DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 11, 14, 17, 20, 22, 25, 26, 29, 32, 33, 34, 38, 41 and 43-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalakrishnan et al. (WO 2020/011814) (see US 2021/0269909 for citations) in view of Pal et al. (US 2017/0012485).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 17 and 20, Gopalakrishnan discloses a component (0042) comprising 55 to 95 wt% of PAEK (0065), 15 to 43 wt% of PPSU (0066, 0098, 0099) and 0.5 to 25 wt% of glass fibers or inorganic filler (0046, 0068) wherein the PPSU denotes a polymer of which at least 90 mol% of the recurring units are of formula as claimed in present claim (0100). Gopalakrishnan discloses a part comprising composition is used in electrical and electronic applications (abstract) to obtain improved mechanical properties and dimensional stability (0015).
Gopalakrishnan does not disclose the component is a slot liner or a slot wedge.
Pal discloses slot insulation for electrical machines (title) wherein slot insulator includes slot liner which is made of PEEK (0006-0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the composition of Gopalakrishnan in the PEEK slot liner of Pal to obtain improved mechanical properties and dimensional stability.
Regarding claim 11, Gopalakrishnan in view of Pal discloses the component of claim 1, wherein the PAEK is PEEK (0076).
Regarding claim 14, Gopalakrishnan in view of Pal discloses the component of claim 1, wherein the PAEK is a PEEK of which more than 95 mol% of the recurring unite of formula as presently claimed (0076-0077).
Regarding claim 22, Gopalakrishnan in view of Pal discloses the component of claim 1, wherein the inorganic filler is mica (0046).
Regarding claim 25, Gopalakrishnan in view of Pal discloses the component of claim 1, wherein the composition comprises nucleating agent (0045).
Regarding claim 26, Gopalakrishnan in view of Pal discloses the component of claim 25, wherein the proportion of nucleating agent is between 0.5 to 25 wt% (0068).
Regarding claim 29, Gopalakrishnan in view of Pal discloses the component of claim 1, wherein the total proportion of PAEK and PPSU is between 60 wt% to 100 wt% (0065-0066).
Regarding claims 32 and 38, Gopalakrishnan in view of Pal discloses the component of claim 1, wherein given that Gopalakrishnan in view Pal discloses the same component as claimed in present claim, it is clear that the component of Gopalakrishnan in view of Pal would inherently have the same properties as presently claimed.
Regarding claims 33-34, Gopalakrishnan in view of Pal discloses the component of claim 1, wherein the composition comprising 55 to 95 wt% of PAEK such as PEEK (0065, 0076), 15 to 43 wt% of PPSU (0066, 0098, 0099) and 0.5 to 25 wt% of glass fibers or inorganic filler (0046, 0068).
Regarding claim 41, Gopalakrishnan in view of Pal discloses the component of claim 1 in the form of a film with a thickness of 100 microns to 5 cm (0041).
Regarding claim 43, Gopalakrishnan in view of Pal discloses the component of claim 1, wherein an electric motor comprising a component as defined in claim 1 (Pal: 0002).
Regarding claim 44, Gopalakrishnan in view of Pal discloses the electric motor of claim 43, which comprises a stator and a rotor (Pal: 0011) wherein the component of claim 1 is inserted into the slots of the stator as explained above (Pal: 0006-0007).
Regarding claim 45, Gopalakrishnan in view of Pal discloses an electric generator (Pal: 0002) comprising a component as defined in claim 1.
Regarding claim 46, Gopalakrishnan in view of Pal discloses the electric generator of claim 45, which comprises a stator and a rotor (Pal: 0011) wherein the component of claim 1 is inserted into the slots of the stator as explained above (Pal: 0006-0007).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 11, 14, 17, 20, 22, 25, 26, 29, 32, 33, 34, 38 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopalakrishnan et al. (US 2021/0269909) (see US 2021/0269909 for citations).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 17 and 20, Gopalakrishnan discloses a component (0042) comprising 55 to 95 wt% of PAEK (0065), 15 to 43 wt% of PPSU (0066, 0098, 0099) and 0.5 to 25 wt% of glass fibers or inorganic filler (0046, 0068), wherein the PPSU denotes a polymer of which at least 90 mol% of the recurring units are of formula as claimed in present claim (0100). Gopalakrishnan discloses a part comprising composition is used in electrical and electronic applications (abstract) to obtain improved mechanical properties and dimensional stability (0015).
Gopalakrishnan does not disclose a component for use as an electrical insulation barrier in the slots of a stator.
However, the recitation in the claims that the component is “for use as an electrical insulation barrier in the slots of a stator is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that Gopalakrishnan discloses the component as presently claimed, it is clear that the component of Gopalakrishnan would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. use as an electrical insulation barrier in the slots of a stator, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP.
Gopalakrishnan does not disclose the component is a slot liner or a slot wedge.
While there is no disclosure that the component is a slot liner or a slot wedge as presently claimed, applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that “if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction”. Further, MPEP 2111.02 states that statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the purpose or intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the preamble does not state any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations and further that the purpose or intended use, i.e. slot liner or a slot wedge, recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art component and further that the prior art structure which is a component identical to that set forth in the present claims is capable of performing the recited purpose or intended use.
Regarding claim 11, Gopalakrishnan discloses the component of claim 1, wherein the PAEK is PEEK (0076).
Regarding claim 14, Gopalakrishnan discloses the component of claim 1, wherein the PAEK is a PEEK of which more than 95 mol% of the recurring unite of formula as presently claimed (0076-0077).
Regarding claim 22, Gopalakrishnan discloses the component of claim 1, wherein the inorganic filler is mica (0046).
Regarding claim 25, Gopalakrishnan discloses the component of claim 1, wherein the composition comprises nucleating agent (0045).
Regarding claim 26, Gopalakrishnan discloses the component of claim 25, wherein the proportion of nucleating agent is between 0.5 to 25 wt% (0068).
Regarding claim 29, Gopalakrishnan discloses the component of claim 1, wherein the total proportion of PAEK and PPSU is between 60 wt% to 100 wt% (0065-0066).
Regarding claims 32 and 38, Gopalakrishnan discloses the component of claim 1, wherein given that Gopalakrishnan discloses the same component as claimed in present claim, it is clear that the component of Gopalakrishnan would inherently have the same properties as presently claimed.
Regarding claims 33-34, Gopalakrishnan discloses the component of claim 1, wherein the composition comprising 55 to 95 wt% of PAEK such as PEEK (0065, 0076), 15 to 43 wt% of PPSU (0066, 0098, 0099) and 0.5 to 25 wt% of glass fibers or inorganic filler (0046, 0068).
Regarding claim 41, Gopalakrishnan discloses the component of claim 1 in the form of a film with a thickness of 100 microns to 5 cm (0041).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Gopalakrishnan does not suggest to one of skill in the art to prefer PPSU over the other PAES polymers to prepare the claimed composition. However, applicant’s attention is drawn to paragraph 0098 of Gopalakrishnan which discloses PAES is PPSU.
Applicant argues that Pal is silent on the claimed composition as well as on the amounts of polymers used. However, note that while Pal does not disclose all the features of the present claimed invention, Pal is used as teaching reference, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). Rather this reference teaches a certain concept, namely slot insulation for electrical machines wherein slot insulator includes slot liner which is made of PEEK, and in combination with the primary reference, discloses the presently claimed invention.
Applicant points to examples and argues that Gopalakrishnan, alone or in combination with Pal, does not recognize improved properties for the claimed ranges as disclosed by the instant application. However, it is noted that Gopalakrishnan, alone or in combination with Pal discloses the same composition and its amount as explained above. The courts have held that “a compound and all its properties are mutually inseparable”, In re Papesch, 315F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 42, 51 (CCPA 1963). Further, attention is drawn to MPEP 2112.01, which states that “products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.”, In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787