Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ruchala (US 20180140272 A1; May 24, 2018).
Regarding claim 11, Ruchala teaches a non-uniform phantom for a photon counting computed tomography (PCCT) system, comprising:
a base material (Paragraph 27, Figure 2 Element 32); and
one or more known composition features embedded in the base material (Paragraph 27, Figure 3 Element 36), the one or more known composition features comprising a different material than the base material, wherein the one or more known composition features comprise clinically relevant object sizes and contrasts (Paragraph 27), and
wherein the base material and the one or more known composition features are selected based on one or more of a calibration method, a clinical purpose, and a research purpose (Paragraph 21).
Regarding claim 13, Ruchala teaches the non-uniform phantom of claim 11. Ruchala further teaches wherein the one or more known composition features comprise one or more of a hole, slot, recess, or bore in the base material (Paragraph 27, Seen in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, Ruchala teaches the non-uniform phantom of claim 13. Ruchala further teaches wherein the hole, slot, recess, or bore comprise a filler material (Paragraph 27).
Regarding claim 15, Ruchala teaches the non-uniform phantom of claim 14. Ruchala further teaches wherein the hole, slot, recess, or bore and the filler material comprise a standardized size, and wherein the filler material is interchangeable to assemble different material combinations (Paragraph 30).
Regarding claim 16, Ruchala teaches the non-uniform phantom of claim 11. Ruchala further teaches wherein the base material is air (Paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 17, Ruchala teaches the non-uniform phantom of claim 11. Ruchala further teaches wherein the non-uniform phantom comprises a cylindrical or elliptical base material and the one or more known composition features comprise micro or sub-micro scale beads of various materials and densities (Paragraph 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruchala (US 20180140272 A1; May 24, 2018) in view of Wang (US 2024/0346716 A1; October 17, 2024).
Regarding claim 12, Ruchala teaches the non-uniform phantom of claim 11, but does not teach wherein the calibration method comprises correcting for one or both of charge sharing and detector crosstalk.
Wang teaches wherein the calibration method comprises correcting for one or both of charge sharing and detector crosstalk (Paragraph 92-93).
Therefore, from the teaching of Wang, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to specify the abovementioned limitations in order to ensure increased efficiency of the detector system by ensuring it is properly calibrated.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 and 18-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, none of the prior art of record specifies or makes obvious a method for a photon counting computed tomography (PCCT) system, the method comprising:
during a calibration of the PCCT system:
generating a detector response prediction for one or more known composition features of a non-uniform phantom;
performing a calibration scan of the non-uniform phantom at a plurality of positions between an X-ray source and a detector of the PCCT system;
measuring an actual detector response at each of the plurality of positions;
generating a correction factor based on the detector response prediction and the actual detector response at each of the plurality of positions; and
adjusting a calibration algorithm based on the correction factor.
Regarding claim 18, none of the prior art of record specifies or makes obvious a photon counting computed tomography (PCCT) system, comprising:
an X-ray source that emits a beam of X-rays toward a subject to be imaged;
a photon counting detector that receives the beam of X-rays attenuated by the subject;
a non-uniform phantom; and
a data acquisition system (DAS) operably connected to the photon counting detector and configured to:
during a calibration of the PCCT system,
generate a detector response prediction for one or more known composition features of the non-uniform phantom;
perform a calibration scan of the non-uniform phantom at a plurality of positions between the X-ray source and the photon counting detector of the PCCT system;
measure an actual detector response at each of the plurality of positions;
generate a correction factor based on the detector response prediction and the actual detector response at each of the plurality of positions; and
adjust one or more calibration algorithms based on the correction factor.
References such as Zhan teaches (US 20220296202 A; September 22, 2022) a calibration method comprising: acquiring sinogram data by scanning a symmetrical phantom using a plurality of detector channels; generating mirror-copied sinogram data by mirror-copying at least one of first sinogram data and second sinogram data of the acquired sinogram data, wherein the first sinogram data and the second sinogram data are generated by dividing the sinogram data at a center detector channel of the plurality of detector channels; outputting a first reconstructed image by reconstructing the mirror-copied sinogram data; and determining a calibration parameter based on the first reconstructed image. (Claim 1)
Additionally, references such as Gilat-Schmidt (WO 2023/044114A1; March 23, 2023) teaches a methods and systems are provided for downsampling detector data in a computed tomography imaging system. In an example, a method for a photon-counting computed tomography (PCCT) system includes, during a scan of an imaging subject, obtaining detector data from a photon-counting detector of the PCCT system, the detector data comprising, for each pixel or detector element of the photon-counting detector, photon counts partitioned into a plurality of energy bins based on an energy imparted by each photon on the photon-counting detector, applying a bin factor to the plurality of energy bins for each pixel to downsample the plurality of energy bins into a reduced number of energy bins, and reconstructing one or more images from the reduced number of energy bins. (Abstract)
Lastly, references such as Dafni ( US 2010/0195804 A1; August 5, 2010) teaches a method for calibration of a CT scanner having an x-ray source and a detector having an axial extent in the scanner, the source being rotatable about an epicenter between the source and detector, the method comprising: sequentially positioning a phantom having a non-circular cross section and a length commensurate with the extent of the detector at a plurality of positions between the X ray source and detector array of said CT scanner or sequentially positioning a plurality of phantoms each having a non-circular cross section and a length commensurate with the extent of the detector at a plurality of positions between the X ray source and detector array of said CT scanner; acquiring calibration attenuation data for X rays that have been attenuated by traversing the phantom positioned at each of said plurality of positions; and calculating calibration corrections for CT scanner scan data from said calibration attenuation data (Claim 1).
However, none of the prior art of record specifies or makes obvious the abovementioned limitations.
However, none of the prior art of record specifies or makes obvious the abovementioned limitations.
The balance of claims are allowable for at least the abovementioned reasons.
1.
Conclusion
/GISSELLE GUTIERREZ/
Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884