DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 and 13-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/397,010 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claims 1-10 and 13- 20 are anticipated by claims 1-20 of the copending Application, and it is not patentably distinct from claims 1-20 of the copending Application.
Under Examination Claims
copending Application Claims
1. A sensor, comprising:
a first electrode and a second electrode,
an organic photoelectric conversion layer between the first electrode and the second electrode, the organic photoelectric conversion layer including a p-type semiconductor and an n-type semiconductor, and
an organic auxiliary layer, the organic auxiliary layer including a singlet fission material,
wherein the organic auxiliary layer is at least one of between the first electrode and the organic photoelectric conversion layer, or
between the second electrode and the organic photoelectric conversion layer.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 1:
1. A sensor, comprising: an anode; a cathode; an organic photoelectric conversion layer between the anode and the cathode, the organic photoelectric conversion layer including a p-type semiconductor and an n-type semiconductor; and a first organic auxiliary layer between the anode and the organic photoelectric conversion layer, the first organic auxiliary layer including a first singlet fission material, wherein the first singlet fission material is represented by Chemical Formula 1 and satisfies Relation Formula 1: [Chemical Formula 1]
wherein, in the Chemical Formula 1, R1 to R12 are each independently hydrogen, deuterium, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heteroaryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted silyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted amine group, a halogen, a cyano group, or any combination thereof, provided that at least one of R1 to R12 is represented by Chemical Formula 2:
Chemical Formula 2
wherein, in Chemical Formula 2, X is oxygen, sulfur, or tellurium, and * is a linking point with Chemical Formula 1; and Relation Formula 1, E(S1) + 0.5 eV ≥ 2 x E(T1) wherein, in Relation Formula 1, E(S1) is an excitation energy in a lowest singlet excited state of the first singlet fission material, E(T1) is an excitation energy in a lowest triplet excited state of the first singlet fission material, and E(S1) and E(T1) are Density Function Theory calculation values.
2. The sensor of claim 1, wherein the organic auxiliary layer is in contact with at least one of an upper surface of the organic photoelectric conversion layer or a lower surface of the organic photoelectric conversion layer.
Anticipated by copending Application claims 1 and 3:
an organic photoelectric conversion layer between the anode and the cathode, the organic photoelectric conversion layer including a p-type semiconductor and an n-type semiconductor; and a first organic auxiliary layer between the anode and the organic photoelectric conversion layer (as claimed in copending application claim 1);
3. The sensor of claim 1, wherein first organic auxiliary layer is in contact with the organic photoelectric conversion layer (as claimed in copending application claim 3).
3. The sensor of claim 1, wherein the singlet fission material is an organic material that satisfies Relation Formula 1:
[Relation Formula 1]
E(S1)+0.5eV≥2×E(T1)
wherein, in Relation Formula 1,
E(S1) is an excitation energy in a lowest singlet excited state of the singlet fission material,
E(T1) is an excitation energy in a lowest triplet excited state of the singlet fission material, and
E(S1) and E(T1) are DFT calculation values.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 1:
1. A sensor, comprising: an anode; a cathode; an organic photoelectric conversion layer between the anode and the cathode, the organic photoelectric conversion layer including a p-type semiconductor and an n-type semiconductor; and a first organic auxiliary layer between the anode and the organic photoelectric conversion layer, the first organic auxiliary layer including a first singlet fission material, wherein the first singlet fission material is represented by Chemical Formula 1 and satisfies Relation Formula 1: [Chemical Formula 1]
wherein, in the Chemical Formula 1, R1 to R12 are each independently hydrogen, deuterium, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heteroaryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted silyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted amine group, a halogen, a cyano group, or any combination thereof, provided that at least one of R1 to R12 is represented by Chemical Formula 2:
Chemical Formula 2
wherein, in Chemical Formula 2, X is oxygen, sulfur, or tellurium, and * is a linking point with Chemical Formula 1; and Relation Formula 1, E(S1) + 0.5 eV ≥ 2 x E(T1) wherein, in Relation Formula 1, E(S1) is an excitation energy in a lowest singlet excited state of the first singlet fission material, E(T1) is an excitation energy in a lowest triplet excited state of the first singlet fission material, and E(S1) and E(T1) are Density Function Theory calculation values.
4. The sensor of claim 3, wherein the p-type semiconductor and the n-type semiconductor each do not satisfy an energy level of Relation Formula 1.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 2:
2. The sensor of claim 1, wherein a highest occupied molecular orbital (HOMO) energy level of the first singlet fission material is a same or shallower energy level relative to a HOMO energy level of the p-type semiconductor.
5. The sensor of claim 3, wherein the singlet fission material is in contact with the organic photoelectric conversion layer and is between the first electrode and the organic photoelectric conversion layer, and
a HOMO energy level of the singlet fission material is equal to or shallower than a HOMO energy level of the p-type semiconductor.
Anticipated by copending Application claims 2 and 3:
2. The sensor of claim 1, wherein a highest occupied molecular orbital (HOMO) energy level of the first singlet fission material is a same or shallower energy level relative to a HOMO energy level of the p-type semiconductor.
3. The sensor of claim 1, wherein first organic auxiliary layer is in contact with the organic photoelectric conversion layer (as claimed in copending application claim 3).
6. The sensor of claim 5, wherein the HOMO energy level of the singlet fission material is between the HOMO energy level of the p-type semiconductor and a work function of the first electrode.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 4:
4. The sensor of claim 1, wherein a HOMO energy level of the first singlet fission material is between a HOMO energy level of the p-type semiconductor and a work function of the anode.
7. The sensor of claim 3, wherein the singlet fission material is in contact with the organic photoelectric conversion layer between the second electrode and the organic photoelectric conversion layer, and
a LUMO energy level of the singlet fission material is equal to or deeper than a LUMO energy level of the n-type semiconductor.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 10:
10. The sensor of claim 9, wherein the second organic auxiliary layer is in contact with the organic photoelectric conversion layer, and
a LUMO energy level of the second singlet fission material is a same or deeper energy level relative to a LUMO energy level of the n-type semiconductor.
8. The sensor of claim 7, wherein the LUMO energy level of the singlet fission material is between the LUMO energy level of the n-type semiconductor and a work function of the second electrode.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 11:
11. The sensor of claim 9, wherein a LUMO energy level of the second singlet fission material is between a LUMO energy level of the n-type semiconductor and a work function of the cathode.
9. The sensor of claim 1, wherein at least one of the p-type semiconductor or the n-type semiconductor is a first light absorbing material configured to selectively absorb light of a first wavelength spectrum selected from a red wavelength spectrum, a green wavelength spectrum, a blue wavelength spectrum, and an infrared wavelength spectrum,
the singlet fission material is a second light absorbing material configured to absorb light in the first wavelength spectrum, and
the first light absorbing material and the second light absorbing material are different from each other.
Anticipated by copending Application claims 5 and 9:
5. The sensor of claim 1, wherein the first singlet fission material and at least one of the p-type semiconductor or the n-type semiconductor are each a wavelength-selective organic material configured to selectively absorb light of a first wavelength spectrum selected from a blue wavelength spectrum, a green wavelength spectrum, a red wavelength spectrum, or an infrared wavelength spectrum.
9. The sensor of claim 1, further comprising: a second organic auxiliary layer between the cathode and the organic photoelectric conversion layer, wherein the second organic auxiliary layer comprises a second singlet fission material different from the first singlet fission material.
10. The sensor of claim 9, wherein the first light absorbing material and the second light absorbing material are each an organic material configured to absorb light in the green wavelength spectrum.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 5:
5. The sensor of claim 1, wherein the first singlet fission material and at least one of the p-type semiconductor or the n-type semiconductor are each a wavelength-selective organic material configured to selectively absorb light of a first wavelength spectrum selected from a blue wavelength spectrum, a green wavelength spectrum, a red wavelength spectrum, or an infrared wavelength spectrum.
13. An image sensor, comprising:
a substrate, and
the sensor of claim 1 on the substrate.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 13:
13. An image sensor, comprising: a substrate, and the sensor of claim 1 on the substrate.
14. The image sensor of claim 13, further comprising a first photodiode and a second photodiode within the substrate,
wherein the first photodiode and the second photodiode each overlap the sensor along a thickness direction of the substrate.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 14:
14. The image sensor of claim 13, further comprising: a first photodiode and a second photodiode within the substrate, wherein the first photodiode and the second photodiode each overlap the sensor along a thickness direction of the substrate.
15. The image sensor of claim 14, further comprising: a first color filter between the sensor and the first photodiode, and
a second color filter between the sensor and the second photodiode.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 15:
15. The image sensor of claim 14, further comprising: a first color filter between the sensor and the first photodiode in the thickness direction, and a second color filter between the sensor and the second photodiode in the thickness direction.
16. The image sensor of claim 13, wherein the sensor comprises: a first sensor configured to photoelectrically convert light of a first wavelength spectrum selected from a red wavelength spectrum, a green wavelength spectrum, and a blue wavelength spectrum,
a second sensor configured to photoelectrically convert light of a second wavelength spectrum selected from the red wavelength spectrum, the green wavelength spectrum, and the blue wavelength spectrum, and
a third sensor configured to photoelectrically convert light of a third wavelength spectrum selected from the red wavelength spectrum, the green wavelength spectrum, and the blue wavelength spectrum,
wherein the first wavelength spectrum, the second wavelength spectrum, and the third wavelength spectrum are different from each other, and
wherein the first sensor, the second sensor, and the third sensor are stacked along a thickness direction of the substrate.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 16:
16. The image sensor of claim 13, wherein the sensor comprises: a first sensor configured to photoelectrically convert light of a first wavelength spectrum selected from a red wavelength spectrum, a green wavelength spectrum, and a blue wavelength spectrum, a second sensor configured to photoelectrically convert light of a second wavelength spectrum selected from the red wavelength spectrum, the green wavelength spectrum, and the blue wavelength spectrum, and a third sensor configured to photoelectrically convert light of a third wavelength spectrum selected from the red wavelength spectrum, the green wavelength spectrum, and the blue wavelength spectrum, wherein the first wavelength spectrum, the second wavelength spectrum, and the third wavelength spectrum are different from each other, and wherein the first sensor, the second sensor, and the third sensor are stacked along a thickness direction of the substrate.
17. A display panel, comprising:
a substrate,
a light emitting element array on the substrate, the light emitting element array including
a blue light emitting element configured to emit light in a blue light emitting spectrum,
a green light emitting element configured to emit light in a green light emitting spectrum, and
a red light emitting element configured to emit light in a red light emitting spectrum, and
a sensor array on the substrate, the sensor array including the sensor of claim 1.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 17:
17. A display panel, comprising: a substrate, a light emitting element array on the substrate, the light emitting element array including: a blue light emitting element configured to emit light in a blue wavelength spectrum, a green light emitting element configured to emit light in a green wavelength spectrum, and a red light emitting element configured to emit light in a red wavelength spectrum, and a sensor array on the substrate, the sensor array including the sensor of claim 1.
18. A device comprising the sensor of claim 1.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 18:
18. A device comprising the sensor of claim 1.
19. A device comprising the image sensor of claim 13.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 19:
19. A device comprising the image sensor of claim 13.
20. A device comprising the display panel of claim 17.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 20:
20. A device comprising the display panel of claim 17.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 and 13-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/049,528 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claims 1-10 and 13- 20 are anticipated by claims 1-20 of the copending Application, and it is not patentably distinct from claims 1-20 of the copending Application.
Under Examination Claims
copending Application Claims
1. A sensor, comprising:
a first electrode and a second electrode,
an organic photoelectric conversion layer between the first electrode and the second electrode, the organic photoelectric conversion layer including a p-type semiconductor and an n-type semiconductor, and
an organic auxiliary layer, the organic auxiliary layer including a singlet fission material,
wherein the organic auxiliary layer is at least one of between the first electrode and the organic photoelectric conversion layer, or
between the second electrode and the organic photoelectric conversion layer.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 1:
1. A sensor, comprising:
an anode;
a cathode;
an organic photoelectric conversion layer between the anode and the cathode, the organic photoelectric conversion layer including a p-type semiconductor and an n-type semiconductor; and
a first organic auxiliary layer between the cathode and the organic photoelectric conversion layer, the first organic auxiliary layer including a first singlet fission material,
wherein a LUMO energy level of the first singlet fission material is equal to or deeper than a LUMO energy level of the n-type semiconductor, and
wherein the first singlet fission material is represented by Chemical Formula 1:
[Chemical Formula 1]
wherein, in the Chemical Formula 1,
R1 to R10 are each independently hydrogen, deuterium, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C30 alkoxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted C6 to C30 aryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted C3 to C30 heteroaryl group, a substituted or unsubstituted silyl group, a substituted or unsubstituted amine group, a halogen, a cyano group, or any combination thereof,
R1 to R10 are each independently present or two adjacent ones among R1 to R10 are linked to form a ring, and
n is an integer from 0 to 3.
2. The sensor of claim 1, wherein the organic auxiliary layer is in contact with at least one of an upper surface of the organic photoelectric conversion layer or a lower surface of the organic photoelectric conversion layer.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 1:
2. The sensor of claim 1, wherein the first organic auxiliary layer is in contact with the organic photoelectric conversion layer.
3. The sensor of claim 1, wherein the singlet fission material is an organic material that satisfies Relation Formula 1:
[Relation Formula 1]
E(S1)+0.5eV≥2×E(T1)
wherein, in Relation Formula 1,
E(S1) is an excitation energy in a lowest singlet excited state of the singlet fission material,
E(T1) is an excitation energy in a lowest triplet excited state of the singlet fission material, and
E(S1) and E(T1) are DFT calculation values.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 8:
8. The sensor of claim 7, wherein the second singlet fission material is an organic material that satisfies Relation Formula 1:
[Relation Formula 1]
E(S1)+0.5eV≥2×E(T1)
wherein, in Relation Formula 1,
E(S1) is an excitation energy in a lowest singlet excited state of the second singlet fission material,
E(T1) is an excitation energy in a lowest triplet excited state of the second singlet fission material, and
E(S1) and E(T1) are DFT calculation values.
4. The sensor of claim 3, wherein the p-type semiconductor and the n-type semiconductor each do not satisfy an energy level of Relation Formula 1.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 9:
9. The sensor of claim 8, wherein the p-type semiconductor and the n-type semiconductor each do not satisfy an energy level of the Relation Formula 1.
5. The sensor of claim 3, wherein the singlet fission material is in contact with the organic photoelectric conversion layer and is between the first electrode and the organic photoelectric conversion layer, and
a HOMO energy level of the singlet fission material is equal to or shallower than a HOMO energy level of the p-type semiconductor.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 10:
10. The sensor of claim 7, wherein
the second organic auxiliary layer is in contact with the organic photoelectric conversion layer, and
a HOMO energy level of the second singlet fission material is equal to or shallower than a HOMO energy level of the p-type semiconductor.
6. The sensor of claim 5, wherein the HOMO energy level of the singlet fission material is between the HOMO energy level of the p-type semiconductor and a work function of the first electrode.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 11:
11. The sensor of claim 10, wherein the HOMO energy level of the second singlet fission material is between the HOMO energy level of the p-type semiconductor and a work function of the anode.
7. The sensor of claim 3, wherein the singlet fission material is in contact with the organic photoelectric conversion layer between the second electrode and the organic photoelectric conversion layer, and
a LUMO energy level of the singlet fission material is equal to or deeper than a LUMO energy level of the n-type semiconductor.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 12:
12. The sensor of claim 7, further comprising a hole auxiliary layer between the second organic auxiliary layer and the anode,
wherein a LUMO energy level of the hole auxiliary layer is shallower than each of a work function of the anode and the LUMO energy level of the n-type semiconductor.
8. The sensor of claim 7, wherein the LUMO energy level of the singlet fission material is between the LUMO energy level of the n-type semiconductor and a work function of the second electrode.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 3:
3. The sensor of claim 1, wherein the LUMO energy level of the first singlet fission material is between the LUMO energy level of the n-type semiconductor and a work function of the cathode.
9. The sensor of claim 1, wherein at least one of the p-type semiconductor or the n-type semiconductor is a first light absorbing material configured to selectively absorb light of a first wavelength spectrum selected from a red wavelength spectrum, a green wavelength spectrum, a blue wavelength spectrum, and an infrared wavelength spectrum,
the singlet fission material is a second light absorbing material configured to absorb light in the first wavelength spectrum, and
the first light absorbing material and the second light absorbing material are different from each other.
Anticipated by copending Application claims 5, 6, and 7:
5. The sensor of claim 4, wherein
the first singlet fission material and the at least one of the p-type semiconductor or the n-type semiconductor are each an organic material configured to absorb light in the green wavelength spectrum, and
a wavelength (λmax, EQE) exhibiting a maximum external quantum efficiency of the sensor and a wavelength (λmax, IQE) exhibiting a maximum internal quantum efficiency of the sensor each belong to about 510 nm to about 580 nm.
6. The sensor of claim 1, further comprising an electron auxiliary layer between the first organic auxiliary layer and the cathode,
wherein a HOMO energy level of the electron auxiliary layer is deeper than each of a work function of the cathode and a HOMO energy level of the p-type semiconductor.
7. The sensor of claim 1, further comprising a second organic auxiliary layer between the anode and the organic photoelectric conversion layer,
wherein the second organic auxiliary layer comprises a second singlet fission material different from the first singlet fission material
10. The sensor of claim 9, wherein the first light absorbing material and the second light absorbing material are each an organic material configured to absorb light in the green wavelength spectrum.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 5:
5. The sensor of claim 4, wherein
the first singlet fission material and the at least one of the p-type semiconductor or the n-type semiconductor are each an organic material configured to absorb light in the green wavelength spectrum, and
a wavelength (λmax, EQE) exhibiting a maximum external quantum efficiency of the sensor and a wavelength (λmax, IQE) exhibiting a maximum internal quantum efficiency of the sensor each belong to about 510 nm to about 580 nm.
13. An image sensor, comprising:
a substrate, and
the sensor of claim 1 on the substrate.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 13:
13. An image sensor, comprising:
a substrate, and
the sensor of claim 1 on the substrate.
14. The image sensor of claim 13, further comprising a first photodiode and a second photodiode within the substrate,
wherein the first photodiode and the second photodiode each overlap the sensor along a thickness direction of the substrate.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 14:
14. The image sensor of claim 13, further comprising a first photodiode and a second photodiode within the substrate,
wherein the first photodiode and the second photodiode each overlap the sensor along a thickness direction of the substrate.
15. The image sensor of claim 14, further comprising: a first color filter between the sensor and the first photodiode, and
a second color filter between the sensor and the second photodiode.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 15:
15. The image sensor of claim 14, further comprising:
a first color filter between the sensor and the first photodiode, and
a second color filter between the sensor and the second photodiode.
16. The image sensor of claim 13, wherein the sensor comprises: a first sensor configured to photoelectrically convert light of a first wavelength spectrum selected from a red wavelength spectrum, a green wavelength spectrum, and a blue wavelength spectrum,
a second sensor configured to photoelectrically convert light of a second wavelength spectrum selected from the red wavelength spectrum, the green wavelength spectrum, and the blue wavelength spectrum, and
a third sensor configured to photoelectrically convert light of a third wavelength spectrum selected from the red wavelength spectrum, the green wavelength spectrum, and the blue wavelength spectrum,
wherein the first wavelength spectrum, the second wavelength spectrum, and the third wavelength spectrum are different from each other, and
wherein the first sensor, the second sensor, and the third sensor are stacked along a thickness direction of the substrate.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 16:
16. The image sensor of claim 14, wherein the sensor comprises:
a first sensor configured to photoelectrically convert light of a first wavelength spectrum selected from a red wavelength spectrum, a green wavelength spectrum, and a blue wavelength spectrum,
a second sensor configured to photoelectrically convert light of a second wavelength spectrum selected from the red wavelength spectrum, the green wavelength spectrum, and the blue wavelength spectrum, and
a third sensor configured to photoelectrically convert light of a third wavelength spectrum selected from the red wavelength spectrum, the green wavelength spectrum, and the blue wavelength spectrum,
wherein the first wavelength spectrum, the second wavelength spectrum, and the third wavelength spectrum are different from each other, and
wherein the first sensor, the second sensor, and the third sensor are stacked along the thickness direction of the substrate.
17. A display panel, comprising:
a substrate,
a light emitting element array on the substrate, the light emitting element array including
a blue light emitting element configured to emit light in a blue light emitting spectrum,
a green light emitting element configured to emit light in a green light emitting spectrum, and
a red light emitting element configured to emit light in a red light emitting spectrum, and
a sensor array on the substrate, the sensor array including the sensor of claim 1.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 17:
17. A display panel, comprising:
a substrate,
a light emitting element array on the substrate, the light emitting element array including
a blue light emitting element configured to emit light in a blue wavelength spectrum,
a green light emitting element configured to emit light in a green wavelength spectrum, and
a red light emitting element configured to emit light in a red wavelength spectrum, and
a sensor array on the substrate, the sensor array including the sensor of claim 1.
18. A device comprising the sensor of claim 1.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 18:
18. A device comprising the sensor of claim 1.
19. A device comprising the image sensor of claim 13.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 19:
19. A device comprising the image sensor of claim 13.
20. A device comprising the display panel of claim 17.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 20:
20. A device comprising the display panel of claim 17.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami et al. (U.S. 2025/0275469 A1, hereinafter refer to Kawakami) in view of Ujiie et al. (US 2024/0292641 A1, hereinafter refer to Ujiie).
Regarding Claim 1: Kawakami discloses a sensor (see Kawakami, Figs. 1E and 2 as shown below and ¶ [0001]), comprising:
a first electrode (101) and a second electrode (102) (see Kawakami, Fig.1E as shown above),
an organic photoelectric conversion layer (106) between the first electrode (101) and the second electrode (102) (see Kawakami, Fig.1E as shown above, ¶ [0162], and ¶ [0277]- ¶ [0282]), and
an organic auxiliary layer (113 or 103), the organic auxiliary layer (113 or 103) including a singlet fission material (note: “the lowest singlet excitation energy level (S1 level) of the second host material is higher than the S1 level of the first host material, and the lowest triplet excitation energy level (T1 level) of the second host material is higher than the T1 level of the guest material”) (note: “an organic compound (a host material) used in combination with the light-emitting substance is preferably an organic compound that has a high energy level in a singlet excited state and has a low energy level in a triplet excited state”) (see Kawakami, Fig.1E as shown above, ¶ [0006], ¶ [0218]- ¶ [0220], and ¶ [0240]),
wherein the organic auxiliary layer (113 or 103) is at least one of between the first electrode (101) and the organic photoelectric conversion layer (106) (see Kawakami, Fig.1E as shown above, ¶ [0006], ¶ [0218]- ¶ [0220], and ¶ [0240]), or
between the second electrode (102) and the organic photoelectric conversion layer (106) (see Kawakami, Fig.1E as shown above, ¶ [0006], ¶ [0218]- ¶ [0220], and ¶ [0240]).
Kawakami is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the organic photoelectric conversion layer including a p-type semiconductor and an n-type semiconductor.
For support see Ujiie, which teaches wherein the organic photoelectric conversion layer including a p-type semiconductor and an n-type semiconductor (see Ujiie, ¶ [0087], and ¶ [0092]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kawakami and Ujiie to enable the Kawakami’s organic photoelectric conversion layer to include a p-type semiconductor and an n-type semiconductor as taught by Ujiie in order to selectively photoelectrically convert light in a wavelength range that is absorbed by the dye material.
Regarding Claim 2: Kawakami as modified teaches a sensor as set forth inI claim 1 as above. The combination of Kawakami and Ujiie further teaches wherein the organic auxiliary layer (113 or 103) is in contact with at least one of an upper surface of the organic photoelectric conversion layer (106) or a lower surface of the organic photoelectric conversion layer (106) (see Kawakami, Fig.1F as shown above).
Regarding Claim 3: Kawakami as modified teaches a sensor as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Kawakami and Ujiie further teaches wherein the singlet fission material (note: “the lowest singlet excitation energy level (S1 level) of the second host material is higher than the S1 level of the first host material, and the lowest triplet excitation energy level (T1 level) of the second host material is higher than the T1 level of the guest material”) is an organic material that satisfies Relation Formula 1 (see Kawakami, Fig.1E as shown above, ¶ [0006], ¶ [0218]- ¶ [0220], and ¶ [0240]):
[Relation Formula 1]
E(S1)+0.5eV≥2×E(T1)
wherein, in Relation Formula 1,
E(S1) is an excitation energy in a lowest singlet excited state of the singlet fission material,
E(T1) is an excitation energy in a lowest triplet excited state of the singlet fission material, and
E(S1) and E(T1) are DFT calculation values (see Kawakami, Fig.1E as shown above, ¶ [0006], ¶ [0218]- ¶ [0220], and ¶ [0240]).
Note: the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.
Regarding Claim 4: Kawakami as modified teaches a sensor as set forth in claim 3 as above. The combination of Kawakami and Ujiie further teaches wherein the p-type semiconductor and the n-type semiconductor (106) each do not satisfy an energy level of Relation Formula 1 (see Kawakami, Fig.1E as shown above).
Regarding Claim 5: Kawakami as modified teaches a sensor as set forth in claim 3 as above. The combination of Kawakami and Ujiie further teaches wherein the singlet fission material (113 or 103) is in contact with the organic photoelectric conversion layer (106) and is between the first electrode (101) and the organic photoelectric conversion layer (106) (see Kawakami, Fig.1F as shown above), and
a HOMO energy level of the singlet fission material (113 or 103) is equal to or shallower than a HOMO energy level of the p-type semiconductor (106) (see Kawakami, Fig.1F as shown above).
Note: the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.
Regarding Claim 6: Kawakami as modified teaches a sensor as set forth in claim 5 as above. The combination of Kawakami and Ujiie further teaches wherein the HOMO energy level of the singlet fission material (113 or 103) is between the HOMO energy level of the p-type semiconductor (106) and a work function of the first electrode (101) (see Kawakami, Fig.1F as shown above).
Note: the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.
Regarding Claim 7: Kawakami as modified teaches a sensor as set forth in claim 3 as above. The combination of Kawakami and Ujiie further teaches wherein the singlet fission material (113 or 103) is in contact with the organic photoelectric conversion layer (106) between the second electrode (102) and the organic photoelectric conversion layer (106) (see Kawakami, Fig.1F as shown above), and
a LUMO energy level of the singlet fission material (113 or 103) is equal to or deeper than a LUMO energy level of the n-type semiconductor (106) (see Kawakami, Fig.1F as shown above).
Note: the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.
Regarding Claim 8: Kawakami as modified teaches a sensor as set forth in claim 7 as above. The combination of Kawakami and Ujiie further teaches wherein the LUMO energy level of the singlet fission material (113 or 103) is between the LUMO energy level of the n-type semiconductor (106) and a work function of the second electrode (102) (see Kawakami, Fig.1F as shown above).
Note: the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.
Regarding Claim 11: Kawakami as modified teaches a sensor as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Kawakami and Ujiie further teaches wherein a thickness of the organic auxiliary layer (113 or 103) is a same thickness or thinner than a thickness of the organic photoelectric conversion layer (106) (see Kawakami, Fig.1E as shown above).
Regarding Claim 12: Kawakami as modified teaches a sensor as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Kawakami and Ujiie further teaches wherein a charge auxiliary layer (113), wherein the charge auxiliary layer (111/112) is at least one of between the first electrode (101) and the organic auxiliary layer (113) (see Kawakami, Fig.1E as shown above), or
between the second electrode (102) and the organic auxiliary layer (113) (see Kawakami, Fig.1E as shown above).
Regarding Claim 13: Kawakami as modified teaches an image sensor (805) (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above), comprising:
a substrate (510) (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above), and
the sensor (550PS) of claim 1 on the substrate (510) (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 14: Kawakami as modified teaches an image sensor as set forth in claim 13 as above. The combination of Kawakami and Ujiie further teaches wherein a first photodiode (550PS) and a second photodiode (550PS) within the substrate (510) (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above),
wherein the first photodiode (550PS) and the second photodiode (550PS) each overlap the sensor along a thickness direction of the substrate (510) (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 15: Kawakami as modified teaches an image sensor as set forth in claim 14 as above. Kawakami is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a first color filter between the sensor and the first photodiode, and
a second color filter between the sensor and the second photodiode.
For support see Ujiie, which teaches wherein a first color filter (55) between the sensor and the first photodiode (32) (see Ujiie, Fig.17 and ¶ [0197]), and
a second color filter (55) between the sensor and the second photodiode (55) (see Ujiie, Fig.17 and ¶ [0197]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kawakami and Ujiie to enable the first color filter between the sensor and the first photodiode and the second color filter between the sensor and the second photodiode as taught by Ujiie in order to allow the red light (R), green light (G), and the blue light (B) to selectively pass therethrough.
Regarding Claim 17: Kawakami as modified teaches an image sensor as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Kawakami and Ujiie further teaches a display panel (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above), comprising:
a substrate (510) (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above),
a light emitting element array on the substrate (510) (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above), the light emitting element array including
a blue light emitting element (550B) configured to emit light in a blue light emitting spectrum (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above),
a green light emitting element (550G) configured to emit light in a green light emitting spectrum (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above), and
a red light emitting element (550R) configured to emit light in a red light emitting spectrum (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above), and
a sensor array (550PS) on the substrate (510), the sensor array (550PS) including the sensor of claim 1 (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 18: Kawakami as modified teaches a sensor as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Kawakami and Ujiie further teaches a device comprising the sensor of claim 1 (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 19: Kawakami as modified teaches an image sensor as set forth in claim 13 as above. The combination of Kawakami and Ujiie further teaches a cdevice comprising the image sensor of claim 13 (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 20: Kawakami as modified teaches a display panel as set forth in claim 17 as above. The combination of Kawakami and Ujiie further teaches a device comprising the display panel of claim 17 (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above).
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami et al. (U.S. 2025/0275469 A1, hereinafter refer to Kawakami) and Ujiie et al. (US 2024/0292641 A1, hereinafter refer to Ujiie) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Thompson et al. (U.S. 2009/0044864 A1, hereinafter refer to Thompson).
Regarding Claim 9: Kawakami as modified teaches a sensor as applied to claim 1 above. The combination of Kawakami and Ujiie further teaches wherein at least one of the p-type semiconductor or the n-type semiconductor is a first light absorbing material configured to selectively absorb light of a first wavelength spectrum selected from a red wavelength spectrum, a green wavelength spectrum, a blue wavelength spectrum, and an infrared wavelength spectrum (see Ujiie, ¶ [0087], and ¶ [0092]).
The combination of Kawakami and Ujiie is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the singlet fission material is a second light absorbing material configured to absorb light in the first wavelength spectrum.
For support see Thompson, which teaches wherein the singlet fission material is a second light absorbing material configured to absorb light in the first wavelength spectrum (see Thompson, ¶ [0046]- ¶ [0047]).
Thus, the combination of Kawakami and Ujiie teaches the claimed invention except for singlet fission material. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kawakami, Ujiie, and Thompson to enable the Kawakami singlet fission material to absorb light in the first wavelength spectrum as taught by Thompson in order to enhanced/broader light absorption, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
The combination of Kawakami, Ujiie, and Thompson is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the first light absorbing material and the second light absorbing material are different from each other.
However, practicing the combination of Kawakami, Ujiie, and Thompson to enable the at least one of the p-type semiconductor or the n-type semiconductor is a first light absorbing material configured to selectively absorb light of a first wavelength spectrum selected from a red wavelength spectrum, a green wavelength spectrum, a blue wavelength spectrum, and an infrared wavelength spectrum as taught by Ujiie above and the singlet fission material configured to absorb light in the first wavelength spectrum as thaught by Thompson necessarily results the claimed limitation of “the first light absorbing material and the second light absorbing material are different from each other” as now specified claim 9.
Regarding Claim 10: Kawakami as modified teaches a sensor as set forth in claim 9 as above. The combination of Kawakami, Ujiie, and Thompson further teaches wherein the first light absorbing material and the second light absorbing material are each an organic material configured to absorb light in the green wavelength spectrum (see Ujiie, ¶ [0087], and ¶ [0092] and see Thompson, ¶ [0045]- ¶ [0047]).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami et al. (U.S. 2025/0275469 A1, hereinafter refer to Kawakami) and Ujiie et al. (US 2024/0292641 A1, hereinafter refer to Ujiie) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Leem et al. (U.S. 2021/0036061 A1, hereinafter refer to Leem).
Regarding Claim 16: Kawakami as modified teaches an image sensor as set forth in claim 13 as above. The combination of Kawakami and Ujiie further teaches wherein the sensor comprises: a first sensor (550PS) configured to photoelectrically convert light of a first wavelength spectrum selected from a red wavelength spectrum, a green wavelength spectrum, and a blue wavelength spectrum (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above),
a second sensor (550PS) configured to photoelectrically convert light of a second wavelength spectrum selected from the red wavelength spectrum, the green wavelength spectrum, and the blue wavelength spectrum (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above), and
a third sensor (550PS) configured to photoelectrically convert light of a third wavelength spectrum selected from the red wavelength spectrum, the green wavelength spectrum, and the blue wavelength spectrum (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above),
wherein the first wavelength spectrum, the second wavelength spectrum, and the third wavelength spectrum are different from each other (see Kawakami, Figs.1E and 5 as shown above).
The combination of Kawakami and Ujiie is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the first sensor, the second sensor, and the third sensor are stacked along a thickness direction of the substrate.
For support see Leem, which teaches wherein the first sensor (200a), the second sensor (200b), and the third sensor (200c) are stacked along a thickness direction of the substrate (40) (see Kim, Fig.12 as shown below and ¶ [0005]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kawakami, Ujiie, and Leem to enable the first sensor, the second sensor, and the third sensor of the Kawakami’s to be stacked along a thickness direction of the substrate as taught by Leem in order to obtain a sensor that exhibits improved electrical characteristics.
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812