The claims filed on 6/3/2024 are entered and acknowledge. Claims 1-22 are currently pending in the instant application.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 06/03/2024 have been considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 12/19/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, provided that all other rejections under 35 USC 101/112 (if any) are obviated upon upcoming amendments/arguments without raising new issue that necessitate further consideration/searches.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 17-18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soryal et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0147335 A1) (hereinafter “Soryal”) in view of Fan et al Pub. No.: (US 2017/0111102 A1) (hereinafter "Fan”).
With respect to claim 1: Soryal discloses a system comprising:
at least one processor configured to:
formulate a network configuration for a plurality of drones, where the network configuration defines a plurality of possible drone positions and a plurality of possible communication links in a drone-hosted communication network (deploying a plurality of drones in a defined area to form a mesh network, the mesh network comprises a plurality of communication links for the user equipment to use for communication [0025], [0031], [0035-0036], [0040], [0043], [0047], [0059], [0106]);
optimize the network configuration by selecting drone positions of the plurality of possible drone positions and selecting communication links of the plurality of possible communication links (dropping drones in various locations based on distances [0096-0099], deploying a plurality of drones in a defined area to form a mesh network, the mesh network comprises a plurality of communication links for the user equipment to use for communication [0025], [0031], [0035-0036], [0040], [0043], [0047], [0059], [0106]. Searching for beacons of the private DSats among a plurality off other deployed drones [0065]);
initiate navigation of plurality of drones to the selected drone positions, with each of the plurality of drones initiated to navigate to a corresponding one of selected drone positions (dropping drones in various locations based on distances [0096-0099], deploying a plurality of drones in a defined area to form a mesh network, the mesh network comprises a plurality of communication links for the user equipment to use for communication [0025], [0031], [0035-0036], [0040], [0043], [0047], [0059], [0106]);
However, Soryal does not explicitly disclose initiate the selected communication links in the drone-hosted communication network;
Fan discloses initiate the selected communication links in the drone-hosted communication network (selecting a communication link to extending in the drone network [0062-0064]);
Furthermore, in addition to Soryal, Fan also discloses selecting communication links of the plurality of possible communication links (the type of communication links to be extended [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Soryal in view of Fan in order to initiate the selected communication links in the drone-hosted communication network;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide extended coverage for wireless devices [Fan: 0001].
With respect to claim 2: Soryal-Fan discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the at least one processor is configured to formulate the network configuration for the plurality of drones by being configured to:
Soryal discloses select candidate positions and candidate links using a directed search (dropping drones in various locations based on distances [0096-0099], deploying a plurality of drones in a defined area to form a mesh network, the mesh network comprises a plurality of communication links for the user equipment to use for communication [0025], [0031], [0035-0036], [0040], [0043], [0047], [0059], [0106]);
evaluate candidate positions and candidate links for clear communication paths (deploying drones at locations that have communication disruptions [0095-0097], [0146]);
add selected candidate positions and candidate links to the network configuration (deploying drones at periodic distances at locations that have communication disruptions [0095-0097], [0146]).
With respect to claim 17: Soryal-Fan discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
Soryal discloses adjust drone positions of the plurality of possible drone positions during operation of the drone-hosted communication network responsive to changes in drone-hosted communication network client positions (movement of the drones/DSats based on users’ locations [0105-0107], [0025]).
With respect to claim 18: Soryal-Fan discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
Soryal discloses adjust drone positions of the plurality of possible drone positions during operation of the drone-hosted communication network responsive to a change in drone operational status (drone returning to home base or other locations during periods of low activities [0062]).
With respect to claim 20: Soryal-Fan discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the at least one processor is configured to
Soryal discloses initiate navigation of plurality of drones to the selected drone positions, with each of the plurality of drones initiated to navigate to the corresponding one of selected drone positions by being configured to: transmit a selected drone position to each of the plurality of drones (deploying drones to disrupted area and also spacing out the drones according to certain distances [0096-0099]).
With respect to claim 21: Soryal-Fan discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the at least one processor is configured to initiate the selected communication links in the drone-hosted communication network by being configured to:
However, Soryal does not explicitly disclose transmit a selected communication link to each of the plurality of drones;
Fan discloses transmit a selected communication link to each of the plurality of drones (selecting a communication link to extending in the drone network [0062-0064]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Soryal in view of Fan in order to transmit a selected communication link to each of the plurality of drones;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide extended coverage for wireless devices [Fan: 0001].
With respect to claim 22, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 1, respectively. Therefore claim 22 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soryal et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0147335 A1) (hereinafter “Soryal”) in view of Fan et al Pub. No.: (US 2017/0111102 A1) (hereinafter "Fan”) as applied to claims 1-2, 17-18, and 20-22 above, further in view of Nakai et al Pub. No.: (US 2022/0221857 A1) (hereinafter "Nakai”).
With respect to claim 3: Soryal-Fan discloses the system of claim 2 as set forth above.
However, Soryal-Fan does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to select candidate positions and candidate links using the directed search by utilizing a randomized spatial exploration technique;
Nakai discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to select candidate positions and candidate links using the directed search by utilizing a randomized spatial exploration technique (utilizing a rapidly-exploring random tree (RRT) algorithm for extending a path from a self-location to another location [0172]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Soryal-Fan in view of Nakai in order to utilizing a randomized spatial exploration technique;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would generate high quality information for nest path [Nakai: 0201, 0172].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soryal et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0147335 A1) (hereinafter “Soryal”) in view of Fan et al Pub. No.: (US 2017/0111102 A1) (hereinafter "Fan”) as applied to claims 1-2, 17-18, and 20-22 above, further in view of Ivanov et al Pub. No.: (US 2020/0233439 A1) (hereinafter "Ivanov”).
With respect to claim 4: Soryal-Fan discloses the system of claim 2 as set forth above.
However, Soryal-Fan does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to evaluate candidate positions and candidate links for clear communication paths by utilizing a database of spatial obstructions;
Ivanov discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to evaluate candidate positions and candidate links for clear communication paths by utilizing a database of spatial obstructions (wind data structures stored in databases, used for determining location and best path [0080-0086]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Soryal-Fan in view of Ivanov in order to utilizing a database of spatial obstructions;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would improve navigation of aerial vehicles [Ivanov: 0025].
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soryal et al Pub. No.: (US 2024/0147335 A1) (hereinafter “Soryal”) in view of Fan et al Pub. No.: (US 2017/0111102 A1) (hereinafter "Fan”) as applied to claims 1-2, 17-18, and 20-22 above, further in view of You et al Pub. No.: (US 2022/0110028 A1) (hereinafter "You”).
With respect to claim 19: Soryal-Fan discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
However, Soryal-Fan does not explicitly disclose adjust drone positions of the plurality of possible drone positions during operation of the drone-hosted communication network to improve a link score of at least one corresponding communication link;
You discloses adjust drone positions of the plurality of possible drone positions during operation of the drone-hosted communication network to improve a link score of at least one corresponding communication link (satellite moves closer to terminal device and increases the value is adjusted [0132-0134]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Soryal-Fan in view of You in order to improve a link score of at least one corresponding communication link;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would ensure a communication continuity and quality of service [You: 0035].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Ganjoo et al Pat. No.: (US 9,927,807 B1). The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 1-22 (e.g., Command and control of unmanned vehicles using cellular and IP mesh technologies for data convergence).
Oberhofer et al Pat. No.: (US 11,676,495 B1). The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 1-22 (e.g., Dynamic autonomous vehicle mutuality support for autonomous vehicle networks).
Falla Cepeda et al. Pub. No.: (US 2022/0345859 A1). The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 1-22 (e.g., Method, apparatus, and system for building single-path communication signal map data for road links).
/T. D./
Examiner, Art Unit 2446
/MICHAEL A KELLER/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446