DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, Species IIa, claims 1-18 & 20 in the reply filed on 8/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0169999) in view of Jeon et al. (US 2012/0173956).
Re claim 1, Kim teaches, under BRI, Figs. 1-8, [0065, 0079, 0080, 0084], a memory device, comprising:
-a first semiconductor layer (CELL) including:
a memory cell array (110) connected to a plurality of wordlines (WL) and a plurality of bitlines (BL), the memory cell array (110) including a plurality of normal memory cells (MC) configured to store normal data, the plurality of wordlines (WL) extending in a first direction (y axis), the plurality of bitlines (BL) extending in a second direction (x axis) intersecting the first direction (Figs. 4-6); and
-a second semiconductor layer (PERI) on the first semiconductor layer (CELL) in a third direction perpendicular (z axis) to the first direction and the second direction (Figs. 1 & 7A), the second semiconductor layer (PERI) including:
a peripheral circuit (PERI) configured to control the memory cell array (110), the peripheral circuit including a row decoder (XDEC), and
wherein at least a portion of a region including the plurality of memory cells (110) in the first semiconductor layer (CELL) and at least a portion of a region including the row decoder (XDEC) in the second semiconductor layer (PERI) at least partially overlap in a plan view (Figs. 1 & 7A).
Kim does not explicitly teach a plurality of error correction code (ECC) memory cells configured to store ECC data; and at least a portion of a region including the plurality of ECC memory cells in the first semiconductor layer and at least a portion of a region including the row decoder in the second semiconductor layer at least partially overlap in a plan view.
Jeon teaches, under BRI, Fig. 2, [0034, 0039], a plurality of error correction code (ECC) memory cells (124) configured to store ECC data; and at least a portion of a region including the plurality of ECC memory cells (124) in the first semiconductor layer and at least a portion of a region including the row decoder (125) in the second semiconductor layer at least partially overlap in a plan view (in x axis).
As taught by Jeon, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Kim to obtain ECC memory cells and partially overlapping between the ECC memory cells and region including the row decoder as claimed, because it aids in improving data correction & performance of the memory device/system. Further, it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Jeon in combination with Kim due to above reason.
Re claim 18, Kim teaches, Fig. 14A, [0143], wherein the first semiconductor layer (CELL) further includes a first bonding pad (1872a), wherein the second semiconductor layer (PERI) further includes a second bonding pad (1771a) electrically connected to the first bonding pad, and wherein the first and second semiconductor layers are electrically connected in the third direction (z axis) by the first and second bonding pads (1771a, 1872a).
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 2-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is allowed. The allowed subject matter includes: “wherein the memory cell array includes: a plurality of normal memory cells…wherein the peripheral circuit includes…to the second region in the semiconductor layer”.
Additional prior arts include: Radke (US 2016/0253237, Figs. 1 & 5) discloses apparatus and method including correction code organization; Vogelsang (US 8,473,808, Figs. 1 & 2) discloses memory chip including error correction circuitry configured to receive data words from external device; Lim et al. (US 2017/0330624, Fig. 1, 2 & 7A) discloses a vertical structure include row decoder disposed under a memory cell array; Oh et al. (US 9,165,654, Fig. 1) discloses memory device includes upper layer with cell array and lower layer with page buffer control circuit; and Yamazaki et al. (US 8,508,967, Figs. 1 & 2A) discloses a semiconductor device including memory cell array in upper portion and row decodes in lower portion, individually or in combination, do not meet all limitations cited above.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kang et al. (US 2010/0223532, Fig. 1) discloses semiconductor memory device including a plurality memory cells, ECC cells, row & column decoders.
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 8/25/26