DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the claims filled on 5/31/2024 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 10/1/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/31/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fukuda et al. (US 2025/0268026 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fukuda teaches a display device(Fig. 3) comprising:
a substrate(10) comprising an emission area and a non-emission area;
a first anode electrode(LE1, ¶0052) at the emission area;
a first cathode electrode(UE1, ¶0052) above the first anode electrode(LE1, ¶0052);
a first pixel-defining layer(5, ¶0045) at the non-emission area, and defining a first opening(AP1, ¶0045);
a bank structure(6, ¶0057) above the first pixel-defining layer(5, ¶0045), and comprising a second bank layer(64, ¶0058) contacting the first cathode electrode(UE1, ¶0052), and a third bank layer(62, ¶0059) comprising a second tip(end portion of 62, ¶0059) protruding toward the emission area from a side surface of the second bank layer(64, ¶0058);
a second pixel-defining layer(portion of OR1 above 6, ¶0048) above the bank structure(6, ¶0057), defining a second opening(opening between portions of OR1 above 6, ¶0048), overlapping the second tip(end portion of 62, ¶0059) in a direction perpendicular to the substrate(10), and contacting the second tip(end portion of 62, ¶0059); and
a first encapsulation layer(SE1, SE2, SE3, ¶0078) above the second pixel-defining layer(portion of OR1 above 6, ¶0048).
Regarding claim 2, Fukuda teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising a first bank layer(63, ¶0058) between the first pixel-defining layer(5, ¶0045) and the second bank layer(64, ¶0058), contacting the first pixel-defining layer(5, ¶0045), and comprising a first tip(end portion of 64, ¶0058) protruding toward the emission area from the side surface of the second bank layer(64, ¶0058).
Regarding claim 3, Fukuda teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the second bank layer(64, ¶0058) has higher electrical conductivity(¶0079-80, wherein aluminum has a higher electrical conductivity than titanium or insulating material) than the first bank layer(63, ¶0058) and the third bank layer(62, ¶0059).
Regarding claim 4, Fukuda teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the first cathode electrode(UE1, ¶0052) covers the first tip(end portion of 64, ¶0058)(Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Fukuda teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first opening(AP1, ¶0045) is completely surrounded by the second opening(opening between portions of OR1 above 6, ¶0048) in plan view.
Regarding claim 8, Fukuda teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a second anode electrode(LE2, ¶0052) spaced apart from the first anode electrode(LE1, ¶0052) with the first pixel-defining layer(5, ¶0045) therebetween; and
a second cathode electrode(UE2, ¶0052) above the second anode electrode(LE2, ¶0052), contacting the second bank layer(64, ¶0058), and electrically connected(¶0079) to the first cathode electrode(UE1, ¶0052) by the second bank layer(64, ¶0058).
Regarding claim 9, Fukuda teaches the display device of claim 8, further comprising a second encapsulation layer(13, ¶0077) above the first encapsulation layer(SE1, SE2, SE3, ¶0078), and comprising an organic material(¶0077),
wherein the first encapsulation layer(SE1, SE2, SE3, ¶0078) comprises a first inorganic layer(SE1, ¶0078) covering the first cathode electrode(UE1, ¶0052), and a second inorganic layer(SE2, ¶0078) covering the second cathode electrode(UE2, ¶0052) and separated from the first inorganic layer(SE1, ¶0078) by the second encapsulation layer(13, ¶0077) at the non-emission area.
Regarding claim 10, Fukuda teaches the display device of claim 9, wherein the second pixel-defining layer(portion of OR1 above 6, ¶0048) comprises a first surface facing the second encapsulation layer(13, ¶0077) and comprising a first portion(portion o9verlapping SE1) overlapping the first inorganic layer(SE1, ¶0078), a second portion(portion overlapping SE2) overlapping the second inorganic layer(SE2, ¶0078), and a third portion(potion contacting 13) contacting the second encapsulation layer(13, ¶0077) between the first portion(portion overlapping SE1) and the second portion(portion overlapping SE2).
Regarding claim 11, Fukuda teaches the display device of claim 9, further comprising:
a first electrode pattern(portion of UE1 above 6, ¶0071-72) above the second pixel-defining layer(portion of OR1 above 6, ¶0048), spaced apart from the first cathode electrode(UE1, ¶0052), and comprising a same material as the first cathode electrode(UE1, ¶0052); and
a second electrode pattern(portion of UE2 above 6, ¶0071-73) above the second pixel-defining layer(portion of OR1 above 6, ¶0048), spaced apart from the second cathode electrode(UE2, ¶0052), and comprising a same material as the second cathode electrode(UE2, ¶0052).
Regarding claim 12, Fukuda teaches the display device of claim 11, wherein the first electrode pattern(portion of UE1 above 6, ¶0071-72) and the second electrode pattern(portion of UE2 above 6, ¶0071-73) are spaced apart from each other in a direction parallel to the substrate(10) with the second encapsulation layer(13, ¶0077) therebetween.
Claims 1-6, 8-10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baek et al. (US 2024/0414948 A1).
The applied reference has a common applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Baek teaches a display device(Fig. 6) comprising:
a substrate(110) comprising an emission area(EA) and a non-emission area(BA);
a first anode electrode(AE1, ¶0175) at the emission area(EA);
a first cathode electrode(CE1, ¶0120, ¶0073) above the first anode electrode(AE1, ¶0175);
a first pixel-defining layer(139, ¶0119) at the non-emission area(BA), and defining a first opening(opening between protrusions of 139, ¶0119);
a bank structure(151, 160, ¶0099) above the first pixel-defining layer(139, ¶0119), and comprising a second bank layer(161, ¶0129) contacting the first cathode electrode(CE1, ¶0120, ¶0073), and a third bank layer(163, ¶0129) comprising a second tip(end portion of 163, ¶0129) protruding toward the emission area(EA) from a side surface of the second bank layer(161, ¶0129);
a second pixel-defining layer(ELP1 and CEP1 disposed on 160, ¶0177) above the bank structure(151, 160, ¶0099), defining a second opening( opening between end portion of CEP1 over 160, ¶0177), overlapping the second tip(end portion of 163, ¶0129) in a direction perpendicular to the substrate(110), and contacting the second tip(end portion of 163, ¶0129); and
a first encapsulation layer(171, ¶0140) above the second pixel-defining layer(ELP1 and CEP1 disposed on 160, ¶0177).
Regarding claim 2, Baek teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising a first bank layer(151, ¶0099) between the first pixel-defining layer(139, ¶0119) and the second bank layer(161, ¶0129), contacting the first pixel-defining layer(139, ¶0119), and comprising a first tip(end portion of 151, ¶0099) protruding toward the emission area(EA) from the side surface of the second bank layer(161, ¶0129).
Regarding claim 3, Baek teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the second bank layer(161, ¶0129) has higher electrical conductivity (electrical conductivity of AL vs insulating material and titanium ¶0167, ¶0128, ¶0169) than the first bank layer(151, ¶0099) and the third bank layer(163, ¶0129).
Regarding claim 4, Baek teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the first cathode electrode(CE1, ¶0120, ¶0073) covers the first tip(end portion of 151, ¶0099).
Regarding claim 5, Baek teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the first pixel-defining layer(139, ¶0119) and the second pixel-defining layer(ELP1 and CEP1 disposed on 160, ¶0177) comprise different respective inorganic materials(¶0119, ¶0135).
Regarding claim 6, Baek teaches the display device of claim 4, further comprising a residual pattern(157, ¶0133) between the first anode electrode(AE1, ¶0175) and the first pixel-defining layer(139, ¶0119) in a direction perpendicular to the substrate(110), and overlapping the first tip(end portion of 151, ¶0099) and the second tip(end portion of 163, ¶0129) in the direction perpendicular to the substrate(110).
Regarding claim 8, Baek teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a second anode electrode(AE2, ¶0175) spaced apart from the first anode electrode(AE1, ¶0175) with the first pixel-defining layer(139, ¶0119) therebetween; and
a second cathode electrode(CE2, ¶0120, ¶0073) above the second anode electrode(AE2, ¶0175), contacting the second bank layer(161, ¶0129), and electrically connected to the first cathode electrode(CE1, ¶0120, ¶0073) by the second bank layer(161, ¶0129).
Regarding claim 9, Baek teaches the display device of claim 8, further comprising a second encapsulation layer(173, ¶0141) above the first encapsulation layer(171, ¶0140), and comprising an organic material(¶0141),
wherein the first encapsulation layer(171, ¶0140) comprises a first inorganic layer(171-1, ¶0142) covering the first cathode electrode(CE1, ¶0120, ¶0073), and a second inorganic layer(171-2, ¶0142) covering the second cathode electrode(CE2, ¶0120, ¶0073) and separated from the first inorganic layer(171-1, ¶0142) by the second encapsulation layer(173, ¶0141) at the non-emission area(BA).
Regarding claim 10, Baek teaches the display device of claim 9, wherein the second pixel-defining layer(ELP1 and CEP1 disposed on 160, ¶0177) comprises a first surface facing the second encapsulation layer(173, ¶0141) and comprising a first portion(portion of ELP1 and CEP1 disposed on 160 overlapping 171-1) overlapping the first inorganic layer(171-1, ¶0142), a second portion(portion of ELP1 and CEP1 disposed on 160 overlapping 171-2) overlapping the second inorganic layer(171-2, ¶0142), and a third portion(portion of ELP1 and CEP1contacting 173) contacting the second encapsulation layer(173, ¶0141) between the first portion and the second portion.
Regarding claim 13, Baek teaches a display device(Fig. 6) comprising:
a substrate(110) comprising an emission area(EA) and a non-emission area(BA);
an anode electrode(AE1, ¶0175) at the emission area(EA);
a cathode electrode(CE1, ¶0120, ¶0073) above the anode electrode(AE1, ¶0175);
a first pixel-defining layer(139, ¶0119) at the non-emission area(BA) and defining a first opening(opening between protrusions of 139, ¶0119);
a bank structure(151, 160, ¶0099) above the first pixel-defining layer(139, ¶0119), and comprising a first bank layer(151, ¶0099), a second bank layer(161, ¶0129), and a third bank layer(163, ¶0129) stacked on one another in a direction perpendicular to the substrate(110); and
a second pixel-defining layer(ELP1 and CEP1 disposed on 160, ¶0177) above the bank structure(151, 160, ¶0099), defining a second opening( opening between end portion of CEP1 over 160, ¶0177), and comprising a first layer(ELP1 disposed on 160, ¶0177) contacting the third bank layer(163, ¶0129), and a second layer (CEP1 disposed on 160, ¶0177) above the first layer(ELP1 disposed on 160, ¶0177) and comprising a second tip( end portion of CEP1, ¶0177) protruding toward the emission area(EA) from a side surface of the first layer(ELP1 disposed on 160, ¶0177).
Regarding claim 14, Baek teaches the display device of claim 13, wherein the second bank layer(161, ¶0129) is completely surrounded by the first bank layer(151, ¶0099) and the third bank layer(163, ¶0129).
Regarding claim 15, Baek teaches the display device of claim 14, wherein the cathode electrode(CE1, ¶0120, ¶0073) [electrically] contacts(¶0137) the third bank layer(163, ¶0129).
Regarding claim 16, Baek teaches the display device of claim 14, wherein the first bank layer(151, ¶0099) comprises a first tip(end portion of 151, ¶0099) protruding toward the emission area(EA) from a side surface of the second bank layer(161, ¶0129) and overlapping the second tip( end portion of CEP1, ¶0177) in a direction perpendicular to the substrate(110).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 17, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “the first layer and the second layer comprise different respective inorganic materials”.
Regarding dependent claim 18, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “a fourth layer above the third layer and comprising a first tip protruding toward the emission area from a side surface of the third layer.”
Claim 19 depends on claim 18 and inherits allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fukuda (US 2024/0121994 A1) Discloses a display device.
Park et al. (US 2024/0389394 A1) Discloses a display device.
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892