DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to amendments and terminal disclaimer filed on and approved on 07/06/2026.
35 USC § 101
Examiner recognizes that a practical application is indicated as per page 2, lines 2-17 regarding the virtual camera method allowing for interesting views not to be missed by a spectator and controls governing movement for the purpose of comfort. Therefore while mental steps regarding control of a camera and recognizing interesting scenes are recited the current claims overcome step 2A by reciting a practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norman et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0113718 A1 hereinafter referred to as Norman) in view of Kobayashi (US Pub. No. 2004/0176164 A1).
As per claims 1 and 11, Norman teaches a computer-implemented method and system of controlling at least one of a navigation, positioning or orientation of a virtual camera configured to capture a plurality of storylines (defined as: “The term "storyline" is defined as an aggregated set of data defining a player's visual and auditory in-game interactions, e.g. with one or more other players. Storyline data may refer to all, or a portion, of the programmatic data defining the visual storyline, auditory storyline and associated metadata pertaining or incidental thereto which, if processed and rendered, would visually and aurally display the storyline to one or more human spectators. Storyline data may be indicative of one or more preferred positions, angles, foci, fields of view, or perspectives of one or more cameras.” As per applicant’s disclosure page 7, line 24-30) in a multiplayer (paragraphs [0003] and [0049] see example game “League of Legends”) video game hosted by at least one server (abstract and Fig. 8 teaches a multiplayer game comprising a server (paragraph [0005]) for broadcasting to at least one computing device (Fig. 2, item 1200 and paragraph [0029] see spectator device), wherein each of said plurality of storylines is associated with a different player of the multiplayer video game (paragraphs [0023] and [0026]), said method comprising: capturing a first storyline using the virtual camera (Fig. 9 see virtual scene); determining, in the at least one server, a plurality of ranked storylines (Figs. 8 and 11 and paragraphs [0049]-[0050] and [0063]-[0079] teaches an interest determination level associated with characteristics of a champion, or player, in order to select a camera view which focuses on that champion (paragraphs [0049]-[0050]) with paragraphs [0063]-[0079] listing various visibility interest factors used); determining a highest overall ranking among the plurality of ranked storylines (Fig. 8 and paragraphs [0049]-[0052] the camera of a spectator is moved in order to observer the new champion of interest); programmatically moving, in the at least one server, the virtual camera to capture one of the plurality of storylines determined to have the highest overall ranking subject to one or more rules (Fig. 8 and paragraphs [0049]-[0052] the camera of a spectator is moved in order to observer the new champion of interest), transmitting, from the at least one server to at least one computing device, images captured by the virtual camera (paragraph [0032] view is streamed to be displayed on a client device), wherein the one or more rules comprise requiring a ranking difference between the first storyline and the one of the plurality of storylines determined to have the highest overall ranking to exceed a predefined threshold value before switching the virtual camera and automatically modifying the predefined threshold value after the virtual camera switches such that a subsequent storyline switch occurs at a slower rate (paragraphs [0051]-[0052] “A number of threshold values may be utilized. For instance, even if a new champion gains status as having highest interest level, a spectator client's 1200 view may not adjust until the new champion's interest level is a certain percentage higher over the interest level of the previous champion with the highest interest level ( e.g., 20% ).” Examiner recognizes that a threshold is used to switch views wherein the threshold is set to 20% higher than the previous highest champion which would mean that the value needed to switch grows as the game progresses. Specifically the interest level has a value and that value grows as the game progresses (see paragraph [0051]) and therefore by using a 20% threshold the requirement will grow as well and act as a means to slow down switching if a fixed value is used instead.); and causing images captured by the virtual camera to be rendered on the at least one computing device (paragraph [0032] view is streamed to be displayed on a client device). Norma does not teach the rules for moving the virtual camera wherein the one or more rules is at least one (examiner note: only one rule must be taught) of: avoiding a collision with solid objects in the multiplayer video game; limiting a distance which the virtual camera must travel to capture the one of the plurality of storylines determined to have the highest overall ranking; limiting at least one of rotation, tilt and pan required for the virtual camera to capture the one of the plurality of storylines determined to have the highest overall ranking; limiting at least one of a speed of movement, an acceleration of movement, an angular speed of rotation and an angular acceleration of rotation of the virtual camera; and determining if moving the virtual camera would position the virtual camera beyond a predefined boundary and, if moving the virtual camera would position the virtual camera beyond the predefined boundary, positioning the virtual camera on the predefined boundary. However, Kobayashi teaches a game comprising a virtual camera control (abstract) wherein the one or more rules limit at least one of tilt required for the virtual camera to capture the storyline determined to have said highest overall ranking (paragraph [0096] system gives a higher score to a smaller angle thereby limiting the tilt) in order to reduce speed of movement of the virtual camera (paragraph [0018] rules are set to reduce amount of movement and therefore speed of movement (distance with time) would be reduced due to the amount of distance being covered being reduced). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Norman with Kobayashi, since Norman is modifiable to include rules to limit the movement or change of the virtual camera in order to avoid a case where a player feels a sense of incompatability with the scene due to the speed of change (Kobayashi paragraph [0096]). Specifically this renders obvious the rules regarding limiting rotation or speed.
As per claims 2 and 12, Kobayashi teaches a method and system further comprising, prior to determining the highest overall ranking among the plurality of ranked storylines, filtering the plurality of ranked storylines based on whether a player falls into a certain category or has a predefined characteristic to thereby generate a modified plurality of ranked storylines, prior to determining the highest overall ranking among the plurality of ranked storylines (paragraph [0049] various characteristics are considered for determining highest ranked and paragraph [0067]-[0073] the list of characters to be considered includes visibility range or distance and health levels).
As per claims 3 and 13, Kobayashi teaches a method and system wherein the predefined characteristics is at least one of a score, point total, health level, number of kills, or amount of treasure that is below a threshold level (paragraphs [0049] and [0071] see for example health).
As per claims 4 and 14, Kobayashi does not specifically teach a method or system wherein the predefined characteristics comprises having unpreferred weaponry. However, Kobayashi teaches a preference for attack versus repair roles for ranking views (paragraph [0073] see attacker which would be a role with other roles, such as repair (paragraph [0061]), being included. Therefore a preference for a character in an attacking role versus a repair role would be included when applying the rule in paragraph [0073]). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Kobayashi to have unpreferred weaponry as a rule for ranking since it is recognized that some weaponry in game have different roles beyond damage, such as healing, and a player may prefer instead to only view damaging weapons since this would be more exciting.
As per claims 5 and 15, Kobayashi teaches a method and system wherein the certain category is the player having a preferred title or role (paragraph [0073] see attacker which would be a role with other roles, such as repair (paragraph [0061]), being included. Therefore a preference for a character in an attacking role versus a repair role would be included when applying the rule in paragraph [0073]).
As per claims 7 and 17, Kobayashi teaches a method and system defining, in the at least one server (claim 3), at least one base criterion for ranking each storyline of the plurality of ranked storylines (Figs. 8 and 11 and paragraphs [0049]-[0050] and [0063]-[0079] teaches an interest determination level associated with characteristics of a champion, or player, in order to select a camera view which focuses on that champion (paragraphs [0049]-[0050]) with paragraphs [0063]-[0079] listing various visibility interest factors used).
As per claims 8 and 18, Kobayashi teaches a method and system wherein the at least one base criterion comprises a virtual distance of each player with respect to each other player in the multiplayer video game (paragraphs [0067]-[0070]).
As per claims 9 and 19, Kobayashi teaches a method and system further comprising, in the at least one server, a base rank for each storyline of the plurality of ranked storylines, wherein the base rank is a function of said at least one base criterion (paragraphs [0067]-[0070] acts as a filter setting up a base rank of interest or eligible selections).
As per claims 10 and 20, Kobayashi teaches a method and system further comprising defining, in the at least one server, at least one factor to weight the base rank (Figs. 8 and 11 and paragraphs [0049]-[0050] and [0063]-[0079] teaches an interest determination level associated with characteristics of a champion, or player, in order to select a camera view which focuses on that champion (paragraphs [0049]-[0050]) with paragraphs [0063]-[0079] listing various visibility interest factors used).
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norman et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0113718 A1 hereinafter referred to as Norman) and Kobayashi (US Pub. No. 2004/0176164 A1) in view of Smith et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0364915 A1 hereinafter referred to as Smith).
As per claims 6 and 16, Norman does not teach a method or system further comprising allowing an output of the virtual camera to fade to black before the virtual camera is programmatically moved. However, Smith teaches a method of displaying an object in a virtual environment including modifying the view (abstract) wherein fade to black is used when changing the viewpoint (paragraph [0055]). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have combined the teachings of Norman with Kobayashi and Smith, since Norman is modifiable to include fade to black when teleporting the view is needed when transitioning the view in order to avoid virtual motion sickness from excessive changes (paragraph [0055] of Smith).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that amended claims overcome the previous rejection. Examiner respectfully disagrees and cites to Norman paragraphs [0051]-[0052] “A number of threshold values may be utilized. For instance, even if a new champion gains status as having highest interest level, a spectator client's 1200 view may not adjust until the new champion's interest level is a certain percentage higher over the interest level of the previous champion with the highest interest level ( e.g., 20% ).” Examiner recognizes that a threshold is used to switch views wherein the threshold is set to 20% higher than the previous highest champion which would mean that the value needed to switch grows as the game progresses. Specifically the interest level has a value and that value grows as the game progresses (see paragraph [0051]) and therefore by using a 20% threshold the requirement will grow as well and act as a means to slow down switching if a fixed value is used instead. Specifically if a first higher level was used to create the switch and a second level even higher level is required based on 20% growth than this would act as means to slow down the switching since a higher value would be required versus a fixed value such as 100 points or other value linked to the interest level. Additionally by using the percentage in Norman an automatic modification is performed for the actual point value required to perform the switch. Therefore examiner maintains the current rejection and directed applicant to the modified rejection above. Regarding secondary art rejections see the primary art and therefore the arguments are moot.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN L MYHR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715 7/16/2026