Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Liu, CN212571170U (in IDS filed 6/3/24) and Okada, US6174620B1.
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a housing of a battery cell (battery casing (100)), having an opening at an end in a first direction, the housing comprising:
a first side plate (105) and a second side plate (103) arranged in a circumferential direction of the opening [fig. 2]; and
a first connection plate (corner between surfaces (103)(105)) connected between the first side plate (105) and the second side plate (103) [fig. 2],
wherein: the first side plate (105) comprises a first plate portion (111), a second plate portion (non-thinned area between (115) and the corner) and a third plate portion (113)[fig. 2], the second plate portion is connected between the first plate portion (105) and the first connection plate (corner)[fig. 2], and the third plate portion (113) is located at a side of the first plate portion close to the opening [fig. 2]; and
a thickness of the first plate portion (111) is less than a thickness of the second plate portion and a thickness of the third plate portion (thinning region (111) surrounded by non-thinned area)[pg. 1 para. 12][fig. 2].
Liu does not teach wherein at least a part of the first connection plate is arcuate.
Okada teaches a housing (1A) of a battery cell a first connection plate (Q) connected between the first side plate (4) and the second side plate (5), wherein at least a part of the first connection plate is arcuate [fig. 13]. Further, Okada teaches wherein the connection plate being arcuate creates less cracks during welding [col.8 lin. 28 – 35]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the arcuate connection plate of Okada into the housing of Liu to prevent cracks during welding.
Regarding claim 2, combined Liu teaches the housing according to claim 1.
Further, Liu teaches wherein the second plate portion is connected directly to the third plate portion [fig. 2].
Regarding claim 3, combined Liu teaches the housing according to claim 1.
Further, Liu teaches wherein the thickness of the second plate portion is equal to the thickness of the third plate portion [fig. 2]
Regarding claim 4, combined Liu teaches the housing according to claim 1.
Further, Liu teaches wherein the thickness T1 of the first plate portion and the thickness T2 of the second plate portion satisfy: 0.05 mm≤T2−T1≤1 mm [pg. 1 para. 15]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976);
Regarding claim 5, combined Liu teaches the housing according to claim 4.
Further, Liu teaches wherein the thickness T1 of the first plate portion is 0.1 mm-0.8 mm (0.01 – 5 mm), and the thickness T2 of the second plate portion is 0.4 mm-1.5 mm (0.5 – 3 mm)[pg. 1 para. 15]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976);
Regarding claim 6, combined Liu teaches the housing according to claim 1,
Further, Liu teaches wherein: the first side plate further comprises a first transition portion connected between the first plate portion and the second plate portion; and in a direction from the first plate portion towards the second plate portion, a thickness of the first transition portion increases gradually (reinforcing ribs (115) having a greater thickness than the thinning portion formed at the perimeter of the thinning area (111) between the thinning area and third (1113) and second portion (not labeled))[fig. 2][pg. 2 para. 8].
Regarding claim 7, combined Liu teaches the housing according to claim 6.
Further, Liu teaches wherein: the first plate portion (H1 – L2 – L4)[fig. 3] and the second plate portion (L4) are arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (length direction of casing along H1)[fig. 3].
Liu does not teach a size L1 of the second plate portion in the second direction and a size L2 of the first transition portion (thickness in length direction of ribs (115)) in the second direction satisfy: 0.2≤L1/L2≤5.
However, Liu teaches that the amount of area of the first plate portion (thinned area (111)) in relation to the second plate portion (L2)(L4)[fig. 3] and the first transition portion (reinforcing ribs (115)) is a balance between weight reduction of the housing and housing strength [pg. 2 para. 8]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed relationship as a matter of routine optimization of the areas of Liu.
Regarding claim 8, combined Liu teaches the housing according to claim 7.
Liu does not teach wherein the size L1 of the second plate portion in the second direction is 0.5 mm-10 mm, and the size L2 of the first transition portion in the second direction is 0.5 mm-10 mm.
However, Liu teaches that the amount of area of the first plate portion (thinned area (111)) in relation to the second plate portion (L2)(L4)[fig. 3] and the first transition portion (reinforcing ribs (115)) is a balance between weight reduction of the housing and housing strength [pg. 2 para. 8]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed relationship as a matter of routine optimization of the areas of Liu.
Regarding claim 9, combined Liu teaches the housing according to claim 1.
Further, Liu teaches wherein in the first direction, an end of the first plate portion (111) away from the third plate portion (113) is flush with an end of the second plate portion away from the third plate portion [fig. 2][fig. 3].
Regarding claim 10, combined Liu teaches the housing according to claim 1.
Further, Liu teaches comprising: a third side plate (109) and a second connection plate (corner (not labeled))[fig. 1][fig. 2]; wherein: the third side plate and the opening are arranged opposite in the first direction, the second connection plate is connected between the first side plate (105) and the third side plate (109), and the first plate portion is connected directly to the second connection plate [fig. 1][fig. 2]
Okada teaches at least a part of the second connection plate is arcuate (Q)[fig. 13];
Regarding claim 11, combined Liu teaches the housing according to claim 1.
Further, Liu teaches wherein: the first side plate (105) is one of two first side plates of the housing, the second side plate is one of two second side plates (103) of the housing [fig. 2];
the two second side plates are arranged opposite in a second direction, the two first side plates are arranged opposite in a third direction, and each two of the first direction, the second direction and the third direction are perpendicular to each other [fig. 2];
the first side plate and the second side plate adjacent to each other are connected by the first connection plate (corner (not labeled))[fig. 2];
the first side plate (105) is provided with two second plate portions arranged at opposite sides of the first plate portion in the second direction respectively (area between (115) and corners (not labeled))[fig. 2].
Regarding claim 12, combined Liu teaches the housing according to claim 11.
Further, Liu teaches wherein a size of the first side plate (105) in the second direction is greater than a size of the second side plate (103) in the third direction [fig. 2].
Regarding claim 13, combined Liu teaches the housing according to claim 1.
Further, Liu teaches an outer surface of the first plate portion (105), an outer surface of second plate portion (103) and an outer surface of the third plate portion (113) are flush with each other [fig. 2]; and the second plate portion and the third plate portion protrude out of an inner surface of the first plate portion [fig. 2].
Regarding claim 14, combined Liu teaches the housing according to claim 1.
Further, Liu teaches wherein: the first side plate further comprises a second transition portion connected between the first plate portion and the third plate portion; and in a direction from the first plate portion towards the third plate portion, a thickness of the second transition portion increases gradually (reinforcing ribs (115) having a greater thickness than the thinning portion formed at the perimeter of the thinning area (111) between the thinning area and third (1113) and second portion (not labeled))[fig. 2][pg. 2 para. 8].
Regarding claim 15, combined Liu teaches the housing according to claim 14.
Liu does not teach wherein a size L3 of the third plate portion in the first direction and a size L4 of the second transition portion in the first direction satisfy: 0.3≤L3/L4≤3.
However, Liu teaches that the amount of area of the first plate portion (thinned area (111)) in relation to the third plate portion (L2)(L4)[fig. 3] and the transition portions (reinforcing ribs (115)) is a balance between weight reduction of the housing and housing strength [pg. 2 para. 8]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed relationship as a matter of routine optimization of the areas of Liu.
Regarding claim 16, combined Liu teaches the housing according to claim 15.
Liu does not teach wherein the size L3 of the third plate portion in the first direction is 0.3 mm-10 mm, and the size L4 of the second transition portion in the first direction is 0.3 mm-10 mm.
However, Liu teaches that the amount of area of the first plate portion (thinned area (111)) in relation to the third plate portion (L2)(L4)[fig. 3] and the transition portions (reinforcing ribs (115)) is a balance between weight reduction of the housing and housing strength [pg. 2 para. 8]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed relationship as a matter of routine optimization of the areas of Liu.
Regarding claim 19, combined Liu teaches the housing according to claim 1 comprising:
Further, Liu teaches a battery cell [pg. 1 para. 1], an electrode assembly accommodated inside the housing (battery core)[pg. 1 para. 5], in a thickness direction of the first side plate, a gap being provided between the electrode assembly and the second plate portion (inherent present in the instance in which a wound core is placed in a prismatic cell)[pg. 3 para. 10][fig. 2]; and an end cap for capping the opening and being connected to the third plate portion (cover plate)[pg. 1 para. 5].
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Liu, CN212571170U and Okada, US6174620B1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li, CN210668495U (in IDS filed 6/3/24).
Regarding claim 17, combined Liu teaches the housing according to claim 1.
Liu does not teach wherein: the second side plate is provided with a recess sunk from an end surface of the second side plate in the first direction; and a thickness of a portion of the second side plate corresponding to a side surface of the recess is greater than the thickness of the first plate portion.
Li teaches a battery housing wherein: the second side plate is provided with a recess (112) sunk from an end surface of the second side plate (111) in the first direction; and a thickness of a portion of the second side plate corresponding to a side surface of the recess is greater than the thickness of the first plate portion (H vs h)[fig. 2 ][fig. 3]. Further, Li teaches that having the claimed recess increases battery capacity [pg. 2 para. 5]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the recess of Li into the battery housing of combined Liu to improve battery capacity.
Regarding claim 18, combined Liu teaches the housing according to claim 17.
Combined Liu does not teach wherein in the first direction, an end of the third plate portion close to the first plate portion goes beyond a bottom surface of the recess.
However, Li teaches that the recess portion (112) formed around the perimeter of the opening (10) is a balance between housing weight, cost, space, and security of the weld formed at the opening [pg. 2 para. 5] Then, forming the recess portion such that wherein in the first direction, an end of the third plate portion close to the first plate portion goes beyond a bottom surface of the recess would have been obvious to try to maximize weight and cost reduction (ie. thinner at the third plate portion). Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed structure as it would have been obvious to try from a limited number of options.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Liu, CN212571170U and Okada, US6174620B1 as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Kwak, US20150024260A1..
Regarding claim 20, combined Liu teaches the battery cell according to claim 19.
Further, Liu teaches wherein: the third plate portion is configured to be welded to the end cap and form a welding portion; and in the first direction (welding cover plate)[pg. 3 para. 10][fig. 2].
Combined Liu does not teach the end of the third plate portion close to the first plate portion extends beyond the welding portion.
Kwak teaches a battery cell housing [0003] wherein the end of the third plate portion close to the first plate portion extends beyond the welding portion (walls of groove (71) extends beyond the welding portion (40))[fig. 3][fig. 7]. Further, Kwak teaches that the third plate portion which extends beyond the welding portion facilitates a more secure weld [0059]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the third plate portion of Kwak into the housing of combined Liu to improve the security of the weld.
Conclusion
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724