DETAILED ACTION
Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, Claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 07/15/2026 is acknowledged.
IDS
The IDS document(s) filed on 10/04/2024 and 04/21/2026 have been considered. Copies of the PTO-1449 documents are herewith enclosed with this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chau et al. (US 2019/0081184 A1), hereafter “Chau”.
As to claim 1, Chau teaches a diode comprising:
a substrate (110+120, Fig. 1A, ⁋ [0030]);
a cathode terminal (140) on a first surface of the substrate;
an anode terminal (130) on a second surface of the substrate; and
an implant portion (126+128) disposed within the substrate.
As to claim 2, Chau teaches the diode of claim 1, wherein the substrate comprises an n-type semiconductor (⁋ [0031], “a first conductivity type (e.g., n-type)”).
As to claim 3, Chau teaches the diode of claim 2, wherein the implant portion comprises a p-type semiconductor (⁋ [0035], “a second conductivity type (e.g., p-type)”).
As to claim 4, Chau teaches the diode of claim 1, wherein the implant portion comprises a circular shape, a rectangular shape, a triangular shape, a pentagonal shape, a hexagonal shape, or an octagonal shape (⁋ [0046], Figs. 2+3).
As to claim 5, Chau teaches a diode comprising:
a substrate (110+120, Fig. 1A, ⁋ [0030]);
a cathode terminal (140) on a first surface of the substrate;
an anode terminal (130) on a second surface of the substrate;
a first implant portion (128, ⁋ [0030]) having a first concentration (⁋ [0040], “a second impurity concentration”) disposed within the substrate; and
a second implant portion (126) having a second concentration (⁋ [0035], “a first impurity concentration”) disposed within the first implant portion wherein the first implant portion encompasses the second implant portion (Figs. 1A+2+3), wherein the second concentration is not equal to the first concentration (⁋ [0040], “a second impurity concentration that is smaller than the first impurity concentration”).
As to claim 7, Chau teaches the diode of claim 5, wherein the substrate comprises an n-type semiconductor (⁋ [0031], “a first conductivity type (e.g., n-type)”).
As to claim 8, Chau teaches the diode of claim 7, wherein the first implant portion and the second implant portion comprises a p-type semiconductor (⁋ [0035], “a second conductivity type (e.g., p-type)”).
As to claim 9, Chau teaches the diode of claim 5, wherein the first implant portion comprises a circular shape, a rectangular shape, a triangular shape, a pentagonal shape, a hexagonal shape, or a octagonal shape (⁋ [0046], Figs. 2+3).
As to claim 10, Chau teaches the diode of claim 9, wherein the second implant portion comprises a shape generally corresponding to the shape of the first implant portion (Figs. 2+3).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chau.
As to claim 6, Chau teaches the diode of claim 5, wherein the second concentration of the second implant portion (126) is 2 to 20 times greater than the first concentration of the first implant portion (128) (⁋ [0040] teaches the concentration range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the ranges of Chau because in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ 2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/CARNELL HUNTER III/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893