DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/24/25, 7/20/25, and 6/5/24 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 6/5/24. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213093269 U (CN'269) in view of CN 213150879 U (CN'879).
As to Claim 1:
CN'269 discloses a battery cell (battery shell 100 mounted with a core body to form a battery cell structure; CN'269, Pg. 5, Pg. 8), comprising:
a housing, comprising a first opening and configured to accommodate an electrode assembly of the battery cell (battery shell 100 comprises bottom surface 101 and a plurality of side surfaces 125, 127, 129 forming an interior mounting space with an open end configured to accommodate an electric core body; CN'269, Pg. 5, Pg. 8, Pg. 9);
an end cap, configured to fit and cover the first opening (top cover 103 welded on the upper part of the shell to fit, seal, and cover the open end; CN'269, Pg. 5, Pg. 8, Pg. 9); and
a first dielectric film, configured to dielectrically protect the end cap (insulating layer 117, which is a PET insulating film, configured to dielectrically protect top cover 103; CN'269, Pg. 5, Pg. 7, Pg. 8, Pg. 9), wherein the first dielectric film comprises:
a body portion, wherein the body portion is configured to cover a surface of the end cap, the surface being away from the housing (coverage area 139 matched with the shape of top cover 103 and covering the outer side of top cover 103 facing away from the shell; CN'269, Pg. 7, Pg. 8, Pg. 9); and
an extension portion connected to an edge of the body portion that is able to be bent toward the housing and cover at least a part of an outer sidewall of the housing (connecting area 141 disposed along the circumferential edge of coverage area 139 and bent downward along the link orientation to cover non-spraying areas 115 of outer side surfaces 125, 127, 129 of the shell; CN'269, Pg. 7, Pg. 8, Pg. 9).
However, CN'269 does not explicitly disclose that the dielectric film comprises "a plurality of extension portions, wherein the plurality of extension portions surround the body portion, each of the plurality of extension portions is connected to one edge of the body portion and extends away from a center of the body portion" as discrete, separated extension portions. Instead, CN'269 illustrates and describes connecting area 141 as having a "substantially hollow annular rectangular shape" forming a continuous perimeter collar (CN'269, Pg. 7, Pg. 9).
CN'879 discloses an insulating film structure for a power battery comprising a shell (11) and a top cover (12), and specifically addresses the problem of folding an insulating film over the corners and edges connecting the shell and the top cover (CN'879, Pgs. 1–2, Pg. 4). CN'879 teaches that bending an unnotched or continuous film edge across corner folding angles produces high hemming stress, corner steps, and wrinkles that cause the film to lift, warp, and separate (CN'879, Pg. 2). To solve this problem, CN'879 discloses providing the bent portion of the insulating film with a plurality of discrete extension portions separated by cuts or notches, specifically forming a tooth-shaped structure composed of a series of regular, continuous projections or bulges (211) that extend away from the film and fold across the corner seams (CN'879, Pgs. 2–3, Pg. 4, Pg. 5). CN'879 teaches that configuring the bent edge as a plurality of discrete extension tabs separated by notches weakens folding stress, eliminates corner steps and gaps, increases the effective bonding area, and prevents edge warping and insulative protection failure (CN'879, Pgs. 2–3, Pg. 4).
CN'269 and CN'879 are analogous arts because each reference is from the same field of endeavor, namely the field of power battery cell manufacture and dielectric insulating film packaging (CN'269, Pg. 2; CN'879, Pg. 1), and each reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem confronting the inventor, specifically preventing folding stress, corner wrinkling, and edge warping of dielectric films bent across the junction between a battery cell housing and top cover to ensure reliable insulative protection (CN'269, Pg. 2; CN'879, Pgs. 1–2).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the connecting area (141) of the insulating layer (117) of CN'269 by cutting notches into the perimeter to form a plurality of discrete extension portions surrounding the coverage area (139), each extending away from a center of the coverage area and bent toward the housing as taught by CN'879, in order to relieve folding stress at the four corner transitions of the sidewalls, eliminate corner steps, gaps, and wrinkles during downward bending, and prevent the dielectric film from warping or lifting from the outer sidewalls of the housing, thereby ensuring effective and durable insulative protection for the battery cell (CN'879, Pgs. 2–3, Pg. 4).
As to Claim 4:
CN'269 discloses the battery cell according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1); the first dielectric film comprises a second opening (CN'269 discloses that the covering area 139 of the insulating layer 117 is provided with an opening; (CN'269, Pg. 3, Pg. 7, Pg. 9); and the second opening is configured to avoid an electrode terminal and a pressure relief mechanism of the battery cell (CN'269 discloses that the opening in covering area 139 comprises a first opening 119, a second opening 121, and a third opening 123 configured so that the positive pole 105, negative pole 107, and explosion-proof valve 109 of the core extending out from top cover 103 are respectively exposed from and avoided by first opening 119, second opening 121, and third opening 123; (CN'269, Pg. 3, Pg. 7, Pg. 8, Pg. 9).
As to Claim 7:
CN'269 discloses the battery cell according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1); and the body portion and the extension portions are made of a same material and formed in one piece (CN'269 discloses that the insulating layer 117 is an insulating film, specifically a single PET film, which is cut into the shape matching the top cover 103 and the four sides of non-spraying area 115 using a cutter or laser to form the coverage area 139 and connecting area 141, and then folded such that the coverage area 139 and connecting area 141 are integrally formed in one piece from the same PET film material (CN'269, Pg. 7, Pg. 8, Pg. 9).
As to Claim 10:
CN'269 discloses the battery cell according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1); the body portion is quadrilateral (CN'269 discloses that the top cover 103 is rectangular and that the covering area 139 of the insulating layer 117 matches the shape of the top cover 103 and is of a substantially rectangular shape; (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9); and a number of the extension portions is four (CN'269 discloses that the battery shell comprises four side surfaces, namely a first side surface 125, a second side surface 127, a third side surface, and a fourth side surface 129, and that the connecting area 141 along the circumferential edge of covering area 139 is cut and folded along the four edges to cover the four outer side surfaces 125, 127, third side surface, and 129 of the shell (CN'269, Pg. 5), (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
However, CN'269 does not explicitly disclose that the dielectric film comprises "a number of the extension portions is four" as four discrete, separated extension portions extending away from the center of the body portion (see the rejection of claim 1). Instead, CN'269 illustrates and describes connecting area 141 as having a "substantially hollow annular rectangular shape" forming a continuous perimeter collar (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
CN'879 discloses an insulating film structure for a power battery comprising a shell (11) and a top cover (12), and specifically addresses the folding process at the four folding angles between the shell and the top cover (CN'879, Pgs. 1–2), (CN'879, Pg. 4). CN'879 teaches that in actual production, folding a continuous film over the battery top generates four folding angles where steps, high folding stress, and corner gaps occur, causing the film to lift, warp, and separate (CN'879, Pg. 2). To solve this problem, CN'879 discloses providing the bent portion of the insulating film with a plurality of discrete extension portions separated by cuts or notches along the peripheral edges, specifically forming a tooth-shaped structure composed of a series of regular, continuous projections or bulges (211) that fold across the corner seams (CN'879, Pgs. 2–3), (CN'879, Pg. 4), (CN'879, Pg. 5). CN'879 teaches that configuring the bent edge as distinct extension portions separated by notches weakens folding stress, eliminates corner steps and gaps, increases the effective bonding area, and prevents edge warping and insulative protection failure (CN'879, Pgs. 2–3), (CN'879, Pg. 4).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the connecting area (141) of the rectangular insulating layer (117) of CN'269 by segmenting the perimeter into four discrete extension portions along the four edges of the quadrilateral coverage area (139), each extending away from a center of the coverage area and bent toward the housing as taught by CN'879, in order to relieve folding stress at the four corner transitions of the sidewalls, eliminate corner steps, gaps, and wrinkles during downward bending, and prevent the dielectric film from warping or lifting from the four outer sidewalls of the housing, thereby ensuring effective and durable insulative protection for the battery cell (CN'269, Pgs. 5, 7–8); (CN'879, Pgs. 2–4).
As to Claim 15:
CN'269 discloses a method for manufacturing a battery cell (CN'269 describes the production process/flow for manufacturing a battery cell structure comprising battery shell 100, an electric core, and top cover 103; (CN'269, Pg. 5), (CN'269, Pg. 8), comprising: providing a housing, wherein the housing comprises a first opening and is configured to accommodate an electrode assembly of the battery cell (CN'269 discloses providing a battery shell 100 comprising a bottom surface 101 and a plurality of side surfaces 125, 127, 129 forming an interior mounting space with an open upper end, and inserting the core of the electric core into the shell; (CN'269, Pg. 5), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9); providing an end cap, wherein the end cap is configured to fit and cover the first opening (CN'269 discloses providing a top cover 103 and welding the top cover 103 onto the upper part of the shell 100 to fit, seal, and cover the open end; (CN'269, Pg. 5), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9); and providing a first dielectric film, wherein the first dielectric film is configured to dielectrically protect the end cap (CN'269 discloses providing an insulating layer 117, which is a PET insulating film, configured to dielectrically protect the top cover 103; (CN'269, Pg. 5), (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9), and the first dielectric film comprises: a body portion, wherein the body portion is configured to cover a surface of the end cap, the surface being away from the housing (CN'269 discloses that the insulating layer 117 includes a coverage area 139 matched with the shape of the top cover 103, which is sleeved from top to bottom over the top cover 103 so that the coverage area 139 covers the outer surface of the top cover 103 facing away from the shell; (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9); and an extension portion connected to an edge of the body portion that is able to be bent toward the housing and cover at least a part of an outer sidewall of the housing (CN'269 discloses that the insulating layer 117 includes a connecting area 141 disposed along the circumferential edge of the coverage area 139 that is folded along the link orientation downward to cover non-spraying areas 115 of the outer side surfaces 125, 127, 129 of the shell; (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
However, CN'269 does not explicitly disclose providing the dielectric film with "a plurality of extension portions, wherein the plurality of extension portions surround the body portion, each of the plurality of extension portions is connected to one edge of the body portion and extends away from a center of the body portion" as discrete, separated extension portions. Instead, CN'269 illustrates and describes connecting area 141 as having a "substantially hollow annular rectangular shape" forming a continuous perimeter collar (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
CN'879 discloses an insulating film structure and a coating process for a power battery comprising a shell (11) and a top cover (12), and specifically addresses the problem of folding an insulating film over the corners and edges connecting the shell and the top cover (CN'879, Pgs. 1–2), (CN'879, Pg. 4). CN'879 teaches that bending an unnotched or continuous film edge across corner folding angles produces high hemming stress, corner steps, and wrinkles that cause the film to lift, warp, and separate (CN'879, Pg. 2). To solve this problem, CN'879 discloses providing the bent portion of the insulating film with a plurality of discrete extension portions separated by cuts or notches, specifically forming a tooth-shaped structure composed of a series of regular, continuous projections or bulges (211) that extend away from the film and fold across the corner seams (CN'879, Pgs. 2–3), (CN'879, Pg. 4), (CN'879, Pg. 5). CN'879 teaches that configuring the bent edge as a plurality of discrete extension tabs separated by notches weakens folding stress, eliminates corner steps and gaps, increases the effective bonding area, and prevents edge warping and insulative protection failure (CN'879, Pgs. 2–3), (CN'879, Pg. 4).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of CN'269 by cutting notches into the connecting area (141) of the insulating layer (117) to form a plurality of discrete extension portions surrounding the coverage area (139), each extending away from a center of the coverage area and bent toward the housing as taught by CN'879, in order to relieve folding stress at the four corner transitions of the sidewalls, eliminate corner steps, gaps, and wrinkles during downward bending, and prevent the dielectric film from warping or lifting from the outer sidewalls of the housing, thereby ensuring effective and durable insulative protection for the battery cell (CN'269, Pgs. 7–8); (CN'879, Pgs. 2–4).
Claims 2, 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213093269 U (CN’269) in view of CN 213150879 U (CN’879), and further in view of JP 2015-049942 A (JP’942).
As to Claim 2:
CN'269 discloses the battery cell according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1); and an extension portion extending from the body portion (CN'269 discloses that the insulating layer 117 includes a connecting area 141 disposed along the edge of coverage area 139 and bent downward to cover non-spraying areas 115 of outer side surfaces 125, 127, 129 of the shell; (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
However, CN'269 does not explicitly disclose that "a thickness of the extension portion is less than a thickness of the body portion". Instead, CN'269 illustrates and describes connecting area 141 as having a "substantially hollow annular rectangular shape" forming a continuous perimeter collar of uniform thickness (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
JP'942 teaches that an insulating layer (140, 142) on a battery cell casing has an end/extension portion (first end part 140a, 142a) formed such that its thickness becomes thinner toward the tip (via an inclined beveled surface 140b or stepped recess 142a) than the remainder of the insulating layer (JP'942, Pg. 1), (JP'942, Pg. 5), (JP'942, Pg. 10), (JP'942, Pg. 12). JP'942 explicitly teaches that forming the end portion with a reduced thickness prevents the insulating layer from becoming locally thick ("locally thick portions"), eliminates wasted space, suppresses cell deformation caused by local pressure, and allows adjacent battery cells to make flush, gapless contact with each other when arranged in a battery module (JP'942, Pg. 1), (JP'942, Pg. 8).
CN'269, CN'879, and JP'942 are analogous arts because each reference is from the same field of endeavor, namely the field of power battery cell manufacture and dielectric insulating film packaging (CN'269, Pg. 2); (CN'879, Pg. 1); (JP'942, Pg. 1), and each reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem confronting the inventor, specifically providing reliable dielectric insulation across battery casing walls while preventing folding stress, corner wrinkling, edge warping, and localized film thickness buildup that consumes space and interferes with cell packing (CN'269, Pg. 2); (CN'879, Pgs. 1–2); (JP'942, Pgs. 1, 8).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure each extension portion to have a thickness less than that of the body portion (coverage area 139) as taught by JP'942, in order to relieve folding stress at the four corner transitions of the sidewalls during downward bending as taught by CN'879, and to prevent localized thickness accumulation along the outer sidewalls of the housing, eliminate wasted space, suppress cell deformation, and enable compact, gapless nesting of adjacent battery cells in a battery module as taught by JP'942 (CN'269, Pgs. 7–8); (CN'879, Pgs. 2–3); (JP'942, Pg. 1, Pg. 8).
As to Claim 9:
CN'269 discloses the battery cell according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1); an insulating layer on the top cover having a coverage area 139 and a connecting area 141 extending from the coverage area and bent downward to cover non-spraying areas 115 of outer side surfaces 125, 127, 129 of the shell (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9); and an insulating layer thickness selected within a range of 0.1 μm to 1000 μm, specifically including 100 μm (0.1 mm) (CN'269, Pg. 3), (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
However, CN'269 does not explicitly disclose that "a thickness of the body portion is 0.3 to 0.5 mm, and a thickness of the extension portion is 0.1 mm". Instead, CN'269 illustrates and describes connecting area 141 as having a "substantially hollow annular rectangular shape" forming a continuous perimeter collar of uniform thickness (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
JP'942 discloses an insulating layer on a battery cell container body (111) and specifically addresses space-saving and dimensional control in battery cell packaging (JP'942, Pg. 1), (JP'942, Pg. 8). JP'942 teaches that an insulating layer (140, 142) on a battery cell casing has an end/extension portion (first end part 140a, 142a) formed such that its thickness is less than and becomes thinner toward the tip (via an inclined beveled surface 140b or stepped recess 142a) compared to the remainder of the layer (JP'942, Pg. 1), (JP'942, Pg. 5), (JP'942, Pg. 10), (JP'942, Pg. 12). JP'942 explicitly teaches that forming the extension portion with a thickness less than that of the body portion prevents the insulating layer from becoming locally thick ("locally thick portions"), eliminates wasted space, suppresses cell deformation caused by local pressure, and allows adjacent battery cells to make flush, gapless contact with each other when arranged in a battery module (JP'942, Pg. 1), (JP'942, Pg. 8).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure each extension portion to have a reduced thickness of 0.1 mm (100 μm as disclosed in CN'269) and the body portion (coverage area 139) to have a thickness of 0.3 to 0.5 mm as taught by JP'942, in order to relieve folding stress at the four corner transitions of the sidewalls during downward bending as taught by CN'879, and to prevent localized thickness accumulation along the outer sidewalls of the housing, eliminate wasted space, suppress cell deformation, and enable compact, gapless nesting of adjacent battery cells in a battery module as taught by JP'942 (CN'269, Pgs. 7–8); (CN'879, Pgs. 2–3); (JP'942, Pgs. 1, 8).
As to Claim 11:
CN'269 discloses the battery cell according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1); a dielectric layer configured to dielectrically protect the housing of the battery cell (CN'269 discloses that at least part of each side surface 125, 127, 129 and bottom surface 101 of the shell 100 are covered by an insulating paint layer 143 to dielectrically protect the shell 100 of the battery cell; (CN'269, Pg. 2), (CN'269, Pg. 5), (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9); and an edge of the dielectric layer, the edge being oriented toward the extension portion, does not exceed an edge of intersection between the housing and the end cap (CN'269 discloses that the spraying area 113 of the side surfaces is located far away from the top cover 103 and close to the bottom surface 101, and is separated from the top cover 103 by non-spraying area 115, such that the upper edge of the insulating paint layer 143 oriented toward the connecting area 141 does not reach or exceed the edge of intersection between the shell 100 and the top cover 103; (CN'269, Pg. 2), (CN'269, Pg. 5), (CN'269, Pg. 6), (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
However, CN'269 does not disclose that the battery cell further comprises "a second dielectric film, wherein the second dielectric film wraps the housing" to dielectrically protect the housing. Instead, CN'269 illustrates and describes connecting area 141 as having a "substantially hollow annular rectangular shape" forming a continuous perimeter collar (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9), and CN'269 explicitly protects the shell 100 by spraying an insulating paint layer 143 rather than wrapping the shell with an insulating film (CN'269, Pg. 2), (CN'269, Pg. 5).
JP'942 discloses a power storage element (100) comprising a container body (111) and a lid body (112), and teaches that the dielectric protection on the outer surface of the container body (housing) can be formed as an insulating tape or film (first insulating layer 140) that wraps the outer sidewalls of the container body (111) to dielectrically protect the housing (JP'942, Pg. 1), (JP'942, Pg. 5). JP'942 further explicitly discloses that the upper edge (first end part 140a) of the housing insulating film/tape (140) is disposed at a predetermined distance from the opening (111a) of the container body (111) such that its edge oriented toward the lid body (112) and upper insulating tape (150) does not reach or exceed the edge of intersection between the container body (111) and the lid body (112) (JP'942, Pg. 5), (JP'942, Pg. 6). JP'942 teaches that configuring the housing insulating film to terminate at a distance below the top opening prevents the insulating film from being damaged or interfering with laser welding of the lid body (112) to the container body (111), suppresses local thickness buildup when joined with the downwardly extending upper tape (150), saves space, and allows adjacent battery cells to make flat, gapless surface contact when assembled into a battery module (JP'942, Pg. 1), (JP'942, Pg. 6), (JP'942, Pg. 8).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to replace the sprayed paint layer (143) on the shell (100) of CN'269 with a second dielectric film/tape wrapping the housing shell and having an edge terminating below the top cover so as not to exceed the intersection edge between the shell and the top cover as taught by JP'942, in order to relieve folding stress at the four corner transitions of the sidewalls during downward bending as taught by CN'879, eliminate liquid-paint spraying and curing operations, prevent the housing film from interfering with top cover welding, and avoid localized film thickness accumulation along the casing sidewalls to maximize packing density when assembling battery cells into a battery module as taught by JP'942 (CN'269, Pgs. 5, 7–8); (CN'879, Pgs. 2–3); (JP'942, Pgs. 1, 5, 6, 8).
As to Claim 12:
CN'269 discloses the battery cell according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1); and an edge of the extension portion is connected to an edge of a dielectric layer on the housing (CN'269 discloses that the connecting area 141 disposed along the circumferential edge of covering area 139 is folded downward to cover the non-spraying area 115 of each side surface 125, 127, 129 of the shell 100, and an edge of the connecting area 141 is connected with the corresponding position of each side of the spraying area 113 of the insulating paint layer 143 disposed on shell 100 to ensure the safety and beauty of the whole battery shell 100; (CN'269, Pg. 2), (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
However, CN'269 does not disclose that the dielectric layer on the housing is a "second dielectric film, wherein the second dielectric film wraps the housing" whose edge oriented toward the extension portion is connected to an edge of the extension portion. Instead, CN'269 illustrates and describes connecting area 141 as having a "substantially hollow annular rectangular shape" forming a continuous perimeter collar (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9), and CN'269 protects the shell 100 by spraying an insulating paint layer 143 rather than wrapping the shell with an insulating film (CN'269, Pg. 2), (CN'269, Pg. 5).
JP'942 discloses a power storage element (100) comprising a container body (111) and a lid body (112), and teaches that the dielectric protection on the outer surface of the container body (housing) can be formed as an insulating tape or film (first insulating layer 140) that wraps the outer sidewalls of the container body (111) to dielectrically protect the housing (JP'942, Pg. 1), (JP'942, Pg. 5). JP'942 further explicitly discloses that an edge of the housing insulating tape (140) oriented toward the lid body (112) is connected to an edge of an upper downwardly extending insulating tape (second end portion 151a, 152a of upper insulating tape 151, 152) such that their respective contacting surfaces (140b/151b, 142b/152b) are arranged in direct edge-to-edge contact with each other (JP'942, Pg. 10), (JP'942, Pg. 11). JP'942 teaches that connecting the edges of the upper and lower insulating layers in direct edge contact provides continuous insulation while preventing the insulating layer from becoming locally thick ("locally thick portions"), eliminates useless space, suppresses cell deformation, and allows adjacent battery cells to make flat, gapless surface contact when assembled into a battery module (JP'942, Pg. 1), (JP'942, Pg. 8), (JP'942, Pgs. 10–11).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to replace the sprayed paint layer (143) on the shell (100) of CN'269 with a second dielectric film/tape wrapping the housing shell and having its upper edge connected to the edge of the extension portion (connecting area 141) as taught by JP'942, in order to relieve folding stress at the four corner transitions of the sidewalls during downward bending as taught by CN'879, eliminate liquid-spray operations, and provide continuous, gap-free dielectric coverage while preventing local thickness buildup along the casing sidewalls to maximize volumetric packing density in a battery module as taught by JP'942 (CN'269, Pgs. 5, 7–8); (CN'879, Pgs. 2–3); (JP'942, Pgs. 1, 5, 8, 10–11).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213093269 U (CN’269) in view of CN 213150879 U (CN’879), and further in view of US 2017/0062783 A1 (US’783).
As to Claim 3:
CN'269 discloses the battery cell according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1); and a junction between the body portion and the extension portion (CN'269 discloses that the insulating layer 117 includes a coverage area 139 and a connecting area 141 disposed along the circumferential edge of coverage area 139, wherein the link orientation between coverage area 139 and connecting area 141 forms a fold line/junction where connecting area 141 is bent downward to cover non-spraying areas 115 of outer side surfaces 125, 127, 129 of shell 100; (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
However, CN'269 does not disclose that "a reinforcing rib is disposed at a junction between the extension portion and the body portion". Instead, CN'269 illustrates and describes connecting area 141 as having a "substantially hollow annular rectangular shape" forming a continuous perimeter collar of uniform thickness (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9), and discloses a planar fold line without a reinforcing rib disposed at the fold junction (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 8).
US'783 discloses a rechargeable battery assembly comprising battery cells and support plates subjected to bending and deformation forces (US'783, [0008]–[0009], [0051], [0054]). US'783 explicitly teaches disposing a reinforcing rib at a bent junction between a main body and a bent portion/flange to reinforce mechanical strength (US'783, [0018], [0032], [0114]). Specifically, US'783 discloses an edge-reinforcing rib (222) that is protruded from an edge at which the main body (210) and the flange (bottom flange 216) are bent and connected, wherein the edge-reinforcing rib (222) supports the main body (210) and the bottom flange (216) and reinforces the bent strength of the bent main body (210) and bottom flange (216) at the bent edge to withstand stress and maintain structural stability (US'783, [0018], [0114]).
CN'269, CN'879, and US'783 are analogous arts because each reference is from the same field of endeavor, namely the field of battery cell and battery pack manufacture and packaging (CN'269, Pg. 2); (CN'879, Pg. 1); (US'783, [0003], [0006]), and each reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem confronting the inventor, specifically providing structural stability, stress relief, and mechanical reinforcement at bent edges and junctions of battery cell components subjected to folding stress and deformation forces (CN'269, Pg. 2); (CN'879, Pgs. 1–2); (US'783, [0008], [0018], [0114]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to dispose a reinforcing rib at the junction between each extension portion (connecting area 141) and the body portion (coverage area 139) as taught by US'783, in order to relieve folding stress at the four corner transitions of the sidewalls during downward bending as taught by CN'879, and to reinforce the bending strength at the folded junction between the body portion and extension portions to prevent fatigue, tearing, and unwanted lifting along the bent edges of the dielectric film as taught by US'783 (CN'269, Pgs. 7–8); (CN'879, Pgs. 2–3); (US'783, [0018], [0114]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213093269 U (CN’269) in view of CN 213150879 U (CN’879), and further in view of CN 207250579 U (CN’579).
As to Claim 5:
CN'269 discloses the battery cell according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1); an end cap (top cover 103; (CN'269, Pg. 5), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9); and a first dielectric film having a body portion configured to cover a surface of the end cap, the surface being away from the housing (coverage area 139 of insulating layer 117 matches the shape of top cover 103 and covers the outer surface of top cover 103 facing away from shell 100; (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
However, CN'269 does not explicitly disclose that "the body portion comprises a protruding portion, and the protruding portion protrudes beyond the body portion from a side of the body portion, the side being away from the battery cell; the protruding portion is recessed in the body portion on a side oriented toward the battery cell, so as to form a cavity structure; and the cavity structure is configured to accommodate a part of the end cap, the part protruding away from an interior of the battery cell". Instead, CN'269 illustrates and describes connecting area 141 as having a "substantially hollow annular rectangular shape" forming a continuous perimeter collar (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9), and CN'269 discloses that coverage area 139 is a planar sheet configured to match a planar top cover 103 (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
CN'579 discloses a power battery top cover patch structure comprising a top cover sheet (1) and an insulating dielectric label sheet (3) adhered to the top cover sheet (CN'579, Pg. 1), (CN'579, Pg. 3). CN'579 teaches that the top cover sheet (1) comprises a raised boss structure (first lug boss 11) protruding upward away from the interior of the battery cell (CN'579, Pg. 1), (CN'579, Pg. 3), (CN'579, Pg. 4). CN'579 explicitly addresses the problem that when a battery top cover has a raised boss structure, a planar patch leaves the flange perimeter of the boss exposed, causing short circuits when welding busbars touch the exposed metal (CN'579, Pg. 2). To solve this problem, CN'579 teaches that the dielectric label sheet (3) is provided with a raised boss structure (second lug boss 31, height 1 to 10 mm) matching the first lug boss (11) such that the protruding portion (second lug boss 31) protrudes beyond the body portion on the side away from the battery cell and is recessed on the side oriented toward the battery cell to form a cavity structure that accommodates the protruding first lug boss (11) of the top cover sheet (1), completely covering the top cover sheet to prevent short circuits with external circuits (CN'579, Pgs. 1–3), (CN'579, Pg. 4).
CN'269, CN'879, and CN'579 are analogous arts because each reference is from the same field of endeavor, namely the field of power battery cell manufacture and dielectric insulating film packaging (CN'269, Pg. 2); (CN'879, Pg. 1); (CN'579, Pg. 2), and each reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem confronting the inventor, specifically providing complete, conformal dielectric insulative protection across a battery cell casing and end cap while relieving corner folding stress and preventing gaps, exposed metal edges, and external short circuits at raised header structures (CN'269, Pg. 2); (CN'879, Pgs. 1–2); (CN'579, Pgs. 1–3).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the coverage area (139) of CN'269 with a protruding portion forming a recessed underside cavity structure to accommodate a protruding boss of the top cover as taught by CN'579, in order to relieve folding stress at the four corner transitions of the sidewalls during downward bending as taught by CN'879, and to provide full conformal dielectric coverage over protruding header components, eliminate exposed gaps, and prevent short circuits between external circuits and the top cover as taught by CN'579 (CN'269, Pgs. 7–8); (CN'879, Pgs. 2–3); (CN'579, Pgs. 1–3).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213093269 U (CN’269) in view of CN 213150879 U (CN’879) and CN 207250579 U (CN’579), as applied to Claim 5 above, and further in view of CN 207303258 U (CN’258).
As to Claim 6:
CN'269 discloses the battery cell according to claim 5 (see the rejection of claim 5); an end cap (top cover 103; (CN'269, Pg. 5), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9); a part of the battery cell protruding beyond the end cap (CN'269 discloses that the core structure extends out from top cover 103 such that positive pole 105, negative pole 107, and explosion-proof valve 109 protrude beyond top cover 103; (CN'269, Pg. 5), (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9); and a first dielectric film covering the end cap (coverage area 139 of insulating layer 117 covers the outer surface of top cover 103; (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
However, CN'269 does not disclose that "an edge of a part of the battery cell, the part protruding beyond the end cap, assumes a chamfer structure; and an edge of the cavity structure assumes a transition structure that matches the chamfer structure". Instead, CN'269 illustrates and describes connecting area 141 as having a "substantially hollow annular rectangular shape" forming a continuous perimeter collar (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9), and discloses that coverage area 139 is a planar sheet matching a planar top cover 103 without a raised cavity structure or chamfer-matching transition structures (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
CN'258 discloses a power battery cover assembly comprising a top cover sheet (1), a terminal pole (3), an insulating sheet (4) mounted between the top cover sheet (1) and the pole (3) that forms a part protruding beyond the top cover sheet (1), and a dielectric top patch (2) adhered to the top cover sheet (1) and having an arc boss (21) (CN'258, Pg. 1), (CN'258, Pg. 3). CN'258 explicitly addresses the problem that in conventional batteries, the edge of the part protruding beyond the top cover sheet has a right-angle structure, which causes poor interfacial fit and leaves gaps beneath the covering patch, increasing the risk of short circuits and fire hazards (CN'258, Pg. 2). To solve this problem, CN'258 teaches that an edge of the part protruding beyond the top cover sheet (insulating sheet 4) assumes a chamfer structure (pattern draft 45 having a taper/draft angle of 0.5 to 20 degrees, preferably 2 to 10 degrees), and an edge of the cavity structure (arc boss 21) of the dielectric top patch (2) assumes a transition structure that matches the chamfer structure (pattern draft 45) so that the dielectric patch tightly adheres to the periphery of the protruding part without gaps, preventing short circuits between the pole and the top cover sheet (CN'258, Pgs. 1–3), (CN'258, Pg. 4).
CN'269, CN'879, and CN'258 are analogous arts because each reference is from the same field of endeavor, namely the field of power battery cell manufacture and dielectric insulating film packaging (CN'269, Pg. 2); (CN'879, Pg. 1); (CN'258, Pg. 1), and each reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem confronting the inventor, specifically providing complete, conformal dielectric insulative protection across a battery cell casing and end cap while relieving corner folding stress and eliminating gaps and short-circuit hazards around protruding header components (CN'269, Pg. 2); (CN'879, Pgs. 1–2); (CN'258, Pgs. 1–2).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the coverage area (139) with a cavity structure whose edge assumes a transition structure matching a chamfer structure on the edge of the part protruding beyond the top cover as taught by CN'258, in order to relieve folding stress at the four corner transitions of the sidewalls during downward bending as taught by CN'879, and to eliminate corner gaps, ensure tight, flush adherence between the dielectric film and the protruding header components, and prevent electrical short circuits and fire hazards as taught by CN'258 (CN'269, Pgs. 7–8); (CN'879, Pgs. 2–3); (CN'258, Pgs. 1–3).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213093269 U (CN’269) in view of CN 213150879 U (CN’879), and further in view of US 2014/0205895 A1 (US’895).
As to Claim 8:
CN'269 discloses the battery cell according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1); and a first dielectric film configured to dielectrically protect an end cap and outer sidewalls of a housing of the battery cell (CN'269 discloses that insulating layer 117, which is a PET insulating film, includes a coverage area 139 covering top cover 103 and a connecting area 141 folded downward along the link orientation to cover non-spraying areas 115 of outer side surfaces 125, 127, 129 of shell 100; (CN'269, Pg. 5), (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9)).
However, CN'269 does not explicitly disclose that "the first dielectric film further comprises a viscous layer, wherein the viscous layer is disposed on a side of the first dielectric film, the side being oriented toward the battery cell" so as to adhere the dielectric film to the battery cell. Instead, CN'269 illustrates and describes connecting area 141 as having a "substantially hollow annular rectangular shape" forming a continuous perimeter collar ((CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9)), and describes sleeving insulating layer 117 from top to bottom over top cover 103 without explicitly disclosing a viscous or adhesive layer disposed on the battery-facing side of the dielectric film to adhere it to the top cover and the housing sidewalls ((CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 8)).
US'895 discloses a rechargeable battery comprising a casing (26) and a cap plate (31) combined with the casing, and teaches providing thin film insulating members (71, 72, 73, 74, 81, 82) to dielectrically protect the casing (26) and cap plate (31) ((US'895, [0008], [0015], [0051]–[0053])). US'895 explicitly discloses that the dielectric film (thin film insulating member) covering the cap plate (31) and casing (26) comprises a viscous layer, specifically an adhesive layer or thermal adhesion layer (83, 84, 87, 93, 94), disposed on a surface extending between the dielectric film and the casing and cap plate (i.e., on a side of the dielectric film oriented toward the battery cell) so as to adhere and bond the dielectric film to the cap plate (31) and casing (26) ((US'895, [0012], [0019], [0021], [0062], [0072], [0074], [0088]–[0089])). US'895 teaches that each thin film insulating member can have a tape shape including an adhesive layer on the surface contacting the battery cell casing/cap plate, or can include a thermal adhesion layer formed of a hot-melt adhesive (such as polyamide, polyurethane, EVA, or polyolefin) or thermoplastic resin film fused by heat or pressure ((US'895, [0012]–[0013], [0019], [0062], [0072]–[0074])). US'895 explicitly teaches that disposing the viscous/adhesive layer on the inner side of the dielectric film causes the film to be closely and securely joined to the casing and cap plate, thereby preventing the film from lifting or separating, suppressing moisture infiltration and condensation, and preventing short circuits and corrosion ((US'895, [0056], [0067], [0076], [0099]–[0100])).
CN'269, CN'879, and US'895 are analogous arts because each reference is from the same field of endeavor, namely the field of power battery cell manufacture and dielectric insulating film packaging ((CN'269, Pg. 2); (CN'879, Pg. 1); (US'895, [0002]–[0003])), and each reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem confronting the inventor, specifically providing reliable dielectric insulation across battery casing walls and end caps while preventing corner folding stress, film lifting, moisture infiltration, and electrical short circuits through secure interfacial adhesion ((CN'269, Pg. 2); (CN'879, Pgs. 1–2); (US'895, [0004]–[0006], [0076], [0099]–[0100])).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide the dielectric film (insulating layer 117) with a viscous layer (adhesive layer or thermal adhesion layer) disposed on a side oriented toward the battery cell to bond the body portion (coverage area 139) to the top cover (103) and bond the extension portions (connecting area 141) to the outer sidewalls of the housing shell (100) as taught by US'895 (and CN'879), in order to relieve folding stress at the four corner transitions of the sidewalls during downward bending as taught by CN'879, and to ensure tight, gap-free interfacial adhesion of the dielectric film to the end cap and casing, prevent film peeling or lifting, and block moisture infiltration and condensation to eliminate short-circuit and corrosion risks as taught by US'895 ((CN'269, Pgs. 7–8); (CN'879, Pgs. 2–3); (US'895, [0012], [0062], [0074], [0076])).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213093269 U (CN’269) in view of CN 213150879 U (CN’879), and further in view of JP 2012-033419 A (JP’419).
As to Claim 13:
CN'269 discloses a battery, comprising: the battery cell according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1); and the battery cell configured to be combined with other cells to form a battery pack (CN'269 discloses that the battery cells are combined together into a battery pack using fixing devices; (CN'269, Pg. 2), (CN'269, Pg. 5), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
However, CN'269 does not disclose "an accommodating box, configured to accommodate the battery cell". Instead, CN'269 illustrates and describes connecting area 141 as having a "substantially hollow annular rectangular shape" forming a continuous perimeter collar (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9), and only generally refers to combining battery cells into a battery pack using fixing devices without disclosing an accommodating box (CN'269, Pg. 2), (CN'269, Pg. 5).
JP'419 discloses a battery system / power supply device (91) comprising a plurality of battery cells (1) and an accommodating box (outer case 70) configured to accommodate the battery cells (JP'419, Pg. 2), (JP'419, Pg. 3), (JP'419, Pg. 10). JP'419 teaches that the outer case (70) has a box shape comprising a lower case (71), an upper case (72), and end surface plates (73) that close both ends of the outer case, wherein a plurality of battery blocks (50) each containing stacked battery cells (1) are stored, fixed, and housed within the closed cavity of the outer case (70) (JP'419, Pg. 2), (JP'419, Pg. 3), (JP'419, Pg. 10). JP'419 teaches that housing the battery cells in a rigid box-shaped outer case mechanically secures the battery cells, maintains them in a fixed and aligned posture under vibration, and insulates the high-potential metal cell cans from external ground (JP'419, Pg. 2), (JP'419, Pg. 3).
CN'269, CN'879, and JP'419 are analogous arts because each reference is from the same field of endeavor, namely the field of power battery cell manufacture, dielectric insulating film packaging, and battery pack/module assembly (CN'269, Pg. 2); (CN'879, Pg. 1); (JP'419, Pg. 2), and each reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem confronting the inventor, specifically providing reliable dielectric insulation across battery casing walls while securing, protecting, and housing the battery cells within an accommodating structure to form an integrated power supply (CN'269, Pg. 2); (CN'879, Pgs. 1–2); (JP'419, Pgs. 2–3).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to accommodate the battery cell of CN'269 in an accommodating box (outer case 70) as taught by JP'419, in order to relieve folding stress at the four corner transitions of the sidewalls during downward bending as taught by CN'879, and to mechanically protect the battery cells against external impact, maintain alignment of the cells under vibration, and insulate the cells within an integrated power supply device as taught by JP'419 (CN'269, Pgs. 5, 7–8); (CN'879, Pgs. 2–3); (JP'419, Pgs. 2–3).
As to Claim 14:
CN'269 discloses the battery according to claim 13 (see the rejection of claim 13); and the battery is configured to supply electrical energy (CN'269 discloses that the battery cells are combined together into a battery pack to form a power battery configured to supply electrical energy to power-consuming equipment; (CN'269, Pg. 1), (CN'269, Pg. 2), (CN'269, Pg. 5), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
However, CN'269 does not disclose an accommodating box configured to accommodate the battery cell (see the rejection of claim 13), nor does CN'269 disclose an "electrical device, characterized in that the electrical device comprises the battery according to claim 13, and the battery is configured to supply electrical energy" to the electrical device. Instead, CN'269 illustrates and describes connecting area 141 as having a "substantially hollow annular rectangular shape" forming a continuous perimeter collar (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9), and only generally mentions combining cells into a battery pack without disclosing an electrical device incorporating the battery (CN'269, Pg. 2), (CN'269, Pg. 5).
JP'419 discloses an accommodating box (outer case 70) configured to house a plurality of battery cells (1) in battery blocks (50) to form a battery system / power supply device (91, 92) (JP'419, Pgs. 2–3), (JP'419, Pg. 10), and further explicitly discloses an electrical device comprising the battery system (91, 92), wherein the battery system is configured to supply electrical energy to the electrical device (JP'419, Pg. 1), (JP'419, Pg. 8), (JP'419, Pg. 10). Specifically, JP'419 teaches that the electrical device is a vehicle (a hybrid vehicle HV or an electric vehicle EV) comprising a motor (93) for propelling the vehicle and the battery system (91, 92) connected to the motor (93) via an inverter (95), wherein the battery system (91, 92) is configured to supply electrical power/energy to drive the motor (93) and power the vehicle's electrical equipment (JP'419, Pg. 1), (JP'419, Pg. 8), (JP'419, Pg. 10).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the connecting area (141) of the insulating layer (117) of CN'269 by cutting notches into the perimeter to form a plurality of discrete extension portions surrounding the coverage area (139) as taught by CN'879, accommodate the battery cell of CN'269 in an accommodating box (outer case 70) as taught by JP'419, and incorporate the battery into an electrical device such as a vehicle to supply electrical energy to power the vehicle as taught by JP'419, in order to relieve folding stress at the four corner transitions of the sidewalls during downward bending as taught by CN'879, mechanically protect and align the battery cells within an accommodating enclosure, and provide an effective, reliable electrical power supply for driving an electric or hybrid vehicle as taught by JP'419 (CN'269, Pgs. 5, 7–8); (CN'879, Pgs. 2–3); (JP'419, Pgs. 2–3, 8).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213093269 U (CN’269) in view of CN 213150879 U (CN’879), and further in view of CN 109599587 A (CN’587).
As to Claim 16:
CN'269 discloses manufacturing a battery cell (CN'269 describes the production process/flow for manufacturing a battery cell structure comprising battery shell 100, an electric core, and top cover 103; (CN'269, Pg. 5), (CN'269, Pg. 8); providing a housing, wherein the housing comprises a first opening and is configured to accommodate an electrode assembly of the battery cell (CN'269 discloses providing a battery shell 100 comprising a bottom surface 101 and a plurality of side surfaces 125, 127, 129 forming an interior mounting space with an open upper end, and inserting the core of the electric core into the shell; (CN'269, Pg. 5), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9); providing an end cap, wherein the end cap is configured to fit and cover the first opening (CN'269 discloses providing a top cover 103 and welding top cover 103 onto the upper part of shell 100 to fit, seal, and cover the open end; (CN'269, Pg. 5), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9); and providing a first dielectric film, wherein the first dielectric film is configured to dielectrically protect the end cap (CN'269 discloses providing an insulating layer 117, which is a PET insulating film, configured to dielectrically protect top cover 103; (CN'269, Pg. 5), (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9), and the first dielectric film comprises: a body portion, wherein the body portion is configured to cover a surface of the end cap, the surface being away from the housing (CN'269 discloses that insulating layer 117 includes a coverage area 139 matched with the shape of top cover 103, which is sleeved from top to bottom over top cover 103 so that coverage area 139 covers the outer surface of top cover 103 facing away from the shell; (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9); and an extension portion connected to an edge of the body portion that is able to be bent toward the housing and cover at least a part of an outer sidewall of the housing (CN'269 discloses that insulating layer 117 includes a connecting area 141 disposed along the circumferential edge of coverage area 139 that is folded along the link orientation downward to cover non-spraying areas 115 of outer side surfaces 125, 127, 129 of shell 100; (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 8), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
However, CN'269 does not explicitly disclose an apparatus comprising "a first providing module", "a second providing module", and "a third providing module", nor does CN'269 disclose that the dielectric film comprises "a plurality of extension portions, wherein the plurality of extension portions surround the body portion, each of the plurality of extension portions is connected to one edge of the body portion and extends away from a center of the body portion" as discrete, separated extension portions. Instead, CN'269 discloses the sequential manual or operational steps of a manufacturing process rather than structural apparatus modules (CN'269, Pg. 8), and illustrates and describes connecting area 141 as having a "substantially hollow annular rectangular shape" forming a continuous perimeter collar (CN'269, Pg. 7), (CN'269, Pg. 9).
CN'879 discloses an insulating film structure and automated application mechanisms for a power battery comprising a shell (11) and a top cover (12), and specifically addresses the problem of folding an insulating film over the corners and edges connecting the shell and the top cover (CN'879, Pgs. 1–2), (CN'879, Pg. 4). CN'879 teaches that bending an unnotched or continuous film edge across corner folding angles produces high hemming stress, corner steps, and wrinkles that cause the film to lift, warp, and separate (CN'879, Pg. 2). To solve this problem, CN'879 discloses providing the bent portion of the insulating film with a plurality of discrete extension portions separated by cuts or notches, specifically forming a tooth-shaped structure composed of a series of regular, continuous projections or bulges (211) that extend away from the film and fold across the corner seams to weaken folding stress, eliminate corner steps and gaps, increase bonding area, and prevent edge warping (CN'879, Pgs. 2–3), (CN'879, Pg. 4), (CN'879, Pg. 5). CN'879 also discloses automated mechanisms for applying the film, including an unreeling mechanism, a locating cutter of special notch shape, rubber rollers, and flanging rollers for flanging the film over the connection of the shell and top cover (CN'879, Pg. 4). Furthermore, CN'587 discloses an automated manufacturing apparatus for a square lithium-ion battery cell ("square lithium ion power battery full automatic top cover patch device") specifically comprising automated providing modules (CN'587, Pg. 1), (CN'587, Pg. 3), (CN'587, Pg. 5). Specifically, CN'587 discloses a providing module for providing and adhering an insulating sheet to the battery top cover, comprising a feeding device (1) having a carrier and lifting mechanism to store and feed insulating sheets, a pick-up device (3) having a vacuum suction plate (34), a locating platform (2) with locating blocks (23) for precision positioning, an absorbing/suction device (4) having suction cups (41), and a transplanting device (5) that drives the pick-up device to take an insulating sheet from the feeding device to the locating platform and drives the suction device to take the insulating sheet from the locating platform and adhere it to the battery top cover (CN'587, Pgs. 1–4), (CN'587, Pgs. 5–6). CN'587 explicitly teaches that utilizing automated handling and providing modules replaces manual sheet pasting, reduces labor intensity and costs, prevents positioning deviation via automated control, and significantly improves production efficiency to meet modern pipelining production (CN'587, Pgs. 1–2).
CN'269, CN'879, and CN'587 are analogous arts because each reference is from the same field of endeavor, namely the field of power battery cell manufacture, dielectric insulating film packaging, and automated battery manufacturing equipment (CN'269, Pg. 2); (CN'879, Pg. 1); (CN'587, Pgs. 1–2), and each reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem confronting the inventor, specifically automating the assembly and dielectric film protection of a battery cell while eliminating corner folding stress and ensuring precise, reliable application of an insulating film over the end cap and casing sidewalls (CN'269, Pg. 2); (CN'879, Pgs. 1–2); (CN'587, Pgs. 1–3).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the connecting area (141) of the insulating layer (117) of CN'269 by cutting notches into the perimeter to form a plurality of discrete extension portions surrounding the coverage area (139) as taught by CN'879, and further to implement the manufacturing process of CN'269 using automated apparatus modules including a first providing module to provide the shell, a second providing module to provide the top cover, and a third providing module comprising the automated feeding, picking, and transplanting mechanisms of CN'587 (along with the cutting and flanging mechanisms of CN'879) to feed, position, and adhere the dielectric film to the top cover and outer sidewalls, in order to relieve folding stress at the four corner transitions of the sidewalls during downward bending as taught by CN'879, and to replace manual handling, increase manufacturing throughput, and ensure precise automated alignment and adhesion of the dielectric film onto the battery cell as taught by CN'587 (CN'269, Pgs. 7–8); (CN'879, Pgs. 2–4); (CN'587, Pgs. 1–3).
Conclusion
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723