DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
The present office action is responsive to communications received on 12/17/2024. Preliminary Amendment filed on 12/17/2024 has been entered. Claims 1-16, 36-45, 54, 56, 63-70 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/22/2024, 7/18/2025, 2/23/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13, 36-45, 54, 56, 63-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP_TR (3GPP TR 33.847 V1.0.0, "3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on security aspects of enhancement for proximity based services in the 5G System (SGS) (Release 17)", listed in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP_TR teaches a method performed by an authentication server, (p. 118, Figure 6. 30.2-1, ref. AUSF, i.e. Authentication Server Function) the method comprising:
receiving a request for authentication of a remote wireless communication device, (p. 118, Figure 6.30.2-1, ref. 4 and ref. "remote UE"; p. 117, "4. The AMF of the Relay UE sends a Relay Key Request to the AUSF of the Remote UE. The message includes Remote UE's SUCI or SUPI, Relay Service Code, Nonce_1 and the 5GPRUK ID (if it exists)'') wherein the request requests reuse of a proximity services relay user key (p. 117, "4. The AMF of the Relay UE sends a Relay Key Request to the AUSF of the Remote UE. The message includes Remote UE's SUCI or SUPI, Relay Service Code, Nonce_1 and the 5GPRUK ID (if it exists) ... In the case of a 5GPRUK ID in the Relay Key Request, the AUSF of the Remote UE retrieves the 5GPRUK from the UDM using the Remote UE's SUPI and the 5GPRUK ID ... If there is no 5GPRUK ID in the Relay Key Request or the 5GPRUK ID needs refreshing, a new 5GPRUK will be generated'') for deriving a shared key for protecting an interface between the remote wireless communication device and a relay wireless communication device, (p. 117, ''The AUSF of the Remote UE generates a new random number as the 5GKD Freshness Parameter, and then generates a new 5GKD using 5GPRUK", wherein the claimed shared key corresponds to the 5GKD) wherein the relay wireless communication device (p. 118, Figure 6.30.2-1, ref. 'UE-to-network Relay UE'') is configured to relay traffic for the remote wireless communication device. (p. 117, Figure 6.30.2-1; ''The Remote UE stores the 5GPRUK and 5GPRUK ID. The Remote UE further derives the 5GKD and performs other procedures'')
Regarding claim 2, 3GPP_TR teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. 3GPP_TR further teaches wherein the request requests reuse of a proximity services relay user key from a previous run of a primary authentication procedure for primary authentication of the remote wireless communication device. (page 117, "In the case of a SUCI in the Relay Key Request, the AUSF performs a primary authentication procedure ... In the case of a 5GPRUK ID in the Relay Key Request, the AUSF of the Remote UE retrieves the 5GPRUK from the UDM using the Remote UE's SUPI and the 5GPRUK ID")
Regarding claim 3, 3GPP_TR teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. 3GPP_TR further teaches wherein the request includes a proximity services relay user key reuse flag that requests reuse of a proximity services relay user key already associated with the remote wireless communication device. (p. 118, Figure 6.30.2-1, ref. 1-4) Here the reuse flag is disclosed by that the presence of a SUCI or of a 5GPRUK ID in the Direct Communication Request implicitly signals the request to reuse or generate a 5GPRUK key.
Regarding claim 4, 3GPP_TR teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. 3GPP_TR further teaches wherein the proximity services relay user key is based on and/or is specific to a certain run of a primary authentication procedure for primary authentication of the remote wireless communication device. (page 117, "In the case of a SUCI in the Relay Key Request, the AUSF performs a primary authentication procedure ... In the case of a 5GPRUK ID in the Relay Key Request, the AUSF of the Remote UE retrieves the 5GPRUK from the UDM using the Remote UE's SUPI and the 5GPRUK ID")
Regarding claim 5, 3GPP_TR teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. 3GPP_TR further teaches transmitting a response to the request, wherein the response includes the shared key and indicates that the proximity services relay user key is to be reused for deriving the shared key. (p. 118, Figure 6.30.2-1, ref. 14-16 “The AUSF of the Remote UE sends 5GKD, 5GKD Freshness and 5GPRUK_Info to the AMF of the Relay UE, and then further passes them to the Relay UE. The Relay UE sends a Direct Security Mode Command to the Remote UE. In addition to one-to-one communication parameters, the message includes 5GKD Freshness Parameter and 5GPRUK_Info (if it exists).”)
Regarding claim 6, 3GPP_TR teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. 3GPP_TR further teaches wherein the proximity services relay user key is a 5G Proximity Services Relay User Key, 5GPRUK. (p. 117, "4. The AMF of the Relay UE sends a Relay Key Request to the AUSF of the Remote UE. The message includes Remote UE's SUCI or SUPI, Relay Service Code, Nonce_1 and the 5GPRUK ID (if it exists) ... In the case of a 5GPRUK ID in the Relay Key Request, the AUSF of the Remote UE retrieves the 5GPRUK from the UDM using the Remote UE's SUPI and the 5GPRUK ID ... If there is no 5GPRUK ID in the Relay Key Request or the 5GPRUK ID needs refreshing, a new 5GPRUK will be generated'')
Regarding claim 7, 3GPP_TR teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. 3GPP_TR further teaches wherein the relay wireless communication device is a Layer-3 UE-to-Network Relay. (p. 118, Figure 6.30.2-1, ref. 'UE-to-network Relay UE'')
Regarding claim 8, 3GPP_TR teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. 3GPP_TR further teaches wherein the shared key is a key KNR_ProSe. (p. 117, ''The AUSF of the Remote UE generates a new random number as the 5GKD Freshness Parameter, and then generates a new 5GKD using 5GPRUK", wherein the claimed shared key corresponds to the 5GKD) Here KNR_ProSe is known alternative name for the shared key used on PC5 interface between a UE and a UE relay, as defined in 3GPP TS 33.503.
Regarding claim 9, 3GPP_TR teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. 3GPP_TR further teaches wherein the request is received from an Access and Mobility Function, AMF. (p. 117, "4. The AMF of the Relay UE sends a Relay Key Request to the AUSF of the Remote UE. The message includes Remote UE's SUCI or SUPI, Relay Service Code, Nonce_1 and the 5GPRUK ID (if it exists)'')
Regarding claim 10, 3GPP_TR teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. 3GPP_TR further teaches wherein the interface is a PC5 interface. (p. 118, Figure 6.30.2-1, ref. 19 “Secure PC5 Communication”)
Regarding claim 11, 3GPP_TR teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. 3GPP_TR further teaches transmitting, to a data management node, a request for authentication credentials for the remote wireless communication device, wherein the request for authentication credentials requests reuse of the proximity services relay user key. (p. 118, Figure 6.30.2-1, ref. 5-13)
Regarding claim 12, 3GPP_TR teaches all the features with respect to claim 11, as outlined above. 3GPP_TR further teaches receiving a response to the request for authentication credentials from the data management node, wherein the response indicates whether the proximity services relay user key is available for reuse. (p. 118, Figure 6.30.2-1, ref. 5-13)
Regarding claims 13, 40, 43, 45, 66 and 70, the scope of the claims is similar to that of claim 5, respectively. Accordingly, the claims are rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claims 37, 44, 63, and 67, the scope of the claims is similar to that of claim 2 respectively. Accordingly, the claims are rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claims 38, 42, 64, and 68, the scope of the claims is similar to that of claim 3 respectively. Accordingly, the claims are rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claims 39, 65, and 69, the scope of the claims is similar to that of claim 4 respectively. Accordingly, the claims are rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 36, 3GPP_TR teaches a method performed by a relay wireless communication device, (p. 118, Figure 6.30.2-1, ref. 'VE-to-network Relay UE'') the method comprising:
receiving, from a remote wireless communication device, (p. 118, Figure 6.30.2-1, ref. "remote UE'') a request for the relay wireless communication device to relay traffic for the remote wireless communication, (p. 118, Figure 6.30.2-1, ref. "Direct Communication Request"; p. 116, "1. The Remote UE ... sends a Direct Communication Request to the Relay UE'') wherein the request requests reuse of a proximity services relay user key already associated with the remote wireless communication device. (p. 116, "1. The Remote UE ... sends a Direct Communication Request to the Relay UE ... the message may contain ... a 5GPRUK ID (if the Remote UE has a 5GPRUK for this relay connection)"; "In the case of a 5GPRUK ID in the Relay Key Request, the AUSF of the Remote UE retrieves the 5GPRUK from the UDM using the Remote UE's SUPI and the 5GPRUK ID ... If there is no 5GPRUK ID in the Relay Key Request or the 5GPRUK ID needs refreshing, a new 5GPRUK will be generated'')
Regarding claim 41, 3GPP_TR teaches a method performed by a relay wireless communication device, (p. 118, Figure 6.30.2-1, ref. 'UE-to-network Relay UE'') the method comprising:
transmitting, to a network node serving the relay wireless communication device, (p. 118, Figure 6.30.2-1, ref. "AMF/SAEF of Relay UE'') a request for a shared key for protecting an interface between a remote wireless communication device and the relay wireless communication device, (p. 118, Figure 6.30.2-1, ref. 2, "NAS Relay Key Request"; p. 116, 'The Relay UE sends a NAS Relay Key Request to its serving AMF'') wherein the relay wireless communication device is configured to relay traffic for the remote wireless communication device, (p. 118, Figure 6.30.2-1) wherein the request for the shared key requests reuse of a proximity services relay user key for deriving the shared key. (p. 117, "In the case of a 5GPRUK ID in the Relay Key Request, the AUSF of the Remote UE retrieves the 5GPRUK from the UDM using the Remote UE's SUPI and the 5GPRUK ID ... If there is no 5GPRUK ID in the Relay Key Request or the 5GPRUK ID needs refreshing, a new 5GPRUK will be generated"; 'The Remote UE stores the 5GPRUK and 5GPRUK ID. The Remote UE further derives the 5GKD", wherein the claimed shared key corresponds to the 5GKD)
Regarding claims 54 and 56, the scope of the claims is similar to that of claims 1 and 36, respectively. Accordingly, the claims are rejected using a similar rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9973925 B2, "Method and apparatus for direct communication key establishment" by Lehtovirta.
US 20250031039 A1 "Authentication for a proximity-based service in a wireless communication network" by Fu.
US 20250142326 A1 "Authentication of a wireless communication device with an external authentication server" by Wang.
/HAN YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493