DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the outer circumferential end" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This will be read as the outer circumferential edge.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the outer peripheral edge part" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “measuring part” in claim 14.
The limitation “measuring part” recites the generic placeholder “part” coupled with the functional modifier “measuring” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: an edge sensor or surface potential measurement sensor, disclosed in applicant’s specification, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s)1-6, 9, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAO et al. (US 2018/0147825) in view of LANDRU (US 2015/0231790).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 11-13, TSAO teaches a method of separating semiconductor chip wafer chamfered outer edge from a semiconductor substrate by inserting a blade along the main surface into the edge, applying a force to the wafer away from the substrate to peel, and sensing the force required to overcome the bonding forces (para. 18). TSAO does not teach that the wafer has a chamfered edge and the blade comprises first and second tool parts, where the second tool part contacts the peripheral edge of the wafer. LANDRU teaches another method for separating a laminate via blade insertion at a chamfered edge, wherein the blade comprises a first tool part 32 and a second tool part 33, where separation occurs with contact of the second tool part against the periphery, and that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilized such a common chamfered edge to facilitate separation and a blade as the blade of TSAO because a blade with a first part having a small acute angle allows easy separation by imparting forces approximately perpendicular to the laminate and a second part having a larger acute angle in order to propagate the separation wave, reinforce the corner effect during separation, and limit the risk of scratching the faces of the substrates during separation (LANDRU; paras. 129 and 132-133; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, the references do not explicitly state the angle of the first tool part is smaller than the chamfer angle, but LANDRU shows an example of the angle of the first part as smaller than the chamfer angle of the wafer (fig. 2), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a tip angle that is less than the chamfer angle so that the blade edge may be inserted into the chamfered region.
Regarding claim 6, LANDRU teaches inserting the front tool part before the second tool contacts the edge (paras. 132-133).
Regarding claim 9, LANDRU teaches inserting the blade, where the first and second blade parts are fixed relative to each other (fig. 3; para. 129).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as combined, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of HONDA et al. (US 2015/0343755).
Regarding claim 12, the references as combined do not teach peeling the chip by electrostatic force. HONDA teaches another method of delaminating via blade insertion, wherein the wafer is peeled by electrostatic force (para. 120), where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize electrostatic chucks in place of the chucks as the references as combined because electrostatic chucks were well-known chucking mechanisms commonly used as functional equivalent alternate expedients at the time of the invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, and 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a method as claimed wherein inserting the first tool part along the main surface comprises bringing the second tool part into contact with the outer peripheral edge part before the first tool part; wherein inserting the first tool part comprises moving the first tool part relative to the second tool part; or wherein a widthwise length of each of the first tool part and the second tool part is longer than a widthwise length of the chamfered peripheral edge part of the semiconductor chip.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: KUMAKURA et al. (US 2015/0059987) and YANAGITA et al. (US 2001/0003668).
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745