Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the electronic communication" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the pipe network" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the cargo module" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation " the first removable tote" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 15, it is unclear if “a tote detection sensor” introduced in line 9 of the claim is the same “a tote detection sensor” introduced in line 4 or if a new element is being introduced.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, it is unclear what is being claimed by “maintain a center of gravity” as it is a physical property determined by mass distribution (not a gyroscope).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8-11, 14-15, 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiske (US 6,374,746) in view of Vogt (US 11,945,664).
Regarding claim 1, Fiske discloses a delivery system, comprising:
a commodity-based pipe segment (15) comprising a guide rail extending through a hollow interior of the pipe segment, the pipe segment configured to facilitate a transit for pods to travel along the guide rail (Fig.3);
a self-powered pod (10) comprising a cargo module configured to hold removable totes (Fig.1), the pod comprising functionality to travel through the hollow interior of the pipe segment along the guide rail to enter a portal.
Fiske does not further specifically disclose moving within proximity of a tote detection sensor while inside the portal the portal comprising a tote lift mechanism configured to traverse a tote lift guide rail, the tote lift mechanism comprising functionality to detect that a first removable tote is in position for removal from the pod based on a signal received from the tote detection sensor, engage and move the first removable tote out of the pod along the tote lift guide rail, deposit the first removable tote into a cache location of the portal, engage and move a second removable tote along the tote lift guide rail toward the pod and deposit the second removable tote into the cargo module, wherein the pod exits the portal transporting the second removable tote.
Vogt teaches a pneumatic dispatch station (1, FIGS. 4 to 6), having a tool changer (8) has a drive device 10 which is designed to automatically move an emptying tool into a working position in which the emptying tool is aligned with respect to a pneumatic tube capsule (6) positioned at the output point (4), in order to output an object to be transported that is present in the pneumatic tube capsule, so that the object to be transported that is output from the pneumatic tube capsule reaches the removal point. Further, an information acquisition device (11) of the pneumatic dispatch station is designed to detect an information carrier (12) of a pneumatic tube capsule 6 that has arrived in the pneumatic dispatch station, to read out signals or data from the information carrier and to process them, at least one piece of information being read out from the information carrier of the pneumatic tube capsule by means of the information acquisition device (Col.7, line 62 – Col.8, line 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Fiske in view of Vogt to have comprising a tote lift mechanism configured to traverse a tote lift guide rail, the tote lift mechanism comprising functionality to detect that a first removable tote is in position for removal from the pod based on a signal received from the tote detection sensor, engage and move the first removable tote out of the pod along the tote lift guide rail, deposit the first removable tote into a cache location of the portal, engage and move a second removable tote along the tote lift guide rail toward the pod and deposit the second removable tote into the cargo module, wherein the pod exits the portal transporting the second removable tote for the purpose of efficiently changing out cargo.
Regarding claim 6, Fiske, as modified above, further discloses wherein the tote lift mechanism further comprises a wireless module configured to communicate with the pod, and wherein the electronic communication is obtained from the pod via the wireless module (Col.11, lines 5+).
Regarding claims 8, 14, 19, Fiske, as modified above, further discloses wherein the first removable tote comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of: (i) a vacuum sealed enclosure, (ii) a refrigerated enclosure, (iii) a medical grade sterilized enclosure, and (iv) a hazardous waste enclosure (vacuum, Col.5, lines 56+).
Regarding claim 9, Fiske, as modified above, further discloses wherein the self-powered pod further comprises:
a gyroscope comprising functionality to measure orientation of the pod (Col.4, line 66 – Col,5, line 6); and
a control unit configured to utilize measurements from the gyroscope to maintain a center of gravity (see 112 rejection, above) of the pod as it traverses the pipe network pod (Col.4, line 66 – Col,5, line 19).
Regarding claim 10, Fiske, as modified above, further teaches wherein the self-powered pod further comprises:
a control unit configured to identify a cargo type of the removable tote; and
enable a traversal configuration corresponding to the cargo type (Vogt, Col.7, line 62 – Col.8, line 26).
Regarding claim 11, Fiske discloses a portal of a pipe network (15), comprising:
a set of cache locations each configured to store a removable tote (Fig.1);
a tote lift guide rail configured to transport removable totes to and from pods of the pipe network (Fig.3);
Fiske does not further specifically disclose a tote lift mechanism comprising a tote detection sensor and configured to traverse the tote lift guide rail, the tote lift mechanism comprising functionality to detect that a first removable tote is in position for removal from a pod based on a signal received from the tote detection sensor, engage and move the first removable tote out of the pod along the tote lift guide rail, deposit the first removable tote into a first cache location of the set of cache locations, engage and move a second removable tote from a second cache location of the set of cache locations along the tote lift guide rail toward the pod and deposit the second removable tote into the cargo module, wherein the pod exits the portal transporting the second removable tote.
Vogt teaches a pneumatic dispatch station (1, FIGS. 4 to 6), having a tool changer (8) has a drive device 10 which is designed to automatically move an emptying tool into a working position in which the emptying tool is aligned with respect to a pneumatic tube capsule (6) positioned at the output point (4), in order to output an object to be transported that is present in the pneumatic tube capsule, so that the object to be transported that is output from the pneumatic tube capsule reaches the removal point. Further, an information acquisition device (11) of the pneumatic dispatch station is designed to detect an information carrier (12) of a pneumatic tube capsule 6 that has arrived in the pneumatic dispatch station, to read out signals or data from the information carrier and to process them, at least one piece of information being read out from the information carrier of the pneumatic tube capsule by means of the information acquisition device (Col.7, line 62 – Col.8, line 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Fiske in view of Vogt to have comprising a tote lift mechanism configured to traverse a tote lift guide rail, the tote lift mechanism comprising functionality to detect that a first removable tote is in position for removal from the pod based on a signal received from the tote detection sensor, engage and move the first removable tote out of the pod along the tote lift guide rail, deposit the first removable tote into a cache location of the portal, engage and move a second removable tote along the tote lift guide rail toward the pod and deposit the second removable tote into the cargo module, wherein the pod exits the portal transporting the second removable tote for the purpose of efficiently changing out cargo.
Regarding claim 15, Fiske discloses a method for traversing a pipe network (15) with a delivery pod (10), comprising:
traversing, by a self-powered pod (10), a pipe segment along a guide rail extending through a hollow interior of the pipe segment (15) to enter a portal;
Fiske does not further specifically disclose moving the pod within proximity of a tote detection sensor while inside the portal, moving a tote lift mechanism along a tote lift guide rail to a position the tote lift mechanism above the first removable tote, detecting that a first removable tote is in position for removal from the pod based on a signal received from a tote detection sensor, engaging and moving the first removable tote out of the pod along the tote lift guide rail, depositing the first removable tote into a first cache location of the portal, engaging and move a second removable tote from a second cache location along the tote lift guide rail toward the pod and depositing the second removable tote into the cargo module, wherein the pod exits the portal transporting the second removable tote.
Vogt teaches a pneumatic dispatch station (1, FIGS. 4 to 6), having a tool changer (8) has a drive device 10 which is designed to automatically move an emptying tool into a working position in which the emptying tool is aligned with respect to a pneumatic tube capsule (6) positioned at the output point (4), in order to output an object to be transported that is present in the pneumatic tube capsule, so that the object to be transported that is output from the pneumatic tube capsule reaches the removal point. Further, an information acquisition device (11) of the pneumatic dispatch station is designed to detect an information carrier (12) of a pneumatic tube capsule 6 that has arrived in the pneumatic dispatch station, to read out signals or data from the information carrier and to process them, at least one piece of information being read out from the information carrier of the pneumatic tube capsule by means of the information acquisition device (Col.7, line 62 – Col.8, line 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Fiske in view of Vogt to have comprising a tote lift mechanism configured to traverse a tote lift guide rail, the tote lift mechanism comprising functionality to detect that a first removable tote is in position for removal from the pod based on a signal received from the tote detection sensor, engage and move the first removable tote out of the pod along the tote lift guide rail, deposit the first removable tote into a cache location of the portal, engage and move a second removable tote along the tote lift guide rail toward the pod and deposit the second removable tote into the cargo module, wherein the pod exits the portal transporting the second removable tote for the purpose of efficiently changing out cargo.
Regarding claim 20, Fiske, as modified above, further discloses
measuring orientation of the pod by a gyroscope (Col.4, line 66 – Col,5, line 6); and
utilizing measurements from the gyroscope to maintain a center of gravity of the pod as it traverses the pipe network (see 112 rejection above).
Claims 2, 12 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiske (US 6,374,746) in view of Vogt (US 11,945,664), as applied above, and further in view of Cooley (US Pub App 2023/0166775).
Regarding claims 2, 12 and 16, Fiske, as modified above, does not further specifically disclose wherein the tote lift guide rail is operatively connected to a motorized cable, and wherein the tote lift mechanism further comprises a lift motor configured to propel the tote lift mechanism by engaging the motorized cable to traverse the tote lift guide rail.
Cooley teaches a transportation tube disposed partially underground in which motorized cable(s), track(s), self-propelled pods, electric cable(s), electromagnetic actuator(s), pneumatic actuator(s), fluid propulsion (e.g., via water, gel, or other fluids), or a combination thereof may be used (Para.79).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Fiske, as modified above, further in view of Cooley to use a motorized cable since they are known to provide precise and controlled movement, increasing safety of the system.
Claims 3 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiske (US 6,374,746) in view of Vogt (US 11,945,664), as applied above, and further in view of Lert Jr. (US 9,598,239)
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Fiske, as modified above, does not further specifically disclose wherein the pod is configured to detect a fault after depositing the second removable tote into the cargo module, and wherein the system further comprises
a second self-powered pod comprising functionality to obtain a route to intercept the pod, follow the route to position the second pod adjacent to the pod in the pipe segment, establish a tow connection between the second pod and the pod and tow the pod to a second portal to deliver the second removable tote to its intended destination.
Lert Jr. teaches an automated warehouse storage system including a multilevel storage array wherein a transport or towing bot is provided that pulls or pushes a failed bot with the failed bot moved in a passive condition to a service/maintenance location (Col.8, lines 48-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Fiske, as modified above, further in view of Lert Jr. to detect a fault after depositing the second removable tote into the cargo module, and wherein the system further comprises a second self-powered pod comprising functionality to obtain a route to intercept the pod, follow the route to position the second pod adjacent to the pod in the pipe segment, establish a tow connection between the second pod and the pod and tow the pod to a second portal to deliver the second removable tote to its intended destination in order to avoid disruptions to the system.
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiske (US 6,374,746) in view of Vogt (US 11,945,664), as applied above, and further in view of Bambrogan et al (US Pub App 2016/0230350).
Regarding claim 4, Fiske, as modified above, does not further specifically disclose wherein the first removable tote comprises a suspension mechanism configured to stabilize a payload of the first removable tote while the pod traverses the pipe segment.
Bambrogan teaches a transportation tube having in independent suspension that can adjust to protuberances in the tube or track during travel while maintaining a steady travel speed (Para.194).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Fiske, as modified above, further in view of Bambrogan to have a suspension mechanism configured to stabilize a payload of the first removable tote while the pod traverses the pipe segment for the purpose of protecting the cargo.
Claims 5, 13 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiske (US 6,374,746) in view of Vogt (US 11,945,664), as applied above, and further in view of Benefield (US Pub App 2019/0177089).
Regarding claims 5, 13 and 18, Fiske, as modified above, further teaches, a controller module configured to receive an electronic communication from the pod after engaging the first removable tote, wherein the electronic communication comprises an intended destination of a payload of the first removable tote, wherein the tote lift mechanism deposits the first removable tote into the cache location based on the intended destination (removal point).
Fiske does not further specifically disclose engaging the first removable tote comprises triggering an electro-magnetic latch to secure the first removable tote to the tote lift mechanism.
Benefield teaches a device for home delivery wherein an electromagnetic lock is used to secure a cargo lid (Para.9, 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Fiske, as modified above, further in view of Benefield to use an electro-magnetic latch to secure the first removable tote to the tote lift mechanism to further secure the cargo and the system.
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiske (US 6,374,746) in view of Vogt (US 11,945,664), as applied above, and further in view of Cothern et al (US Pub App 2016/0230899).
Regarding claim 7, Fiske, as modified above, does not further specifically disclose wherein the first removable tote comprises an expandable air bladder configured to fill empty space in an interior of the removable tote.
Cothern teaches a high-speed transportation system including at least one transportation tube wherein a high pressure bladder may be utilized an airbag (Para.91).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Fiske, as modified above, further in view of Cothern to include an expandable air bladder configured to fill empty space in an interior of the removable tote in order to in a situation where quick containment may be necessary, such as an emergency, minimize the re-pressurization of the tube from its low-pressure state.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kalouche, Lee, Mulligan, Reeves, George, Ferm, Mesher, Penilla, Abe, Hadziristic, Ferguson, Izz, Shibata, Coutre, Oster, Davis, Miller, Kwon, Yang, Pulliam, Bonham and Ahn further disclose elements of a delivery system.
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/ASHLEY K ROMANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3652