Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 06/03/24 has been received and is being considered.
Detailed Action
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 09/29/26. Claims 1-16 are pending in this application. Claims 9-16 have been withdrawn from examination.
Restriction/Election
Applicants have elected claims 1-8 for examination. Non-elected claims 9-16 have been withdrawn from examination.
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being unpatentable over Adiga (US 20200203424 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Adiga discloses at least at fig. 3, a quantum device comprising: a first chip including a quantum bit including a band-shaped pattern extending in a first direction (see figs 2 and 3, 200); and a second chip including a band-shaped readout pad extending in a second direction different from the first direction (see readout pads with perpendicular orientations), wherein the readout pad faces and intersects with the band-shaped pattern (see fig 3 with overlap).
Regarding claim 2, Adiga discloses the quantum device according to claim 1, wherein the readout pad has a first pair of parallel sides that intersect with the band-shaped pattern, and a second pair of sides that do not intersect with the band-shaped pattern (see T shape with two sides intersecting and two sides in parallel, 302).
Regarding claim 3, Adiga discloses the quantum device according to claim 1, wherein the readout pad extends to both sides in a width direction of the band-shaped pattern with a width that is same as a width of an intersecting overlapping portion (see portions of 302 with 200 along the width direction).
Regarding claim 4, Adiga discloses the quantum device according to claim 1, wherein the band-shaped pattern extends to both sides in a width direction of the readout pad with a width that is same as a width of an intersecting overlapping portion(see portions of 302 with 200 along the width direction).
Regarding claim 5, Adiga disclose the quantum device according to claim 1, wherein a length of the readout pad in the second direction is greater than a width of the band-shaped pattern (see ).
Regarding claim 6, Adiga discloses the quantum device according to claim 1, wherein the band-shaped pattern and the readout pad are capacitively coupled (see para [0037] describing coupling pads 302).
Regarding claim 7, Adiga discloses the quantum device according to claim 2, wherein the second chip further includes a lead line extending from the second pair of sides of the readout pad (see para [0037] disclosing readout lines/busses).
Regarding claim 8, Adiga discloses the quantum device according to claim 1, wherein the quantum bit further includes a cross-shaped pattern, and wherein the band-shaped pattern connects patterns of two adjacent arm parts of the cross-shaped pattern (see fig 3, disclosing cross shaped pattern and 302 connects with arm parts of cross shaped patterns).
Conclusion
/EDWARD CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893