DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “1-11” has been used to designate both different parts in figure 3 and figure 5. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference # 800 in figure 8 is not in the specification, is this the latching mechanism? Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because the figures are too small and not clear making it difficult to see the reference numbers and the details of the structure. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show figures 3 & 4 do not show the guide pins or the guide pin holders, also the figures show different parts throughout the figures but do not show how they are connected to the rest of the invention since the figures are too small and are colored pictures rather than drawings, as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter in claims 2-9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the bubble suppressor" in claim 3, line3. It appears as if claim 3 should depend on claim 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting "the bubble suppressor" in claim 3, line 3, as -- a bubble suppressor --.
In claims 5 & 6, lines 3 & 3, respectively, threaded type is listed twice. It is unclear if this is a typo of a duplicate term or if there is a term missing. For compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting them as duplicate terms, since there would be no way to determine a missing term if that is the case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 & 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewkoski et al. (Pub No. US 2014/0112699 A1) in view of Behrens et al. (Pub No. US 2007/0228220 A1).
Regarding claim 1
Lewkoski teaches a device (See paragraphs 0003, 0024 & figures 1-6, ref # 10) for a service vehicle in motion for autonomously dual docking with and transferring a fluid to a component, the device (See figures 1-6, ref # 10) comprising a first part (See figures 1-6, ref # 12) and a second part; (See figures 1-6, ref # 14) the first part (See figures 1-6, ref # 12) communicatively coupled to the service vehicle (See paragraphs 0002-0003, ROV) and the second part (See figures 1-6, ref # 14) communicatively coupled to the components; (See paragraphs 0002-0003, ROV connecting to components) at least one guide pin (See figures 1-6, ref # 18 & 26) of the first part (See figures 1-6, ref # 12) configured for being inserted into at least one guide pin holder (See figures 1-6, ref # 22 & 28) of the second part (See figures 1-6, ref # 14) for actuating a servo motor (See figures 1-6, ref # 20) of the first part (See figures 1-6, ref # 12) for enabling a soft capture of the second part (See figures 1-6, ref # 14) into the first part; (See paragraphs 0024-0025 & figures 1-6, ref # 12) and two or more male quick couplings (See figures 1-6, ref # 30) of the first part (See figures 1-6, ref # 12) configured for being inserted into two or more female quick couplings (See figures 1-6, ref # 32) of the second part (See figures 1-6, ref # 14) for initiating a latching mechanism (See figures 1-6, ref # 18) using the servo motor (See figures 1-6, ref # 20) of the first part (See figures 1-6, ref # 12) for hard clamping of the second part (See figures 1-6, ref # 14) into the first part (See figures 1-6, ref # 12) for transferring a fluid to the vehicle in motion from the service vehicle. (See paragraphs 0026 & 0038)
Lewkoski does not teach the components that the ROV connects to are part of a vehicle in motion.
However, Behrens teaches a device for a service vehicle (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 10/22) in motion for autonomously dual docking with and transferring a fluid to a vehicle (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 24/16, 18, & 20) that is in motion, (See paragraphs 0003, 0039-0042 & figures 1 & 2) the device comprising a first part (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 22) and a second part; (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 24) the first part (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 22) communicatively coupled to the service vehicle (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 10/22) and the second part (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 24) communicatively coupled to the vehicle in motion; (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 24/16, 18, & 20) at least one coupling (See figure 5A, ref # 213) of the first part (See figure 5A, ref # 22) configured for being inserted into at least one guide holder (See figure 5B, ref # 215) of the second part (See figure 5B, ref # 24) for actuating the first part (See figure 5A, ref # 22) for enabling a soft capture of the second part (See figure 5B, ref # 24) into the first part; (See figure 5A, ref # 22) and two or more quick couplings (See figure 5A, ref # 186) of the first part (See figure 5A, ref # 22) configured for being inserted into two or more quick couplings (See figure 5B, ref # 184) of the second part (See figure 5B, ref # 24) for initiating a latching mechanism (See figures 5A & 5B, ref # 213 & 215) using first part (See figure 5A, ref # 22) for hard clamping of the second part (See figure 5B, ref # 24) into the first part (See figure 5A, ref # 22) for transferring a fluid to the vehicle (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 24/16, 18, & 20) in motion from the service vehicle. (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 10/22)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a device for a service vehicle in motion for autonomously dual docking with and transferring a fluid to a vehicle that is in motion as taught by Behrens in the vehicle of Lewkoski, so as to extend the life of the satellite/vehicle in motion. (See paragraph 0003)
Regarding claim 4
Lewkoski teaches wherein at least one guide pin (See figures 1-6, ref # 18 & 26) is of threaded type (See paragraph 0038) and configured for enabling the soft capturing of the second part (See figures 1-6, ref # 14) into the first part (See figures 1-6, ref # 12) with translational movement without affecting the positions of the service vehicle (See paragraphs 0002-0003, ROV) and the component (See paragraphs 0002-0003, ROV connecting to components) in motion. (See paragraph 0038)
Lewkoski does not teach wherein the components that the ROV connects to are part of a vehicle in motion.
However, Behrens teaches wherein at least one coupling (See figure 5A, ref # 213) is configured for enabling the soft capturing of the second part (See figure 5B, ref # 24) into the first part (See figure 5A, ref # 22) with translational movement without affecting the positions of the service vehicle (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 10/22) and the vehicle (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 24/16, 18, & 20) in motion.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a device for a service vehicle in motion for autonomously dual docking with and transferring a fluid to a vehicle that is in motion as taught by Behrens in the vehicle of Lewkoski, so as to extend the life of the satellite/vehicle in motion. (See paragraph 0003)
Regarding claim 5
Lewkoski teaches wherein the first part (See figures 1-6, ref # 12) of the device (See figures 1-6, ref # 10) comprises a first coupling holder (See figures 1-6, ref # 38) configured for holding the two or more male quick couplings (See figures 1-6, ref # 30) of one or threaded type, unthreaded type, threaded type, or magnetic holding type and slotted type (See figures 3A-4) and a first holding plate (See figures 1-6, ref # 40) for connecting the first coupling holder (See figures 1-6, ref # 38) and the at least one guide pin. (See figures 3A-4, ref # 18/65 & 26)
Regarding claim 6
Lewkoski teaches wherein the second part (See figures 1-6, ref # 14) of the device (See figures 1-6, ref # 10) comprises a second coupling holder (See figures 1-6, ref # 24) configured for holding the two or more female quick couplings (See figures 1-6, ref # 32) of one or threaded type, unthreaded type, threaded type, or magnetic holding type and slotted type (See figures 5A-6) and a second holding plate (See figures 1-6, ref # 106) for connecting the second coupling holder (See figures 1-6, ref # 24) and the at least one guide pin holder. (See figures 5A-6, ref # 22)
Regarding claim 7
Lewkoski teaches wherein the servo motor (See figures 1-4, ref # 20) is coupled to drive the guide pin or latching mechanism (See figures 1-4, ref # 18) for docking or clamping the first part (See figures 1-4, ref # 12) of the device (See figures 1-4, ref # 10) and the second part (See figures 1-4, ref # 14) of the device. (See figures 1-4, ref # 10)
Regarding claim 8
Lewkoski does not teach wherein the service vehicle comprises one of an artificial vision system, camera, and LiDAR for locating the vehicle in motion and initiating steps for autonomously docking with the vehicle in motion based on the position of vehicle in motion and enabling the service vehicle for transferring the fluid to the vehicle in motion upon docking with the first vehicle.
However, Behrens teaches wherein the service vehicle (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 10/22) comprises one of an artificial vision system, camera, (See paragraph 0051) and LiDAR for locating the vehicle (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 24/16, 18, & 20) in motion and initiating steps for autonomously docking with the vehicle (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 24/16, 18, & 20) in motion based on the position of vehicle (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 24/16, 18, & 20) in motion and enabling the service vehicle (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 10/22) for transferring the fluid to the vehicle (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 24/16, 18, & 20) in motion upon docking with the first vehicle. (See paragraph 0051 & figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 24/16, 18, & 20)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a service vehicle comprises one of an artificial vision system, camera, and LiDAR for locating the vehicle in motion and initiating steps for autonomously docking with the vehicle in motion based on the position of vehicle in motion and enabling the service vehicle for transferring the fluid to the vehicle in motion upon docking with the first vehicle as taught by Behrens in the vehicle of Lewkoski, so as to extend the life of the satellite/vehicle in motion. (See paragraph 0003)
Regarding claim 9
Lewkoski teaches a guide pin (See figures 1-6, ref # 18 & 26) and a guide pin holder. (See figures 1-6, ref # 22 & 28)
Lewkoski does not teach wherein a service module in the service vehicle is configured for sending a command for undocking the vehicle in motion after transferring the fluid for releasing the latching mechanism by the first part and moving the guide pin away from the guide pin holder of the second part.
However, Behrens teaches wherein a service module (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 24) in the service vehicle (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 10/22) is configured for sending a command (See figures 5A & 5B, ref # 108 & 110) for undocking the vehicle (See figures 1, 2, 5A, & 5B, ref # 24/16, 18, & 20) in motion after transferring the fluid for releasing the latching mechanism by the first part (See figure 5A, ref # 22) and moving the coupling (See figure 5A, ref # 213) away from the guide holder (See figure 5B, ref # 215) of the second part. (See paragraphs 0049, 0059, 0082-0083 & figure 5B, ref # 24)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a service module in the service vehicle is configured for sending a command for undocking the vehicle in motion after transferring the fluid for releasing the latching mechanism by the first part and moving the guide pin away from the guide pin holder of the second part as taught by Behrens in the vehicle of Lewkoski, so as to extend the life of the satellite/vehicle in motion. (See paragraph 0003)
Claim(s) 2 & 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewkoski et al. (Pub No. US 2014/0112699 A1) in view of Behrens et al. (Pub No. US 2007/0228220 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Scott et al. (Pub No. US 2018/0238480 A1).
Regarding claim 2
A modified Lewkoski does not teach comprising two or more bubble suppressors placed in the path of the fluid in the two or more male quick couplings of the first part and the second part for transferring the fluid to the vehicle in motion by suppressing the formation of bubbles.
However, Scott teaches comprising two or more bubble suppressors (See paragraph 0089 & figures 6A-6G, ref # 600; flow straightener is a bubble suppressor) placed in the path of the fluid in the two or more male quick couplings (See paragraph 0087 & figures 6A-6G, ref # 300 & 400) of the first part and the second part for transferring the fluid to the vehicle in motion by suppressing the formation of bubbles. (See paragraphs 0003, 0041-0042, 0044, 0087-0089 & figures 6A-6G, ref # 600)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have two or more bubble suppressors placed in the path of the fluid in the two or more male quick couplings of the first part and the second part for transferring the fluid to the vehicle in motion by suppressing the formation of bubbles as taught by Scott in the modified vehicle of Lewkoski, so as to decrease the degradation of performance due to cavitation. (See paragraph 0044)
Regarding claim 3
A modified Lewkoski does not teach wherein transferring the fluid to the vehicle in motion using a flow control valve and e-pump, through the two or more male quick couplings and the bubble suppressor, wherein the bubble suppressor is configured to restrict an entry of a bubble into a storage tank of the vehicle in motion.
However, Scott teaches wherein transferring the fluid to the vehicle in motion using a flow control valve (See paragraph 0042) and e-pump, (See paragraph 0044) through the two or more male quick couplings (See paragraph 0087 & figures 6A-6G, ref # 300 & 400) and the bubble suppressor, (See paragraph 0089 & figures 6A-6G, ref # 600; flow straightener is a bubble suppressor) wherein the bubble suppressor (See paragraph 0089 & figures 6A-6G, ref # 600; flow straightener is a bubble suppressor) is configured to restrict an entry of a bubble into a storage tank of the vehicle in motion. (See paragraphs 0003, 0041-0042, 0044, 0087-0089 & figures 6A-6G, ref # 600)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a transferring of the fluid to the vehicle in motion using a flow control valve and e-pump, through the two or more male quick couplings and the bubble suppressor, wherein the bubble suppressor is configured to restrict an entry of a bubble into a storage tank of the vehicle in motion as taught by Scott in the modified vehicle of Lewkoski, so as to decrease the degradation of performance due to cavitation. (See paragraph 0044)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The reference Saha et al. (Pub No. US 2021/0073692 A1) discloses an aircraft, a sensor package, and the sensor package including a camera, a LiDAR sensor, and image and video sensors (artificial vision system) for locating the vehicle in motion. The reference Hays et al. (Pub No. US 2009/0173832 A1) discloses a device for a service vehicle to autonomously dual docking with transferring a material/fluid to a vehicle that is in motion, the device can be used for spacecraft or for underwater vehicles, guide pins are used for soft-docking, and a motor for the guide pin and latching mechanism. The reference Nyberg et al. (Pub No. WO 2009/056139 A1) discloses a device for connecting a first part and a second part with guide pins, guide pin holders, male and female quick disconnects, a latching mechanism, an e-pump, a flow control valve, shutoff valves in each disconnect, seals, springs, and retainers in the male and female quick disconnects.
/RODNEY A BONNETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647