DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 6/10/26 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US 12,019,900 and US 11,321,008 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “an external memory controller” then “an input/output controller” and later recites “a controller” which introduces some lack of clarity of the antecedent and also it is not clear which of these ties to the various controllers of the disclosure (i.e. those in Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 8, 9, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder (US 6,661,724) in view of Fai (US 2012/0224425).
Regarding claim 2, Snyder discloses a method, comprising: sensing, at a host device (see Figure 2, e.g. 210+220+230+240+250), a temperature of the host device (via 230); determining, at the host device, a respective value of one or more parameters (e.g. time 288) for operating a memory device (e.g. 270) based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device (see Figure 4); and transmitting signaling (clock 250) from the host device to the memory device based at least in part on determining the respective value of the one or more parameters (via transformation).
Snyder fails to teach expressly that a temperature of the memory device is actively “identified at the host device”. However, as Fai teaches (see paragraph 0036) it was known at the time of filing to identify memory temperatures based at least in part on the temperature of the host sensor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to use the more granular approach of memory temperature inference to achieve more accurate and flexible temperature reading.
Regarding claim 3, Snyder discloses the method of claim 2, wherein determining the respective value of the one or more parameters comprises: determining a respective value of one or more timing parameters (time 288) for operating the memory device based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device.
Regarding claim 4, Snyder discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: determining a temperature decrease of the host device based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device (see Figure 5C); and decreasing a value of an access time (program/erase pulse time of 40C decreases with temperature) based at least in part on determining the temperature decrease.
Regarding claim 5, Snyder discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: determining temperature increase of the host device based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device; increasing a value of an access time (program/erase pulse time of 40C increases with temperature), based at least in part on determining the temperature increase.
Regarding claim 8, Snyder discloses the method of claim 2, wherein determining the respective value of the one or more parameters comprises: determining a respective value of one or more frequency parameters (see column 6, lines 25+ programmable clock) for operating the memory device based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device.
Regarding claim 9, Snyder discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: determining a temperature increase of the host device based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device; and reducing one or more frequencies for operating the memory device based at least in part on determining the temperature increase (see Figure 5c, 40C line temp increases, pulse width/frequency decreases).
Regarding claim 20, Snyder discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (see column 8, lines 28+) storing code comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more processors of a host device, cause the host device to perform the method taught above.
Regarding claim 21, Snyder discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 20, wherein, to determine the respective value of the one or more parameters, the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors of the host device, cause the host device to: determining a respective value of one or more timing parameters, one or more voltage parameters (see rejections above), for operating the memory device based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device.
Claims 2, 6, 7, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornwell (US 2007/0174642) in view of Fai (US 2012/0224425).
Regarding claim 2, Cornwell discloses a method (and related device), comprising: sensing, at a host device (e.g. 215+140), a temperature of the host device (see paragraph 0020, 0042 “near” “around” the flash memory); determining, at the host device, a respective value of one or more parameters (operating voltages) for operating a memory device (e.g. 205+210+230) based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device; and transmitting signaling from the host device to the memory device based at least in part on determining the respective value of the one or more parameters (see paragraph 0042, “send adjusted command”).
Cornwell fails to teach expressly that a temperature of the memory device is actively “identified at the host device”. However, as Fai teaches (see paragraph 0036) it was known at the time of filing to identify memory temperatures based at least in part on the temperature of the host sensor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to use the more granular approach of memory temperature inference to achieve more accurate and flexible temperature reading.
Regarding claim 6, Cornwell discloses the method of claim 2, wherein determining the respective value of the one or more parameters comprises: determining a respective value of one or more voltage parameters for operating the memory device based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device (see paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 7, Cornwell discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the one or more voltage parameters comprise one or more reference voltages, one or more bias voltages (operating voltage), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 20, Cornwell discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (see paragraph 0046) storing code comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more processors of a host device, cause the host device to perform the method taught above.
Regarding claim 21, Cornwell discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 20, wherein, to determine the respective value of the one or more parameters, the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors of the host device, cause the host device to: determining a respective value of one or one or more voltage parameters, or one or more frequency parameters, or a combination thereof for operating the memory device based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device (see rejections above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 19 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the record makes clear the reasons for allowance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered and are thought to be fully addressed by the modified rejections above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824