-BS 104. In this way, the RAN (e.g., S-BS 104, T-BS 106B) ensures that intra frequency DAPS handover proceeds across non-overlapping BWPs”), , and
wherein the first and second bandwidth parts are contained within the channel bandwidth (Wu: [0037]: “a UE to perform DAPS PSCell change, from a first pair of BWPs of a first cell to a second pair of BWPs of a second cell;.”) .; and
transmit, to the source network node, a configuration of the second bandwidth part (Wu: [0193]: “the S-BS 104 can generate an RRC message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message) including the handover command message, and transmit the RRC message to the UE 102. The S-BS 104 can include the handover command message in a DAPS handover related field/IE.”) .
As per claim 69, Wu discloses the apparatus according to claim 68, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to: communicate data with the device using the second bandwidth part (Wu: [0186] “ the UE 102 communicates 626 control signals and data (e.g., UL data PDUs) with the T-BS 106B via the target pair of BWPs (e.g., the target UL BWP) in the cell 126B by using the DAPS handover configuration in or otherwise indicated in the handover command message.”).
As per claim 70, Wu discloses the apparatus according to claim 68, wherein the indication of the first bandwidth part and the request to configure data communication with the source network node and the target network node with different bandwidth parts is included in a handover request (Wu: [0185]: “the S-BS 104 sends 612 a Handover Request message to the T-BS 106B, similar to event 312B. In response to the Handover Request message, the T-BS 106B generates 614 a handover command message to configure a target pair of BWPs in the cell 126B,.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 51-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (WO 2021163089 A1 ) in view of Lin (CN 103688497 A).
As per claim 51, Wu discloses an apparatus, comprising: one or more processors, and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Wu: [0051]: “The base station 104 includes processing hardware 130, which can include one or more general-purpose processors (e.g., central processing units (CPUs) and a computer- readable memory storing machine-readable instructions executable on the one or more general-purpose processor.”), cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a source network node, a configuration of a channel bandwidth and a first bandwidth part for communicating data with the source network node, and a configuration of a second bandwidth part for communicating data with a target network node, wherein the first and second bandwidth parts are not overlapping, and wherein the first and second bandwidth parts are contained within the channel bandwidth (Wu: [0057]: “non-DAPS handover" page 12, [57]; "The target pair of BWPs includes a target UL BWP and a target DL BWP, and does not overlap with the source pair of BWPs. In turn, the S-BS 104 transmits 618 the handover command message to the UE 102, As a result, the target pair of BWPs in cell 126B becomes available for the UE 102 when communicating with the T-BS 106B during and after a successful DAPS handover, while the source pair of BWPs in cell 124 still remains available for the UE 102 when communicating with the S-BS 104. In this way, the RAN (e.g., S-BS 104, T-BS 106B) ensures that intra frequency DAPS handover proceeds across non-overlapping BWPs”), and (Wu: [0085-0086]: “The DAPS handover configuration enables the UE 102 to continue communicating with the S-BS 104 while simultaneously communicating with the T-BS 106B." page 47/48, [186]; figure 1A; 618 in figure 6: According to 618 in figure 6, the handover command message is sent from the source BS to the UE and comprises the target pair of BWPs”),
Wu does not explicitly discloses rime-division multiplexing.
Lin however discloses communicate data simultaneously or time-division multiplexed (Lin: [0026]: “the bandwidth information for the network resource of the link distribution of each node on the first sub path between the light transmission network (Optical Transport Network (0TN), the network resource can be a time slot resource, in wavelength division multiplexing (Wavelength Division Multiplexing (WDM) network.”) with the source network node and the target network node with a bandwidth comprising the first bandwidth part and the second bandwidth part using same protocol stack (Lin: [0130]: “S103, the network controller sending path message through a control channel to the second border node of the second network. for the second boundary node according to the path message of the signaling protocol GMPLS protocol stack to establish the target path of the second sub path in the second network, and finishes the connection between each node on the second sub path, wherein the path message comprises a connection identification of the target path allocation.”),
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wu in view of Lin to figure out the RAT compliance with RF. One would be motivated to do so because this technology aids in determining bandwidth information for the network resource of the link distribution of each node (Lin).
As per claim 52, Nadak in view of Chen discloses the apparatus according to claim 51, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to:
terminate communication of data with the source network node configured with the first bandwidth part (Wu: [0187-0188]: “ In response to identifying the UE 102 during the random access procedure or receiving 624 the handover complete message, the T-BS 106B sends 628 a Handover Success message to the S-BS 104. After receiving the Handover Success message, the S-BS 104 stops 630 communicating with the UE 102.”), and
continue communication of data with the target network node with another bandwidth comprising the second bandwidth part but not comprising the first bandwidth part (Wu: [0186]: “ The DAPS handover configuration enables the UE 102 to continue communicating with the S-BS 104 while simultaneously communicating with the T-BS 106B.”).
As per claim 53, Nadak in view of Chen discloses the apparatus according to claim 51, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the source network node, an indication of a capability to communicate data with the source network node and the target network nodes with different bandwidth parts (Wu: [0192]: “the DAPS handover capability indicates that the UE 102 is capable of intra-frequency DAPS handover. In one implementation, the DAPS handover capability indicates that the UE 102 supports intra- frequency DAPS handover with a pair of target BWPs (i.e., a target DL BWP and a target UL BWP) in a target cell that does not overlap with a pair of source BWPs (i.e., a source DL BWP and a source UL BWP) in a source cell.”).
As per claim 54, Nadak in view of Chen discloses the apparatus according to claim 51, wherein the configuration of the first bandwidth part and/or the configuration of the second bandwidth part is received in a radio resource control reconfiguration message (Wu: [0193]: “the S-BS 104 can generate an RRC message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration message) including the handover command message, and transmit the RRC message to the UE 102. The S-BS 104 can include the handover command message in a DAPS handover related field/IE.”).
As per claim 55, Nadak in view of Chen discloses the apparatus according to claim 51, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the source network node, an indication of successful establishment of communication with the target network node at the second bandwidth part (Wu: [0186]: “After gaining access to a channel, the UE 102 transmits 624 a handover complete message to the T-BS 106B via the target pair of BWPs during or after successfully completing the random access procedure.”).
As per claim 56, Nadak in view of Chen discloses the apparatus according to claim 51, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to: terminate the communication of data with the source network node, in response to receiving, from the source network node and/or the target network node, a request to release the source network node (Wu: [0187-0188]: “ In response to identifying the UE 102 during the random access procedure or receiving 624 the handover complete message, the T-BS 106B sends 628 a Handover Success message to the S-BS 104. After receiving the Handover Success message, the S-BS 104 stops 630 communicating with the UE 102.”),
As per claim 57, Nadak in view of Chen discloses the apparatus according to claim 51, wherein the first bandwidth part is adjacent to the second bandwidth part (Wu: [0037-0038]: Figs. 19A and 19B are flow diagrams depicting example methods for preparing a UE to perform DAPS PSCell change, from a first pair of BWPs of a first cell to a second pair of BWPs of a second cell.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
/SIBTE H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2449