DETAILED ACTION
Specification
2. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0019, line 13, change “seodn” to --second-- . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Thorsman (DE 19711094; cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Thorsman discloses a track assembly (see figure 1) for routing wires in an aircraft, the track assembly (see figure 1) comprising: a retainer (4) configured to be coupled to a track or frame in the aircraft (see figure 1), the retainer (4) having a top (4.3; see figure 4), a first wall extending from the top and defining a first side with the top, a second wall extending from the top and defining a second side with the top (see figures 4 and 5), a first flange (see figure 4) projecting inward from the first wall (see figures 4 and 5), and a second flange (see figures 4 and 5) projecting inward from the second wall (see figure 4), wherein the top, first wall, second wall, first flange, and second flange define a passageway for wires (see figure 4); and a cover (1) configured to be removably coupled to the retainer (4); such that the cover (1) extends over the top of the retainer without extending along the first wall or the second wall (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, Thorsman discloses the track assembly (see figure 1), wherein the retainer (4) additionally includes a first catch (4.1) extending outward from the first side and a second catch (4.1) extending outward from the second side, and wherein the cover (1) includes a cover having a top surface (1.1), a bottom surface, a first arm (1.3) projecting from the bottom surface and having a first hook (see figure 1) for engaging the first catch (4.1), and a second arm (1.3) projecting from the bottom surface and having a second hook (see figure 1) for engaging the second catch (4.1; see figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Thorsman discloses the track assembly (see figure 1), wherein the first catch (4.1) has a first catch ramp that angles downward from the top of the retainer to a first catch surface (see figure 3) and the second catch (4.1) has a second catch ramp that angles downward from the top of the retainer to a second catch surface (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Thorsman discloses the track assembly (see figure 1), wherein the first hook (see figure 1) has a first hook ramp that angles upward from a bottom of the first arm (1.3) to a first hook surface and the second hook (see figure 1) has a second hook ramp that angles upward from a bottom of the second arm (1.3) to a second hook surface (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Thorsman discloses the track assembly (see figure 1), wherein the first arm (1.3) and the second arm (1.3) are configured to deflect outward until the first hook (see figure 1) engages the first catch (4.1) and the second hook (see figure 1) engages the second catch (4.1) when the cover (1) is pressed downward onto the retainer (114).
Regarding claim 6, Thorsman discloses the track assembly (see figure 1), further comprising a first flap (3) extending outward from a first side of the cover (1) and a second flap (1.2) extending outward from a second side of the cover (1), wherein the first and second flaps contact a surrounding surface and create a substantially flat surface with the surrounding surface when the track assembly is installed (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, Thorsman discloses the track assembly (see figure 1), wherein the first arm (1.3) and the second arm (1.3) extend along a length of the cover (1) and the first wall, and second wall (see figures 3-5) extend along a length of the retainer (4).
Regarding claim 9, Thorsman discloses the track assembly (see figure 1), further comprising at least one ridge (4.2; see figure 4) extending upward from the top of the retainer (4), wherein the at least one ridge (4.2; see figure 4) is configured to contact the bottom of the cover (1) when the cover is installed on the retainer (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, Thorsman discloses the track assembly (see figure 1), wherein the retainer (4) has a substantially rectangular profile and is extruded to a length (see figures 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 11, Thorsman discloses the track assembly (see figure 1), wherein the cover (1) is made from one of a composite material, polymer, plastic, or aluminum (paragraph 0024).
Regarding claim 12, Thorsman discloses the track assembly (see figure 1), wherein the retainer (4) is made from one of a composite material, polymer, plastic, or aluminum (paragraph 0024).
Regarding claim 13, Thorsman discloses the track assembly (see figure 1), wherein ends of the first and second flanges (see figures 1) are spaced from one another to define a slot extending a length of the retainer (4; see figures 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 15, Anderson discloses a track assembly (see figure 1) for routing wires in an aircraft, the track assembly (see figure 1) comprising: a retainer (4) configured to be coupled to a track or frame in the aircraft, the retainer (4) having a top (4.3) , a first wall extending from the top and defining a first side with the top (see figure 5), a second wall extending from the top and defining a second side with the top (see figure 5), a first flange projecting inward from the first wall (see figure 5), a second flange projecting inward from the second wall (see figure 5), a first catch (4.1) extending outward from the first side of the top, and a second catch (4.1) extending outward from the second side (see figure 5) of the top, wherein the top, first wall, second wall, first flange, and second flange define a passageway for wires (see figures 3-5); and a cover (1) having a top surface (1.1), a bottom surface (1.2), a first arm (1.3) projecting from the bottom surface and having a first hook for engaging the first catch (4.1), and a second arm (1.3) projecting from the bottom surface and having a second hook (see figure 3) for engaging the second catch (4.1), wherein the cover (1) is configured to be removably coupled to the retainer (4) by engagement of the first hook with the first catch (4.1) and by engagement of the second hook with the second catch (4.1; see figure 3).
Regarding claim 16, Thorsman discloses the track assembly (see figure 1), wherein the first catch (4.1) has a first catch ramp that angles downward from the top of the retainer to a first catch surface (see figure 3) and the second catch (4.1) has a second catch ramp that angles downward from the top of the retainer to a second catch surface (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 17, Thorsman discloses the track assembly (see figure 1), wherein the first hook (see figure 1) has a first hook ramp that angles upward from a bottom of the first arm (1.3) to a first hook surface and the second hook (see figure 1) has a second hook ramp that angles upward from a bottom of the second arm (1.3) to a second hook surface (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 18, Thorsman discloses the track assembly (see figure 1), wherein the first arm (1.3) and the second arm (1.3) are configured to deflect outward until the first hook (see figure 1) engages the first catch (4.1) and the second hook (see figure 1) engages the second catch (4.1) when the cover (1) is pressed downward onto the retainer (114).
Regarding claim 19, Thorsman discloses the track assembly (see figure 1), further comprising a first flap (3) extending outward from a first side of the cover (1) and a second flap (1.2) extending outward from a second side of the cover (1), wherein the first and second flaps contact a surrounding surface and create a substantially flat surface with the surrounding surface when the track assembly is installed (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 20, Thorsman discloses a track assembly (see figure 1) for routing wires in an aircraft, the track assembly (see figure 1) comprising: a retainer (4) configured to be coupled to a track or frame in the aircraft, the retainer (4) having a top and first and second sidewalls extending therefrom with a first catch (4.1) extending outward from a first side of the top and a second catch (4.1) extending outward from a second side (see figure 3 and 4) of the top; and a cover (1) having a top surface (1.1), a bottom surface (1.2), a first arm (1.3) projecting from the bottom surface and having a first hook (see figure 3) for engaging the first catch (4.1), and a second arm (1.3) projecting from the bottom surface and having a second hook (see figure 3) for engaging the second catch (4.1) wherein the cover (1) is configured to be removably coupled to the retainer (4) by engagement of the first hook with the first catch (4.1) and by engagement of the second hook with the second catch (see figure 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 7 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance: The primary reasons for the indication of the allowability of claims 7 and 14 are:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest in combination with the other claimed limitations the track assembly, wherein the first flap and the second flap curve downward toward the bottom of the cover and are resiliently deflectable toward the top of the cover in response to the cover being installed in the aircraft.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest in combination with the other claimed limitations the track assembly, further comprising a plurality of fasteners configured to couple the retainer to the track or frame, wherein the fasteners are configured to be received in the slot.
These limitations are found in claims 7 and 14, and are neither disclosed nor taught by the prior art of record, alone or in combination.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
August 11, 2026
/ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841