DETAILED ACTION
This application, 18/733710, attorney docket 239635/411598-07308, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This application is assigned to LG Display Co, Ltd.., and cl claims foreign priority to 10-2023-0113441, filed 08/29/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending and are considered below. Note that examiner will use numbers in parentheses to indicate numbered elements in prior art figures, and brackets to point to paragraph numbers where quoted material or specific teachings can be found.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “a plurality of patterns on the light emitting diode and in a ring shape…” It is not clear whether the patterns are each in a ring shape or the plurality forms a ring shape.
Dependent claims include the defect of the parent, except where noted.
Claim 7 recites, “top surfaces of the plurality of patterns are recessed toward the substrate.” It is not clear how a top surface can be recesses. Figure 6 shows a center portion of the top surface is recessed below the outer portions of the top surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al (U.S. 2022/0328736).
As for claim 1,
Wang teaches in figure 1, a display device, comprising:
a substrate (140);
light emitting diode (110) on the substrate;
a plurality of patterns (130) on the light emitting diode and in a ring shape (annular protrusions R1-R5 [0031]) ; and
a cover layer (180) on the plurality of patterns, wherein the light emitting diode is a micro light emitting diode ([0017]).
As for claim 7,
Want teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein top surfaces of the plurality of patterns are recessed toward the substrate. (The surfaces of the rings each recess toward the substrate.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kuo et al. (U.S. 2017/0133357).
As for claim 14.
Wang teaches the display device according to claim 1 but does not teach a scattering layer on the plurality of patterns, the scattering layer including scattering particles.
However, Kuo teaches in figure 9A a scattering layer (108) on the plurality of patterns, the scattering layer including scattering particles (183 [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of this application to add the scattering layer of Kuo to the device of Wang to “improve the optical performance” Kuo [0052]. One skilled in the art would have combined these elements with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Itou (U.S. 2022/0158049).
As for claim 15,
Wang teaches in figure 1 a display device, comprising:
a substrate (140);
a plurality of light emitting diodes (112/114/116) connected to the plurality of transistors and disposed on the plurality of transistors;
a protection layer (120) on the plurality of light emitting diodes; and
a plurality of patterns (132/134/136) on the protection layer, the plurality of patterns corresponding to the plurality of light emitting diodes, wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes are micro light emitting diodes ([0017]).
Wang does not teach a plurality of transistors on the substrate;
However, Itou teaches in figure 1 a plurality of transistors (gates at 110) on an LED substrate.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of this application add the transistors of Itou to the device of Wang, so that the LEDs can be individually activated. One skilled in the art would have combined these elements with a reasonable expectation of success.
As for claim 16,
Wang in view of Itou makes obvious the display device according to claim 15,and in the combination, Wang teaches that top surfaces of the plurality of patterns are curved surfaces recessed toward the substrate. (shown in figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and the §112b rejection of claim 1 is overcome.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As for claim 2,
The prior art does not teach or make obvious the display device according to claim 1, wherein spacing between the plurality of patterns is same.
Claims 3-6 depend from claim 2 and include the same novel feature.
As for claim 8, 17 and 18
The prior art does not teach the display device according to claim 1, wherein a spaced distance between the plurality of patterns on one side from a center of the light emitting diode is different from a spaced distance between the plurality of patterns on a another side from the center of the light emitting diode.
Claims 9-11 depend from claim 8 and include the same novel feature
As for claims 12, and 19,
The prior art does not teach a refractive index of the plurality of patterns is lower than a refractive index of the cover layer.
As for claim 13,
The prior art does not teach the display device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of patterns comprise a photoresist material and the cover layer comprises parylene.
As for claim 20,
The prior art does not teach a reflection plate disposed below a light emitting diode from the plurality of light emitting diode, wherein a length of the reflector plate extending to one side from the center of the light emitting diode is smaller than a length of the reflector plate extending to the other side from the center of the light emitting diode.
Conclusion
/JOHN A BODNAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893