Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3, 17, 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20180190170 A1) in view of Lee et al. (KR 20190070036 A) hereafter referred to as Lee
In regard to claim 1 Yang teaches a [“Referring to FIG. 1, a mother substrate 100 includes a plurality of cells 10 each corresponding to the respective organic light-emitting panels. That is, the plurality of cells 10 is cut into individual cells, to form a plurality of organic light-emitting panels or OLED apparatuses”] display device comprising:
a display area [“Although the cells 10 are shown as having a rectangular shape in FIG. 1, this is merely illustrative” “Referring to FIG. 2, the first cell 10_L and the second cell 10_R are shown with a scribing line SL therebetween. Each of the first cell 10_L and the second cell 10_R may be referred to as a display area”] and a non-display [i.e. the surrounding area see “scribing line SL is defined between the first cell 10_L and the second cell 10_R. After forming the encapsulation layer 20 on the substrate 11, the substrate 11 may be diced along the scribing line SL”] area;
a pixel electrode [“In the display area of each of the cells 10 included in the substrate 11, a pixel driver circuit and an organic light emitting diode (ED) are formed. The pixel driver circuit may include a thin-film transistor (TFT), a capacitor, etc. The organic light emitting diode includes an anode, an organic emissive layer, and a cathode” i.e. the anode is the pixel electrode see “An anode 17 is disposed on the planarizing layer 16. The anode 17 may be in contact with the source and drain electrode 14 through a contact hole in the second insulating layer 15” “A bank 18 is disposed on the anode 17 formed in the cell 10. The bank 18 may be formed of, but is not limited to, polyimide, acryl resin or benzocyclobutene (BCB) resin. And, an organic emissive layer is disposed on the bank 18 and on the portion of the anode 17 not covered by the bank 18. The cathode is disposed on the organic emissive layer and the bank 18” ] disposed on a substrate [“substrate 11 is formed of an insulative material to support various components of the OLED device”] in the display area;
a light emitting layer [“organic emissive layer”] disposed on the pixel electrode;
another electrode [“The cathode is disposed on the organic emissive layer and the bank 18”] disposed on the light emitting layer;
an encapsulation organic film [“In order to protect the pixel driving circuit and the organic light emitting diode, the encapsulation layer 20 is disposed so as to surround each of the first cell 10_L and the second cell 10_R. The scribing line SL is defined between the first cell 10_L and the second cell 10_R. After forming the encapsulation layer 20 on the substrate 11, the substrate 11 may be diced along the scribing line SL” “encapsulation layer 20 includes a first encapsulation layer 21, a second encapsulation layer 22, and a third encapsulation layer 23” “the second encapsulation layer 22 formed of an organic material is disposed between the first encapsulation layer 21 and the third encapsulation layer 23”] disposed on the another electrode; and
but does not teach that the another electrode is a common electrode and a detection pattern disposed in the non-display area.
See Yang teaches inspection of encapsulation, see Figs. 4-7, see “After the encapsulation layer 20 is formed, the second encapsulation layer among the encapsulation layer 20 is inspected to detect whether there is a defect. The second encapsulation layer 22 is inspected among other layers because the second encapsulation layer 22 frequently causes a defect due to the thickness difference” “inspection apparatus 200 may include an auto focusing unit mounted on the horizontal structure 230 so that it can adjust the focus on the inspection object in real-time, which can be changed while the optical inspection unit 240 moves along with the inspection object, by adjusting the distance to the inspection object” “line scan camera, which is the photographing unit 243, displays a color image” “the detection unit 248 converts the intensity of the light of the inspection object 250 received from the photographing unit 243 into the thickness of the inspection object 250. If there is a defect in the inspection object 250, the intensity of the light becomes larger than the predetermined intensity of the light of the inspection object 250, and accordingly there is a difference in thickness of the inspection object 250”, see “After forming the encapsulation layer on the mother substrate, a scribing process is carried out for cutting the mother substrate into cells”.
See Lee also teaches optical effects in the non-display area, see “4A and 4B are views showing a display device according to an embodiment of the present invention” “the OLED display according to an embodiment of the present invention includes a base layer 401 having a display area A / A for displaying an image and a non-display area I / A surrounding the display area; And a reflective layer 412 " provided to compensate for a difference in color tone appearing at the boundary between the display area A / A and the non-display area I / A” “encapsulation layer 120 is located on the second electrode 116” “organic film 122 and inorganic films 121-1 and 121-2” “the non-display area I / A of FIG. 4A further includes a special structure” see “the top reflective material may be an anode 412 of an organic light emitting diode. This is because, if the display device is a top emission type, the anode includes a reflective metal (for example, Ag). Accordingly, the reflective layer 412 " may be the same material layer formed in the same process as the anode of the organic light emitting diode in the display area. At this time, the reflective layer 412 '' may be positioned between the anode 412 of the display area A / A and the connection metal layer 412 'of the non-display area I / A. The connection metal layer 412 'connects the other portion 408' of the low-level power supply wiring with the cathode 416 of the organic light emitting diode as a part of the low-level power supply (VSS) wiring. Level power supply lines 408 'and 412' may extend from the connection interface (e.g., PAD, etc.) to the display area (or pixel circuit) via the non-display area. have. The connection metal layer 412 'is in contact with another metal layer 408' constituting the low-level power supply wiring and extends on the outermost sidewall of the planarization layer 407 to form a cathode 416 ). ≪ / RTI > The other metal layer 408 'may be formed in the same process with the same material as the source / drain electrodes of the TFT.
The one electrode 412 of the organic light emitting diode is referred to as a first anode metal; The connecting metal layer 412 'is referred to as a second anode metal; If the reflective layer 412 " positioned between the first anode metal and the second anode metal is referred to as a third anode metal, the display device according to the embodiment of the present invention may include one electrode of the organic light emitting diode A second anode metal 412 'forming a part of a conductive line for transmitting a low-level power supply (VSS) to the organic light emitting diode; And a third anode metal 412 " positioned between the first anode metal and the second anode metal.
The third anode metal 412 '' is provided so as to compensate for the color difference appearing in the outline of the display area A / A. The third anode metal 412 '' is isolated without being connected to the first anode metal 412 and the second anode metal 412 '. Also, the third anode metal 412 '', that is, the reflective layer 412 '', is not electrically connected to any power source but is electrically floating”.
See in Lee Fig. 3A “the inventors have found that in a specific region (Z) in which the color difference occurs, the stack structure is different from the surrounding region, resulting in the above phenomenon. That is, it is analyzed that the difference in color tone occurs because the upper material of the specific region Z is different from the surrounding region, and the nature of reflecting external light incident on the display device is also different”.
In both Yang and Lee the anode is driven by a pixel circuit i.e. the selection is on the anode side, see Lee the “connection metal layer 412 'is in contact with another metal layer 408' constituting the low-level power supply wiring and extends on the outermost sidewall of the planarization layer 407 to form a cathode 416” i.e. the cathode for the pixels is commonly connected to low power supply of VSS, and see that if the teachings of Lee is applied to Yang, the non-display area structures of Lee can not only provide connectivity for the cathode in common configuration, but also adjust the detection of encapsulation in the non-display area, see Yang “a dam 19 may be disposed around the cell 10 to limit the forming region in the second encapsulation layer 22”, see in Lee Fig. 4B the 412” and 412’ are in the encapsulation inside the dam 490.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Yang to include that the another electrode is a common electrode and a detection pattern disposed in the non-display area.
Thus it would be obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention.
The motivation is to get easy and good cathode connectivity and to adjust detection of encapsulation in the non-display area to obtain best encapsulation results before cutting the mother substrate into cells.
In regard to claim 2 Yang and Lee as combined teaches wherein at least a portion of the detection pattern overlaps [see Yang “After forming the encapsulation layer on the mother substrate, a scribing process is carried out for cutting the mother substrate into cells” the encapsulation is in the non-display area, see claim 1 combination, the non-display area structures of Lee can not only provide connectivity for the cathode in common configuration, but also adjust the detection of encapsulation in the non-display area] the encapsulation organic film.
In regard to claim 4 Yang and Lee as combined does not state wherein the detection pattern includes at least one of chromium, molybdenum, black ink or black dye, carbon black, lactam black, perylene black, and aniline black.
However see Yang materials for electrodes “source and drain electrode 14 may be formed of one of molybdenum (Mo), aluminum (Al), chromium (Cr), gold (Au), titanium (Ti), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd) and copper (Cu), an alloy of two or more thereof, or a multi-layer thereof”.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Yang to include wherein the detection pattern includes at least one of chromium, molybdenum, black ink or black dye, carbon black, lactam black, perylene black, and aniline black.
Thus it would be obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention.
The motivation is that chromium, molybdenum are known to be excellent electrode material for use by Yang.
In regard to claim 5 Yang and Lee as combined teaches wherein the detection pattern includes a plurality of sub-patterns [see combination, see Lee Fig. 4B, see 412” are floating islands separated from 412’ and 412] spaced apart from each other.
In regard to claim 6 Yang and Lee as combined teaches further comprising [see Yang “a dam 19 may be disposed around the cell 10 to limit the forming region in the second encapsulation layer 22”, see combination Lee Fig. 4B the 412” and 412’ are in the encapsulation inside the dam 490]: a dam disposed in the non-display area.
In regard to claim 7 Yang and Lee as combined teaches wherein the dam is disposed in the non-display area [see Yang “a dam 19 may be disposed around the cell 10 to limit the forming region in the second encapsulation layer 22”, see combination Lee Fig. 4B the 412” and 412’ are in the encapsulation inside the dam 490] so as to surround the display area.
In regard to claim 8 Yang and Lee as combined teaches wherein the dam includes: a first dam [see Yang “a dam 19 may be disposed around the cell 10 to limit the forming region in the second encapsulation layer 22”, see combination Lee Fig. 4B the 412” and 412’ are in the encapsulation inside the dam 490] disposed in the non-display area so as to surround the display area; and a second dam [see Yang “Although two dams 19 are shown in FIG. 3, the number of the dams is not limited to two. For example, one or more dams may be formed and is not limited the numbers of the dams”] disposed in the non-display area so as to surround the first dam.
In regard to claim 9 Yang and Lee as combined teaches wherein the detection pattern is disposed between [see Yang “a dam 19 may be disposed around the cell 10 to limit the forming region in the second encapsulation layer 22”, see combination Lee Fig. 4B the 412” and 412’ are in the encapsulation inside the dam 490] the display area and the dam.
In regard to claim 10 Yang and Lee as combined teaches wherein the detection pattern has [see Yang “a dam 19 may be disposed around the cell 10 to limit the forming region in the second encapsulation layer 22”, see combination Lee Fig. 4B the 412” and 412’ are in the encapsulation inside the dam 490, see that the thickness of 412” and 412’ are just the thickness for electrical conduction, however the height of the dam has to block the encapsulation which is even higher than 412” and 412’, see Yang “as the height of the second encapsulation layer 22 increases, the number of the dam 19 or the height of the dam 19 also has to be increased”] a smaller height or a smaller thickness than the dam.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Lee as combined and further in view of Goshi et al. (KR 20200085842 A) hereafter referred to as Goshi
In regard to claim 11 Yang and Lee as combined does not state wherein the encapsulation organic film includes a monomer.
See Yang “second encapsulation layer 22 may be formed of an organic material and may be formed as a transparent film. For example, the second encapsulation layer 22 may be formed of, but is not limited to, one of silicon oxycarbide (SiOCz), acrylic resin, and epoxy resin”.
See Goshi “When the partial encapsulant layer 20 contains an acrylic resin as a thermoplastic resin, the acrylic polymer constituting the acrylic resin preferably contains the most monomer units derived from (meth)acrylic acid esters in mass ratio”.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Yang to include wherein the encapsulation organic film includes a monomer.
Thus it would be obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention.
The motivation is that acrylic resin comprising monomer units is known to give good results as encapsulant.
Claim(s) 12-16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20180190170 A1) in view of Lee et al. (KR 20190070036 A) hereafter referred to as Lee
In regard to claim 12 Yang teaches a method for detecting [“FIG. 4 is a flowchart for illustrating the manufacturing and inspection procedure of an organic light-emitting panel according to one or more embodiments of the present disclosure. The manufacturing process of organic light-emitting panels will be described with reference to FIGS. 1 to 3, and an inspection method according to the manufacturing process of organic light-emitting panels will be described”] a position of an [“After the encapsulation layer 20 is formed, the second encapsulation layer among the encapsulation layer 20 is inspected to detect whether there is a defect” “In detail, the optical inspection unit 240 scans along the inspection area of the inspection object 250 once in the x-axis or the y-axis direction” “According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, it is possible to detect a defect due to variations in the thickness of an encapsulation layer by detecting a defect in the encapsulation layer with a thickness converted in accordance with the intensity of the light. That is, if the encapsulation layer is formed by ink-jet printing, it is possible to detect defects due to particles, defects caused when the encapsulation layer is not applied or insufficiently applied” see that position of defect such as not applied is detected ] encapsulation film of a display device,
comprising:
preparing a display panel [“Referring to FIG. 1, a mother substrate 100 includes a plurality of cells 10 each corresponding to the respective organic light-emitting panels. That is, the plurality of cells 10 is cut into individual cells, to form a plurality of organic light-emitting panels or OLED apparatuses”] including a substrate [“substrate 11 is formed of an insulative material to support various components of the OLED device”], a pixel electrode [“In the display area of each of the cells 10 included in the substrate 11, a pixel driver circuit and an organic light emitting diode (ED) are formed. The pixel driver circuit may include a thin-film transistor (TFT), a capacitor, etc. The organic light emitting diode includes an anode, an organic emissive layer, and a cathode” i.e. the anode is the pixel electrode see “An anode 17 is disposed on the planarizing layer 16. The anode 17 may be in contact with the source and drain electrode 14 through a contact hole in the second insulating layer 15” “A bank 18 is disposed on the anode 17 formed in the cell 10. The bank 18 may be formed of, but is not limited to, polyimide, acryl resin or benzocyclobutene (BCB) resin. And, an organic emissive layer is disposed on the bank 18 and on the portion of the anode 17 not covered by the bank 18. The cathode is disposed on the organic emissive layer and the bank 18” ] disposed on the substrate, a light emitting layer [“organic emissive layer”] disposed on the pixel electrode, another electrode [“The cathode is disposed on the organic emissive layer and the bank 18”] disposed on the light emitting layer, and an encapsulation organic film [“In order to protect the pixel driving circuit and the organic light emitting diode, the encapsulation layer 20 is disposed so as to surround each of the first cell 10_L and the second cell 10_R. The scribing line SL is defined between the first cell 10_L and the second cell 10_R. After forming the encapsulation layer 20 on the substrate 11, the substrate 11 may be diced along the scribing line SL” “encapsulation layer 20 includes a first encapsulation layer 21, a second encapsulation layer 22, and a third encapsulation layer 23” “the second encapsulation layer 22 formed of an organic material is disposed between the first encapsulation layer 21 and the third encapsulation layer 23”] disposed on the another electrode;
irradiating light to [“Referring to FIG. 6, the light from the light sources 245 is reflected by the mirror 247 toward the inspection object 250” “The wavelength of the light from the light source 245 may be a wavelength of visible light to infrared light, and may range from 400 nm to 900 nm”. The Examiner notes that 400 nm is the upper wavelength limit of ultraviolet light, thus 399.99 nm is ultraviolet .] the encapsulation organic film;
capturing an image [“The reflective light reflected from the inspection object 250 passes through the mirror 247 again and is transmitted to the photographing unit” “the detection unit 248 extracts an image of the inspection object 250”] of the encapsulation organic film in a state [see Fig. 7] in which the light is irradiated to the encapsulation organic film; and
confirming the encapsulation organic film [“After the encapsulation layer 20 is formed, the second encapsulation layer among the encapsulation layer 20 is inspected to detect whether there is a defect” “In detail, the optical inspection unit 240 scans along the inspection area of the inspection object 250 once in the x-axis or the y-axis direction” “According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, it is possible to detect a defect due to variations in the thickness of an encapsulation layer by detecting a defect in the encapsulation layer with a thickness converted in accordance with the intensity of the light. That is, if the encapsulation layer is formed by ink-jet printing, it is possible to detect defects due to particles, defects caused when the encapsulation layer is not applied or insufficiently applied” see that position of defect such as not applied is detected ] based on the captured image,
but does not state that the another electrode is a common electrode and that the light is ultraviolet.
See Yang teaches inspection of encapsulation, see Figs. 4-7, see “After the encapsulation layer 20 is formed, the second encapsulation layer among the encapsulation layer 20 is inspected to detect whether there is a defect. The second encapsulation layer 22 is inspected among other layers because the second encapsulation layer 22 frequently causes a defect due to the thickness difference” “inspection apparatus 200 may include an auto focusing unit mounted on the horizontal structure 230 so that it can adjust the focus on the inspection object in real-time, which can be changed while the optical inspection unit 240 moves along with the inspection object, by adjusting the distance to the inspection object” “line scan camera, which is the photographing unit 243, displays a color image” “the detection unit 248 converts the intensity of the light of the inspection object 250 received from the photographing unit 243 into the thickness of the inspection object 250. If there is a defect in the inspection object 250, the intensity of the light becomes larger than the predetermined intensity of the light of the inspection object 250, and accordingly there is a difference in thickness of the inspection object 250”, see “After forming the encapsulation layer on the mother substrate, a scribing process is carried out for cutting the mother substrate into cells”.
See Lee also teaches optical effects in the non-display area, see “4A and 4B are views showing a display device according to an embodiment of the present invention” “the OLED display according to an embodiment of the present invention includes a base layer 401 having a display area A / A for displaying an image and a non-display area I / A surrounding the display area; And a reflective layer 412 " provided to compensate for a difference in color tone appearing at the boundary between the display area A / A and the non-display area I / A” “encapsulation layer 120 is located on the second electrode 116” “organic film 122 and inorganic films 121-1 and 121-2” “the non-display area I / A of FIG. 4A further includes a special structure” see “the top reflective material may be an anode 412 of an organic light emitting diode. This is because, if the display device is a top emission type, the anode includes a reflective metal (for example, Ag). Accordingly, the reflective layer 412 " may be the same material layer formed in the same process as the anode of the organic light emitting diode in the display area. At this time, the reflective layer 412 '' may be positioned between the anode 412 of the display area A / A and the connection metal layer 412 'of the non-display area I / A. The connection metal layer 412 'connects the other portion 408' of the low-level power supply wiring with the cathode 416 of the organic light emitting diode as a part of the low-level power supply (VSS) wiring. Level power supply lines 408 'and 412' may extend from the connection interface (e.g., PAD, etc.) to the display area (or pixel circuit) via the non-display area. have. The connection metal layer 412 'is in contact with another metal layer 408' constituting the low-level power supply wiring and extends on the outermost sidewall of the planarization layer 407 to form a cathode 416 ). ≪ / RTI > The other metal layer 408 'may be formed in the same process with the same material as the source / drain electrodes of the TFT.
The one electrode 412 of the organic light emitting diode is referred to as a first anode metal; The connecting metal layer 412 'is referred to as a second anode metal; If the reflective layer 412 " positioned between the first anode metal and the second anode metal is referred to as a third anode metal, the display device according to the embodiment of the present invention may include one electrode of the organic light emitting diode A second anode metal 412 'forming a part of a conductive line for transmitting a low-level power supply (VSS) to the organic light emitting diode; And a third anode metal 412 " positioned between the first anode metal and the second anode metal.
The third anode metal 412 '' is provided so as to compensate for the color difference appearing in the outline of the display area A / A. The third anode metal 412 '' is isolated without being connected to the first anode metal 412 and the second anode metal 412 '. Also, the third anode metal 412 '', that is, the reflective layer 412 '', is not electrically connected to any power source but is electrically floating”.
See in Lee Fig. 3A “the inventors have found that in a specific region (Z) in which the color difference occurs, the stack structure is different from the surrounding region, resulting in the above phenomenon. That is, it is analyzed that the difference in color tone occurs because the upper material of the specific region Z is different from the surrounding region, and the nature of reflecting external light incident on the display device is also different”.
In both Yang and Lee the anode is driven by a pixel circuit i.e. the selection is on the anode side, see Lee the “connection metal layer 412 'is in contact with another metal layer 408' constituting the low-level power supply wiring and extends on the outermost sidewall of the planarization layer 407 to form a cathode 416” i.e. the cathode for the pixels is commonly connected to low power supply of VSS, and see that if the teachings of Lee is applied to Yang, the non-display area structures of Lee can not only provide connectivity for the cathode in common configuration, but also adjust the detection of encapsulation in the non-display area, see Yang “a dam 19 may be disposed around the cell 10 to limit the forming region in the second encapsulation layer 22”, see in Lee Fig. 4B the 412” and 412’ are in the encapsulation inside the dam 490.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Yang to include that the another electrode is a common electrode.
Thus it would be obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention.
The motivation is to get easy and good cathode connectivity .
Yang and Lee as combined does not state that the light is ultraviolet.
However see “The wavelength of the light from the light source 245 may be a wavelength of visible light to infrared light, and may range from 400 nm to 900 nm. The light source 245 can increase the range of the wavelength so as to include the visible light and the infrared light and may use infrared rays for the inspection object which is out of range of the visible light, thereby improving the visibility. More than one light source 245 may be provided. The plurality of light sources may be red, green, blue, and white light sources, respectively”.
The Examiner notes that 400 nm is the upper wavelength limit of ultraviolet light, thus 399.99 nm is ultraviolet . The Examiner notes that in terms of spatial resolution, for any optical system the resolution is a function of the wavelength of the light i.e. a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use “irradiating ultraviolet ”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
In regard to claim 13 Yang and Lee as combined teaches wherein the irradiating of the ultraviolet includes irradiating [see claim 12 Aller, see that 399.99 nm is near ultraviolet] near ultraviolet.
In regard to claim 14 Yang and Lee as combined teaches [see Yang “The reflective light reflected from the inspection object 250 passes through the mirror 247 again and is transmitted to the photographing unit” “the detection unit 248 extracts an image of the inspection object 250” “In detail, the optical inspection unit 240 scans along the inspection area of the inspection object 250 once in the x-axis or the y-axis direction” “According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, it is possible to detect a defect due to variations in the thickness of an encapsulation layer by detecting a defect in the encapsulation layer with a thickness converted in accordance with the intensity of the light. That is, if the encapsulation layer is formed by ink-jet printing, it is possible to detect defects due to particles, defects caused when the encapsulation layer is not applied or insufficiently applied” see that position of defect such as not applied is detected] wherein in the confirming of the encapsulation organic film, a position of an edge of the encapsulation organic film on the substrate is confirmed in the captured image.
In regard to claim 15 Yang and Lee as combined did not combine the limitation of further comprising: forming a detection pattern in a non-display area.
See claim 12, see Lee also teaches optical effects in the non-display area, see “4A and 4B are views showing a display device according to an embodiment of the present invention” “the OLED display according to an embodiment of the present invention includes a base layer 401 having a display area A / A for displaying an image and a non-display area I / A surrounding the display area; And a reflective layer 412 " provided to compensate for a difference in color tone appearing at the boundary between the display area A / A and the non-display area I / A” “encapsulation layer 120 is located on the second electrode 116” “organic film 122 and inorganic films 121-1 and 121-2” “the non-display area I / A of FIG. 4A further includes a special structure” see “the top reflective material may be an anode 412 of an organic light emitting diode. This is because, if the display device is a top emission type, the anode includes a reflective metal (for example, Ag). Accordingly, the reflective layer 412 " may be the same material layer formed in the same process as the anode of the organic light emitting diode in the display area. At this time, the reflective layer 412 '' may be positioned between the anode 412 of the display area A / A and the connection metal layer 412 'of the non-display area I / A. The connection metal layer 412 'connects the other portion 408' of the low-level power supply wiring with the cathode 416 of the organic light emitting diode as a part of the low-level power supply (VSS) wiring. Level power supply lines 408 'and 412' may extend from the connection interface (e.g., PAD, etc.) to the display area (or pixel circuit) via the non-display area. have. The connection metal layer 412 'is in contact with another metal layer 408' constituting the low-level power supply wiring and extends on the outermost sidewall of the planarization layer 407 to form a cathode 416 ). ≪ / RTI > The other metal layer 408 'may be formed in the same process with the same material as the source / drain electrodes of the TFT.
The one electrode 412 of the organic light emitting diode is referred to as a first anode metal; The connecting metal layer 412 'is referred to as a second anode metal; If the reflective layer 412 " positioned between the first anode metal and the second anode metal is referred to as a third anode metal, the display device according to the embodiment of the present invention may include one electrode of the organic light emitting diode A second anode metal 412 'forming a part of a conductive line for transmitting a low-level power supply (VSS) to the organic light emitting diode; And a third anode metal 412 " positioned between the first anode metal and the second anode metal.
The third anode metal 412 '' is provided so as to compensate for the color difference appearing in the outline of the display area A / A. The third anode metal 412 '' is isolated without being connected to the first anode metal 412 and the second anode metal 412 '. Also, the third anode metal 412 '', that is, the reflective layer 412 '', is not electrically connected to any power source but is electrically floating”.
See in Lee Fig. 3A “the inventors have found that in a specific region (Z) in which the color difference occurs, the stack structure is different from the surrounding region, resulting in the above phenomenon. That is, it is analyzed that the difference in color tone occurs because the upper material of the specific region Z is different from the surrounding region, and the nature of reflecting external light incident on the display device is also different”.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Yang to include further comprising: forming a detection pattern in a non-display area.
Thus it would be obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention.
The motivation is to adjust detection of encapsulation in the non-display area to obtain best encapsulation results before cutting the mother substrate into cells.
In regard to claim 16 Yang and Lee as combined teaches wherein in the confirming of the encapsulation organic film, a position of an edge of the encapsulation organic film on the substrate is confirmed [see Yang “The reflective light reflected from the inspection object 250 passes through the mirror 247 again and is transmitted to the photographing unit” “the detection unit 248 extracts an image of the inspection object 250” “In detail, the optical inspection unit 240 scans along the inspection area of the inspection object 250 once in the x-axis or the y-axis direction” “According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, it is possible to detect a defect due to variations in the thickness of an encapsulation layer by detecting a defect in the encapsulation layer with a thickness converted in accordance with the intensity of the light. That is, if the encapsulation layer is formed by ink-jet printing, it is possible to detect defects due to particles, defects caused when the encapsulation layer is not applied or insufficiently applied” see that position of defect such as not applied is detected] based on the detection pattern in the captured image.
In regard to claim 20 Yang and Lee as combined does not state wherein the detection pattern includes at least one of chromium, molybdenum, black ink or black dye, carbon black, lactam black, perylene black, and aniline black.
However see Yang materials for electrodes “source and drain electrode 14 may be formed of one of molybdenum (Mo), aluminum (Al), chromium (Cr), gold (Au), titanium (Ti), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd) and copper (Cu), an alloy of two or more thereof, or a multi-layer thereof”.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Yang to include wherein the detection pattern includes at least one of chromium, molybdenum, black ink or black dye, carbon black, lactam black, perylene black, and aniline black.
Thus it would be obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention.
The motivation is that chromium, molybdenum are known to be excellent electrode material for use by Yang.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Lee as combined and further in view of Goshi et al. (KR 20200085842 A) hereafter referred to as Goshi
In regard to claim 19 Yang and Lee as combined does not state wherein the encapsulation organic film includes a monomer.
See Yang “second encapsulation layer 22 may be formed of an organic material and may be formed as a transparent film. For example, the second encapsulation layer 22 may be formed of, but is not limited to, one of silicon oxycarbide (SiOCz), acrylic resin, and epoxy resin”.
See Goshi “When the partial encapsulant layer 20 contains an acrylic resin as a thermoplastic resin, the acrylic polymer constituting the acrylic resin preferably contains the most monomer units derived from (meth)acrylic acid esters in mass ratio”.
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Yang to include wherein the encapsulation organic film includes a monomer.
Thus it would be obvious to combine the references to arrive at the claimed invention.
The motivation is that acrylic resin comprising monomer units is known to give good results as encapsulant.
Conclusion
/SITARAMARAO S YECHURI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893