DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. The amendment filed July 02, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-16 are pending in the application. Claims 15 and 16 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0296494 A1, hereinafter "Suzuki") in view of Yaegashi (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0148129 A1), and further in view of Ogawa (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0172391 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Suzuki teaches a speaker isolator (speaker isolator 10, Figs. 1A-6, Para. [0035]) configured to receive a speaker (speaker M, Figs. 1A-6, Paras. [0035] and [0040]) having a plurality of speaker projections (speaker projections 233, Fig. 2A, Para. [0060]), wherein each of the plurality of speaker projections radially projects from a speaker main body of the speaker and has a through-hole configured to receive a screw through the through-hole (speaker projections 233 radially project from speaker main body 200 and have through-holes for screws, Figs. 1A-6), the speaker isolator comprising:
a receiver ring that is configured to surround an outer peripheral surface of the speaker (speaker isolator 10 has a receiver ring projecting upwards from edge 12a and configured to surround outer peripheral surface of speaker M, Figs. 1A-2A).
Suzuki fails to explicitly teach a speaker vibration isolator,
a plurality of retainers that correspond to the plurality of speaker projections, respectively, wherein each of the plurality of retainers is configured to contact a front surface of a corresponding one of the plurality of speaker projections and urge the corresponding one of the plurality of speaker projections toward the receiver ring, and wherein the speaker vibration isolator is made entirely of an elastic material and is formed integrally in one-piece.
However, Yaegashi teaches a speaker vibration isolator (speaker vibration isolator consisting of an outer casing 7 with recess 40 for speaker 8 for preventing vibration of the speaker, Figs. 5, 6A, and 6B, Paras. [0036]-[0040]),
a plurality of retainers that correspond to the plurality of speaker projections (retainers 43 corresponding to speaker projections 34, Figs. 6A, and 6B, Paras. [0038]-[0040]), respectively, wherein each of the plurality of retainers is configured to contact a front surface of a corresponding one of the plurality of speaker projections and urge the corresponding one of the plurality of speaker projections toward the receiver ring (retainers 43 is configured to contact speaker projections 34 in which the speaker projections 34 overlap with the retainers 43, urging the speaker projections towards receiver ring side wall 41, Figs. 6A and 6B, Paras. [0039] and [0040]; see also Claim 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the speaker isolator (as taught by Suzuki) to include the elastic speaker vibration isolator with the plurality of retainers (as taught by Yaegashi). Doing so the speaker does not rattle and reliability in fixation of the speaker is improved (Yaegashi Para. [0043]).
However, Ogawa teaches wherein the speaker vibration isolator is made entirely of an elastic material and is formed integrally in one-piece (holder 1 is formed of synthetic resin by one-piece molding, and includes an annular seat surface 12, and three engaging frame parts 2, 3, 4, which are raised from the seat surface 12 at three locations. Engaging frame parts 2, 3, 4 are formed with wide supporting parts 51, 41, and elastic beam parts 52, 42 which have an elasticity proper to the synthetic resin, Figs. 1-8, Paras. [0031]-[0033]; i.e. the holder 1 synthetic resin has inherent elasticity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the speaker isolator (as taught by Suzuki in view of Yaegashi) to include the one-piece elastic speaker vibration isolator (as taught by Ogawa). Doing so, generation of chattering sound caused by an instable mounting of a speaker is suppressed, thereby improving a quality of sound generated (Ogawa Para. [0040]).
Regarding Claim 7, Suzuki in view of Yaegashi, and further in view of Ogawa teach comprising a receiver bottom that is configured to be opposed to a back surface of the speaker and cooperates with the receiver ring to form a closed space relative to the back surface of the speaker (Suzuki, receiver bottom 12a configured to be opposed to back surface of speaker M, Fig. 2A, Para. [0061]).
Regarding Claim 10, Suzuki in view of Yaegashi, and further in view of Ogawa teach comprising:
a communicating portion that communicates between a back surface of the speaker and a space placed on a side of the receiver ring that is farther from the speaker than the receiver ring (Suzuki, communicating portion 11, Fig. 2A, Paras. [0036] and [0037]); and
a ring-shaped flange that is shaped in a ring form and radially projects from the receiver ring and is configured to contact a surface of a mounting member to which the speaker vibration isolator is mounted (Suzuki, casing 10 has a ring-shaped flange which radially projects from the receiver ring, Fig. 2A).
4. Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0296494 A1, hereinafter "Suzuki") in view of Yaegashi (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0148129 A1) in view of Ogawa (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0172391 A1) in view of Tomita (U.S. Pat. No. 4,550,796 A), and further in view of Allmendinger et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0016091 A1, hereinafter "Allmendinger").
Regarding Claim 2, Suzuki in view of Yaegashi, and further in view of Ogawa fail to explicitly teach comprising:
at least one connector that is configured to be coupled with a mounting member to which the speaker vibration isolator is mounted; and
at least one link that couples between the receiver ring and the at least one connector, wherein:
at least a part of the at least one link is shaped in a plate form and forms a gap relative to an adjacent member of the speaker vibration isolator which is adjacent to the part of the at least one link in a thickness direction of the part of the at least one link.
However, Tomita teaches comprising:
at least one connector that is configured to be coupled with a mounting member to which the speaker vibration isolator is mounted (connector 1c, Fig. 2, Col. 1, Ln. 50 thru Col. 2, Ln. 2); and
at least one link that couples between the receiver ring and the at least one connector (link 1d couples between receiver ring 1 and connector 1c, Fig. 2, Col. 1, Ln. 50 thru Col. 2, Ln. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the speaker isolator (as taught by Suzuki in view of Yaegashi, and further in view of Ogawa) to include the connector and link (as taught by Tomita). Doing so firmly secures the speaker to the panel (Tomita Col. 1, Lns. 50-61).
However, Allmendinger teaches at least a part of the at least one link is shaped in a plate form and forms a gap relative to an adjacent member of the speaker vibration isolator which is adjacent to the part of the at least one link in a thickness direction of the part of the at least one link (connector 208 link 212 is a curved wall with a connector boss 214 formed on an exterior surface of the curved wall, Figs. 2 and 3, Para. [0076]; the extension of link 212 forms a gap relative to adjacent wall 202 of isolator 200 in a thickness direction of part of the link 212, Figs. 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the speaker isolator (as taught by Suzuki in view of Yaegashi in view of Ogawa, and further in view of Tomita) to include the plate form link (as taught by Allmendinger). Doing so mounting means effectively limits vibrations induced by speaker (Allmendinger, Para. 0079).
Regarding Claim 3, Suzuki in view of Yaegashi in view of Ogawa in view of Tomita, and further in view of Allmendinger teach wherein the at least one link extends in a circumferential direction of the receiver ring (Allmendinger, link 212 extends in a circumferential direction of receiver ring 202, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Suzuki in view of Yaegashi in view of Ogawa in view of Tomita, and further in view of Allmendinger teach wherein the at least one link extends in an axial direction of the speaker vibration isolator (Tomita, link 1d extends in an axial direction, Fig. 2).
5. Claim(s) 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0296494 A1, hereinafter "Suzuki") in view of Yaegashi (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0148129 A1) in view of Ogawa (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0172391 A1) in view of Tomita (U.S. Pat. No. 4,550,796 A) in view of Allmendinger et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0016091 A1, hereinafter "Allmendinger"), and further in view of Novitschitsch (U.S. Pat. No. 6,457,547 B2).
Regarding Claim 5, Suzuki in view of Yaegashi in view of Ogawa in view of Tomita, and further in view of Allmendinger fail to explicitly teach wherein a circumferential position of the at least one link is different from a circumferential position of each of the plurality of retainers.
However, Novitschitsch teaches wherein a circumferential position of the at least one link is different from a circumferential position of each of the plurality of retainers (circumferential position of link 24, 25 is different from circumferential position of retainers 40, Figs. 1 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the speaker isolator (as taught by Suzuki in view of Yaegashi in view of Ogawa in view of Tomita, and further in view of Allmendingerr) to include the plate form link (as taught by Allmendinger). Doing so firmly secures the speaker.
Regarding Claim 6, Suzuki in view of Yaegashi in view of Ogawa in view of Tomita in view of Allmendingerr, and further in view of Novitschitsch teach wherein:
the at least one connector is a plurality of connectors (Tomita, connectors 1c, Fig. 1A, Col. 1, Ln. 50 thru Col. 2, Ln. 2);
the at least one link is a plurality of links which correspond to the plurality of connectors (Tomita, links 1d couples between receiver ring 1 and connectors 1c, Figs. 1A and 2, Col. 1, Ln. 50 thru Col. 2, Ln. 2), respectively;
at least one of the plurality of links extends in a circumferential direction of the receiver ring (Allmendinger, link 212 extends in a circumferential direction of receiver ring 202, Fig. 2);
at least another one of the plurality of links extends in an axial direction of the speaker vibration isolator (Tomita, link 1d extends in an axial direction, Fig. 2); and
the circumferential position of each of the plurality of links is different from the circumferential position of each of the plurality of retainers (Allmendinger, circumferential position of link 24, 25 is different from circumferential position of retainers 40, Figs. 1 and 3).
6. Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0296494 A1, hereinafter "Suzuki") in view of Yaegashi (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0148129 A1) in view of Ogawa (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0172391 A1), and further in view of Kempkey et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0284974 A1, hereinafter "Kempkey").
Regarding Claim 11, Suzuki in view of Yaegashi, and further in view of Ogawa fail to explicitly teach wherein a thickness of the ring-shaped flange is progressively decreased toward a radially outer side.
However, Kempkey teaches wherein a thickness of the ring-shaped flange is progressively decreased toward a radially outer side (thickness of flange 13 progressively decreases towards a radially outer side, Figs. 4 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the speaker isolator (as taught by Suzuki in view of Yaegashi) to include the flange with decreased thickness toward a radially outer side (as taught by Kempkey). Doing so reduces the amount of material used and thereby reducing the overall weight.
7. Claim(s) 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0296494 A1, hereinafter "Suzuki") in view of Yaegashi (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0148129 A1) in view of Ogawa (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0172391 A1), and further in view of Moriya et al. (Japanese Pub. No. JPH 03253200 A, hereinafter "Moriya").
Regarding Claim 15, Suzuki in view of Yaegashi, and further in view of Ogawa fails to explicitly teach wherein the elastic material is an elastomer.
However, Moriya teaches wherein the elastic material is an elastomer (speaker holder 1 is made of synthetic rubber, Figs. 1, 2a, and 2b, Para. [0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the speaker isolator (as taught by Suzuki in view of Yaegashi, and further in view of Ogawa) to include the elastomer material (as taught by Moriya). Doing so prevents stuttering by fitting a small speaker without mounting holes into the groove of a synthetic rubber holder (Moriya Para. [0001]).
Regarding Claim 16, Suzuki in view of Yaegashi, and further in view of Ogawa fails to explicitly teach wherein the elastic material is an elastomer.
However, Moriya teaches wherein the elastic material is a rubber (speaker holder 1 is made of synthetic rubber, Figs. 1, 2a, and 2b, Para. [0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the speaker isolator (as taught by Suzuki in view of Yaegashi, and further in view of Ogawa) to include the rubber material (as taught by Moriya). Doing so prevents stuttering by fitting a small speaker without mounting holes into the groove of a synthetic rubber holder (Moriya Para. [0001]).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 8, 9, and 12-14 are allowed.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments, see applicant’s remark pages 11-15, filed July 02, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent Claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Yaegashi have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of amended independent Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Yaegashi, and further in view of Ogawa.
Ogawa is relied on in the rejection for its teaching of the feature of a speaker vibrator isolator made of an elastic material formed integrally in one-piece.
The rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Yaegashi, and further in view of Ogawa is maintained.
Dependent Claims 7 and 10 are rejected on a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Yaegashi, and further in view of Ogawa.
The rejections of Claim 7 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Yaegashi, and further in view of Ogawa are maintained.
Dependent Claims 2-4 are rejected on a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Yaegashi in view of Ogawa in view of Tomita, and further in view of Allmendinger.
The rejections of Claims 2-4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Yaegashi in view of Ogawa in view of Tomita, and further in view of Allmendinger are maintained.
Dependent Claim 11 is rejected on a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Yaegashi in view of Ogawa, and further in view of Kempkey.
The rejection of Claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Yaegashi in view of Ogawa, and further in view of Kempkey is maintained.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Konno (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0009580 A1) teaches speaker holder constructed of an annular rubber-like elastic member.
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIMEZIE EZERIWE BEKEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691