Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawai (US 20210329783).
Regarding claim 20, Kawai discloses a printed circuit board, comprising:
a substrate (substrate 30, Fig. 1A) with a first through-portion (opening 20b) penetrating therethrough;
a magnetic layer (magnetic 18) comprising a magnetic material disposed in the first through-portion (20b), the magnetic layer having a second through-portion (the hole 18a) penetrating therethrough; and
an inductor (inductor 59) disposed in the magnetic layer and around the second through-portion, the inductor comprising:
first through-vias (vias in 18a comprising conductor 36A) penetrating the magnetic layer in a pattern around the second through-portion (18a),
a first wiring pattern (conductor 58F) disposed on an upper surface of at least the magnetic layer and contacting a top portion (Fig. 1A) of at least some of the first through-vias, and
a second wiring pattern (58S) disposed on a lower surface of at least the magnetic layer and contacting a bottom portion of at least some of the first through-vias, wherein the first wiring pattern is connected to the second wiring pattern by the first through-vias to form the inductor (the wiring patterns are connected to each other using conductive vias).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 – 19 are allowed.
Claims 21 – 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that an electronic component having at least a portion disposed in the second through-portion. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 17, a combination of limitations that a voltage regulator disposed in at least a portion of the second through-portion. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 20, a combination of limitations that an electronic component disposed in the second through-portion. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kimishima (US 20210259107) discloses a substrate having magnetic, through hole via 21.
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848