DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itakura et al. (US 2006/0201232 A1) in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US 2024/0369623 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Itakura et al. teach a device for controlling an air purge equipment, which is applicable to controlling the air purge equipment configured for reducing internal humidity of a testing system which is configured for testing an object under test to verify quality of the object under test (the temperature-humidity control portion 230 supplies the gas having a predetermined temperature and a predetermined humidity; FIG. 3; [0039]; the temperature-humidity control portion may substitute the gas for air in the inspection chamber; [0063]), the device for controlling air purge equipment comprising:
a temperature sensor configured for sensing a base temperature of the testing system (a temperature-humidity sensing portion 231 detects the temperature and the humidity in the probe portion 222; [0040]; FIG. 3; the temperature before start of a probe test being the base temperature);
a testing element for testing the object under test in the testing system (probe card 226; FIG. 3); and
an air purge controller configured for turning on or turning off the air purge equipment according to the base temperature and presence of the testing element in the testing system (the probe device 220 includes a temperature-humidity control portion 230 for controlling the humidity and the temperature of the inside of the probe portion 222; [0038]; FIG. 3; the probe card 226 being present during testing; [0041]-[0043]).
Further regarding claim 1, Itakura et al. do not teach a testing element sensor configured for sensing whether there is the testing element for testing the object under test in the testing system.
Further regarding claim 1, Yamaguchi et al. teach a testing element sensor configured for sensing whether there is a testing element for testing an object under test in a testing system (tray 42 is equipped with holder sensors 46 that detect presence or absence of the card holder 28, and card sensors 48 that detect presence or absence of the probe card 30; FIG. 5; [0079]) for the purpose of determining whether the probes are in position for performing a test.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a testing element sensor configured for sensing whether there is the testing element for testing the object under test in the testing system, as taught by Yamaguchi et al., into Itakura et al. for the purpose of determining whether the probes are in position for performing a test.
Regarding claim 2, Itakura et al. teach wherein the testing element is configured to input a testing signal into an electrical testing point of the object under test, and to receive a feedback signal generated by the object under test from the electrical testing point after the testing signal is received by the object under test (a signal can be communicated between the tester 210 and the humidity sensor 100 in the wafer W through the test head 211 and the probe card 226; [0035]; Figs 3-4).
Regarding claim 3, Itakura et al. teach wherein the base temperature is a surface temperature or an internal temperature of the testing system (a temperature-humidity sensing portion 231 detects the temperature and the humidity in the probe portion 222; [0040]; FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Itakura et al. teach wherein if the base temperature is lower than or equal to a first critical temperature, and the testing element exists in the testing system, then the air purge controller turns on the air purge equipment (when the temperature signal and the humidity signal outputted from the temperature-humidity sensing portion 231 satisfy a predetermined temperature-humidity condition, which is set to have a predetermined margin, i.e., to be in a predetermined range, the control portion 223 operates the driving element 228 and the alignment element 229; [0040]; FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Itakura et al. teach wherein if the base temperature is higher than a second critical temperature, or the testing element does not exist in the testing system, then the air purge controller turns off the air purge equipment (when the temperature signal and the humidity signal outputted from the temperature-humidity sensing portion 231 satisfy a predetermined temperature-humidity condition, which is set to have a predetermined margin, i.e., to be in a predetermined range, the control portion 223 operates the driving element 228 and the alignment element 229; [0040]; FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Itakura et al. teach wherein the second critical temperature is higher than or equal to the first critical temperature (when the temperature signal and the humidity signal outputted from the temperature-humidity sensing portion 231 satisfy a predetermined temperature-humidity condition, which is set to have a predetermined margin, i.e., to be in a predetermined range, the control portion 223 operates the driving element 228 and the alignment element 229; [0040]; FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Itakura et al. teach wherein the first critical temperature is 5 °C, and the second critical temperature is 5 °C or 7 °C (the fourth condition is, for example, the temperature of 5° C and the humidity of 80% RH; [0045]).
Regarding claim 9, Itakura et al. teach a method for controlling an air purge equipment, which is applicable to controlling the air purge equipment configured for reducing internal humidity of a testing system which is configured for testing an object under test to verify quality of the object under test (the temperature-humidity control portion 230 supplies the gas having a predetermined temperature and a predetermined humidity; FIG. 3; [0039]; the temperature-humidity control portion may substitute the gas for air in the inspection chamber; [0063]), the method for controlling air purge equipment comprising:
sensing a base temperature of the testing system (a temperature-humidity sensing portion 231 detects the temperature and the humidity in the probe portion 222; [0040]; FIG. 3; the temperature before start of a probe test being the base temperature);
providing a testing element for testing the object under test in the testing system (probe card 226; FIG. 3); and
determining to turn on or turn off the air purge equipment according to the base temperature and presence of the testing element in the testing system (the probe device 220 includes a temperature-humidity control portion 230 for controlling the humidity and the temperature of the inside of the probe portion 222; [0038]; FIG. 3; the probe card 226 being present during testing; [0041]-[0043]).
Further regarding claim 9, Itakura et al. do not teach sensing whether there is the testing element for testing the object under test in the testing system.
Further regarding claim 9, Yamaguchi et al. teach sensing whether there is a testing element for testing an object under test in a testing system (tray 42 is equipped with holder sensors 46 that detect presence or absence of the card holder 28, and card sensors 48 that detect presence or absence of the probe card 30; FIG. 5; [0079]) for the purpose of determining whether the probes are in position for performing a test.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate sensing whether there is a testing element for testing an object under test in a testing system, as taught by Yamaguchi et al., into Itakura et al. for the purpose of determining whether the probes are in position for performing a test.
Regarding claim 10, Itakura et al. teach wherein the testing element is configured to input a testing signal into an electrical testing point of the object under test, and to receive a feedback signal generated by the object under test from the electrical testing point after the testing signal is received by the object under test (a signal can be communicated between the tester 210 and the humidity sensor 100 in the wafer W through the test head 211 and the probe card 226; [0035]; Figs 3-4).
Regarding claim 11, Itakura et al. teach wherein the base temperature is a surface temperature or an internal temperature of the testing system (a temperature-humidity sensing portion 231 detects the temperature and the humidity in the probe portion 222; [0040]; FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Itakura et al. teach if the base temperature is lower than or equal to a first critical temperature, and the testing element exists in the testing system, then the air purge controller turns on the air purge equipment (when the temperature signal and the humidity signal outputted from the temperature-humidity sensing portion 231 satisfy a predetermined temperature-humidity condition, which is set to have a predetermined margin, i.e., to be in a predetermined range, the control portion 223 operates the driving element 228 and the alignment element 229; [0040]; FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Itakura et al. teach if the base temperature is higher than a second critical temperature, or the testing element does not exist in the testing system, then the air purge controller turns off the air purge equipment (when the temperature signal and the humidity signal outputted from the temperature-humidity sensing portion 231 satisfy a predetermined temperature-humidity condition, which is set to have a predetermined margin, i.e., to be in a predetermined range, the control portion 223 operates the driving element 228 and the alignment element 229; [0040]; FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Itakura et al. teach wherein the second critical temperature is higher than or equal to the first critical temperature (when the temperature signal and the humidity signal outputted from the temperature-humidity sensing portion 231 satisfy a predetermined temperature-humidity condition, which is set to have a predetermined margin, i.e., to be in a predetermined range, the control portion 223 operates the driving element 228 and the alignment element 229; [0040]; FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Itakura et al. teach wherein the first critical temperature is 5 °C, and the second critical temperature is 5 °C or 7 °C (the fourth condition is, for example, the temperature of 5° C and the humidity of 80% RH; [0045]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itakura et al. (US 2006/0201232 A1) as modified by Yamaguchi et al. (US 2024/0369623 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujihara (US 2021/0372695 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Itakura et al. as modified by Yamaguchi et al. teach a temperature setting interface configured to receive temperature restriction set by a user (each of the probers 10, the wafer conveying mechanism 14, and the GEM host 16 are connected to each other through a known network 18; [0061]; Figs 1, 13, 16; the transmission and reception control unit 60 also exchanges various information with the GEM host 16; [0122]; various information including temperature; [0065]; the GEM host 16 is configured to receive and execute a control program read from the unillustrated storage unit, control program being stored by a user; [0131]; the information received could be a temperature).
Further regarding claim 8, Itakura et al. as modified by Yamaguchi et al. do not teach a temperature controller configured to regulate a temperature of a space where the testing system is located according to the temperature restriction.
Further regarding claim 8, Fujihara teaches a temperature controller configured to regulate a temperature of a space where a testing system is located according to a temperature restriction (the air in the clean room 300, the temperature of which is adjusted, is introduced into the upper inspection spaces 12a and/or the refrigerant pipe arrangement space 27 of the upper stage; [0047]; FIG. 2) for the purpose of using the air in the clean room as the gas that can be supplied to the fans of a heat exchanger.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a temperature controller configured to regulate a temperature of a space where the testing system is located according to the temperature restriction, as taught by Fujihara, into Itakura et al. as modified by Yamaguchi et al. for the purpose of using the air in the clean room as the gas that can be supplied to the fans of a heat exchanger.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itakura et al. (US 2006/0201232 A1) as modified by Yamaguchi et al. (US 2024/0369623 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Fujihara (US 2021/0372695 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Itakura et al. as modified by Yamaguchi et al. teach receiving temperature restriction set by a user (each of the probers 10, the wafer conveying mechanism 14, and the GEM host 16 are connected to each other through a known network 18; [0061]; Figs 1, 13, 16; the transmission and reception control unit 60 also exchanges various information with the GEM host 16; [0122]; various information including temperature; [0065]; the GEM host 16 is configured to receive and execute a control program read from the unillustrated storage unit, control program being stored by a user; [0131]; the information received could be a temperature).
Further regarding claim 16, Itakura et al. as modified by Yamaguchi et al. do not teach regulating a temperature of a space where the testing system is located according to the temperature restriction.
Further regarding claim 16, Fujihara teaches regulating a temperature of a space where a testing system is located according to a temperature restriction (the air in the clean room 300, the temperature of which is adjusted, is introduced into the upper inspection spaces 12a and/or the refrigerant pipe arrangement space 27 of the upper stage; [0047]; FIG. 2) for the purpose of using the air in the clean room as the gas that can be supplied to the fans of a heat exchanger.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate regulating a temperature of a space where the testing system is located according to the temperature restriction, as taught by Fujihara, into Itakura et al. as modified by Yamaguchi et al. for the purpose of using the air in the clean room as the gas that can be supplied to the fans of a heat exchanger.
Conclusion
1 May 2026
/KENDRICK X LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853