DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over A. E. F. Moone (US 1401429) (“Moone”) in view of Ford et al. (US 6357320) (“Ford”) and Curt 1/4" Safety Pin (Home Depot; accessed 17 June 2022; latest comment: 4 June 2019) (“Curt”).
These rejections are similar to the rejections made in the non-final Office action of 17/382,506, mailed on 24 June 2022.
Moone discloses:
Claim 9: inserting a shaft (45) into a shaft receiver (via 46/47/48/etc.);
Claim 14: connecting the shaft to a wafer pod port comprising a wafer pod (3; intended use) carrying arm configured to carry a wafer pod (arms of 3);
Claim 15: connecting a tilt assembly (6/60’/62’/etc.) to the wafer pod port between the shaft and the wafer pod port;
Claim 16: a wafer pod port configured to receive a wafer pod (3; intended use);
a shaft receiver (via 46/47/48/etc.);
a shaft (45) coupled to the shaft receiver, wherein the wafer pod port is coupled to the shaft receiver through the shaft (FIG. 1);
a pin through the shaft; and
a pin buckle coupled to the pin and extending around the shaft receiver;
Claim 18: a tilt assembly disposed between the shaft and the wafer pod port (6/60’/62’/etc.; FIG. 1);
Claim 19: wherein the wafer pod port comprises a wafer pod carrying arm configured to couple to the wafer pod (arms of 3).
Moone does not directly show:
Claim 9: aligning a hole in the shaft receiver with a hole in the shaft;
inserting a pin through the hole in the shaft receiver and the hole in the shaft after aligning the hole in the shaft receiver with the hole in the shaft;
applying a pin buckle to the pin, the pin buckle extending around the shaft receiver from a first side of the shaft receiver to a second, diametrically opposite, side of the shaft receiver;
Claim 10: wherein applying the pin buckle to the pin comprises:
inserting the pin through a first loop defined at a first end of the pin buckle; and
inserting the pin through a second loop defined at a second end of the pin buckle;
Claim 11: applying pressure to the pin after inserting the pin through the hole in the shaft receiver and the hole in the shaft;
Claim 12: wherein applying pressure to the pin comprises:
applying pressure to the pin in a direction perpendicular to a longest dimension of the pin;
Claim 13: wherein applying pressure to the pin comprises:
applying pressure to the pin at an axial center of the shaft receiver;
Claim 16: a pin through the shaft; and
a pin buckle coupled to the pin and extending around the shaft receiver.
Ford shows a similar device having:
Claim 9: aligning a hole in the shaft receiver (22; holes in 22) with a hole in the shaft (shaft 28 in Ford; hole in 28);
inserting a pin (42) through the hole in the shaft receiver and the hole in the shaft after aligning the hole in the shaft receiver with the hole in the shaft (Fig. 1b);
Claim 11: applying pressure to the pin after inserting the pin through the hole in the shaft receiver and the hole in the shaft (at least capable of applying pressure manually during assembly of apparatus);
Claim 12: wherein applying pressure to the pin comprises:
applying pressure to the pin in a direction perpendicular to a longest dimension of the pin (at least capable of applying pressure manually during assembly of apparatus);
Claim 13: wherein applying pressure to the pin comprises:
applying pressure to the pin at an axial center of the shaft receiver (at least capable of applying pressure manually during assembly of apparatus);
Claim 16: a pin (42) through the shaft;
for the purpose of efficiently replacing a damaged shaft for long life of the apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moone as taught by Ford and include Ford’s similar device having:
Claim 9: aligning a hole in the shaft receiver with a hole in the shaft;
inserting a pin through the hole in the shaft receiver and the hole in the shaft after aligning the hole in the shaft receiver with the hole in the shaft;
Claim 11: applying pressure to the pin after inserting the pin through the hole in the shaft receiver and the hole in the shaft;
Claim 12: wherein applying pressure to the pin comprises:
applying pressure to the pin in a direction perpendicular to a longest dimension of the pin;
Claim 13: wherein applying pressure to the pin comprises:
applying pressure to the pin at an axial center of the shaft receiver;
Claim 16: a pin through the shaft;
for the purpose of efficiently replacing a damaged shaft for long life of the apparatus.
Curt shows a similar device having:
Claim 9: applying a pin buckle to the pin (C portion), the pin buckle extending around the shaft receiver from a first side of the shaft receiver to a second, diametrically opposite, side of the shaft receiver (two loops on C portion; see the picture of the Safety Pin);
Claim 10: wherein applying the pin buckle to the pin comprises:
inserting the pin through a first loop defined at a first end of the pin buckle; and
inserting the pin through a second loop defined at a second end of the pin buckle (two loops on C portion);
Claim 16: a pin buckle coupled to the pin and extending around the shaft receiver (two loops on C portion; see the picture of the Safety Pin);
for the purpose of keeping the pin in place for insuring safety of the rotating machine. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moone and Ford as taught by Curt and include Curt’s similar device having:
Claim 9: applying a pin buckle to the pin, the pin buckle extending around the shaft receiver from a first side of the shaft receiver to a second, diametrically opposite, side of the shaft receiver;
Claim 10: wherein applying the pin buckle to the pin comprises:
inserting the pin through a first loop defined at a first end of the pin buckle; and
inserting the pin through a second loop defined at a second end of the pin buckle;
Claim 16: a pin buckle coupled to the pin and extending around the shaft receiver;
for the purpose of keeping the pin in place for insuring safety of the rotating machine.
Double Patenting
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, (loop limitation) and 13 (pin/etc. limitation) of U.S. Patent No. 11,600,506 (“USPN1”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims fit in (are broader than) the claims of USPN1.
Claims 6, 10, and 16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15 (belt limitation), 1 (loop limitation), and 9 (pin buckle), respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,002,699 (“USPN2”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims fit in (are broader than) the claims of USPN2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Independent Claim 1 overcomes the prior art since it requires inserting a shaft into a shaft receiver, aligning a hole in the shaft receiver with a hole in the shaft, inserting a pin through the hole in the shaft receiver and the hole in the shaft after aligning the hole in the shaft receiver with the hole in the shaft and applying pressure to the pin through a pin screw extending through the shaft receiver and the shaft in combination with the other claim limitations.
The prior art of record does not disclose this combination of limitations. For example, Moone discloses shaft 45 and a shaft receiver (via 46/47/48/etc.), however, Moone does not disclose inserting shaft 45 into a shaft receiver, aligning a hole in the shaft receiver with a hole in shaft 45, inserting a pin through the hole in the shaft receiver and the hole in shaft 45 after aligning the hole in the shaft receiver with the hole in shaft 45 and applying pressure to the pin through a pin screw extending through the shaft receiver and shaft 45 in combination with the other claim limitations. Similarly, other prior references do not disclose all the limitations of the independent claim. Therefore, the claims are allowed.
Claims 17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Moone does not disclose a gear coupled to the shaft receiver, wherein a pin screw extends through the gear and the shaft receiver or a pin screw through the shaft receiver and through the shaft, wherein the pin screw abuts a side surface of the pin.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 760158 discloses endless member e.
/Gerald McClain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652