DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement filed on August 20, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 line 2, “first and second projections”, lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
4. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0019, line 13, change “seodn” to --second-- . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson (US 7,854,527).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson discloses a track assembly (110) for routing wires in an aircraft, the track assembly (110) comprising: a retainer (114) configured to be coupled to a track or frame in the aircraft (see figure 6), the retainer (114) having a top (146), a first wall (148) extending from the top and defining a first side with the top, a second wall (150) extending from the top and defining a second side with the top (see figures 7 and 8), a first flange (see figures 6 and 7) projecting inward from the first wall (148), and a second flange (see figures 6 and 7) projecting inward from the second wall (150), wherein the top, first wall, second wall, first flange, and second flange define a passageway for wires (see figure 7); and a cover (112) configured to be removably coupled to the retainer (114; see figures 6-8).
Regarding claim 2, Anderson discloses the track assembly (110), wherein the retainer (114) additionally includes a first catch (152; see figures 6 and 7) extending outward from the first side and a second catch (154; see figures 6 and 7) extending outward from the second side, and wherein the cover (112) includes a cover having a top surface (126), a bottom surface, a first arm (130) projecting from the bottom surface and having a first hook (134,136) for engaging the first catch (152), and a second arm (132) projecting from the bottom surface and having a second hook (140,142) for engaging the second catch (154).
Regarding claim 3, Anderson discloses the track assembly (110), wherein the first catch (152) has a first catch ramp that angles downward from the top of the retainer to a first catch surface (see figures 6-8) and the second catch (154) has a second catch ramp that angles downward from the top of the retainer to a second catch surface (see figures 6-8).
Regarding claim 4, Anderson discloses the track assembly (110), wherein the first hook (134,136) has a first hook ramp that angles upward from a bottom of the first arm (130) to a first hook surface and the second hook (140,142) has a second hook ramp that angles upward from a bottom of the second arm (132) to a second hook surface (see figures 6-8).
Regarding claim 5, Anderson discloses the track assembly (110), wherein the first arm (130) and the second arm (132) are configured to deflect outward until the first hook (134,136) engages the first catch (152) and the second hook (140, 142) engages the second catch when the cover (112) is pressed downward onto the retainer (114).
Regarding claim 6, Anderson discloses the track assembly (110), further comprising a first flap (122) extending outward from a first side of the cover (112) and a second flap (124) extending outward from a second side of the cover (112), wherein the first and second flaps (122,124) contact a surrounding surface and create a substantially flat surface with the surrounding surface when the track assembly is installed (see figures 6-8).
Regarding claim 8, Anderson discloses the track assembly (110), wherein the first arm (130) and the second arm (132) extend along a length of the cover (112) and the first wall (148), and second wall (150) extend along a length of the retainer (114).
Regarding claim 9, Anderson discloses the track assembly (110), further comprising at least one ridge (see figures 6-8) extending upward from the top (see figures 6-8) of the retainer (114), wherein the at least one ridge (see figures 6-8) is configured to contact the bottom of the cover (112) when the cover is installed on the retainer (114, see figure 8).
Regarding claim 10, Anderson discloses the track assembly (110), wherein the retainer (114) has a substantially rectangular profile (see figure 7) and is extruded to a length (see figure 7).
Regarding claim 11, Anderson discloses the track assembly (110), wherein the cover (112) is made from one of a composite material, polymer, plastic, or aluminum (column 3 lines 62-67).
Regarding claim 12, Anderson discloses the track assembly (110), wherein the retainer (114) is made from one of a composite material, polymer, plastic, or aluminum (column 3 lines 62-67).
Regarding claim 13, Anderson discloses the track assembly (110), wherein ends of the first and second projections (see figures 6-8) are spaced from one another to define a slot extending a length of the retainer (114).
Regarding claim 15, Anderson discloses a track assembly (110) for routing wires in an aircraft, the track assembly (110) comprising: a retainer (114) configured to be coupled to a track or frame in the aircraft, the retainer (114) having a top (146), a first wall (148) extending from the top and defining a first side with the top, a second wall (150) extending from the top and defining a second side with the top, a first flange (see figures 6 and 7) projecting inward from the first wall (148), a second flange (see figures 6-8) projecting inward from the second wall, a first catch (152) extending outward from the first side, and a second catch (154) extending outward from the second side (see figures 6-8), wherein the top, first wall, second wall, first flange, and second flange define a passageway for wires (see figures 6-8); and a cover (110) having a top surface (126), a bottom surface, a first arm (130) projecting from the bottom surface and having a first hook (134, 136) for engaging the first catch (152), and a second arm (132) projecting from the bottom surface and having a second hook (140; 142) for engaging the second catch (154), wherein the cover (110) is configured to be removably coupled to the retainer (114) by engagement of the first hook (134,136) with the first catch (152) and by engagement of the second hook (140,142) with the second catch (154).
Regarding claim 16, Anderson discloses the track assembly (110), wherein the first catch (152) has a first catch ramp that angles downward from the top of the retainer (114) to a first catch surface and the second catch (154) has a second catch ramp that angles downward from the top of the retainer to a second catch surface (see figures 6-8).
Regarding claim 17, Anderson discloses the track assembly (110), wherein the first hook (134,136) has a first hook ramp that angles upward from a bottom of the first arm to a first hook surface (see figures 6-8) and the second hook (140,142) has a second hook ramp that angles upward from a bottom of the second arm to a second hook surface (see figures 6-8).
Regarding claim 18, Anderson discloses the track assembly (110), wherein the first arm (130) and the second arm (132) are configured to deflect outward until the first hook (134,136) engages the first catch (152) and the second hook (140,142) engages the second catch (154) when the cover (126) is pressed downward onto the retainer (114).
Regarding claim 19, Anderson discloses the track assembly (110), further comprising a first flap (122) extending outward from a first side of the cover (110) and a second flap (124) extending outward from a second side of the cover (110), wherein the first and second flaps (122; 124) contact a surrounding surface and create a substantially flat surface with the surrounding surface when the track assembly is installed (see figures 6-8).
Regarding claim 20, Anderson discloses a track assembly (110) for routing wires in an aircraft, the track assembly (110) comprising: a retainer (114) configured to be coupled to a track or frame in the aircraft, the retainer (114) having a first catch (152) extending outward from a first side and a second catch (154) extending outward from a second side (see figures 6-8); and a cover (110) having a top surface (126), a bottom surface, a first arm (130) projecting from the bottom surface and having a first hook (134,136) for engaging the first catch (152), and a second arm (132) projecting from the bottom surface and having a second hook (140, 142) for engaging the second catch (154) wherein the cover (110) is configured to be removably coupled to the retainer (114) by engagement of the first hook (134,136) with the first catch (152) and by engagement of the second hook (140,142) with the second catch (154).
6. Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Laib et al (US 7,191,981; hereinafter Laib)
Regarding claim 1, Laib discloses a track assembly (400) for routing wires in an aircraft, the track assembly (400) comprising: a retainer (22’’) configured to be coupled to a track or frame in the aircraft (see figure 11), the retainer (22’’) having a top (40’’), a first wall (42’’) extending from the top and defining a first side with the top, a second wall (42’’) extending from the top and defining a second side with the top (see figure 11), a first flange (410; see figure 11) projecting inward from the first wall (42’’), and a second flange (410, see figure 11) projecting inward from the second wall (42’’), wherein the top, first wall, second wall, first flange, and second flange define a passageway for wires (see figure 11); and a cover (20’’) configured to be removably coupled to the retainer (22’’, see figure 11).
Regarding claim 13, Laib discloses the track assembly (400), wherein ends of the first and second projections (see figure 11) are spaced from one another to define a slot extending a length of the retainer (22’).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 7,854,527).
Regarding claim 7, Anderson discloses the claimed invention except for the first flap and the second flap curve downward toward the bottom of the cover. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a cover with the first flap and the second flap curve downward toward the bottom of the cover to provide means for mounting the cover on curved surfaces. Furthermore. Where the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular shape, a change of shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
8. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laib et al (US 7,191,981; hereinafter Laib) in view of Callahan et al (US 8,033,501; hereinafter Callahan).
Regarding claim 14, Laib discloses the claimed invention except for the track assembly, further comprising a plurality of fasteners configured to couple the retainer to the track or frame, wherein the fasteners are configured to be received in the slot. Callahan teaches a track assembly (see figure 20) for routing wires in an aircraft, the track assembly (see figure 20) comprising: a retainer (10’’) configured to be coupled to a track or frame in the aircraft (see figure 20), the retainer (10’’) having a top (see figure 20), a first wall extending from the top and defining a first side with the top, a second wall extending from the top and defining a second side with the top (see figure 20), a first flange and second flange projecting inward from the first wall and a second flange (see figure 20), wherein the top, first wall, second wall, first flange, and second flange define a passageway for wires (see figure 20); wherein ends of the first and second projections (see figure 20) are spaced from one another to define a slot extending a length of the retainer (10’’) and further comprising a plurality of fasteners (200) configured to couple the retainer (10’’) to the track or frame, wherein the fasteners (200) are configured to be received in the slot (see figure 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide to Laib’s retainer with a plurality of fasteners configured to couple the retainer to the track or frame, wherein the fasteners are configured to be received in the slot as taught by Callahan to provide alternative means for securing the retainer to the track or frame.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sayres (US 7,615,710), Ownes et al (US 7,612,300), VanderVelde et al (US 7,388,163 and US 7,375,280) and Luciere (US 6,903,266) disclose a track assembly.
February 24, 2026
/ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841