DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office action on the merits. Claims 1-8 are currently pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/22/2024 has been received. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/20/2024 has been received. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano et al. (US 20180345502 A1), hereinafter Amano in view of Kim et al. (US 20120123589 A1), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Amano teaches:
1. (Original) A gripping device comprising:
a motor configured to rotate according to an operation value;
a grasper including a first finger and a second finger, and configured to change a distance between the first finger and the second finger by using the motor, and to grip an object with the first finger and the second finger; (Paragraph 0032, "FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating a schematic configuration of the robot hand main body 300. The robot hand main body 300 includes two gripping fingers 341 and 342, and opening/closing driving mechanisms J1 and J2. These gripping fingers 341 and 342 function as gripping portions for gripping a target object, and are used for gripping the work W1. Motors 311 and 312 serving as driving units for respectively driving the opening/closing driving mechanisms J1 and J2 are provided on the opening/closing driving mechanisms J1 and J2 of the robot hand main body 300, and gears 321 and 322 constantly engaging with racks 341a and 342a formed on the gripping fingers 341 and 342 are directly connected to respective rotation shafts. The motors 311 and 312 are rotated to cause the gripping fingers 341 and 342 to open or close, so that the work W1 can be gripped thereby. Further, encoders 331 and 332 for detecting respective rotation angles of the motors 311 and 312 are arranged on the motors 311 and 312. Positions of the gripping fingers 341 and 342 can be acquired from the rotation angles of the motors 311 and 312 detected by the encoders 331 and 332, respectively.")
a force detector configured to detect a gripping force by which the object is gripped with the first finger and the second finger, upon occurrence of a condition in which the object is gripped with the first finger and the second finger; (Paragraph 0033, "Further, a force sensor 351 operating as a detection unit for detecting the gripping force is arranged on a gripping face at the leading end of the gripping finger 341 (first finger) to contact the work W1, so that external force in the gripping direction applied to the gripping finger 341 (i.e., reaction force received from the work W1 when gripping the work W1) can be detected thereby. In other words, the force sensor 351 operates as a gripping force detection unit.") and
a controller configured to output the operation value such that a force detection value of the gripping force detected by the force detector matches a force command value, (Paragraph 0035, "FIG. 3 is a schematic block diagram illustrating a configuration of the robot hand control device 500. The robot hand control device 500 is configured of an instruction value generation unit 530, motor control units 541 and 542 for driving and controlling the motors 311 and 312 for the opening/closing driving mechanisms J1 and J2, and motor drivers 551 and 552 for driving the motors 311 and 312 based on the control values output from the motor control units 541 and 542." as well as Paragraph 0058, "As described above, according to the robot hand control device 500 described in the present exemplary embodiment, when the gripping control for only executing the force control is switched to the gripping control for only executing the position control, the position control is executed in a state where the gripping force corresponding to the gripping force control value stored when the a desired gripping force is acquired in the force control is applied to the work. By executing such control, fluctuation arising in the gripping force can be reduced and stabilized when the gripping control for only executing the force control is switched to the gripping control for only executing the position control in the work gripping control. Therefore, time taken for executing the processing for shifting the force control to the position control is not required, so that the work can be conveyed immediately after being gripped. Further, even if the work is accelerated during the conveyance operation, assembling can be performed at a correct gripping position because the work is positioned through the position control and stably gripped without positional deviation.")
… based on a time period from a start of a gripping operation from a timing at which any one of the first finger and the second finger contacts the object. (Paragraph 0066, "In step S23, from the force sensor value detected by the force sensor 351, the robot hand control device 500 determines whether the gripping finger is in contact with the work. For example, if a value greater than 10% or more of the target gripping force is detected by the force sensor 351, the gripping finger is determined to be in contact with the work. If the work is determined to be in contact with the work (YES in step S23), from that point in time, the robot hand control device 500 starts recording a time history response of the detection value of the force sensor 351 in the storage unit 549 as a log, and the processing proceeds to step S24. If the gripping finger is determined not to be in contact with the work (NO in step S23), the processing returns to a starting state of step S23, and the gripping operation is executed continuously.")
Amano does not specifically teach using positional information in order to determine operation of the robotic system. However, Kim, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… wherein the controller is configured to detect a deviation of the object from a predetermined reference position (Paragraphs 0047-0052, "When only the thumb 30 contacts the object or only each finger 20 contacts the object, an error in a longitudinal direction of the palm is generated. At this time, the actual position of the object 5 may be confirmed based on the size of the object measured by an optical sensor of the robot.
A position h.sub.Finger contacting the object 5 and a position h.sub.obj of the object estimated based on the size of the object 5 are represented by the following mathematical expression.
h.sub.obj=h.sub.Finger-(w/2)
Where, w indicates the width of the object 5.
Also, a position error error.sub.Hand of the object 5 is represented by the following mathematical expression.
error.sub.Hand=h.sub.obj-h.sub.obj.cndot.desired
Where, h.sub.obj.cndot.desired indicates an original center point position 3 of the object 5 recognized through the optical sensor of the robot.
Also, a distance d by which the robot hand 1 is to be moved so as to correspond to the position error error.sub.Hand of the object 5 is equal to the position error error.sub.Hand obtained above.") …
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic system and control methods as taught by Amano with the position monitoring and control methods as taught by Kim. While Amano teaches monitoring the force reaction from the start (contact) of the operation they are silent on the monitoring of the positional error during operation. However, combining the teachings of Amano with the methods of monitoring positional error as taught by Kim would allow for greater accuracy and more efficient operation.
Regarding claim 2, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Amano does not specifically teach a center position between the digits being a target. However, Kim, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
2. (Original) The gripping device according to claim 1, wherein the reference position is a position where a center position between the first finger and the second finger matches a center position of a portion of the object that is to be gripped with the first finger and the second finger. (Paragraphs 0048-0051, "A position h.sub.Finger contacting the object 5 and a position h.sub.obj of the object estimated based on the size of the object 5 are represented by the following mathematical expression.
h.sub.obj=h.sub.Finger-(w/2)
Where, w indicates the width of the object 5.
Also, a position error error.sub.Hand of the object 5 is represented by the following mathematical expression.
error.sub.Hand=h.sub.obj-h.sub.obj.cndot.desired
Where, h.sub.obj.cndot.desired indicates an original center point position 3 of the object 5 recognized through the optical sensor of the robot." Please also see figure 2 which demonstrates this visually.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic system and control methods as taught by Amano with the position monitoring and control methods as taught by Kim. While Amano does not teach a center position of the end effector being desired to match the center of the target object. However, combining their teachings with the desired positioning as taught by Kim would increase the stability of the grasp operation decreasing the chance of dropping the object during operation.
Regarding claim 3, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Amano further teaches:
3. (Currently Amended) The gripping device according to claim 1[[ or 2]], wherein the controller (Paragraph 0035, "FIG. 3 is a schematic block diagram illustrating a configuration of the robot hand control device 500. The robot hand control device 500 is configured of an instruction value generation unit 530, motor control units 541 and 542 for driving and controlling the motors 311 and 312 for the opening/closing driving mechanisms J1 and J2, and motor drivers 551 and 552 for driving the motors 311 and 312 based on the control values output from the motor control units 541 and 542." as well as Paragraph 0058, "As described above, according to the robot hand control device 500 described in the present exemplary embodiment, when the gripping control for only executing the force control is switched to the gripping control for only executing the position control, the position control is executed in a state where the gripping force corresponding to the gripping force control value stored when the a desired gripping force is acquired in the force control is applied to the work. By executing such control, fluctuation arising in the gripping force can be reduced and stabilized when the gripping control for only executing the force control is switched to the gripping control for only executing the position control in the work gripping control. Therefore, time taken for executing the processing for shifting the force control to the position control is not required, so that the work can be conveyed immediately after being gripped. Further, even if the work is accelerated during the conveyance operation, assembling can be performed at a correct gripping position because the work is positioned through the position control and stably gripped without positional deviation.") is configured to … and the time period. (Paragraph 0066, "In step S23, from the force sensor value detected by the force sensor 351, the robot hand control device 500 determines whether the gripping finger is in contact with the work. For example, if a value greater than 10% or more of the target gripping force is detected by the force sensor 351, the gripping finger is determined to be in contact with the work. If the work is determined to be in contact with the work (YES in step S23), from that point in time, the robot hand control device 500 starts recording a time history response of the detection value of the force sensor 351 in the storage unit 549 as a log, and the processing proceeds to step S24. If the gripping finger is determined not to be in contact with the work (NO in step S23), the processing returns to a starting state of step S23, and the gripping operation is executed continuously.")
Amano does not specifically teach using positional information in order to determine operation of the robotic system. However, Kim, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… calculate a deviation amount of a position of the object relative to the reference position, based on a distance between the first finger and the second finger that are situated in a case where the gripping operation is started; a width of the object; (Paragraphs 0047-0052, "When only the thumb 30 contacts the object or only each finger 20 contacts the object, an error in a longitudinal direction of the palm is generated. At this time, the actual position of the object 5 may be confirmed based on the size of the object measured by an optical sensor of the robot.
A position h.sub.Finger contacting the object 5 and a position h.sub.obj of the object estimated based on the size of the object 5 are represented by the following mathematical expression.
h.sub.obj=h.sub.Finger-(w/2)
Where, w indicates the width of the object 5.
Also, a position error error.sub.Hand of the object 5 is represented by the following mathematical expression.
error.sub.Hand=h.sub.obj-h.sub.obj.cndot.desired
Where, h.sub.obj.cndot.desired indicates an original center point position 3 of the object 5 recognized through the optical sensor of the robot.
Also, a distance d by which the robot hand 1 is to be moved so as to correspond to the position error error.sub.Hand of the object 5 is equal to the position error error.sub.Hand obtained above.") …
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic system and control methods as taught by Amano with the position monitoring and control methods as taught by Kim. While Amano teaches monitoring the force reaction from the start (contact) of the operation they are silent on the monitoring of the positional error during operation. However, combining the teachings of Amano with the methods of monitoring positional error as taught by Kim would allow for greater accuracy and more efficient operation.
Regarding claim 4, where all the limitations of claim 3 are discussed above, Amano further teaches:
4. (Original) The gripping device according to claim 3, wherein the controller is
configured to perform the gripping operation continuously upon occurrence of a condition in which … is less than or equal to a threshold. (Paragraphs 0056-0057, "In step S12, the force control unit 547 determines whether a difference between the target gripping force and a value detected by the force sensor 351 consecutively falls within a range (threshold range) corresponding to the force control completion range for a predetermined number of times. As illustrated in FIG. 4, the force control completion range is 1N, and the number of the force control completion counts is 3. Thus, the force control unit 547 determines whether a difference between the target gripping force and the detection value of the force sensor 351 falls within a range (force control completion range) of ±1N for consecutive three control periods (number of force control completion counts). If the difference with the detection value detected by the force sensor 351 falls within the above-described range for a predetermined number of times (YES in step S12), force control is determined to be completed, and a completion determination signal is shifted to ON and output from the force control unit 547. Then, the processing proceeds to step S13. If the difference does not fall within the range (NO in step S12), the processing returns to step S11. In step S13, when the completion determination signal is shifted to ON, the storage unit 549 stores the gripping force control value output from the force control unit 547.
In step S14, the robot hand control device 500 switches the control switching unit 548 to the contact point 2 and executes position control. At this time, the target gripping position of the position control unit 546 is switched to a current position detected by the encoder at the time when the completion determination signal is shifted to ON. With this processing, an input of the contact point 2, i.e., a sum of the gripping force control value stored in the storage unit 549 and the gripping position control value output from the position control unit 546, is output from the control switching unit 548 as the control value. Further, because the fluctuation of the gripping force is decreased to a level within a predetermined force completion range, a timing at which the processing is shifted to step S14 can be regarded as a timing at which the gripping control is completed.")
Amano does not specifically teach using positional information in order to determine operation of the robotic system. However, Kim, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… the deviation amount (Paragraphs 0047-0052, "When only the thumb 30 contacts the object or only each finger 20 contacts the object, an error in a longitudinal direction of the palm is generated. At this time, the actual position of the object 5 may be confirmed based on the size of the object measured by an optical sensor of the robot.
A position h.sub.Finger contacting the object 5 and a position h.sub.obj of the object estimated based on the size of the object 5 are represented by the following mathematical expression.
h.sub.obj=h.sub.Finger-(w/2)
Where, w indicates the width of the object 5.
Also, a position error error.sub.Hand of the object 5 is represented by the following mathematical expression.
error.sub.Hand=h.sub.obj-h.sub.obj.cndot.desired
Where, h.sub.obj.cndot.desired indicates an original center point position 3 of the object 5 recognized through the optical sensor of the robot.
Also, a distance d by which the robot hand 1 is to be moved so as to correspond to the position error error.sub.Hand of the object 5 is equal to the position error error.sub.Hand obtained above.") …
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic system and control methods as taught by Amano with the position monitoring and control methods as taught by Kim. While Amano teaches monitoring the force reaction from the start (contact) of the operation they are silent on the monitoring of the positional error during operation. However, combining the teachings of Amano with the methods of monitoring positional error as taught by Kim would allow for greater accuracy and more efficient operation.
Regarding claim 5, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Amano further teaches:
5. (Currently Amended) A gripping system comprising:
the gripping device according to claim 1
a robot configured to move,
wherein the robot is configured to move to a side where any one of the first finger and the second finger contacts the gripping device, (Paragraph 0066, "In step S23, from the force sensor value detected by the force sensor 351, the robot hand control device 500 determines whether the gripping finger is in contact with the work. For example, if a value greater than 10% or more of the target gripping force is detected by the force sensor 351, the gripping finger is determined to be in contact with the work. If the work is determined to be in contact with the work (YES in step S23), from that point in time, the robot hand control device 500 starts recording a time history response of the detection value of the force sensor 351 in the storage unit 549 as a log, and the processing proceeds to step S24. If the gripping finger is determined not to be in contact with the work (NO in step S23), the processing returns to a starting state of step S23, and the gripping operation is executed continuously.") …
Amano does not specifically teach using positional information in order to determine operation of the robotic system. However, Kim, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… upon occurrence of a condition in which the controller detects the deviation of the object. (Paragraphs 0047-0052, "When only the thumb 30 contacts the object or only each finger 20 contacts the object, an error in a longitudinal direction of the palm is generated. At this time, the actual position of the object 5 may be confirmed based on the size of the object measured by an optical sensor of the robot.
A position h.sub.Finger contacting the object 5 and a position h.sub.obj of the object estimated based on the size of the object 5 are represented by the following mathematical expression.
h.sub.obj=h.sub.Finger-(w/2)
Where, w indicates the width of the object 5.
Also, a position error error.sub.Hand of the object 5 is represented by the following mathematical expression.
error.sub.Hand=h.sub.obj-h.sub.obj.cndot.desired
Where, h.sub.obj.cndot.desired indicates an original center point position 3 of the object 5 recognized through the optical sensor of the robot.
Also, a distance d by which the robot hand 1 is to be moved so as to correspond to the position error error.sub.Hand of the object 5 is equal to the position error error.sub.Hand obtained above.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic system and control methods as taught by Amano with the position monitoring and control methods as taught by Kim. While Amano teaches monitoring the force reaction from the start (contact) of the operation they are silent on the monitoring of the positional error during operation. However, combining the teachings of Amano with the methods of monitoring positional error as taught by Kim would allow for greater accuracy and more efficient operation.
Regarding claim 8, Amano further teaches:
8. (Original) A method for controlling a gripping device including a motor configured to rotate according to an operation value;
a grasper including a first finger and a second finger and configured to change a distance between the first finger and the second finger by using the motor, and to grip an object with the first finger and the second finger; (Paragraph 0032, "FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating a schematic configuration of the robot hand main body 300. The robot hand main body 300 includes two gripping fingers 341 and 342, and opening/closing driving mechanisms J1 and J2. These gripping fingers 341 and 342 function as gripping portions for gripping a target object, and are used for gripping the work W1. Motors 311 and 312 serving as driving units for respectively driving the opening/closing driving mechanisms J1 and J2 are provided on the opening/closing driving mechanisms J1 and J2 of the robot hand main body 300, and gears 321 and 322 constantly engaging with racks 341a and 342a formed on the gripping fingers 341 and 342 are directly connected to respective rotation shafts. The motors 311 and 312 are rotated to cause the gripping fingers 341 and 342 to open or close, so that the work W1 can be gripped thereby. Further, encoders 331 and 332 for detecting respective rotation angles of the motors 311 and 312 are arranged on the motors 311 and 312. Positions of the gripping fingers 341 and 342 can be acquired from the rotation angles of the motors 311 and 312 detected by the encoders 331 and 332, respectively.") and
a force detector configured to detect a gripping force by which the object is gripped with the first finger and the second finger, upon occurrence of a condition in which the object is gripped with the first finger and the second finger, (Paragraph 0033, "Further, a force sensor 351 operating as a detection unit for detecting the gripping force is arranged on a gripping face at the leading end of the gripping finger 341 (first finger) to contact the work W1, so that external force in the gripping direction applied to the gripping finger 341 (i.e., reaction force received from the work W1 when gripping the work W1) can be detected thereby. In other words, the force sensor 351 operates as a gripping force detection unit.") the method being for outputting the operation value such that a force detection value of the gripping force detected by the force detector matches a force command value, (Paragraph 0035, "FIG. 3 is a schematic block diagram illustrating a configuration of the robot hand control device 500. The robot hand control device 500 is configured of an instruction value generation unit 530, motor control units 541 and 542 for driving and controlling the motors 311 and 312 for the opening/closing driving mechanisms J1 and J2, and motor drivers 551 and 552 for driving the motors 311 and 312 based on the control values output from the motor control units 541 and 542." as well as Paragraph 0058, "As described above, according to the robot hand control device 500 described in the present exemplary embodiment, when the gripping control for only executing the force control is switched to the gripping control for only executing the position control, the position control is executed in a state where the gripping force corresponding to the gripping force control value stored when the a desired gripping force is acquired in the force control is applied to the work. By executing such control, fluctuation arising in the gripping force can be reduced and stabilized when the gripping control for only executing the force control is switched to the gripping control for only executing the position control in the work gripping control. Therefore, time taken for executing the processing for shifting the force control to the position control is not required, so that the work can be conveyed immediately after being gripped. Further, even if the work is accelerated during the conveyance operation, assembling can be performed at a correct gripping position because the work is positioned through the position control and stably gripped without positional deviation.") and the method comprising:
… based on a time period from a start of a gripping operation from a timing at which any one of the first finger and the second finger contacts the object. (Paragraph 0066, "In step S23, from the force sensor value detected by the force sensor 351, the robot hand control device 500 determines whether the gripping finger is in contact with the work. For example, if a value greater than 10% or more of the target gripping force is detected by the force sensor 351, the gripping finger is determined to be in contact with the work. If the work is determined to be in contact with the work (YES in step S23), from that point in time, the robot hand control device 500 starts recording a time history response of the detection value of the force sensor 351 in the storage unit 549 as a log, and the processing proceeds to step S24. If the gripping finger is determined not to be in contact with the work (NO in step S23), the processing returns to a starting state of step S23, and the gripping operation is executed continuously.")
Amano does not specifically teach using positional information in order to determine operation of the robotic system. However, Kim, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… detecting a deviation of the object from a predetermined reference position (Paragraphs 0047-0052, "When only the thumb 30 contacts the object or only each finger 20 contacts the object, an error in a longitudinal direction of the palm is generated. At this time, the actual position of the object 5 may be confirmed based on the size of the object measured by an optical sensor of the robot.
A position h.sub.Finger contacting the object 5 and a position h.sub.obj of the object estimated based on the size of the object 5 are represented by the following mathematical expression.
h.sub.obj=h.sub.Finger-(w/2)
Where, w indicates the width of the object 5.
Also, a position error error.sub.Hand of the object 5 is represented by the following mathematical expression.
error.sub.Hand=h.sub.obj-h.sub.obj.cndot.desired
Where, h.sub.obj.cndot.desired indicates an original center point position 3 of the object 5 recognized through the optical sensor of the robot.
Also, a distance d by which the robot hand 1 is to be moved so as to correspond to the position error error.sub.Hand of the object 5 is equal to the position error error.sub.Hand obtained above.") …
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic system and control methods as taught by Amano with the position monitoring and control methods as taught by Kim. While Amano teaches monitoring the force reaction from the start (contact) of the operation they are silent on the monitoring of the positional error during operation. However, combining the teachings of Amano with the methods of monitoring positional error as taught by Kim would allow for greater accuracy and more efficient operation.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano in view of Kim and in further view Karito et al. (US 20150120058 A1), hereinafter Karito.
Regarding claim 6, where all the limitations of claim 5 are discussed above, Amano does not specifically discuss repeating the gripping process slowly decreasing the amount of movement as the fingers grasp. However, Kim, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
6. (Original) The gripping system according to claim 5, wherein upon detecting the deviation of the object by the controller, (Paragraphs 0047-0052, "When only the thumb 30 contacts the object or only each finger 20 contacts the object, an error in a longitudinal direction of the palm is generated. At this time, the actual position of the object 5 may be confirmed based on the size of the object measured by an optical sensor of the robot.
A position h.sub.Finger contacting the object 5 and a position h.sub.obj of the object estimated based on the size of the object 5 are represented by the following mathematical expression.
h.sub.obj=h.sub.Finger-(w/2)
Where, w indicates the width of the object 5.
Also, a position error error.sub.Hand of the object 5 is represented by the following mathematical expression.
error.sub.Hand=h.sub.obj-h.sub.obj.cndot.desired
Where, h.sub.obj.cndot.desired indicates an original center point position 3 of the object 5 recognized through the optical sensor of the robot.
Also, a distance d by which the robot hand 1 is to be moved so as to correspond to the position error error.sub.Hand of the object 5 is equal to the position error error.sub.Hand obtained above.") …
However, Karito, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… the robot is configured to repeat a process in which the gripping device moves to the side where any one of the first finger and the second finger contacts the gripping device, (Paragraph 0075, "If the grasping termination condition is not satisfied (NO in step S112), the general control unit 200 returns the processing to the step (step S106) for performing a grasping operation. The processing in steps S106 to S112 is repeated in short cycles (such as 1 second or shorter). Thus, until the forces of the upper and lower fingers 112a and 112b of the hand 110 to be applied to the work W are balanced, that is, until the arm 11 and hand 110 rest at a position without a positional error t (see FIG. 7A), as illustrated in FIG. 7B, the arm 11 keeps moving and the grasping operation of the hand 110 continues. In other words, the processing in steps S106 to S112 is repeated until the hand 110 grasps the work W (or until the grasping termination condition is satisfied)." and Paragraph 0079, "According to this embodiment, when the center of a work and the center of a hand are misaligned, the positions of the arms and hands maybe adjusted based on information from a force sensor. Thus, the center of the work and the center of the hand may be brought more closely to each other. As a result, the grasping operation may be ended at a position, where the misalignment of the center of the work and the center of the hand is overcome, that is, at a position where the center of the work is matched with the center of the hand. Therefore, a grasping operation may be performed securely even when the center of the work and the center of the hand are misaligned. The term "matched" refers to a concept including an appropriately misaligned state by keeping identity if the centers are not strictly matched.") and
wherein a travel distance of the gripping device is reduced each time the process is repeated. (Paragraph 0064, "The hand control unit 204 performs an operation for closing the fingers 112 (step S106). For example, the hand control unit 204 moves the fingers 112 such that the distance between the finger 112 and the finger 112 can be reduced by an arbitrary distance." as well as Paragraph 0072, "When the force sensor control unit 205 acquires the force (including direction information) detected by the force sensor 102, the arm control unit 203 moves the arm 11 in the same direction (direction away from the force) as the direction of the force F2 detected by the force sensor 102 until the force sensor 102 no longer detects a force (or the value acquired by the force sensor control unit 205 is 0) (see the shaded arrow in FIG. 7A). Thus, the positional error t between the work W and the hand 110 decreases.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic system and control methods as taught by Amano with the ability to use position information to determine operation of the system as taught by Kim as well as with the ability to iteratively approach the target object until grasping conditions are satisfied as taught by Karito. This would allow the system to efficiently and carefully approach a target object and perform the grasping operation without causing damage to the object.
Regarding claim 7, where all the limitations of claim 6 are discussed above, Amano does not specifically teach detecting the deviation based on a threshold movement. However, Kim, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
7. (Original) The gripping system according to claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to detect the deviation of the object (Paragraphs 0047-0052, "When only the thumb 30 contacts the object or only each finger 20 contacts the object, an error in a longitudinal direction of the palm is generated. At this time, the actual position of the object 5 may be confirmed based on the size of the object measured by an optical sensor of the robot.
A position h.sub.Finger contacting the object 5 and a position h.sub.obj of the object estimated based on the size of the object 5 are represented by the following mathematical expression.
h.sub.obj=h.sub.Finger-(w/2)
Where, w indicates the width of the object 5.
Also, a position error error.sub.Hand of the object 5 is represented by the following mathematical expression.
error.sub.Hand=h.sub.obj-h.sub.obj.cndot.desired
Where, h.sub.obj.cndot.desired indicates an original center point position 3 of the object 5 recognized through the optical sensor of the robot.
Also, a distance d by which the robot hand 1 is to be moved so as to correspond to the position error error.sub.Hand of the object 5 is equal to the position error error.sub.Hand obtained above.") …
However, Karito, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… upon occurrence of a condition in which the travel distance is greater than a threshold. (Paragraph 0064, "The hand control unit 204 performs an operation for closing the fingers 112 (step S106). For example, the hand control unit 204 moves the fingers 112 such that the distance between the finger 112 and the finger 112 can be reduced by an arbitrary distance." as well as Paragraph 0072, "When the force sensor control unit 205 acquires the force (including direction information) detected by the force sensor 102, the arm control unit 203 moves the arm 11 in the same direction (direction away from the force) as the direction of the force F2 detected by the force sensor 102 until the force sensor 102 no longer detects a force (or the value acquired by the force sensor control unit 205 is 0) (see the shaded arrow in FIG. 7A). Thus, the positional error t between the work W and the hand 110 decreases." and also Paragraph 0075, "If the grasping termination condition is not satisfied (NO in step S112), the general control unit 200 returns the processing to the step (step S106) for performing a grasping operation. The processing in steps S106 to S112 is repeated in short cycles (such as 1 second or shorter). Thus, until the forces of the upper and lower fingers 112a and 112b of the hand 110 to be applied to the work W are balanced, that is, until the arm 11 and hand 110 rest at a position without a positional error t (see FIG. 7A), as illustrated in FIG. 7B, the arm 11 keeps moving and the grasping operation of the hand 110 continues. In other words, the processing in steps S106 to S112 is repeated until the hand 110 grasps the work W (or until the grasping termination condition is satisfied)." and Paragraph 0079, "According to this embodiment, when the center of a work and the center of a hand are misaligned, the positions of the arms and hands maybe adjusted based on information from a force sensor. Thus, the center of the work and the center of the hand may be brought more closely to each other. As a result, the grasping operation may be ended at a position, where the misalignment of the center of the work and the center of the hand is overcome, that is, at a position where the center of the work is matched with the center of the hand. Therefore, a grasping operation may be performed securely even when the center of the work and the center of the hand are misaligned. The term "matched" refers to a concept including an appropriately misaligned state by keeping identity if the centers are not strictly matched.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic system and control methods as taught by Amano with the ability to use position information to determine operation of the system as taught by Kim as well as with the ability to utilize a threshold distance to determine when the object has been effectively grasped or is within grasping distance of the end effector as taught by Karito. This would ensure that the system does not use unnecessary processing resources to continue collecting information which is no longer needed to perform the operation.
Conclusion
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the referencesapplied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations arerepresentative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
/H.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657