DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Pursuant to the election with traverse on July 13, 2026 , non-elected claims 12-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The examiner proposes MEMORY DEVICE WITH VERTICAL CONTACT EMBEDDED IN HORIZONTAL CONDUCTOR
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim, US 2017/0271463 A1.
Claim 1: Lim discloses
a first conductor member (130) extending laterally in a first (horizontal) direction;
and a second conductor member (160) extending in a second (vertical) direction, perpendicular to the first direction, into the first conductor member,
wherein: a first portion (161) of the second conductor member is embedded in the first conductor member; and in the first direction, a size of the first portion of the second conductor member embedded in the first conductor member is greater than a size of a second portion (162) of the second conductor member outside the first conductor member (FIG. 1B).
Claim 2: the first conductor member comprises an undercut edge configured to receive the first portion of the second conductor member to be in the first conductor member (FIG. 1B).
Claim 4: a bottom surface of the first portion of the second conductor member is flush with a bottom surface of the first conductor member (FIG. 1B).
Claim 5: a material of the first conductor member (e.g. polysilicon ([0066]) is different from a material of the second conductor member (e.g. metal, [0068]).
Claim 6: the first conductor member is a layer positioned in a plane defined by the first direction and a third (second horizontal) direction perpendicular to the first direction; and the second conductor member is a connection structure extending in the second direction, the connection structure being configured to have an electrical connection with the layer ([0068]).
Claim 7: Lim discloses
a memory array structure (10);
a staircase structure (CR) adjacent to the memory array structure and comprising a plurality of stairs extending in a first direction (horizontal, FIG. 11M); and
a contact (250+260) extending, in a second direction (vertical) perpendicular to the first direction, through the staircase structure into a conductive layer (230) of one stair of the plurality of stairs in the staircase structure,
wherein: a first portion of the contact is embedded in the conductive layer; and in the first direction, a size of the first portion of the contact embedded in the conductive layer is greater than a size of a second portion of the contact outside the conductive layer (FIG. 11M).
Claim 8: wherein the contact comprises:
a glue layer (250) in contact with the conductive layer; and
a conductor layer (260) surrounded by the glue layer and comprising one or more conductive materials.
Claim 9: the conductive layer comprises an undercut edge configured to receive the first portion of the contact in the conductive layer (FIG. 11M).
Claim 10: a ratio of a depth of the first portion of the contact into the conductive layer to a thickness of the conductive layer, in the second direction, is between 0.3 and 1 (about 1, FIG. 11M).
Claim 11: a depth of the first portion of the contact into the conductive layer is equal to a thickness of the conductive layer, in the second direction FIG. 11M.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim. Lim does not disclose how much further the furthest edge of the first portion of the second conductor member is than a furthest edge of the second portion of the second conductor member. However, Lim discloses that “the contact plug 160 may be electrically connected to the conductive pattern 130 through the contact plate 161 inserted in the conductive pattern 130. Thus, a contact area between the conductive pattern 130 and the contact plug 160 may be increased to reduce a contact resistance between the conductive pattern 130 and the contact plug 160.” [0070]. Thus the width of the second portion is a result-effective variable: it effects the result of how high the contact resistance is. It would have been within ordinary skill in the art to determine the proper width and thus how much further the first portion would extend horizontally. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). Furthermore, changes in dimension are not typically a source of patentable distinction absent unexpected results. MPEP 2144.04(IV).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nam, US 2019/0013237 A1, which discloses second conductor PLG embedded into first conductor 30.
Okawa, US 20170077026 A1, which discloses second conductor 109 embedded into first conductor 102.
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897