DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (CN 116322202 A, hereinafter refer to Wei).
U.S. 2024/0315103 (hereinafter refer to Wei) is relied upon solely for the English language translation of CN 116322202 A.
Regarding Claim 1: Wei discloses a display panel (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown below and abstract), comprising
a substrate (00) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above);
a light-emitting unit (11/12/13), arranged on a side of the substrate (00), wherein the light-emitting unit (11/12/13) comprises a plurality of first light-emitting units (11 or 13) that emits light of a same color (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above); and
a touch component (20), arranged on a side of the light-emitting unit (11/12/13) away from the substrate (00) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above),
wherein the touch component (20) comprises a touch trace (21/22) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above);
the touch trace (22) comprises a first segment (221) and a second segment (222) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above);
the first segment (221) and the second segment (222) are distributed along a periphery of a same first light-emitting unit (11 or 13) of the plurality of first light-emitting units (11 or 13) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above);
the first segment (221) and the second segment (222) extend in different directions (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above); and
the first segment (221) is provided with a first slit (K) that extends through the first segment (221) in a thickness direction of the first segment (221) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above); and
a plurality of first segments (221) on peripheries of the plurality of first light-emitting units (11 or 13) extends in a same direction (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 2: Wei discloses a display panel as set forth in claim 1 as above. Wei further teaches wherein on a periphery of a same first light-emitting unit (11 or 13), more than two first segments (221) are arranged extending in a same direction (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 3: Wei discloses a display panel as set forth in claim 2 as above. Wei further teaches wherein the touch trace further comprises two first segments (221) arranged oppositely to each other along a first direction and two second segments (222) arranged oppositely to each other along a second direction (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above);
the two first segments (221) and the two second segments (222) are alternately connected end-to-end around the first light-emitting unit (11 or 13) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above); and
the first direction intersects with the second direction (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 4: Wei discloses a display panel as set forth in claim 1 as above. Wei further teaches wherein the light-emitting unit (11/12/13) further comprises a plurality of second light-emitting units (13) that emits light of a same color and a plurality of third light-emitting units (12) that emits light of a same color; and the first segment (221) is distributed on a periphery of a second light-emitting unit (13) of the plurality of second light-emitting units (13) and/or a third light-emitting unit (12) of the plurality of third light-emitting units (11/12/13) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 14 as shown above); or
the touch trace (22) comprises a third segment (223) distributed on a periphery of a same second light-emitting unit (13) and/or a same third light-emitting unit (12) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 14 as shown above);
an extension direction of the third segment (223) is different from an extension direction of the first segment (221) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 14 as shown above); and
the third segment (223) is provided with a second slit (K) that extends through the third segment (223) in a thickness direction of the third segment (223) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 14 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 5: Wei discloses a display panel as set forth in claim 1 as above. Wei further teaches wherein a first light-emitting unit (11) of the plurality of first light-emitting units (11/12/13) is a red light-emitting unit (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above); and
the first segment (221) on a periphery of a plurality of red light-emitting units (11) are provided with the first slit (K) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above); or
the light-emitting unit further comprises a red light-emitting unit emitting light in a different color than the first light-emitting unit;
the touch trace comprises a ring segment located on a periphery of a red light-emitting unit of the plurality of red light-emitting units; and
the ring segment is in a closed ring shape.
Regarding Claim 6: Wei discloses a display panel as set forth in claim 1 as above. Wei further teaches wherein quantities of first slits (K) on the periphery of the plurality of first light-emitting units (11 or 13) are identical (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 12: Wei discloses a display panel as set forth in claim 1 as above. Wei further teaches wherein at least a portion of a surface of the touch trace (22) away from the light-emitting unit (11/12/13) is provided with a protrusion structure (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above and Fig.10-13).
Regarding Claim 13: Wei discloses a display panel as set forth in claim 12 as above. Wei further teaches wherein the light-emitting unit (11/12/13) comprises a red light-emitting unit (11) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above and Fig.10-13); and
at least a portion of a surface of the touch trace (22) located on a periphery of the red light-emitting unit (11) includes the protrusion structure (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above and Fig.10-13).
Regarding Claim 14: Wei discloses a display panel as set forth in claim 12 as above. Wei further teaches wherein the protrusion structure is provided on the first segment (221) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above and Fig.10-13); and
the protrusion structure is located on both sides of the first slit (K) in an extension direction of the first segment (221) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above and Fig.10-13).
Regarding Claim 15: Wei discloses a display panel as set forth in claim 12 as above. Wei further teaches multiple protrusion structures, wherein the multiple protrusion structures are spaced apart along an extension direction of the touch trace (22) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above and Fig.10-13).
Regarding Claim 16: Wei discloses a display panel as set forth in claim 1 as above. Wei further teaches wherein the touch trace (22/21) encloses to form a hollow area; an orthographic projection of the light-emitting unit (11/12/13) on the substrate (00) is located in an orthographic projection of the hollow area on the substrate (00) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above); and
the first segment (221) is a portion of the touch trace (21/22) that encloses to form the hollow area (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 17: Wei discloses a display panel as set forth in claim 1 as above. Wei further teaches wherein one first slit (K) is provided on a same first segment (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above); or
multiple first slits (k) are provided on the first segment (221) and are spaced apart in an extension direction of the first segment (221) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 18: Wei discloses a display apparatus (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above and abstract), comprising:
a display panel (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above and abstract), comprising
a substrate (00) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above);
a light-emitting unit (11/12/13), arranged on a side of the substrate (00), wherein the light-emitting unit (11/12/13) comprises a plurality of first light-emitting units (11 or 13) that emits light of a same color (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above); and
a touch component (20), arranged on a side of the light-emitting unit (11/12/13) away from the substrate (00) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above),
wherein the touch component (20) comprises a touch trace (21/22) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above);
the touch trace (21/22) comprises a first segment (221) and a second segment (222) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above);
the first segment (221) and the second segment (222) are distributed along a periphery of a same first light-emitting unit (11 or 13) of the plurality of first light-emitting units (11/12/13) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above);
the first segment (221) and the second segment (222) extend in different directions; and the first segment (221) is provided with a first slit (K) that extends through the first segment (221) in a thickness direction of the first segment (221) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above); and
a plurality of first segments (221) on peripheries of the plurality of first light- emitting units (11/12/13) extends in a same direction (see Wei, Figs.3 and 5-6 as shown above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (CN 116322202 A, hereinafter refer to Wei) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fang et al. (WO 2023/184595 A1, hereinafter refer to Fang).
U.S. 2024/0315103 (hereinafter refer to Wei) is relied upon solely for the English language translation of CN 116322202 A.
Regarding Claim 7: Wei discloses a display panel as applied to claim 1 above. Wei further teaches wherein the touch trace (22) comprises a plurality of touch electrodes (21) (see Wei, Figs.3 and 4 as shown above).
Wei is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein at least two adjacent touch electrodes are spaced apart to form a separation slit; and
at least one first slit is reused as the separation slit.
For support see Fang, which teaches wherein at least two adjacent touch electrodes (10 and 20) are spaced apart to form a separation slit (see Fang, Figs.2 and 8 as shown below and abstract); and
at least one first slit is reused as the separation slit (see Fang, Figs.2 and 8 as shown below and abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wei and Fang to enable at least two adjacent touch electrodes are spaced apart to form a separation slit; and at least one first slit is reused as the separation slit as taught by Fang in order to improve the phenomenon of uneven display of the touch display panel.
Regarding Claim 8: Wei as modified teaches a display panel as set forth in claim 7 as above. The combination of Wei and Fang further teaches wherein the plurality of touch electrodes (10/40) comprises an effective electrode (10) and a dummy electrode (40) (see Fang, Fig.11 as shown above); and
the dummy electrode (40) comprises at least one first segment (421/422) (see Fang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 9: Wei as modified teaches a display panel as set forth in claim 8 as above. The combination of Wei and Fang further teaches wherein the effective electrode (10) comprises a touch sensing electrode (10) and/or a touch driving electrode (10) (see Fang, Fig.11 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 10: Wei as modified teaches a display panel as set forth in claim 7 as above. The combination of Wei and Fang further teaches wherein at least one touch electrode (10) comprises a through-hole that traverses the touch electrode (10) (see Fang, Figs.8 and 11 as shown above); and
a plurality of through-holes are spaced apart on the touch electrode (10) (see Fang, Figs.8 and 11 as shown above).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (CN 116322202 A, hereinafter refer to Wei) and Fang et al. (WO 2023/184595 A1, hereinafter refer to Fang) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of BOK (U.S. 2023/0134963 A1, hereinafter refer to BOK).
U.S. 2024/0315103 (hereinafter refer to Wei) is relied upon solely for the English language translation of CN 116322202 A.
Regarding Claim 11: Wei as modified teaches a display panel as applied to claim 7 above. The combination of Wei and Fang is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a first touch layer and a second touch layer, wherein the plurality of touch electrodes is located on the first touch layer; the second touch layer is provided with a bridging part; and at least two adjacent touch electrodes are electrically connected to each other through the bridging part; and
a touch electrode of the plurality of touch electrodes comprises a touch area and a bridging arca; an orthographic projection of the bridging arca on the substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of the bridging part on the substrate; an orthographic projection of the touch area on the substrate is located outside the orthographic projection of the bridging part on the substrate; and the first segment is located in the touch area.
For support see BOK, which teaches wherein a first touch layer (CNT1/ CNT2) and a second touch layer (210), wherein the plurality of touch electrodes (CNT1/ CNT2) is located on the first touch layer (CNT1/ CNT2) (see BOK, Figs.5-6 as shown below and ¶ [0005]);
the second touch layer (210) is provided with a bridging part (see BOK, Figs.5-6 as shown below and ¶ [0005]); and
at least two adjacent touch electrodes (CNT1/ CNT2) are electrically connected to each other through the bridging part (see BOK, Figs.5-6 as shown below and ¶ [0005]); and
a touch electrode of the plurality of touch electrodes (CNT1/ CNT2) comprises a touch area and a bridging area (see BOK, Figs.5-6 as shown below and ¶ [0005]);
an orthographic projection of the bridging arca on the substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of the bridging part on the substrate (see BOK, Figs.5-6 as shown below and ¶ [0005]);
an orthographic projection of the touch area on the substrate is located outside the orthographic projection of the bridging part on the substrate (see BOK, Figs.5-6 as shown below and ¶ [0005]); and
the first segment is located in the touch area (see BOK, Figs.5-6 as shown below and ¶ [0005]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wei, Fang, and BOK to enable first touch layer and a second touch layer, wherein the plurality of touch electrodes located on the first touch layer; the second touch layer provided with a bridging part; and at least two adjacent touch electrodes are electrically connected to each other through the bridging part; and the touch electrode of the plurality of touch electrodes to comprise a touch area and a bridging arca; an orthographic projection of the bridging arca on the substrate overlaps with an orthographic projection of the bridging part on the substrate; an orthographic projection of the touch area on the substrate is located outside the orthographic projection of the bridging part on the substrate; and the first segment is located in the touch area as taught by BOK in order to obtain a display device configured to allow light reflected by a user's fingerprint to be incident on optical sensors without being blocked by electrodes within the display device.
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812