DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) Form PTO-1449. The information disclosed therein was considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species according to Figures 9-11 in the reply filed on 12/18/25 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 3, 6-8, 11-12, 15, 17, 20-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,321,008. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the later clearly dominate the claims of the instant application. Claims of the ‘008 patent recite substantially dominant features of the instant claims with some lacking a structure such as the claimed controller or CRM. However, these additions are common and well-known at the time of filing for the purpose of implementing and distributing the method and therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to include such structures.
Claims 2-3, 6, 11-12, 15, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,019,900. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the later clearly dominate the claims of the instant application. Claims of the ‘008 patent recite substantially dominant features of the instant claims with some lacking a structure such as the claimed controller or CRM. However, these additions are common and well-known at the time of filing for the purpose of implementing and distributing the method and therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to include such structures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-5, 8, 9, 11-14, 17, 18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Snyder (US 6,661,724).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Snyder discloses a method, comprising: sensing, at a host device (see Figure 2, e.g. 210+220+230+240+250), a temperature of the host device (via 230); determining, at the host device, a respective value of one or more parameters (e.g. time 288) for operating a memory device (e.g. 270) based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device (see Figure 4); and transmitting signaling (clock 250) from the host device to the memory device based at least in part on determining the respective value of the one or more parameters (via transformation).
Regarding claim 3 and 12, Snyder discloses the method of claim 2, wherein determining the respective value of the one or more parameters comprises: determining a respective value of one or more timing parameters (time 288) for operating the memory device based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device.
Regarding claim 4 and 13, Snyder discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: determining a temperature decrease of the host device based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device (see Figure 5C); and decreasing a value of an access time (program/erase pulse time of 40C decreases with temperature) based at least in part on determining the temperature decrease.
Regarding claim 5 and 14, Snyder discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: determining temperature increase of the host device based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device; increasing a value of an access time (program/erase pulse time of 40C increases with temperature), based at least in part on determining the temperature increase.
Regarding claim 8 and 17, Snyder discloses the method of claim 2, wherein determining the respective value of the one or more parameters comprises: determining a respective value of one or more frequency parameters (see column 6, lines 25+ programmable clock) for operating the memory device based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device.
Regarding claim 9 and 18, Snyder discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: determining a temperature increase of the host device based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device; and reducing one or more frequencies for operating the memory device based at least in part on determining the temperature increase (see Figure 5c, 40C line temp increases, pulse width/frequency decreases).
Regarding claim 20, Snyder discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (see column 8, lines 28+) storing code comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more processors of a host device, cause the host device to perform the method taught above.
Regarding claim 21, Snyder discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 20, wherein, to determine the respective value of the one or more parameters, the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors of the host device, cause the host device to: determining a respective value of one or more timing parameters, one or more voltage parameters (see rejections above), for operating the memory device based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device.
Claims 2, 6, 7, 11, 15, 16, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cornwell (US 2007/0174642).
Regarding claim 2 and 11, Cornwell discloses a method (and related device), comprising: sensing, at a host device (e.g. 215+140), a temperature of the host device (see paragraph 0020, 0042 “near” “around” the flash memory); determining, at the host device, a respective value of one or more parameters (operating voltages) for operating a memory device (e.g. 205+210+230) based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device; and transmitting signaling from the host device to the memory device based at least in part on determining the respective value of the one or more parameters (see paragraph 0042, “send adjusted command”).
Regarding claim 6 and 15, Cornwell discloses the method of claim 2, wherein determining the respective value of the one or more parameters comprises: determining a respective value of one or more voltage parameters for operating the memory device based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device (see paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 7 and 16, Cornwell discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the one or more voltage parameters comprise one or more reference voltages, one or more bias voltages (operating voltage), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 20, Cornwell discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (see paragraph 0046) storing code comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more processors of a host device, cause the host device to perform the method taught above.
Regarding claim 21, Cornwell discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 20, wherein, to determine the respective value of the one or more parameters, the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors of the host device, cause the host device to: determining a respective value of one or one or more voltage parameters, or one or more frequency parameters, or a combination thereof for operating the memory device based at least in part on sensing the temperature of the host device (see rejections above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10 (and 19), the prior art fails to teach or reasonably disclose in combination all the features of the claim in combination with preceding claim limitations including transmitting, to the memory device based at least in part on determining that the change in temperature of the host device satisfies the threshold, a request for an indication of a temperature of the memory device; and receiving, from the memory device based at least in part on transmitting the request, the indication of the temperature of the memory device, wherein determining the respective value of the one or more parameters for operating the memory device is based at least in part on the indication the temperature of the memory device.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824